
Instructions for the Physician Assistant Application for Certificate of Controlled 
Substance Prescriptive Authority 

 
Attached are the materials you will need to make application for the physician assistant certificate of controlled substance 
prescriptive authority.  
 
Prior to completing the application, you should read the statutes and rules governing physician assistants in the 
State of Missouri.  These are located on our website at http://pr.mo.gov/healingarts-rules-statutes.asp.  
 
FEE 
The fee is $25. Please make checks payable to the Missouri Board of Healing Arts. All checks must be drawn on a United 
States bank because our bank doesn’t accept checks from International banks. No application will be processed until the 
fee is received. The Board cannot accept credit or debit cards for payment of the initial application fee. 
 
DOCUMENTS THAT NEED TO BE SUBMITTED IN ADDTITION TO THE FORMS IN THIS PACKET 

• Official transcripts or a letter from your program director documenting successful completion of an advanced 
pharmacology course that includes clinical training in the prescription of drugs, medicines, and therapeutic devices. 
A course or courses with advanced pharmacological content in a physician assistant program accredited by the 
Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA) or its predecessor agency 
shall satisfy such requirement. 

• Official transcripts or a letter from your program director documenting completion of a minimum of one year of 
supervised clinical practice or supervised clinical rotations. One year of clinical rotations in a program accredited by 
the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA) or its predecessor 
agency, which includes pharmacotherapeutics as a component of its clinical training, shall satisfy such requirement. 
Proof of such training shall serve to document experience in the prescribing of drugs, medicines, and therapeutic 
devices.  

 
HOW TO CHECK THE STATUS OF YOUR APPLICATION 
When your application is received and processed, you will be notified via email regarding the status of your application. 
 
If you have questions after reading these instructions, you may call the Board office at 573-751-0098 or toll free at 866-
289-5753 or email at licensure@pr.mo.gov. 
 

http://pr.mo.gov/healingarts-rules-statutes.asp
mailto:licensure@pr.mo.gov


  

 

STATE OF MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR HEALING ARTS 
3605 MISSOURI BLVD, PO BOX 4 DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION 

JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102 STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS 
TELEPHONE: (573) 751-0098 PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF TOLL FREE: (866) 289-5753 

TTY: (800) 735-2966 CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 
Please complete and return this application, proof of meeting educational requirements, collaborating physician certification of 
controlled substance prescribing authority form and fee of $25, made payable to the Missouri State Board of Healing Arts, to P.O. 
Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. 
PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE, MAIDEN) (PLEASE PRINT) MISSOURI LICENSE NUMBER EMAIL ADDRESS 

COLLABORATING PHYSICIAN NAME (PLEASE PRINT) MISSOURI LICENSE NUMBER 

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 
I hereby certify that I have attached proof of: 

1. Official transcripts or a letter from my program director documenting successful completion of an advanced pharmacology course 
that includes clinical training in the prescription of drugs, medicines, and therapeutic devices. A course or courses with advanced 
pharmacological content in a physician assistant program accredited by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for 
the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA) or its predecessor agency shall satisfy such requirement; 

2. Documentation from my collaborating physician of completion of a minimum of three hundred clock hours of clinical training by the 
collaborating physician in the prescription of drugs, medicines, and therapeutic devices; and 

3. Official transcripts or letter from my program director documenting completion of a minimum of one year of supervised clinical 
practice or supervised clinical rotations. One year of clinical rotations in a program accredited by the Accreditation Review 
Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA) or its predecessor agency, which includes pharmacotherapeutics 
as a component of its clinical training, shall satisfy such requirement. Proof of such training shall serve to document experience in 
the prescribing of drugs, medicines, and therapeutic devices. 

APPLICANT’S OATH 
STATE/PROVINCE OF 

COUNTY/PARISH OF 

I, _____________________________________________________________________________________________, hereby certify 
under oath that I am the person named in this application for a CERTIFICATE OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE PRESCRIPTIVE 
AUTHORITY; that all statements I have made herein are true and that I have personally read, reviewed and answered each of these 
questions; I understand that: 

I may prescribe any controlled substances listed in Schedule III, IV, or V of section 195.017, and may have restricted authority in 
Schedule II - hydrocodone as delegated to me by my collaborating physician and as stated in my collaborative practice arrangement; 

Schedule III controlled substances and Schedule II - hydrocodone prescriptions shall be limited to a five-day supply without refill, 
except that buprenorphine may be prescribed for up to a thirty-day supply without refill for patients receiving medication-assisted 
treatment for substance use disorders under the direction of the collaborating physician; 

I shall not prescribe controlled substances for myself or members of my family as defined in the Board’s Rule 20 CSR 2150-7.010(1); 

I must obtain a registration from the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and the State Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous 
Drugs (BNDD) prior to prescribing controlled substances and shall include such registration numbers on prescriptions for controlled 
substances; 

I cannot prescribe controlled substances until I have received a certificate of controlled substance prescriptive authority from the Board 
and registrations from the DEA and BNDD; 

The delegated authority to prescribe is consistent with my and my collaborating physician’s education, knowledge, skill and competence; 

Any limitations on my collaborating physician or my ability to practice shall be listed on the collaborating physician certification of 
delegation of controlled substance prescribing authority form; 

If my collaborating physician changes, then I must provide the Board with a new collaborative practice arrangement form prior to 
prescribing controlled substances under the new collaborating physician’s authority. 

