Fresh Start Act: Pre-licensure Criminal History Determination
Under section 324.012.7, RSMo, individuals can request a pre-licensure determination of their criminal record under the Fresh Start Act.
New Rule Amendments Effective 8/30/2022
20 CSR 2263-2.030: Provision added that gives the committee discretion to deny supervision hours not completed in compliance with the regulations.
20 CSR 2263-2.050: Requires the two (2) hour suicide assessment, referral, treatment, and management training be taken within the prior two (2) years of submitting the application.
New Rule Amendments Effective 9/30/2021
20 CSR 2263-2.031- No longer requires supervisors to complete 3 hours of continuing education in supervision for renewal purposes.
20 CSR 2263-2.050- Adds language regarding setting for the master and clinical exams prior to graduation.
The amended rules can be viewed at: https://www.sos.mo.gov/cmsimages/adrules/csr/current/20csr/20c2263-2.pdf.
Continuing Education Rule, 20 CSR 2263-2.082
The State Committee for Social Workers wishes to share with you the most recent version of the continuing education rule, 20 CSR 2263-2.082.
The rule can be found at https://www.sos.mo.gov/cmsimages/adrules/csr/current/20csr/20c2263-2.pdf
Please note that the requirement relating to the 3 hours related to diversity, inclusion, etc. will be required starting with renewal in 2022. This is not required for the 2021 renewal period.
If you have any questions you may contact the office at 573-751-0885 or via email at email@example.com.
ASWB EXAMINATION INFORMATION:
On February 5, 2021 the State Committee for Social Workers received notification that their exam exception request for LMSWs, LBSWs and LCSWs has been approved. Therefore, candidates for the LBSW exam and the LMSW exam can take the exam 60 days prior to graduation. In order for this to occur the candidate needs to request a letter from a designated official at the CSWE accredited university indicating that the individual is on track to graduate in addition to submitting the application for licensure, fee and the required documentation.
Candidates for the LCSW exam can set for the exam once they have completed 2,250 hours and 18 months of supervision. In order for this to occur candidates will need to ensure their supervisor(s) have submitted an email stating the individual has completed at least 2250 hours and 18 months and is on track to finish supervision, in addition to submitting the application for licensure, fee and the required documentation.
Providing Care to Military-Connected Missourians
The Missouri Department of Mental Health has created a web-based interactive map to connect community behavioral health services to service members, veterans and their families. If a licensee would like to be listed on the map, please complete the electronic enrollment form at the following link: https://stateofmissouri.wufoo.com/forms/w7p2a3/. Please address questions to DMH Veterans Services at DMH.Veteran@dmh.mo.gov.
The State of Missouri social worker statutes require an individual to be licensed clinically if providing clinical services in the state. If the client is in Missouri at the time the services are provided, the professional must be licensed here.
2022 and 2023 Renewal Cycle Information
The State Committee for Social Workers voted that for the 2022 and 2023 renewal period, the 15-hour limit of correspondence courses have been waived. All licensees will still be required to do the required hours of continuing professional education, but these hours can be any combination of live programs, webinars and correspondence courses and other approved methods. Other hourly limits for credits for publications, etc. remain in place. Do not forget that you are now required to complete 2 hours in suicide, 3 hours in ethics, and 3 hours related to diversity, inclusion, etc.
State Committee for Social Workers' Survey
The Committee is interested in your opinion. Please click on the link below and take a few moments to complete a brief survey. Your email address will not be recorded or stored. Thank you for your participation.
To view frequently asked questions regarding licensure renewal click here.
SB 843 Fee Waiver Statement:
Opioid antagonist, sale and dispensing of by pharmacists, possession of - administration of, contacting emergency personnel - immunity from liability, when. - 1. As used in this section, the following terms shall mean: Click here.