Committee of InterpretersPR Home » Interpreters Home
When does the license need to be renewed?
An interpreter's license will expire January 31 of each calendar year. A renewal notice is sent to the licensee approximately 60 days in advance of the expiration date. It is very important to keep the State Committee of Interpreters' informed of the mailing address because the notice to renew will be sent to the address maintained within the licensee's file. Even if a licensee does not receive a renewal notice, the licensee is responsible for renewing a license.
What is the cost to renew a license?
The renewal fee is $60.
What continuing education is required to maintain a license?
Continuing education, also known as certification maintenance, is regulated by the Missouri Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing and is associated with maintaining a current certification. Questions regarding PCMs should be directed to the commission office at 573/526-5205.
What type of documentation will the interpreter receive to verify licensure?
When an application is approved for licensure, the interpreter will receive written notification along with a small license suitable for framing and a wallet license.
What if an interpreter changes an address or has a name change?
Maintaining accurate information is important. If an interpreter has an address change, either email the address change or send a brief note listing the changes in address, telephone number, etc. If an interpreter has a name change, it must be submitted in writing with a copy of the documentation (i.e. marriage license, court order) authorizing the name change.
What if an interpreter's certification level has changed with the Missouri Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (MCDHH)?
As a courtesy the State Committee of Interpreters will print an interpreter's certification level on their license. If an interpreter's certification level changes, the interpreter must provide a copy of their new certification card by mail, email or fax. If the Missouri Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing notifies the State Committee of Interpreters of a change to a licensed interpreter's certification level a new license will be issued and mailed to the interpreter.
Can an interpreter make copies of the law and rules booklet or form?
What if there are questions regarding the application?
Please contact the office of the State Committee of Interpreters. Feel free to leave a message on the voice mail and someone will return the call within 24 hours. Applicants may email questions also.
- The email address for the state committee is firstname.lastname@example.org
- The telephone number for the state committee office is (573) 526-7787.
- The mailing address is:
State Committee of Interpreters
P.O. Box 1335
Jefferson City MO 65102