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Consumer Line 

Some of the most common questions received from real estate 
professionals on the Consumer Line concern getting around the 
inducement statute {§339.100 (2) (13) RSMo.}.  Frequently, agents ask 
if they can sponsor a contest on social media with the intent to 
market themselves in a highly competitive field.  Some agents want 
to sponsor a contest on their Facebook page or conduct a drawing at 
a trade show that results in awarding a gift card.  The agents say the 
gifts are not tied to clients signing a brokerage service agreement.   
That is an obvious violation of the statute. The catch 22 is the 
wording in the statute that says “Using prizes, money, gifts, or other 
valuable consideration as inducement to secure customers…”  If a 
complaint is filed by a competitor, the Commission will review the 
complaint and determine if a violation has occurred.   
 
The consumer line is also frequently used by brokers and agents 
asking MREC to assist them in resolving contract issues or asking 
how a contract should be amended to accomplish a particular 
objective.  MREC staff are not attorneys and cannot give legal advice 
as to verbiage of a contract.  Brokers should consult the Missouri 
Realtor®’s legal line or consult their own legal counsel. 
 

Referral vs. Inactive Status 

MREC does not have a “Referral” status license.  If a licensee wants to only do referral real estate business, the 
licensee must hold a full active license and be affiliated with a company, which means they must meet the 
continuing education (CE) requirements and pay their license renewal fee on-time.  There are some real estate 
companies that solely affiliate with licensees who only do referrals.   
 
If a licensee holds an “Inactive” Salesperson/Broker license, the licensee cannot conduct real estate business or 
participate in any real estate activities that require a license.  Licensees with an inactive license cannot receive 
compensation for a referral, nor are they required to meet the CE requirements, but must pay the renewal fee.  To 
re-activate the license, the person must re-take the 24-hour Missouri Practice course and pay the appropriate fee. 
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1) Once moved, how many days does a  
licensee/company have to change their  
address with the MREC? 

a) 24 hours 
b) 72 hours 
c) 10 days 
d) 30 days  
e) 60 days 

 
2)    A broker shall return to the Commission a licensee’s 

license within __ of the termination of the association 
of any broker-salesperson or salesperson,.  

a) 24 hours 
b) 72 hours 
c) 10 days 
d) 30 days  
e) 60 days 

 
3)    If you are applying for a license in Missouri,  

and hold a license in another state(s), you  
shall obtain a Certification of Licensure from  
the state(s).  How recent must the Certification  
have been issued to be considered valid? 

a) 30 days 
b) 60 days 
c) 3 months 
d) 6 months 
e) 1 year 

 
4)    The civil penalty that may be imposed by the  

Commission for practicing real estate without  
a current license shall not exceed _______ for  
each offense with a maximum penalty of 
 ________? 

a) $   100;  $ 1,000 
b) $   500;  $ 2,500 
c) $1,000; $10,000 
d) $2,500; $25,000 
e) $1,000; there is no maximum penalty. 

 
5)   Which of the following is not a requirement of  

an applicant for a Missouri Real Estate license? 
a) Citizen of the United States. 
b) At least 18 years of age. 
c) Good reputation for honesty, integrity, and 

fair dealing. 
d) Competent to transact business to safeguard 

the interest of the public. 
e) All of the above are required.

 
 

  

THINGS TO PONDER 

(Answers found on last page) 

Companies Under Companies and Team Names 
 
Any time a company, Association (LLC), Corporation (Inc.), or Partnership, receives a paid commission for 
real estate business, a license is required of the company.  Each licensed company must be supervised by a 
Designated Broker.   
 
Occasionally, a group of licensed individuals within a company may wish to conduct business as a 
team/separate company within a company.  If operating as an association, corporation, or partnership, the 
group is required to obtain a company license.  If a licensed company chooses to also hold themselves out as 
a team, the “team name”, would be considered a fictitious name, as it is not the legal name of the company. 
 
In order for a licensed company to receive a commission from an affiliated (parent) company, that company 
would have to hold a title within the “parent” company, and be licensed as a title holder.  This would result 
in a total of 3 licenses: a broker license for the Designated Broker, a company license, and the company’s 
Broker license affiliated with the “parent” company.  Alternatively, if a company wishes to allow “teams” to 
conduct business through them, and the “team” is not an association, corporation, or partnership, then the 
team name must be registered with the Missouri Secretary of State’s office, and then subsequently registered 
with the MREC office. 

