Notice: License Renewal
A postcard renewal notice for massage therapists and massage therapy businesses will be mailed in late November, 2016. The postcard notice will include information on how to renew the license online or request a paper renewal application. The renewal fee for a massage therapist is $100 and the massage therapy business license renewal fee is $75.
In April 2017, the board will be conducting a random audit of continuing education (CE) compliance for the 2015-2017 biennial licensure cycle. Licensed massage therapists must complete twelve (12) hours of continuing education prior to the expiration date of the license. There are no specific categories of study required and continuing education does not require board approval. The continuing education can be obtained from seminars or self-study such as reading textbooks, scholarly journal articles, or publications related to massage therapy. The licensee is responsible for keeping track of the continuing education information to include CE provider, topic/subject, date, and hours.
According to the Code of State Regulations 2197-2.050 (4) regarding massage therapist license renewal, "Failure of a licensee to receive the notice and application to renew his/her license shall not excuse him/her from the requirements of section 324.265, RSMo to renew that license." Similarly, 2197-5.040(3) of the Code of State Regulations concerning business license renewal states, "Failure of a licensee to receive the notice and application to renew his/her license shall not excuse him/her from the requirements of section 324.250, RSMo to renew that license."
If the mailing address has changed since the last renewal cycle, please send an email to email@example.com and include the massage therapist or business name, license number, former and current address.
When corresponding with the Board of Therapeutic Massage by e-mail and/or facsimile (fax), please refrain from including any sensitive personal identifying information such as Social Security Number or Date of Birth. The Board does not need you to include sensitive personal information, in order to respond to your email or fax.
Notice: License Renewal
The online renewal system for massage therapists and massage therapy businesses is no longer available. Please send an email to the board office at firstname.lastname@example.org or fax a request to 573/751-0735 to obtain information regarding a late renewal.
NOTICE - Senate Bill 30
Effective January 1, 2009 state agencies must require a statement of no tax due from the Missouri Department of Revenue before issuing or renewing any state license required for conducting any business where goods are sold at retail. This requirement was enacted in Senate Bill 30 of the 94th General Assembly (2007), and was signed into law by the Governor on June 13, 2007.The statement of no tax due will verify that the retail business has filed and paid all of its sales and withholding tax obligations. If a business does not make retail sales, it is not required to present a statement of no tax due in order to issue or renew a license.
For more information, please visit the Department of Revenue website at http://dor.mo.gov/tax/business/sales/notaxdue/index.htm or contact:
Missouri Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 3666
Jefferson City, MO 65105-3666
Fax: (573) 522-1265
Telephone: (573) 751-9268