
INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT APPLICATION 
 
Attached are the materials you will need to make application for licensure to practice as a physical therapist assistant in the State of 
Missouri. It is suggested that you read this instruction sheet before beginning the process. 
 
YOUR APPLICATION PACKET CONSISTS OF 

 These instructions; 
 Application; 
 Jurisprudence Examination; 
 Missouri State Highway Patrol Applicant Fingerprint Services of Missouri Form; 
 Verification of Licensure Form;  
 Agreement to Supervise Form (for a temporary license only);  
 Certification of Professional Education (for applicants taking the exam with Missouri as their jurisdiction only); 
 Accommodation Request (for applicants taking the exam with Missouri as their jurisdiction only); 

 
Prior to completing the application, you should read the statutes and rules governing physical therapists in the State of 
Missouri. These are located on our website at https://pr.mo.gov/healingarts-rules-statutes.asp. 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
In addition to the materials you are required to submit, the Board makes independent inquiries into your background. You should allow a 
minimum of 30 days for the review of your application once the Board has received all documents. When your application is received and 
processed, you will be notified via email of how to check the status of your application online. Additionally, the Board can request that you 
appear before them prior to issuing your license. 
 
All permanent physical therapist assistant licenses expire on January 31 of each even-numbered year. Please remember this date so 
you can allow time for your renewal to be processed. Information on renewing your license will be mailed to you on or before December 
1 of each year to the last known address on file. Failure to receive the renewal application does not relieve any person of the duty to 
register and pay the fee required for renewal nor exempt them from the penalties for failure to renew. Therefore, it is imperative that you 
notify the Board of any address change as soon as it occurs. If your license expires, you cannot practice in Missouri until your license is 
renewed. 
 
FEE 
The application fee is $25. If you are applying for a temporary license, please send an additional $10 payment. Temporary licenses are 
for first-time exam applicants ONLY). Please make check, money order, or cashier’s check payable to Missouri Board of Healing Arts, 
and be sure to sign the form of payment. All checks must be drawn on a United States bank, because our bank does not accept checks 
from international banks. No application will be processed until the fee is received. The Board cannot accept credit or debit cards for 
payment of the initial application fee. 
 
COMPLETING THE APPLICATION 

 SECTION A – Missouri Tax Compliance 
o Check the box if in all of the last three years: 

 You were not a Missouri resident; 
 You did not have any Missouri income; and 
 You are not subject to any type of Missouri income tax. 

For tax questions, please contact the Department of Revenue at (573) 751-7200 or email at income@dor.mo.gov. 
 
NOTICE: All persons receiving a license from, or renewing a license with the Division of Professional Registration, are required to have 
paid all Missouri state income taxes, and also are required to have filed all necessary Missouri state income tax returns for the preceding 
three years. If you have failed to pay your Missouri taxes or have failed to file your Missouri tax returns, your license will be subject to 
immediate suspension within 90 days of being notified by the Missouri Department of Revenue of any delinquency or failure to file. 

 SECTION B – Identifying Information 
o Indicate if you are applying to take the examination with Missouri as your jurisdiction. 
o If you are applying with Missouri as your jurisdiction. Please indicate if you are applying for a temporary license. 
o List your complete name. This includes your last, first, middle, and maiden names. List your suffix and other names 

used if applicable. 
o List your contact information. This includes your contact phone number, email address, and mailing address. 
o List your date of birth, place of birth, social security number, and gender. 

 SECTION C – Practice Information – Anticipated Missouri Practice Address 
o Check yes or no for whether you have an anticipated Missouri practice address or not. A practice location is required 

before a temporary license can be issued. 
 If yes, list the address in which you plan to practice in Missouri as a physical therapist assistant. 
 If no, move on to Section D. 



 SECTION D – Names of Individuals with Whom the Board is Authorized to Discuss Your File 
o The Board cannot release information about your application (including status) or discuss your application without your 

permission. If you wish us to discuss your application with anyone, please list that person in this section of the 
application. 

o You may list up to two individuals. List their name(s), email address(es), and telephone number(s). 
o If you do not want the Board to release information about your application, please list N/A. 

 SECTION E – Education 
o List, in chronological order, beginning with high school, the name and location of each institution attended, degree 

awarded, and date awarded. 
 SECTION F – Examination  

o Mark if you have taken a National Physical Therapist Assistant Exam; if yes, please indicate the number of times and 
states in which the examination was taken.  

o Mark if you have taken a State Board Exam; if yes, please indicate the number of times and states in which the 
examination was taken. 

