HB 1719 Suicide Prevention Training Requirement
HB 1719 was passed during the 2018legislative session and signed into law. The bill included language that amended section 337.718.1 RSMo requiring certain health care professionals to complete at least two hours of continuing education in suicide assessment,referral, treatment, and management training, as a condition of the renewalof the license. The provision was effective August 28, 2018.
Licensed marital and family therapists are reminded that the effective date of this law means current MFTs must obtain the required two (2) hours of continuingeducation prior to the expiration date of the license February 20, 2020 andeach biennial licensure cycle thereafter. The law does not define delivery method of the hours allowing licensees to select a seminar, webinar, or self-study such as reading publications and textbooks or internet based information. The renewal application will include a question concerning compliance with this provision of the law and licensees must maintain documentation of proof of compliance.
For continuing education on suicide prevention click here
For information regarding the Suicide Safer Care Training Webinar click here
State Committee of Marital & Family Therapists Survey
The State Committee is interested in your opinion. If you are currently provisionally licensed as a marital and family therapist or licensed as a marital and family therapist, please click on the link below and take a few moments to complete a brief survey. Your email address will not be recorded or stored. Thank you for your participation.
The ability to renew the license online ended on February 28th. A licensee cannot renew or reinstate a license online. Please contact the state committee office via email at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 573/ 751-0870 and request a late renewal. The renewal fee is $250 and the late fee is $75 for 30-60 days and $100 for 61 days to two years. Additionally, the reinstatement requires the licensee to submit verification of continuing education compliance. A continuing education reporting form and instructions will be included with the reinstatement form. If a licensee requires an extension to complete the required continuing education, please submit a written request with the reinstatement providing a timeline to complete the continuing education and why the additional time is needed.
When corresponding with the State Committee of Marital & Family Therapists by e-mail and/or facsimile (fax), please refrain from including any sensitive personal identifying information such as Social Security Number or Date of Birth. The State Committee does not need you to include sensitive personal information, in order to respond to your email or fax.
Reinstating an Expired License
Please contact the board office regarding reinstating an expired license. Scroll to the bottom of the page for telephone number, email, and mailing address information.
No amendments pending.
MFTs & Military Personnel
The Missouri Department of Mental Health, in partnership with the Missouri Behavioral Health Alliance, is developing a web-based interactive map that will assist military persons in easily finding treatment providers in the state who can help them with their unique behavioral health needs. If a licensee is interested, please see the electronic enrollment form (name, credentials, available services) at the following link: https://stateofmissouri.wufoo.com/forms/w7p2a3/. Please address questions to DMH.Veteran@dmh.mo.gov.