Instructions
Application for Provisional License

An applicant for provisional licensure must submit the following documentation --
1. Official transcript sent to the board office by the massage therapy school, program, or board
approved mentor, or an official transcript placed in an enveloped that is sealed by the massage therapy
school, program, or board approved mentor. The massage therapy school, program, or board approved
mentor must affix their stamp or seal to the backside of the envelope over the sealed flap.

2. Verification of being scheduled to take the national examination. Missouri accepts the National
Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETBM) as administered by the
National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork or its successor organization;
National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) as administered by the National
Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork or its successor organization; Asian
Bodywork Therapy (ABT) Examination as administered by the National Certification Commission for
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM); The American Medical Massage Association National
Board Certification Examination (AMMA NBCE) administered as of 2006; and Massage and Bodywork
Licensing Examination (MBLEX) as administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards
or its successor organization. To verify being scheduled for an examination, the applicant must provide
a copy of the notification letter or email from the examination service or a letter from the massage
therapy school, program, or board certified mentor that the applicant for provisional licensure has
applied to take an examination.

3. Background Check. Please see below
4. Application fee. $75 for initial application or $50 if applying for an extension of the provisional license.

5. Please provide an email address. Once the application is processed, a personal identification
number will be assigned and emailed. The PIN allows the applicant to check the status of the
application online.

SECTION | - APPLICANT INFORMATION

This section addresses information regarding the applicant. The information entered in the residence address
will be the address listed on the license, where all board correspondence is sent, and the address listed on the
web site. Please include an email address as information regarding the status of an application is provided via
an email notice directing the applicant to visit a secure website.

Regarding professional liability insurance 20 CSR 2197-2.030(4) of the licensure regulation requires “....A
person holding a provisional license is subject to all statutes, rules and regulations relating to the licensing and
regulation of licensed massage therapists and licensed massage therapy businesses.” A requirement for a
licensed massage therapist is maintaining current professional liability insurance.

SECTION Il - EDUCATION
There is space for entry of two massage schools/programs or mentors. If additional schools or programs need
to be listed, place the information on a separate sheet of paper and attach to the application.

SECTION lll - APPLICANT INFORMATION
An application for provisional licensure must answer all questions in this section. “Yes” answers to questions 2-
9 require a written explanation on a separate sheet of paper and submitted with the application.

Question 10 of Section Il requires a response only if you have not been a Missouri resident for the last three
calendar years. The board is required to ask this question in compliance with Missouri’s law regarding the filing
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and payment of state income taxes. If you have lived in Missouri for the last three years, leave this question
blank.

SECTION IV - EDUCATION VERIFICATION
An official transcript is required to document completion of course work applicable to massage therapy
educational requirements.

NOTARIZED STATEMENT
The application must be signed in the presence of a notary.

BACKGROUND CHECK
An applicant for provisional licensure must submit to a criminal background check pursuant to section 324.267
RSMo of the licensure law that states, “Any applicant for a license to operate a massage business or a license
to practice massage therapy shall authorize the board to conduct a criminal background check...The cost of
such background check shall be paid by the applicant.” If an applicant submitted a criminal background check
while provisionally licensed and the results are less than one year old, a second criminal background check is

not required.

Section 43.543 RSMo of Missouri law authorizes state agencies to conduct a background check with the
Missouri State Highway Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

To complete the background check requirement go to the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS)
at https://www.machs.mshp.dps.mo.gov/MACHSFP/wizard.html to register online. MACHS will take an
applicant through the registration steps. If an applicant does not have internet access, s/he can call 844/543-
9712

An applicant must have the four digit registration number. Applicants seeking a business license, this
registration number is 5407. The registration number ties all agency/licensure entity identifying information
together to insure the background check response is returned to the correct licensing entity. The MACHS
website collects all demographic data required to complete a fingerprint based background check. Results of
the background check are sent directly to the board office.

PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT UNTIL THE RESULTS OF THE BACKGROUND CHECK ARE RECEIVED BY
THE BOARD, A LICENSE WILL NOT BE ISSUED.
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