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MISSOURI BOARD OF PHARMACY

PHARMACIST LICENSE TRANSFER/RECIPROCITY

APPLICANT STATEMENT & INSTRUCTIONS
 IMPORTANT INFORMATION

 Complete the Pharmacist License Transfer/Reciprocity Applicant Statement if you are a pharmacist and are applying
to transfer/reciprocate your license in another state to Missouri. You are eligible to transfer/reciprocate if:

 You graduated from a pharmacy school that is located in the United States or a United States territory;
 You hold a current and active pharmacist license in the United States or a U.S. territory, and;
 You have been licensed in such state/territory for at least one (1) year or you have at least 1,500

internship hours.

 Do not submit this Applicant Statement if you previously applied for license transfer/reciprocity and have failed the
MPJE.  A Pharmacist Examination Retake Application must be filed if you are applying to retest.

 All pharmacist applicants must be fingerprinted and undergo a criminal history background check. (See
fingerprint instructions below).

 Important Note for Foreign Graduates: If you graduated from a pharmacy school that is not located in the United
States or a United States territory, you must submit a Foreign Pharmacy School Graduate Preliminary Evaluation
License Transfer/Reciprocity Applicant Statement. Do not use this form to apply for reciprocity/license transfer if you
are a foreign pharmacy school graduate. See rule 20 CSR 2220-7.040 for foreign graduate licensure and certification
requirements. 

 If you do not qualify to reciprocate, you may apply for Missouri licensure by examination.

 OVERVIEW OF TRANSFER/RECIPROCITY PROCESS

    STEP 1: Submit Electronic Licensure Transfer application (reciprocity) and processing fee of $375 
to National Association Boards of Pharmacy (NABP).  You must upload a clear 
photograph.  

    STEP 2: Register with NABP and submit the $250 processing fee to take the Multistate 
Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) 

    STEP 3: Submit the pharmacist license transfer statement with $375 to the Missouri Board of 
Pharmacy 

    STEP 4: Complete the fingerprint/background check by registering with the Missouri Automated 
Criminal History System (MACHS) 

* Applicants may register to take the MPJE prior to submitting this Pharmacist License Transfer/Reciprocity Applicant
Statement. However, applicants will not be declared eligible to test for Missouri until all required application materials
have been received.

 INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING YOUR TRANSFER/RECIPROCITY APPLICANT STATEMENT WITH THE BOARD

The following items must be submitted to the Board to complete the reciprocity/transfer process: 
□ Completed Pharmacist License Transfer/Reciprocity Applicant Statement.
□ Fee of $375.00 made payable to the Missouri Board of Pharmacy. The fee may be a money order, cashier’s check or

personal check. All fees are deposited upon receipt, and are non-refundable.  Deposit of the fee does  not mean your
application has been accepted or approved.

□ Proof of Fingerprinting: A fingerprint receipt from the State’s approved fingerprinting vendor (IdentoGo) must be
attached to this application unless fingerprints were taken at a law enforcement agency outside of Missouri. (See
Fingerprint Instructions section below for Out-of-State Applicant instructions.)

For additional licensing Information, see the Missouri Pharmacist Licensing FAQ on the Board’s website. 
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□ Proof of Intern Hours:  Proof of intern hours is required only if:
a. You have been licensed as a pharmacist for less than one (1) year; or
b. The required 1,500 hours are not documented on your NABP Official Application.

The required hours must be documented by the board of pharmacy in the state where the hours were earned. If the 
state licensing board does not certify intern hours, a verification letter identifying the number of hours earned must be 
received from your pharmacy school/college. Verification letters must be submitted on school letterhead and bear the 
appropriate seal. 

□ Mail Application To: Missouri Board of Pharmacy, PO Box 625, Jefferson City, MO 65102.

Allow three (3) weeks for processing your application. If additional information is required, you will be notified in writing. 
Incomplete applications or failure to completely/accurately disclose criminal history information will result in additional delay 
and may require additional review by the Board. 

If you pass the MPJE and your application is approved, your license will be issued and your license number and status  will be 
available on the Board’s website. The Board allows applicants to use the website as proof of licensure until their printed license 
is received from the Board office. Your license will be mailed to the applicant address listed on your application.  Please allow 
3-5 days for mailing.

 EXAMINATION INFORMATION

1. Transfer/reciprocity candidates must take the MPJE administered by the National Association of Boards of
Pharmacy (NABP) for Missouri. The MPJE is specific to each state’s laws. MPJE scores from other states
cannot be accepted for licensure in Missouri.

