About the Board

About the Board
The Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts was created in 1939. The Board is comprised of eight physicians and one voting public member, serving terms of four years. Board members are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. It is the duty of the Board to administer and execute the statutes, rules and regulations of the Healing Arts Practice Act. Responsibilities of the Board include: promoting ethical standards, examination, licensure, regulation, investigation of complaints and discipline of individuals practicing in the field.

The mission of the State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts is to protect the citizens of the state through the licensing of physicians and other health designated professionals, assessing their competence to practice and their moral character. It is also the board's duty to investigate all complaints against its licensees in a fair and equitable manner.

Board Membership
Jade D. James, M.D., President
Sarah Martin, PhD, MPP, MPH, Secretary
David A. Poggemeier, M.D., Member
James A. DiRenna, D.O., Member
Jeffrey S. Glaser, M.D., F.A.C.S., Member
Katherine J. Mathews, M.D., Member
David E. Tannehill, D.O., Member