NOTICE - License Renewal
Online renewal is no longer available. If the license was not renewed online or via a paper renewal form post marked no later than June 30, 2019 a reinstatement form and applicable fees are required. To obtain the reinstatement form, please email firstname.lastname@example.org,fax 573/751-0735 or send a request via regular mail. Please make sure to provide the name, current address, and license number in the request. The reinstatement information will be emailed or sent via regular mail to the licensee. The form, fee, and any additional documentation must be mailed to the board office. Please scroll down page for mailing address.
HB 1719 Suicide Prevention Training Requirement
Effective August 28, 2018 section 324.046.1 and .2, RSMo, require suicide prevention training for health and mental health care practitioners. Section 337.507.1 RSMo states “Applications for examination and licensure as a professional counselor shall be in writing, submitted to the division on forms prescribed by the division and furnished to the applicant. The form shall include a statement that the applicant has completed two hours of suicide assessment, referral, treatment, and management training. To be licensed as a professional counselor in Missouri
Section 337.510.4, RSMo, requires practitioners renewing a license to, ”…furnish to the committee satisfactory evidence of the completion of the requisite number of hours of continuing education as required by rule; including two hours of suicide assessment, referral, treatment and management training, which shall be no more than forth hours biennially
The law does not specify the format for the 2 hours of suicide prevention continuing education, allowing licensees the latitude to choose a delivery format such as a seminar, online information, in service training, webinar, or reading scholarly publications or journals. Licensees must keep track of continuing education compliance, to include the 2 hours of suicide prevention, in the event a licensee is audited. The renewal application (whether online or paper format) will include a question concerning compliance with the continuing education requirements.
For continuing education on suicide prevention click here
For information regarding the Sept 2019 Suicide Prevention training click here
Committee for Professional Counselors Survey
The Committee is interested in your opinion. If you are a currently licensed as a professional counselor or provisionally licensed as a professional counselor, please click on the link below and take a few moments to complete a brief survey. Your email address will not be recorded or stored. Thank you for your participation.
When corresponding with the Committee for Professional Counselors by e-mail and/or facsimile (fax), please refrain from including any sensitive personal identifying information such as Social Security Number or Date of Birth. The Committee does not need you to include sensitive personal information, in order to respond to your email or fax.
LPCs & Military Personnel
The Missouri Department of Mental Health, in partnership with the Missouri Behavioral Health Alliance, is developing a web-based interactive map that will assist military persons in easily finding treatment providers in the state who can help them with their unique behavioral health needs. If a licensee is interested, please see the electronic enrollment form (name, credentials, available services) at the following link: https://stateofmissouri.wufoo.com/forms/w7p2a3/. Please address questions to DMH.Veteran@dmh.mo.gov.
Reinstating an Expired License
Please contact the board office regarding reinstating an expired license. Scroll to the bottom of the page for telephone number, email, and mailing address information.