2. Candidates must register for the MPJE with NABP. Registration applications can be submitted to NABP online at
https://nabp.pharmacy

3. The current MPJE examination fee is $250. Examination fees must be paid to NABP and can be paid online with a
credit/debit card.

4. The Board office does not accept MPJE applications/fees. MPJE applications and fees must be submitted and paid
to NABP.

5. The Board will notify NABP once you are eligible to test. Note: Approval to test does not mean that your pharmacist
license application has been approved. A final decision on your application will not be made until your test scores
have been received. The Board reserves the right to deny or otherwise restrict licensure for candidates approved to
test. Application and testing fees will not be refunded if your license is subsequently denied or otherwise restricted
by the Board.

6. After you have been declared eligible to test by the Board, you will receive an Authorization to Test (ATT) from
NABP or NABP’s approved testing vendor- Pearson VUE. The Board does not send or handle ATT forms.
Questions regarding your ATT should be forwarded to NABP.

7. Instructions on scheduling a testing date, time and location will be provided when you receive your ATT. You are
responsible for scheduling testing dates/times with Pearson VUE as provided in the instructions given. Exams can
be taken at any Pearson VUE testing site (for a list of locations visit www.pearsonvue.com).

8. A minimum score of seventy-five (75) is required to pass the MPJE. Your test score will be electronically sent to the
Board after you take the exam(s). Allow two (2) weeks from your exam date for score results to be processed.
You will be notified in writing of your test results.  Score results may also be checked online at
http://www.nabp.net/programs/examination/naplex/naplex-and-mpje-score-results/. Score results will not be given
over the phone, by e-mail or by fax under any circumstances. 

9. If you pass the MPJE and your application is approved by the Board, your pharmacist license will be issued within 2-4
weeks. You do not need to contact the Board to request your license or to report test results. Please limit phone calls
to the extent necessary.

10. If you fail to pass the MPJE, you may request to retest by submitting a Pharmacist Examination Retake Application to
the Board. Applications are available online at www.pr.mo.gov/pharmacists-forms.asp.  If you fail the MPJE two (2)
consecutive times, the Board may establish additional training or study requirements before you are authorized to
retest.
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11. For additional information on exam content, format and registration, see NABP’s MPJE Registration Bulletin
available online at http://www.nabp.net/programs/examination/naplex/registration-bulletin.

 FINGERPRINT INSTRUCTIONS

To complete your application, you must be fingerprinted and undergo a criminal history background check. Fingerprinting 
must be conducted by IdentGo, the Board’s approved fingerprinting vendor. To be fingerprinted, complete the following steps: 

    STEP 1: Register to be fingerprinted on the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) 
website at www.machs.mo.gov or call 844-543-9712. To register, you must provide 
the fingerprint vendor “Registration Number: 0003. Do not contact the Board to 
schedule a fingerprint appointment. 

    STEP 2: Once you are registered, you will be given a “TCN” number from MACHS online or 
over the phone. Write down or print your TCN number and take it with you when you 
are fingerprinted. 

    STEP 3: Find a fingerprint location by clicking on “Fingerprint Sites” on the top of the MACHS 
webpage located at www.machs.mo.gov.  Once a preferred location is designated, you 
will see the location address and hours of operation. The Board does not maintain 
location site addresses or hours of operation. Applicants must visit the MACHS website 
or call the fingerprinting vendor to find a location site. 

    STEP 4: Take your TCN number and a valid government issued ID with you to the fingerprint 
location.  You WILL experience a long wait at the fingerprint location if you do 
not register online or forget to take your TCN number to the fingerprint location. 

    STEP 5: Pay the fingerprint fee and get your prints taken. You must pay the fingerprint fee 
online or in person at the site. For verification purposes, your picture will be taken at 
the fingerprint site. This picture cannot be used as the picture required for your 
application. 

    STEP 6: After you are fingerprinted, you will be given a fingerprint receipt that shows you have 
been fingerprinted. The receipt must be submitted to the Board with your 
completed application. Receipts must be dated no more than ninety (90) days prior 
to submission of the application. If the receipt date is more than ninety (90) days from 
the date your application was submitted, you will be required to be re-fingerprinted and 
pay an additional fee. 