 SECTION G – Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant Licensure History 
o List all of the states and territories in which you currently hold or have ever held a license to practice as a physical 

therapist or physical therapist assistant. You will need to request a verification of licensure for each state listed. 
 SECTION H – Compact Privilege History 

o List all of the states and territories in which you currently hold or have ever held a compact privilege to practice as a 
physical therapist or physical therapist assistant. Compact privileges will not need to be verified. 

 SECTION I – Activities 
o CHRONOLOGICALLY list all professional and non-professional activities from high school to the present, or for the last 

ten years, whichever is most current. 
o All dates must be accounted for in the MM/YYYY format. 
o Please include complete names and addresses for each activity listed. 
o If unemployed or on vacation for at least a month, list your exact activities. 
o Note: if there are dates not accounted for, you will be contacted by the Board to account for those dates. 

 SECTION J – Personal History 
o Answer the questions with the appropriate checkmark. 
o If any questions are answered yes, please follow the instructions below: 

 Questions 1-8 - Include a separate statement/letter explaining the circumstances behind your “yes” answer. 
Documentation supporting your statement, if applicable (i.e. a settlement agreement from another state 
disciplining your license, etc.) needs to be submitted directly from the state board, hospital, etc. 

 Question 9 - Include a separate statement/letter explaining the circumstances behind your “yes” answer and 
also submit a certified copy of the court records or have your attorney send the documents to the Board. The 
Board needs to receive a copy of the complaint/petition and judgment, settlement, or disposition. 

 Question 10 - Include a separate statement/letter explaining the circumstances behind your “yes” answer 
along with a copy of the charge (it may be called a petition, indictment, information, or complaint), and the 
judgment, sentence, or dismissal order, certified by the court or from your attorney. 

 Question 11 - Include a separate statement/letter explaining the circumstances behind your “yes” answer and 
documentation supporting that statement. 

 Question 12 – Please provide details and dates, including the names and addresses of the individuals and 
facilities which have treated you. Also please submit a letter from your current physician or treatment 
professional indicating your diagnosis, prognosis, and if your illness or condition affects your ability to practice. 

 Question 13 – Please contact the Board office for a Malpractice Claim Information Form to be completed. 
Additional documentation may be required after review of the information provided. Please also list the number 
of claims in which you have been named in the space provided. 

 SECTIONS K & L – Applicant’s Oath and Notarization 
o Sign the application in the presence of a notary. 
o Attach a recent photograph of yourself. Please do not staple or paperclip the photograph. 

 
DOCUMENTS THAT NEED TO BE SUBMITTED FOR ALL APPLICANTS 

 Jurisprudence Examination – Complete the jurisprudence exam, and return it with your application. Answers can be found in 
the rules and statutes at https://pr.mo.gov/healingarts-rules-statutes.asp. The Board will score it. A score of 75% or higher is 
required. 

 Criminal Background Check - All applicants for licensure to complete a criminal background check. Complete the included 
"Missouri State Highway Patrol Applicant Fingerprint Services of Missouri" form and follow the instructions provided on the form. 
The results are only valid for 90 days. A new background check will need to be completed after 90 days. 

 Verification of Licensure – If you have ever been licensed, registered, or certified as a physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant in another state, country or territory, please have the licensing agency submit a verification of each to our office. The 
verification must be submitted directly from the licensing agency to our office. You may use the Verification of Licensure form in 
the application to request the verification(s) from the state board(s). Some licensing agencies will not complete this form, but 
use a secure online verification portal. It is your responsibility to contact the licensing agency and request the verification of 
licensure. 
This does not include compact privileges. 



 Transcripts – Submit official transcripts, with the school seal affixed, from each and every college or university attended, 
confirming the courses taken towards your physical therapist assistant degree, grade received per course, degree(s) awarded, 
and date degree(s) awarded.  
The Board can accept electronic transcripts if they are official transcripts and sent directly from the school (licensure@pr.mo.gov 
or fax to (573)751-3166) 

 Name Change Documentation– If you have had a name change for any reason, submit copies of the document evidencing 
the name change (Marriage Certificate, Divorce Decree, Adoption Order, Court Order, Naturalization Certificate, Social Security 
Card, or Driver License). 

 FSBPT Score Transfer – If you have already taken and passed the exam, request a transfer of your scores from the FSBPT at 
https://www.fsbpt.org/OurServices/LicenseeServices/ScoreTransferService.aspx. For questions contact the FSBPT at 703-299-
3100. 