The Missouri Real Estate Commission also regulates Professional Corporations (PC’s).  The PC licenses are 
issued to Broker-Salespersons and Salespersons, and serve as a corporation-type license which does not 
require designating a Broker, or a company license, as the PC is a sole license held by an individual. 

Keep in mind that although teams and groups may want to achieve brand recognition, their advertising must 
include their affiliate company information. 



 

 

  

Branch Offices [20 CSR 2250-8.030 (1 – 4)] 

Whenever a real estate company/sole proprietor has affiliates who are conducting real estate business from 
an address that varies from the company address of record, the designated broker for the company must 
register the branch office with the MREC using an Application for License/Information Change form.   

As an example, a company’s main office may not be large enough to accommodate all of its affiliates, so they 
may buy/rent office space across town where real estate business will be conducted.  This new office space 
must be registered with the MREC as a branch office. 

Please note that each branch office must have a branch manager.  The branch manager can be the designated 
broker or the designated broker can appoint a branch manager, who must hold a Broker type license.  A 
Salesperson cannot be a branch manager.  All signage requirements must be met by the branch office. 

Address/Name Changes 
 

All licensees must ensure that the Commission has the correct mailing address, telephone number, and 
name on record.  Licensees must notify the Commission in writing within 10 days following a change in 
name or home address as required by 20 CSR 2250-4.020 (4). 
 
If your personal contact information changes, notify the Commission promptly in writing either by 
submitting the “Address or Name Change Application” or online by clicking on the icon “Address/Name 
Change Notification:” http://pr.mo.gov/realestate-coa.asp. If you need additional assistance, please contact a 
member of our licensing staff at 573-751-2628, option 2.    

State and National Exam Registration with AMP  

As of April 17, 2017, when applying for the AMP exam, whether online or by phone, the first question asked 
of candidates is, “Do you have a certificate of completion from the 48-hour Salesperson/Broker Pre-
examination Course that displays the completion date within six months of your intended examination 
date?”  The candidate will then be asked to enter the completion date of the respective course. Scheduling 
will only show available dates for a maximum of 6 months from the course completion date that was 
entered. After the allowable timeframe passes, a new course completion will be required. 

This process has been implemented for two reasons:  (1) to ensure that the Candidates complete the 48-hour 
course first, prior to taking the exams, and (2) to make sure the exams are completed within six months of 
the course completion certificate date.   

The exam candidates will be informed if their Certificate of Completion for the 48-hour Salesperson/Broker 
Pre-examination Course is no longer valid, and that they will NOT receive credit for the exam if they 
proceed to take the test.   

MREC anticipates that these additions to the exam application process will aid in ensuring the required 
steps are done correctly, and that they are completed within the six month timeframe. 

 

Disciplinary Actions 
 
If you are interested in viewing disciplinary actions taken by 
the Commission, you will find the information online at:   
http://pr.mo.gov/realestate-disciplines.asp 

Licensee Report- January 2017 
42,050 Total 

Broker Licenses:      12,126 
Salesperson Licenses:      26,139 
Entity Licenses:         3785 



 

  

HB 600 Suspension Process  
 
Under the requirements of Section 324.010 RSMo., the Missouri Real Estate Commission receives notification 
from the Missouri Department of Revenue when licensees have unresolved tax compliance issues. MREC 
sends initial notification letters to the licensees informing them of the tax issue.  They are provided with an 
approximate date for license suspension.  The letter is mailed approximately 12 weeks prior to the MO 
Department of Revenue effective suspension date, and is sent only to the affected licensee (NOT the affiliated 
broker).   
 
If the licensee does not get the tax issue resolved by the deadline, a suspension letter will be drafted.  A 
suspension letter is sent to the licensee and a copy sent to their designated broker.  Upon receipt, the 
designated broker is then required to return the licensee’s original license to the MREC office within 10 days.   
 