Out-of-State Applicants: If you are outside of the state and cannot drive to a Missouri fingerprint location, please register with 
MACHS as indicated above and make payment online. You will then need to go to a law enforcement agency and complete two 
inked fingerprint cards captured on a standard FBI‐258 applicant fingerprint card. Write Registration Number: 0003 on 
your fingerprint cards. Write your TCN number on the back of your fingerprint cards. Mail your cards to: 
IdentoGo,MO Cardscan Department, 6840 Carothers Pkwy, Suite 650, Franklin, TN 37067. Fingerprint cards should not be 
mailed to the Board.  Mailed fingerprint cards take longer to process; expect longer processing times. 

Click here or visit the Board’s website to learn more about the fingerprint process. 

 QUESTIONS

Questions regarding the Pharmacist License Transfer/Reciprocity Applicant Statement may be addressed to: E-
Mail: pharmacist@pr.mo.gov 
Phone: (573) 751-0092
Fax: (573) 526-3464

Questions regarding your Official Application, the MPJE and exam registration, and ATT should be addressed to NABP at: E-
Mail: custserv@nabp.net 
Phone: (847) 391-4406
Fax: (847) 391-4502
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MISSOURI BOARD OF PHARMACY

PHARMACIST LICENSE TRANSFER/RECIPROCITY

APPLICANT STATEMENT

STATE OF MISSOURI MAILING ADDRESS: FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION MISSOURI BOARD OF PHARMACY LICENSE # 

MISSOURI BOARD OF PHARMACY PO BOX 625 
JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102 ISSUE DATE 

OVERNIGHT ADDRESS: VOID DATE 

3605 MISSOURI BLVD. 
JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65109 RECEIVED DATE 

- SEE INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THIS FORM AND FINGERPRINT REQUIREMENTS
- APPLICATION FEE: $375
- KEEP COPY OF COMPLETED APPLICATION FOR YOUR RECORDS
- QUESTIONS:  E-MAIL:  pharmacist@pr.mo.gov or call (573) 751-0092

APPLICANT INFORMATION

APPLICANT NAME (LAST) (FIRST) (MIDDLE) (MAIDEN) SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

ADDRESS (STREET) (CITY) (STATE) (ZIP)

DATE OF BIRTH (MM/DD/YYYY) □ MALE □ FEMALE 
CONTACT TELEPHONE NUMBER 

EMAIL ADDRESS 

EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION (Provide the following information for your current or anticipated employment as a pharmacist, if known.)
EMPLOYER BUSINESS NAME MISSOURI PHARMACY PERMIT NO. 

ADDRESS (STREET) (CITY) (STATE) ( ZIP) EMPLOYMENT START DATE 

SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS

DO YOU NEED SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS TO TAKE THE EXAM(S)? □ YES □ NO

(If yes, an Application for Disability Accommodation should be completed and mailed to the Board. Applications are available on the Board’s website 
at http://pr.mo.gov/pharmacists-forms.asp.) 

INTERN HOURS
All applicants for pharmacist licensure must complete 1,500 internship hours that comply with 20 CSR 2220-7.025. 

Proof of the required 1,500 internship hours is required only if: 
a) You have been licensed as a pharmacist for less than one (1) year; OR
b) The required 1,500 hours are not documented on your NABP Official Application.

c) You do not have to submit additional documentation if you have been licensed as a pharmacist for more than one (1) year or the required
1,500 hours are documented on your NABP Official Application.

The required 1,500 hours must be documented by the Board of Pharmacy in the state where the hours were earned.  If the state licensing board   
does not certify intern hours, a verification letter identifying the number of hours earned must be received from your pharmacy school/college. 
Verification letters must be submitted on school letterhead and bear the appropriate seal. 
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1. Do you have any felony or misdemeanor criminal charges pending against you in Missouri or in any other state, □ YES   □ NO
country or court (including federal court)?

2. Have you ever been found guilty or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a felony or misdemeanor in Missouri     □  YES   □ NO
or in any other state, country or court (including federal court)?

3. Have you received a Suspended Imposition of Sentence (SIS) or Suspended Execution of Sentence (SES) (felony or
misdemeanor) in any criminal prosecution in Missouri or in any other state, country or court (including federal court)? □ YES   □ NO

4. Are you now charged or have you ever been found guilty of or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to any
traffic offense resulting from or related to the use of drugs or alcohol in any state, country or court (including a
municipal court) whether or not sentence was imposed or a suspended imposition of sentence (SIS) was received?
(i.e., DUI, DWI, etc.)

