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New Commissioners Appointed 

The Commission consists of seven members who are U.S. citizens 
and residents of Missouri for at least one year prior to their 
appointment. Except for the one voting public member, each 
Commissioner must have at least ten years’ experience as a real 
estate broker prior to appointment. 
 
Section 339.120 RSMo., states in part “…The commission may do all 
things necessary and convenient for carrying into effect the 
provisions of 339.010 to 339.180 and sections 339.710 to 339.860 {real 
estate law] and may promulgate necessary rules compatible with the 
provisions of 339.010 to 339.180 and sections 339.710 to 339.860.” 
 
Governor Michael L. Parson appointed two new Commissioners 
effective July 23, 2018.   
 
Sherry Lynn “Lynn” Farrell of Osage Beach is the Designated Broker 
with John Farrell Real Estate Co.  She has been a licensed real estate 
professional since August 1988 and a licensed broker since October 
1988. 
 
Cynthia D. “Cindy” Fox of St. Charles is a broker/owner of Best 
Seller Real Estate, LLC, dba Real Living Now.  She has been a 
licensed real estate professional since 1994 and a licensed broker for 
18 years. 
 

Name Changes 

Effective June 6, 2018, and pursuant to a Commission directive, any licensee requesting a name change in MREC records 

must present a copy of one of the following documents before MREC can make the name change.  This change puts MREC  

more in compliance with requirements of other Commissions and Boards. 

Legal Documentation that would be acceptable:   

1) Marriage License    4) Divorce Decree 
2) Adoption Papers    5) Copy of Driver’s License 
3) Copy of Social Security Card  6) Name Change Court Documents 
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1) No real estate “Licensee” shall pay any part 
of a fee, commission or other compensation to any 
person for any service rendered unless such person is 
a licensed real estate salesperson or broker. 

a) True 
b) False 

2)   Who can have an economic interest in, receive 
remuneration from, or teach or solicit customers 
for any real estate school or course?  

a) Any commission member. 
b) Employee of commission member’s firm. 
c) Member of commission member’s entity. 
d) Commissioner’s relative within 4th degree. 
e) MREC staff employee. 

 

3)   MREC can file a complaint to discipline a 
licensee’s license for conduct that constitutes 
untrustworthy, improper or fraudulent business 
dealings, demonstrates “bad faith” or 
incompetence, misconduct, or gross negligence. 

 
4)   _________ is best defined as related to the 
property not reasonably ascertainable or known 
to a party which negatively affects the value of 
the property.   

a) Property Disclosure Form 
b) Confidential Information 
c) Adverse Material Fact 
d) Ministerial Acts 
e) None of the above (a thru d) are correct 
 

5)  Which of the following is a requirement of an 
applicant for a Missouri Real Estate license? 

a) Person of good moral character. 
b) At least 18 years of age. 
c) Good reputation for honesty, integrity, and 

fair dealing. 
d) Competent to transact business to safeguard 

the interest of the public. 
e) All of the above (a thru d) are required.

a) True   b) False 

 

  

THINGS TO PONDER 

(Answers found on last page) 

Fingerprint Vendor Changing 
 
As most of you are aware, applicants for original salesperson or broker licenses are required to be 
fingerprinted via a Missouri State Highway Patrol vendor before the license can be issued.  The fingerprints 
are submitted to the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and the Missouri State Highway Patrol (MSHP) for 
a criminal background check.   

The MSHP has announced that the State of Missouri recently awarded the Applicant Fingerprint Services 
contract to IDEMIA.  IDEMIA will begin fingerprint services for Missouri on Monday, August 6, 2018. 

For further information concerning the criminal record check, please feel free to visit the MSHP Criminal 
Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division website at  
(https://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/PatrolDivisions/CRID/crimRecChk.html).   

At their website, you can link to the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site, State Background Checks & 
Associated Fees, FBI Fee, Missouri State Highway Patrol Public Window Access, and Fingerprint Submission 
for Applicants Residing Outside Missouri.   

Additionally, there are links for New Vendor Announcement and Implementation Timeline from MSHP 
CJIS, and Customer Announcement Letter from IDEMIA.   

For more information on IDEMIA, FAQs, and to download forms and links, please visit their website at:  
https://www.identogo.com/locations/missouri.   