If you are an Individual Broker and are suspended, you are required to close your sole proprietorship.  If you 
are the Designated Broker for a company and are suspended, you will be required to either close the 
company or immediately change designated brokers.   
 
If your Salesperson license is suspended due to HB600, you must cease conducting real estate business 
immediately.  If your broker license is suspended due to HB600, you (and any licensees affiliated with 
you/your company) must cease conducting real estate business immediately.  You may not resume real 
estate activities until MREC reinstates your license.   

Continuing Education  
 
Every individual who holds an Active Real Estate license must complete, during the two (2)-year license 
period prior to renewal, a minimum of twelve (12) hours of Missouri Real Estate Commission approved 
Continuing Education (CE). At least three (3) of the twelve (12) hours must be Core hours. The remaining 
required hours shall consist of Missouri Real Estate Commission approved core or elective courses. 
 
Continuing education hours taken by Brokers between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2018, will be applicable to 
the 2018-2020 license renewal cycle. Continuing education hours taken by Salespersons between October 1, 
2016, and September 30, 2018, will be applicable to the 2018-2020 renewal. 
 
If ALL Continuing Education hours are completed by broker licensees by March 31, 2018, and by salesperson 
licensees by June 30, 2018, then you should receive a renewal notice with the CE printed in Section 1 of the 
renewal form.  If CE is not completed prior to the printing of the renewal notices, that information will be 
indicated in Section 1. 

Please note that schools have 10 days to upload the course completion information to the MREC database. 
Once uploaded, if all 12 hours are on file, the renewal may be completed online.  If CE course(s) are 
completed within 10 days of your expiration date, there is no guarantee that your courses will be uploaded to 
your record in time for the online renewal option; therefore, you will have to mail in a paper renewal.  The 
emphasis is to get your required CE done early so you can renew online and not get caught in the last minute 
backlog of renewals. 

Individual Request for Continuing Education Credit (ICE) deadlines to submit applications for non-
preapproved course credit are:   

Broker type licensees– March 30, 2018 
Salesperson type licensees – June 30, 2018 

 



 

 

  

Certifications of Licensure 

The Missouri Real Estate Commission no longer accepts online certifications of licensure from the following 
states: Kansas, Florida, and Arizona.  Other states may be added if deemed appropriate by MREC. 

MREC has discovered that not all pertinent information is listed on the above states’ online licensee searches.  
This includes, but is not limited to, incomplete complaint and discipline information, as well as some 
information not being guaranteed as accurate. 

Certifications of Licensure must be obtained directly from the above state’s Real Estate Commissions within 
90 days of submission to MREC.  Certifications may be emailed, mailed or faxed to MREC.  Contact 
information is listed on the last page of the newsletter. 

License Transfers 

All license transfers require submission of the original license to the MREC office.  Copies of original licenses 
are not an acceptable alternative.  A Broker may submit the license with cancellation paperwork to MREC, or 
the Broker can give the licensee their license to submit with their application. 

If the license has been lost/misplaced, a signed/dated statement by the Designated Broker may be submitted 
in lieu of the original license. 

2018-2020 Renewals 

All Broker type license renewals will be mailed to the licensee’s home address on record and all company 
license renewals will be mailed to the company’s business address on record, as of mid-April 2018.  A 
renewal will be sent for each license that you hold.  Broker type and company licenses expire June 30, 2018. 
 
Please remember that if you are the Designated Broker for the company, it is your responsibility to renew 
both your personal license and your company’s license.   Additionally, the licenses of the company’s affiliates 
will not be renewed until both the designated broker and the company licenses have been renewed.   
 
All Salesperson type renewals will be mailed to the licensee’s home address on file with the MREC as of mid-
July 2018.  Salesperson type licenses expire September 30, 2018.   
 
You are encouraged to renew online, as that is the quickest way to renew your license(s). Company licenses 
and ALL Inactive licenses can be renewed online as soon as the renewals are received by the licensee, as 
there is NO CE required for these license types.  Once your CE is loaded into MREC’s database, the website 
will update overnight.  Once your CE shows up online, you should be able to complete the renewal process 
online.     