□ YES   □ NO

5. Have you ever had an application for a pharmacy technician, pharmacist, pharmacy intern, pharmacy, drug
distributor or any other healthcare registration, license, permit, or certificate denied in this state, or any other state
or country?      (If yes, copies of any denial documents must be provided)

6. Have you ever had a pharmacy technician, pharmacist, pharmacy intern, pharmacy, drug distributor or any other
healthcare registration, license, permit, or certificate disciplined in this state or in any other state or country? (If
yes, copies of any disciplinary documents must be provided)

7. Have you ever voluntary surrendered a pharmacy technician, pharmacist, pharmacy intern, pharmacy, drug

□ YES   □ NO

□ YES   □ NO

□ YES   □ NO
distributor or any other healthcare registration, license, permit, or certificate in lieu of discipline or while a complaint

/investigation was pending?

8. Are you now using any drug, controlled substance or alcoholic beverage to an extent that such use may impair your
ability to perform the work of a pharmacist?

□ YES   □ NO

9. Are you currently addicted to or dependent on alcohol or any drug (controlled or non-controlled) or other substance? □  YES   □ NO

Answer all questions in this section. If you answer “yes” to any question, a detailed written explanation must be included with your 
application (attach additional sheets if necessary). Failure to include an explanation or to answer all of the questions will result in your 
application being rejected.  If you are in doubt, answer “yes” and provide an explanation. 

a. SUSPENDED IMPOSITION OF SENTENCE/SUSPENDED EXECUTION OF SENTENCE: You are required to answer “yes” to the criminal
history questions and to provide an explanation even if you have received a Suspended Imposition of Sentence (“SIS”) or
Suspended Execution of Sentence (“SES”). An attorney may advise you that you do not have to report SIS or SES
information. However, the Board has access to both SIS and SES records. You must answer “yes” even if you received an
SIS or an SES.

b. If you answer “yes” to any of the criminal history questions, you must provide certified court documents that show the dates,
charges and dispositions of your arrests/convictions. Typically, this would include copies of the charging document
(complaint, indictment), the Judgment and Sentence and any other documents showing the disposition of your case.
Documents MUST be certified by the court.

c. If you’ve had a pharmacy technician, pharmacist, pharmacy intern, pharmacy, drug distributor or any other healthcare
registration, license, permit, or certificate, denied or disciplined in this state or in any other state or country, provide an
explanation and a copy of any related official documents, settlement agreements or disciplinary documents.

d. 338.185 RSMo provides: “After August 28, 1990, notwithstanding any other provisions of law, the board of pharmacy shall
have access to records involving an applicant for a license or permit or renewal of a license or permit as provided within this
chapter, where the applicant has been adjudicated and found guilty or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere in a
prosecution under the laws of any state or of the United States for any offense reasonably related to the qualifications,
functions, or duties of any profession licensed or regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence or for any offense involving moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed.”

CHARGES, CONVICTIONS, DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS AND STATUS
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10. In the past 10 years, have you been addicted to or dependent on alcohol or any drug (controlled or non-controlled or
other substance)? □ YES   □ NO

11. Are you currently experiencing any medical condition or disorder that limits or impairs your judgment or that
otherwise affects your ability to practice pharmacy in a safe and competent manner?

□ YES   □ No

TAX COMPLIANCE
All persons and business entities renewing a license with the Division of Professional Registration are required to have paid all state taxes and also are 
required to have filed all necessary state income tax returns for the preceding three years.  If you have failed to pay your taxes or have failed to file your 
tax returns, your license will be subject to suspension within 90 days of being notified by the Missouri Department of Revenue of any delinquency or failure 
to file.  The following tax information must be provided: 
Pursuant to Section 324.010, RSMo: 

Were you a Missouri resident in any of the last 3 years? □ YES □ NO

Did you have any Missouri income in any of the last 3 years? □ YES □ NO

Were you subject to Missouri income tax in any of the last 3 years?  □ YES □ NO

All questions must be completed. False statements are subject to criminal penalties and/or license discipline. 
For tax questions, contact the Department of Revenue at (573) 751-7200 or e-mail income@dor.mo.gov. 

APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT
I have personally completed the foregoing application truthfully and completely. All the information and answers contained in this application and any 
attachments are true and correct to my best knowledge and belief. I am making this affidavit knowing that any false statements or material omission subjects 
me to criminal penalties for making a false affidavit under Section 575.050, RSMo. 