All documents submitted with this application or as part of the application process that are original, or duplicated copies of the originals, 
have not been altered in any fashion whatsoever; 
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I am the original and lawful possessor of and person named in the various documents and credentials furnished to the Board in 
connection with this application. 

I have read Chapter 334 RSMo, Chapter 195 RSMo, 20 CSR 2150-7 and 19 CSR 30 which contains the Statutes, Rules and Regulations 
governing the prescribing of controlled substances and the practice of physician assistants; 

I have answered all questions truthfully and in compliance with the instructions provided: 

I understand that the application fee submitted with this application is non-refundable and cannot be transferred to another application. 

MUST BE SIGNED IN THE PRESENCE OF NOTARY 
APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE DATE 

NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER OR 
BLACK INK RUBBER STAMP SEAL 

STATE COUNTY 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS 

DAY OF YEAR USE RUBBER STAMP IN CLEAR AREA BELOW. 
NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE MY COMMISSION 

EXPIRES 

NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED) 
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STATE OF MISSOURI 
STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR HEALING ARTS 

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION 3605 MISSOURI BLVD, PO BOX 4 
STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102 

TELEPHONE: (573) 751-0098 COLLABORATING PHYSICIAN CERTIFICATION 
TOLL FREE: (866) 289-5753 OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE PRESCRIBING AUTHORITY TTY: (800) 735-2966 

COLLABORATING PHYSICIAN NAME MISSOURI LICENSE NUMBER 

NAME OF PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 

I hereby certify that the above-named physician assistant has completed a minimum of three hundred clock hours of clinical training by me 
in the prescription of drugs, medicines, and therapeutic devices. 

I hereby certify that I have delegated to the above-named physician assistant the authority to prescribe the listed controlled substances, as 
indicated below.

 Schedule III, IV and V of section 195.017 and Schedule II - hydrocodone with no limitations;
 Schedule III, IV and V of section 195.017 and Schedule II - hydrocodone with the below listed limitations:

 Schedule III and IV of section 195.017 and Schedule II - hydrocodone only with no limitations;
 Schedule III and IV of section 195.017 and Schedule II - hydrocodone with the below listed limitations:

 Schedule II - hydrocodone only;
 Schedule II - hydrocodone with the below listed limitations:

 Schedule III only;
 Schedule III with the below listed limitations:

 Schedule IV only;
 Schedule IV with the below listed limitations:

 Schedule V only;
 Schedule V with the below listed limitations:

 Other (list below, add additional sheets if necessary); 

In addition to the above, please list any limitations on your practice or the physician assistant’s practice (i.e. physician is restricted from 
prescribing Schedule III, physician required to complete triplicate prescription forms, etc.) 
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I further certify that: 

The above-named physician assistant shall prescribe any controlled substances listed in Schedule III, IV, or V of section 195.017, 
and may have restricted authority in Section II - hydrocodone as delegated by me to the physician assistant and as stated in the 
collaborative practice arrangement; 

I will confirm that the Board of Healing Arts has issued a certificate of controlled substance prescriptive authority and that the DEA and 
BNDD has issued registrations to the above-named physician assistant, prior to the prescribing of controlled substances; 

I will determine and document as required by Section 334.747, RSMo, the completion of at least 120 hours in a four-month period 
during which the above-named physician assistant will practice with me on-site before the physician assistant may prescribe controlled 
substances when I am not on-site. I acknowledge this obligation applies except to the extent the above-named physician assistant is 
practicing in a population-based public health service, as defined in 20 CSR 2150-5.100, as of April 30, 2009. 

Schedule III controlled substances and Schedule II - hydrocodone prescriptions prescribed by the above-named physician assistant 
shall be limited to a five-day supply without refill, except that buprenorphine may be prescribed for up to a thirty-day supply without 
refill for patients receiving medication-assisted treatment for substance use disorders under the direction of the collaborating physician; 

The above-named physician assistant shall not prescribe controlled substances for themselves or members of their family, as the term 
“family” is defined in the Board’s Rule 20 CSR 2150-7.010(1); 

The above-named physician assistant must register with the Drug Enforcement Administration and the State Bureau of Narcotics and 
Dangerous Drugs and shall include such registration numbers on prescriptions for controlled substances; 

The delegated authority to prescribe is consistent with each professional’s education, knowledge, skill and competence; 

Any limitations on me or the physician assistant’s ability to practice shall be listed on the collaborating physician certification of 
delegation of controlled substance prescribing authority form; 

In accordance with Rule 20 CSR 2150-7.122, I will notify the Board within 15 days if my collaboration with of the above-named 
physician assistant ceases; 

I have read Chapter 334 and Chapter 195, RSMo, which contains the Statutes, Rules and Regulations governing the prescribing of 
controlled substances by physician assistants. 

MUST BE SIGNED IN THE PRESENCE OF NOTARY 
COLLABORATING PHYSICIAN’S SIGNATURE DATE 

NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER OR 
BLACK INK RUBBER STAMP SEAL 

STATE COUNTY 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS 

DAY OF YEAR USE RUBBER STAMP IN CLEAR AREA BELOW. 
NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE MY COMMISSION 

EXPIRES 

NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED) 
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