 

 

  

Number of Real Estate Licensees Increase 

In January 2007, there were 56,121 licensees in Missouri (18,167 broker type licensees, 33,917 salesperson 
type licensees, and 4,037 entity type licenses).  After 2007, the number of licensees gradually decreased to a 
low in 2013 of 37,109 licensees (13,097 broker type licensees, 20,278 salesperson type licensees, and 3,733 
entity type licenses).  The last time MREC experienced that low of a number was in December 1999 when 
there were 36,727 total licensees. 

Since the January 2013 total, the number of Missouri real estate licensees has shown an increase.  In January 
2018, there were 43,170 Missouri real estate licensees (12,630 broker type licensees, 26,485 salesperson type 
licensees, and 4,055 entity type licenses).   

In 2018, there has been about a 2.68% increase in the total number of Missouri real estate licensees since 
January 1.   

Address  Changes 
 

All licensees must ensure that the Commission has the correct mailing address, telephone number, and 
name on record.  Licensees must notify the Commission in writing within 10 days following a change in 
home address or name as required by 20 CSR 2250-4.020 (4). 
 
Most licensees prefer to correspond via e-mail.  Make sure we have your current e-mail on file at MREC.  
Renewal application reminders and other correspondence from the MREC are mailed to the address on file 
in the MREC database.  Therefore, if you want to stay informed, keep your mailing address, telephone 
number, and e-mail address updated with MREC.  Visit our website https://pr.mo.gov/realestate.asp.  

Walk-Ins are Welcome at the MREC Office 

During 2017, the Missouri Real Estate Commission (MREC) kept tabs on the number of walk-in patrons that MREC 
serviced.  MREC averaged seven walk-ins each day that the MREC office was open for business in calendar year 2017. 

Patrons appear in person as a walk-in for a variety of reasons.  These include: 

1. New licensees wanting to get a temporary work permits to get started immediately. 

2. Licensees transferring their licenses to another brokerage. 

3. Brokers opening a new brokerage and/or closing a brokerage. 

4. Salespersons applications to receive a Broker’s license. 

5. Licensees with questions about current audits.  

6. Individuals wanting to file a complaint against a licensee. 

The MREC office is open Monday through Friday, except state holidays, from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.; however, the last 
walk-in is taken at 4:30 p.m., to ensure we can get the paperwork processed before the end of the business day.  Call our office 
before you travel to Jefferson City to ensure that you have all the requirements to process your paperwork without problems.  
We can be reached at (573) 751-2628, ext. 2. 

Disciplinary Actions 
 
If you are interested in viewing disciplinary actions taken by 
the Commission, you will find the information online at:   
https://pr.mo.gov/realestate-disciplines.asp 

Licensee Report- July 2018 
44,325 Total 

Broker Licenses:      12,421 
Salesperson Licenses:      28,001 
Entity Licenses:        3,903 



 

  

HB 600 Suspension Process  (UPDATED) 
 
Under the requirements of Section 324.010 RSMo., the Missouri Real Estate Commission receives notification 
from the Missouri Department of Revenue when licensees have unresolved tax compliance issues. MREC 
sends initial notification letters to the licensees informing them of the tax issue.  They are provided with an 
approximate date for license suspension.  The letter is mailed approximately 12 weeks prior to the MO 
Department of Revenue effective suspension date, and is sent to the affected licensee and the affiliated 
broker.   
 
If the licensee does not get the tax issue resolved by the deadline, a suspension letter will be drafted and sent 
to the licensee.  A copy of the suspension letter is sent to the affiliated designated broker.  Upon receipt, the 
designated broker is then required to return the licensee’s original license to the MREC office within 10 days.   
 
If an Individual Broker is suspended, they are required to close the sole proprietorship.  If the Designated 
Broker for a company is suspended, they are required to either close the company or immediately change 
designated brokers.   
 
If a licensee’s real estate Salesperson license is suspended due to HB600, he/she must cease conducting 
real estate business immediately.  If a broker’s license is suspended due to HB600, he/she (and any 
licensees affiliated with the company) must cease conducting real estate business immediately.  He/She 
may not resume real estate activities until the license is reinstated with the MREC.   