  

Upcoming Meetings and Workshops 

Commission Meetings for Remainder of 2017 
August 9, 2017   
October 4, 2017 
December 6, 2017 
(Contact MREC for further information) 
 
Instructor Development Workshop (IDW) 
September 22, 2017 (St. Louis) hosted by St. Louis Association of 
REALTORS® (Contact SLAR for additional workshop details) 
 
Educators’  Workshop – 2017 
October 23, 2017 (Jefferson City) 
(Contact MREC for further information) 

2017 Rule Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17-03 and Section 536.175 RSMo., the MREC will be conducting a review of all 
of its rules between now and 2018. The MREC will be taking public comments on any of its rules during its 
October 4, 2017 and December 6, 2017 commission meetings. Public comments can also be submitted online 
or submitted in writing and mailed to the MREC during the scheduled rule review time period (July 1 
through September 15, 2017).  If you would like to submit a comment on a rule, please visit our website at 
www.pr.mo.gov/realestate.asp. 

Newsletter Re-instituted 

The Commission recently directed MREC staff to re-institute the MREC Newsletter as a means to better keep 
real estate professionals informed.  As many of you know, the MREC newsletter was previously published 
and mailed to all Missouri real estate licensees.  The last published newsletter was October 2011.  The old 
newsletters can still be accessed from our website.  We anticipate doing two newsletters each year; one in 
January and one in July.  The newsletter will only be accessible through our website 
(www.pr.mo.gov/realestate.asp). Click on “General Information” and then click on “Newsletters” to read.  If 
you have ideas for future newsletters, or topics you would like to see addressed, please e-mail them to us at:  
realestate@pr.mo.gov.    

Mark it “SOLD”!!!! 

Recently, MREC has received numerous inquiries concerning when a “SOLD” rider can be placed on the for 
sale sign.  Over the years, the Missouri legislature has amended Section 339.010 RSMo., which includes the 
definition of SOLD.  The definition now reads:  "Sold", as used in sections 339.010 to 339.180 and sections 
339.710 to 339.860*, shall mean that the title to the real estate has been transferred or that the real estate has 
become subject to a bona fide sale contract or purchase agreement. 
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Things to Ponder Answers 

1. 10 days - 20 CSR 2250-4.020(4) 
 

2. 72 hours – 20 CSR 2250-4.050(3) 
 

3. 3 months – 20 CSR 2250-4.080 (A)(2) & (B)(2)(4) 
 

4. Civil penalty imposed by the Commission shall not exceed 
$2,500 for each offense with a maximum penalty of $25,000 - 
§339.205(2) RSMo 
 

5. Citizen of the United States  – §339.040(1) and (3) RSMo. 

Missouri Real Estate Commission 

3605 Missouri Boulevard 
P.O. Box 1339 

Jefferson City, Missouri  65102 
 

Phone: (573) 751-2628 
Option: 1) General Information 

      2) Licensing 
      3) Consumer Group  
      4) Complaints & Investigations 
      5) Audits 
      6) School & Courses 
 

Fax: (573) 751-2777 
Email:  Realestate@pr.mo.gov 

Website:  http://pr.mo.gov/realestate.asp 
 

The Missouri Real Estate Commission office is open Monday‐
Friday, 8 a.m‐5 p.m., except State Holidays.  Walk‐ins are asked to 
arrive no later than 4:30 p.m.  At this time, MREC is not set up to 
take payment by credit/debit card. 
 

DISCLAIMER 
This publication is designed to discuss common practice issues or issues of concern for 

real estate agents.  It is provided with the understanding that the publisher is not 

engaged in rendering legal, accounting, or other professional service.  If legal advice or 

other expert assistance is required, the services of a competent professional should be 

sought.  The Missouri Real Estate Commission grants permission to reprint articles 
which appear in this newsletter on condition that recognition of their original 

publication in the MREC Newsletter also appears with the article.  MREC often solicits 

articles from outside experts or reprints articles with permission.  While we feel that 

these articles may offer a broader perspective and will be of interest to the reader, it 

should be remembered that the views expressed are those of the author and not 

necessarily those of the Commission, and do not constitute additional policies and/or 

rules of the Commission above those currently adopted by Missouri statute and/or 

rule.  Permission to reprint solicited articles must be obtained from the article source. 


