About the Board

The Missouri Board of Geologist Registration was established with the passage of Senate Bill 649 during the 1994 legislative session. This Geologist Registration Act requires licensure for individuals engaged in the practice of geology having an impact upon public health, safety and welfare as defined by law. In 1995, the Governor appointed seven members to the Board of Geologist Registration with Missouri's state geologist serving as an ex-officio member. The board is composed of five practitioners, with four members representing different geologic specialties and the fifth practitioner employed by the state, a city or county. The board includes two public members. Board members are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.

The Board is responsible for reviewing the qualifications and experience of applicants; administering the Fundamentals of Geology and Principals and Practices of Geology examination as developed by the National Association of State Boards of Geology (ASBOG); and enforcing the state statutes and regulations concerning the practice of Geology in the state of Missouri.

The Board of Geologist Registration is a part of the Division of Professional Registration, a division within the Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutuions and Professional Registration. The Division of Professional Registration is comprised of over thirty professional boards and commissions which translates to over 200,000 licensees. Over thirty regulatory agencies comprising the division are responsible for safeguarding the public health, safety and welfare of Missouri citizens. The Board works with the Division of Professional Registration and the Depart of Insurance, Financial Institutuions and Professional Registration on budget, legislation, cost estimates for implementing legislation and administrative rules.