Continuing Education  
 
Every individual who holds an Active Real Estate license must complete, during the two (2)-year license 
period prior to renewal, a minimum of twelve (12) hours of Missouri Real Estate Commission approved 
Continuing Education (CE).  At least three (3) of the twelve (12) hours must be Core hours. The remaining 
required hours shall consist of Missouri Real Estate Commission approved core or elective courses. 
 
Continuing education hours taken by Salespersons between October 1, 2016, and September 30, 2018, will be 
applicable to the 2018-2020 renewal. 
 
If ALL Continuing Education hours were completed by salesperson licensees by June 30, 2018, then the 
licensee should have received a postcard renewal notice.  If the CE was not completed prior to the printing of 
the renewal notices (July 1, 2018), that information will be indicated in Section 1 of the paper renewal 
application. 

Note that schools have 10 days to upload the course completion information into the MREC database. Once 
uploaded, if all 12 hours are on file, the licensee may complete the renewal online.  If CE course(s) are 
completed within 10 days of your expiration date, there is no guarantee that your courses will be uploaded to 
your record in time for the online renewal option; therefore, you will have to mail in a paper renewal.  The 
emphasis is to get your required CE done early so you can renew online and not get caught in the last minute 
backlog of renewals. 

Individual Request for Continuing Education Credit (ICE) deadlines to submit applications for non-
preapproved course credit were:   

Broker type licensees– March 30, 2018 
Salesperson type licensees – June 30, 2018 

 



Record Retention 

What must be kept and for how long? 

By Burgandy Nelson, Examiner     

Retaining complete and accurate files of all real estate activities is a requirement for all brokers 

and brokerages.  However, no one wants boxes of useless paperwork cluttering their office 

space.  What documentation must be kept and how long must it be retained to stay compliant 

with Missouri Real Estate Commission regulations? 

According to 20 CSR 2250‐8.160 (1) Every broker shall retain for a period of at least three years 

true copies of all business books; accounts, including voided checks, records; contracts; 

brokerage relationship agreements; closing statements and correspondence relating to each 

real estate transaction that the broker has handled.   20 CSR 2250‐8.160 (2) also states…….. 

Retain for a period of three years true copies of all property management agreements, 

correspondence or other written authorization relating to each real estate transaction relating 

to leases, rentals or management activities……. 

So, what does that mean? 

For a minimum of three years, the broker must retain the following real estate records:  

‐ General office records – All real estate brokers/brokerages must retain these 

records: 

o Brokerage office policy 

o Correspondence relating to real estate transactions – faxes, emails, letters, 

etc. 

o Copy of commission and referral checks/check stubs issued from the 

broker/brokerage 

o Broker Disclosure Form used 

 

‐ Relating to Sales activities 

o Contracts – including all addenda, amendments, counters, legal descriptions, 

etc. 

o Brokerage relationship agreements ‐ listing agreements and buyer/tenant 

agency agreements – including all amendments 

o Closing statements for both sides of the transaction 

o Mutual releases on down transactions 

o Receipts for earnest money and/or a copy of the earnest money check(s) 

 

‐ Relating to Property Management activities 

o Property management agreements 

o Disclosures to tenants 



o Vendor invoices/receipts for bills paid for properties managed 

o Owner/financial statements for properties managed 

o Copies of receipts for cash received by the brokerage 

 

‐ Relating to Escrow accounts 

o Account Records 

 Bank statements 

 Cancelled or imaged checks and deposits 

 Deposit receipts 

 Voided checks 

o Business Books 

 Bank reconciliations 

 Liability records  

 Check register and deposit records 

 Cash receipts and deposits ledgers 

 Check stubs 

o Any other necessary documents so that the adequacy of the escrow account 

may be determined at any time (339.105.3 RSMo.). 

Records must be retained for at least three years from the date of transaction completion.  For 

a sales transaction, this typically means from the date of closing or mutual release date.  On a 

disputed transaction, this means three years from the last anticipated closing date; or, if the 

broker holds the earnest money, 3 years after the funds are disbursed to the State Treasurer’s 

office or to the contract party, per court order.  For property managers, this means the date of 

termination of the lease or management agreement, which could greatly extend the records 

retention period. 

Records may be kept in paper or electronic format, however all records must be made available 

for inspection by the Commission at all times during regular business hours at the broker’s 

regular place of business.  Missouri, unlike other states, does not have any specific file 

organization or transaction numbering requirements.  Please remember that brokers cannot 

charge a fee for retaining records. 

