About the Board

Meet the Board.


The Missouri Board of Pharmacy was statutorily created in 1909 by House Bill 87 and has proudly served the citizens of Missouri for over 100 years! The Board of Pharmacy is an autonomous Board within the Division of Professional Registration, an agency of the Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration.


It is the mission of the Board of Pharmacy and the Division of Professional Registration to serve and protect the public by providing an accessible, responsible and accountable regulatory system that:

  • Protects the public from incompetency, misconduct, gross negligence, fraud, misrepresentation or dishonesty;
  • Licenses only "qualified" professionals by examination and evaluation of minimum competency, and;
  • Enforces standards by implementing legislation and administrative rules.


The Board consists of seven (7) members, including, six (6) licensed pharmacists actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy and one (1) public member. By statute, at least one board member must be a person who provides pharmaceutical services to a hospital, skilled nursing facility or intermediate care facility on a full-time basis.

Board members are appointed by the Governor and must be approved by the Missouri Senate. All members hold office for five (5) years from the date of their appointment and until their successors have been appointed and qualified. The Board annually elects a president and vice-president, each of whom serve one (1) year terms.


The Board is principally governed by the Missouri Pharmacy Practice Act contained in Section 338 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri (RSMo). The Board is authorized by � 338.013, 338.140, 338.280 and 338.350, RSMo, to adopt rules and regulations for the application and enforcement of Chapter 338, RSMo. The current rules of the Board are promulgated in 20 CSR 2220 of the Missouri Code of State Regulations.

The Board has superintending control over the practice of pharmacy in the State of Missouri and its primary duties consist of:

  1. Examining and licensing pharmacist applicants;
  2. Ensuring compliance with Chapter 338, RSMo, and the rules of the Board;
  3. Licensing/registering pharmacy technicians, intern pharmacists, pharmacies and drug distributors;
  4. Biennially renewing the licenses of qualified pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacies, and drug distributors;
  5. Annually registering and renewing pharmacy technicians;
  6. Investigating complaints involving unlicensed activity or against any licensee or registrant. Investigations may be based on public complaints, information from other state and/or federal agencies, or violations discovered by the Board;
  7. Disciplining licensees which may include, public censure, probation, suspension or revocation of a licensee/registrant;
  8. Maintaining the Technician Employment Disqualification List for pharmacy technicians found to be in violation of Chapter 338, RSMo;
  9. Inspection of pharmacies and drug distributors; and
  10. Approval of preceptors and intern training pharmacies.


The Board currently meets in-person or via conference call approximately ten times per year. Meeting dates and agenda information are available on the Board's website.


Pursuant to the provisions of Chapters 610, RSMo, the Board maintains records of all of its proceedings for both open and closed session meetings. The public may request access to open records by writing to the Missouri Board of Pharmacy, P.O. Box 625, Jefferson City, MO 65102.