PROTECT YOUR LICENSE
These practical tips will help you protect your license.
- Missouri does not issue a license card. You should search for your record using Licensure QuickConfirm at www.nursys.com. After you access your record, you can print a report that will show your license number, original issue date, expiration date, whether you have a multistate or single state license and discipline status. Please direct current or future employers to www.nursys.com to verify your license.
- Enroll yourself as an individual in e-Notify at www.nursys.com. By enrolling into Nursys® e-Notify, you can take advantage of a quick, convenient and free way to keep up-to-date with your nursing licenses. You can receive licensure status updates, track license verifications for endorsement and manage multiple license expiration reminders. Keeping on top of your license can help you prevent any fraudulent licenses or certificates being issued in your name. You will also be able to participate in a survey on nursing workforce in Missouri. The Missouri State Board of Nursing uses this information to gather important workforce data and uses the data to enhance Missouri's ability to plan for nurse supply and demand and, ultimately, improve healthcare for all.
- RN licenses expire April 30th of every odd-numbered year. LPN licenses expire May 31st of every even-numbered year. When enrolling yourself in e-Notify, opt into the option to receive automated electronic reminders when you have a license that will be expiring within 30 days.
- Keep the board informed of your current name and address. A notification form can be found at https://pr.mo.gov/boards/nursing/Change-Form.pdf. There are several reasons for this.
- Licenses are suspended by operation of law for not filing or not paying state income taxes. If we do not have your current address, your license could be suspended without you receiving notification.
- Failure to inform the board of your current address is cause to discipline your nursing license. You are required to inform the board of a change in your name and/or address within 30 days of the change.
- Missouri is a member of the nurse licensure compact (NLC). This is similar to a driver's license where you are licensed in one state and can practice in other states that are members of the compact without having to obtain another license in that state. You can find an overview of the compact as well as a list of members states at www.ncsbn.org/compacts. The compact regulations also require that you keep your address updated. Whether you have a multistate or single state license depends on your primary state of residence.
- Practice is where the patient is at the time nursing care is rendered. Know the state's Nursing Practice Act and rules before you practice. You can find the Missouri Nursing Practice on our web site. You can find links to other state boards of nursing at www.ncsbn.org.