HINT:  If MREC staff should request a transaction file from you, in addition to the contract, 

addenda, amendments, earnest money receipt and closings statements, be sure to include all 

corresponding brokerage service agreements (listing, buyer agency, etc.), as well as copies of 

checks or check stubs for any referral fees or commissions paid by the brokerage. 

Agents and property managers are required to give, immediately, all money and transaction 

documents to the supervising broker.  Agents may maintain copies for their own files. 

Property management records may be released to the owner(s) or transferred to another 

broker.  The transferring broker must obtain a written detailed receipt or transmittal letter 

signed by all parties to the transaction (original broker, owner (s), and [if applicable] the broker 



receiving the records).  The receipt or transmittal letter should detail all records that were 

released and to whom. 

Confidentiality requirements do not end at the completion of the transaction.  This is especially 

important to note in offices where designated agency is practiced.  Designated agency requires 

that the broker and agents designated to represent their client are the only agents that have 

access to the transaction file.  To avoid breeches of confidentiality, always ensure that the 

proper protections are maintained to ensure confidentiality in designated agency transactions.   

If a brokerage closes or has its’ license revoked, records must still be stored for a minimum of 

three years.  If a broker or brokerage’s license is suspended, records must be stored for the 

duration of the suspension. 

Remember these are the MREC’s requirements for retaining records.  Other agencies (IRS, DOR, 

etc.) may have different expectations for the length of time to retain financial or other records.   

HINT: Checklists are a great way to ensure that files are complete and not missing any 

necessary item(s). 

 

RULE:   20 CSR 2250‐8.160 (1) “…Every broker shall retain for a period of at least three years 

true copies of all business books; accounts, including voided checks, records; contracts; 

brokerage relationship agreements; closing statements and correspondence relating to each 

real estate transaction that the broker has handled…”    

 

RULE:  20 CSR 2250‐8.160 (2) “…also states…….. Retain for a period of three years true copies of 

all property management agreements, correspondence or other written authorization relating 

to each real estate transaction relating to leases, rentals or management activities…” 

  



 

 

 

  

License Application Must Be Reviewed 

In recent months, there have been several new designated brokers taking over operations of company 
brokerages.  With change, new tasks and functions must be learned.   

Designated brokers should keep in mind that part of their responsibilities is to thoroughly review an 
application for licensure or transfer before signing the application or transfer and mailing it to the MREC. 

In recent weeks, MREC has rejected a high number of applications and transfer requests back to the licensee 
applicant because the application is not complete, but had been signed by the designated broker.  The 
designated broker should not sign a blank form and then have the applicant complete the form.  The form 
should be completely filled out, then reviewed by the designated broker, and then mailed to MREC.  Your 
due diligence in this matter is greatly appreciated. 

Transfer Requests must be Accompanied with Original License 

All license transfers require submission of the original license to the MREC office with the completed transfer 
form.  A copy of original license is not an acceptable alternative to accompany the transfer application.  A 
Broker may submit the license with cancellation paperwork to MREC, or the Broker can give the licensee the 
license to submit with the application. 

If the license has been lost/misplaced, a signed/dated statement (explaining the details) may be submitted 
by the Designated Broker in lieu of the original license. 

 

2018-2020 “Salesperson” Type License Renewals 

All Salesperson type renewals were mailed on Tuesday, July 17, 2018, to the licensee’s home address on file 
with the MREC as of July 1, 2018.  Salesperson type licenses expire September 30, 2018.   
 
Please remember that the Designated Broker for the company is responsible to renew both their personal 
license and the company’s license.   Should either not be renewed, the licenses of the company’s affiliates will 
not be printed until both the designated broker and the company licenses have been renewed.   
 
Salespersons are encouraged to renew online, as that is the quickest way to renew your license. ALL Inactive 
licenses can be renewed online as soon as the renewals are received by the Salesperson licensee, as there is 
NO CE required for these license types.   

Once a licensee’s CE is uploaded by the school into MREC’s database, the website will update overnight.  
When the CE shows up online, the licensee should be able to complete the renewal process online.     

Keep in mind that schools have 10 days to upload classroom rosters into the MREC education database.  
Therefore, if a licensee waits within the last two weeks to take CE courses, the school may not get that information 
into the MREC system before the Salesperson’s license expires on September 30, 2018. 