I understand that I must comply with federal and state laws as well as the regulations of the Missouri Board of Pharmacy. I hereby certify under the penalty of 
perjury that the above statements, as well as all information provided here, are true and accurate. 

MUST BE SIGNED IN THE PRESENCE OF A NOTARY SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

DATE PRINT NAME 

NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER OR 

BLACK INK RUBBER SEAL STAMP 

STATE COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS) 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS 

DAY OF YEAR USE RUBBER STAMP IN CLEAR AREA BELOW. 

NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE MY COMMISSION 

EXPIRES 

NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED 

12. In the past 10 years, have you ever been adjudged insane or incompetent by or in any state, court or country? □ YES   □ NO

13. Are you now or have you ever been required by any state or federal court or by any state, federal or municipal law to
register as a sex offender?

14. Are you now or have you ever been placed on the List of Excluded Individuals and Entities maintained by the U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General (also known as the “OIG Exclusion List”)? □ YES   □ NO

15. Are you now or have you ever been placed on the Employee Disqualification List maintained by the Missouri
Department of Health and Senior Services or the Missouri Department of Mental Health (even if a waiver has been
granted)?

□ YES   □ NO

□ YES   □ NO
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*****STATUTES/RULES NOT COVERED ON THE MISSOURI MPJE***** 

 MISSOURI STATUTES*

MISSOURI RULES*

20 CSR 2220-1.020 Board Compensation 

20 CSR 2220-2.165 Licensure Disciplinary Agreements 

20 CSR 2220-2.170 Procedure for Impaired Pharmacist 

20 CSR 2220-2.180 Public Records 

20 CSR 2220-4.010 General Fees 

20 CSR 2220-7.010 General Licensing Rules 

20 CSR 2220-7.025 Intern Pharmacist Licensure 

20 CSR 2220-7.027 Approved Missouri Schools/Colleges of 
Pharmacy 

20 CSR 2220-7.030 Pharmacist Licensure by Examination 

20 CSR 2220-7.040 Foreign Graduates 

20 CSR 2220-7.050 License Transfer/Reciprocity 

20 CSR 2220-7.060 Score Transfer 

20 CSR 2220-7.070 Temporary Pharmacist License (Post-Graduate 
Training) 

20 CSR 2220-7.090 Fingerprint Requirements 

Sec. 338.020, RSMo Application for license-requirements, oath, 
penalty 

338.030 Applicant-requirements for qualifications 

338.035 Application, contents-intern pharmacist-board 
shall promulgate rules-procedure 

338.040 License issued with examination, when- 
reciprocity -equivalency examination-fees 

338.043 Temporary license-eligibility-restrictions- 
renewal 

Sections 338.500 – 338.650 Medicaid tax, Audits, Rebate Fund 



Missouri Procedures for Out-of-State Applicant Fingerprint Cards 

Go to www.machs.mo.gov to register for the criminal history background check. You 
must provide IdentoGo “Registration Number: 0003.” Please write the TCN number 
provided during online registration on the back of both fingerprint cards. For more information 
about fees please visit www.machs.mo.gov for a complete fee schedule.  

Out-of-State applicants should mail their fingerprint cards to IdentoGo for criminal 
background check processing.  

All fingerprint cards should contain the mandatory demographic information listed below. If any 
of the below fields are left blank the fingerprint card will not be able to be processed and a 
rejection notice will be mailed back to the applicant. Mandatory Information that must be 
included on the fingerprint card: 

First Name Height 
Last Name Weight 
Street Address Hair Color 
City Eye Color 
State Race (Black, White, Hispanic, Indian, Asian, Other) 

Zip Code Place of Birth 
Date of Birth Citizenship 
Sex (Male or Female) Social Security Number (if a US Citizen) 

The Missouri Board of Pharmacy’s Registration Number: 0003 must be notated in the upper 
right hand corner of the fingerprint card. Failure to include this information on the fingerprint 
card will result in an incorrect type of background check being done. Additional fees may be 
accessed if a correction is later needed. 

Only include "Volunteer" if the 
background check is being 
conducted for a position as a 
volunteer. 