  

Upcoming Meetings and Workshops 

Commission Meetings for Remainder of 2018 
August 1, 2018   
October 10, 2018 
December 5, 2018 
(Contact MREC for further information @ 573-751-2628) 
 
Instructor Development Workshop (IDW) 
August 24, 2018 (Kansas City) hosted by Kansas City Regional Association of 
REALTORS® (Contact Alison Trevor KCRAR @ 913-266-5904) 
 
Educators’  Workshop – 2018 
October 22, 2018 (Jefferson City) 
(Contact MREC Education Specialist Ms. Terry Murphy for further information @ 
573-751-2628, extension # 6) 

Continuing Education Courses & Schools 

How many continuing education courses would you guess are approved for Missouri licensed real estate 
professionals?  If you said 897, you would be correct.  Ninety-two of those schools must renew in 2019 and 
the other 48 schools must renew in 2021.  There are 140 accredited schools that can teach real estate courses. 

You can check out the listing of approved CE course offerings by visiting the MREC Education portion of our 
website at: https://pr.mo.gov/realestate-ceu-courses.asp.  Current CE courses must be renewed by 
September 30, 2018, or the course approval will expire. 

Continuing Education Waiver Requests 

Missouri regulations authorize MREC to grant CE waivers to certain licensees, such as those who reach age 80.  Listed below 
is the number of waivers granted so far for licensees during the 2018‐2020 renewal period: 
 
2             Active Duty Military waivers 
92           Age waivers 
49           Attorney waivers 
11           Board Member waivers (6 current; 5 grandfathered) 
13           Legislative waivers (2 Senators; 11 Representatives) 
9             Medical waivers  
 
176         Total (so far for 2018 – there could be more for salespersons) 

Defining “SOLD” 

Recently, MREC has received numerous inquiries concerning when a “SOLD” rider can be placed on the for 
sale sign.  Over the years, the Missouri legislature has amended Section 339.010 RSMo., which includes the 
definition of SOLD.  The definition now reads:  "Sold", as used in sections 339.010 to 339.180 and sections 
339.710 to 339.860*, shall mean that the title to the real estate has been transferred or that the real estate has 
become subject to a bona fide sale contract or purchase agreement. 
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Things to Ponder Answers 

1. A  True – §339.150 (2) RSMo. 
 

2. E  MREC Staff Employee – §339.045 (4) RSMo. 
 

3. A  True – §339.100 (2) (19) RSMo. 
 

4. C  Adverse Material Fact – §339.710 (1) RSMo. 
 

5. E  All the above are required – §339.040 (1) & (3) RSMo. 

Missouri Real Estate Commission 

3605 Missouri Boulevard 
P.O. Box 1339 

Jefferson City, Missouri  65102 
 

Phone: (573) 751-2628 
Option: 1) General Information 

      2) Licensing 
      3) Consumer Group  
      4) Complaints & Investigations 
      5) Audits 
      6) School & Courses 
 

Fax: (573) 751-2777 
Email:  Realestate@pr.mo.gov 

Website:  https://pr.mo.gov/realestate.asp 
 

The Missouri Real Estate Commission office is open Monday‐
Friday, 8 a.m‐5 p.m., except State Holidays.  Walk‐ins are asked to 
arrive no later than 4:30 p.m.  At this time, MREC is not set up to 
take payment by credit/debit card at the office. 
 

DISCLAIMER 
This publication is designed to discuss common practice issues or issues of concern for 

real estate agents.  It is provided with the understanding that the publisher is not 

engaged in rendering legal, accounting, or other professional service.  If legal advice or 

other expert assistance is required, the services of a competent professional should be 

sought.  The Missouri Real Estate Commission grants permission to reprint articles 
which appear in this newsletter on condition that recognition of their original 

publication in the MREC Newsletter also appears with the article.  MREC often solicits 

articles from outside experts or reprints articles with permission.  While we feel that 

these articles may offer a broader perspective and will be of interest to the reader, it 

should be remembered that the views expressed are those of the author and not 

necessarily those of the Commission, and do not constitute additional policies and/or 

rules of the Commission above those currently adopted by Missouri statute and/or 

rule.  Permission to reprint solicited articles must be obtained from the article source. 