Fingerprint cards and associated fees 
should be mailed to: 

IdentoGo
Attn: Missouri CardScan Department 
6840 Carothers Pkwy, Suite 650 
Franklin, TN 37067

Questions about this process may be 
directed to I at 1-844-543-9712 or to 
the Missouri State Highway Patrol at 
573-526-6312

Sample Registration # 



Important Notice Concerning Your Fingerprint-based 
Background Check 

As an applicant who is the subject of a state and/or national fingerprint-based criminal history 
record check for a noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for a job or license, an 
immigration or naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you must understand 
that by mailing your fingerprints to the Missouri State Highway Patrol or to IdentGo, the 
Missouri Fingerprint Services vendor, you hereby agree to the following: 

o Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history record files of the
Missouri State Highway Patrol (MSHP) and/or the Federal Bureau of
Investigation (FBI).

o Any criminal history information returned as a result of this search will be made
available to requestors pursuant to Chapter 43 RSMo.

o All information, including your fingerprints, photograph, and any demographic
data collected during the course of your fingerprint-based record check may be
stored in MSHP and/or FBI files. Such data will be subject to comparisons against
other submissions received by the MSHP and/or the FBI and to further
disseminations by the MSHP or the FBI as may be authorized under the Federal
Privacy Act (5USC 552a(b)) or Missouri Revised Statutes.

o Any future updates made to your arrest record may also be shared with the agency
requesting this fingerprint-based background check if the requesting agency is a
subscriber to the state and/or federal Rap Back program.

Questions about this notice may be directed to the Missouri State Highway Patrol Criminal 
Justice Information Services Division at 573-526-6153 or machs@mshp.dps.mo.gov 



AGENCY PRIVACY REQUIREMENTS FOR NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANTS 

Authorized governmental and non-governmental agencies/officials that conduct a national 
fingerprint-based criminal history record check on an applicant for a noncriminal justice purpose 
(such as a job or license, immigration or naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption) are 
obligated to ensure the applicant is provided certain notice and other information and that the 
results of the check are handled in a manner that protects the applicant’s privacy. 

 Officials must provide to the applicant written notice1 that his/her fingerprints will be used
to check the criminal history records of the FBI.

 Officials using the FBI criminal history record (if one exists) to make a determination of
the applicant’s suitability for the job, license, or other benefit must provide the applicant
the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information in the record.

 Officials must advise the applicant that procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or
updating of an FBI criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34.

 Officials should not deny the job, license, or other benefit based on information in the
criminal history record until the applicant has been afforded a reasonable time to correct or
complete the record or has declined to do so.

 Officials must use the criminal history record solely for the purpose requested and cannot
disseminate the record outside the receiving department, related agency, or other
authorized entity.2 

The FBI has no objection to officials providing a copy of the applicant’s FBI criminal history 
record to the applicant for review and possible challenge when the record was obtained based on 
positive fingerprint identification. If agency policy permits, this courtesy will save the applicant the 
time and additional FBI fee to obtain his/her record directly from the FBI by following the 
procedures found at 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34. It will also allow the officials to make a more 
timely determination of the applicant’s suitability. 

Each agency should establish and document the process/procedures it utilizes for how/when it gives 
the applicant notice, what constitutes “a reasonable time” for the applicant to correct or complete 
the record, and any applicant appeal process that is afforded the applicant. Such documentation 
will assist State and/or FBI auditors during periodic compliance reviews on use of criminal history 
records for noncriminal justice purposes. 

1 Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification. 
2 See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 42 U.S.C. 14616, Article IV(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d), 50.12(b) and 
906.2(d). 



NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANT’S PRIVACY RIGHTS 

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for 
a noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for a job or license, an immigration or 
naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have certain rights which are discussed 
below. 

 You must be provided written notification1 that your fingerprints will be used to check the
criminal history records of the FBI.

 If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your
suitability for the job, license, or other benefit must provide you the opportunity to
complete or challenge the accuracy of the information in the record.

 The officials must advise you that the procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or
updating of your criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34.

 If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time
to correct or complete the record (or decline to do so) before the officials deny you the job,
license, or other benefit based on information in the criminal history record.2 

You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record 
check will use it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of 
federal statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the 

National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.3 

If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal 
history record for review and possible challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to 
provide you a copy of the record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting 
fingerprints and a fee to the FBI. Information regarding this process may be obtained at 
http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks. 

If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI criminal history record, 
you should send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information to the 
FBI.  Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI.  The FBI will then 
forward your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information and request 
the agency to verify or correct the challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official communication 
from that agency, the FBI will make any necessary changes/corrections to your record in 
accordance with the information supplied by that agency.  (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.) 

1 Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification. 
2 See 28 CFR 50.12(b). 
3 See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 42 U.S.C. 14616, Article IV(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d) and 906.2(d). 
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