 
ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTS THAT NEED TO BE SUBMITTED FOR APPLICANTS APPLYING TO SIT FOR THE EXAM  

 Agreement to Supervise Form – If you are a first-time applicant to take the exam with Missouri as your jurisdiction, and you 
would like to apply for a temporary license, you will need to have the agreement to supervise form completed by a Missouri-
licensed physical therapist who will supervise you. This form must be notarized and mailed to the Board. 

 Certificate of Professional Education – If you are applying to take the exam with Missouri as your jurisdiction, this form may 
be submitted, ON THE DATE OF OR AFTER GRADUATION, in lieu of the final transcript, for purposes of being approved to sit 
for the exam or to be issued a temporary license. However, the Board must receive complete transcripts before your license can 
be issued after passing the exam. 

 Accommodation Request Form – If are applying for the exam with Missouri as your jurisdiction and you need special 
accommodations (i.e. reader, additional time, etc.) it will be necessary for you to complete and return this form to the Board 
office and provide the following: 

o A statement to the Board advising whether or not special accommodations were granted during your professional 
education, if so, what type of accommodations were granted. It will also be necessary for your program director to 
provide a letter advising that accommodations were given and the type of accommodations provided. 

o A letter directly from your treating health care provider stating the diagnosis, the test(s) performed to reach the diagnosis 
and how the diagnosis impacts your ability to take tests and whether or not it will impact your ability to practice your 
profession. The health care provider should also state the type of accommodations needed for the test. 

 
MAILING THE APPLICATION 
Mail the application and fee to: Missouri Board of Registration for the Healing Arts 

P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102 
 

For overnight deliveries use:  Missouri Board of Registration for the Healing Arts 
    3605 Missouri Blvd., Jefferson City, MO 65109 
 
Applications cannot be accepted by email or fax. 
 
HOW TO CHECK THE STATUS OF YOUR APPLICATION 
After your application is received and processed, you will be notified via email of how to check the status of your application online. 
 
If you have questions after reading these instructions, you may call the Board office at 573-751-0098 or toll free at 866-289-5753 or 
email the Board at licensure@pr.mo.gov. 



STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS
P.O. BOX 4

STATE OF MISSOURI JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102
FOR OVERNIGHT DELIVERIES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION 3605 MISSOURI BLVD.
STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65109

TELEPHONE (573) 751-0098
APPLICATION FOR PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT LICENSURE TOLL FREE (866) 289-5753

FAX (573) 751-3166

INSTRUCTIONS
Complete each section by providing complete details in black ink or by typed responses. Failure to answer all questions could result in 
delayed processing of your application. If additional responses are necessary, submit in a separate statement.

A. MISSOURI TAX COMPLIANCE

 Check this box if in all of the last three years:

 • You were not a Missouri resident;
 • You did not have any Missouri income; and
 • You are not subject to any type of Missouri income tax.

Pursuant to Section 324.010 RSMo, all persons applying for and renewing a license with the Division of Professional Registration are 
required to have paid all Missouri state taxes and are also required to have filed Missouri state income tax returns for the last three years. 
If such licensee is delinquent on any Missouri state taxes or has failed to file Missouri state income tax returns in the last three years, your 
license will be subject to suspension within 90 days after being notified by the Missouri Department of Revenue of such delinquency or 
failure to file.

False statements are subject to criminal penalties and/or license discipline. For tax questions, please contact the Department of Revenue 
at (573) 751-7200 or email at income@dor.mo.gov.

B. IDENTIFYING INFORMATION
ARE YOU APPLYING TO TAKE THE EXAMINATION WITH MISSOURI AS YOUR JURISDICTION?

 Yes    No
IF YES, ARE YOU APPLYING FOR A TEMPORARY LICENSE? A TEMPORARY LICENSE MAY BE ISSUED TO A FIRST-TIME APPLICANT FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION (20CSR 2150-3.150(1)).

 Yes    No
Print your full name, mailing address, and personal information.
LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME MAIDEN NAME 

OTHER NAMES USED CONTACT PHONE NUMBER EMAIL ADDRESS

STREET ADDRESS  CITY STATE ZIP

DATE OF BIRTH PLACE OF BIRTH SSN GENDER

C. PRACTICE INFORMATION - ANTICIPATED MISSOURI PRACTICE ADDRESS 
DO YOU HAVE AN ANTICIPATED MISSOURI PRACTICE ADDRESS?

 Yes    No  If yes, please complete C. If no, move on to D.
NAME OF BUSINESS ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

D. NAMES OF INDIVIDUALS WITH WHOM THE BOARD IS AUTHORIZED TO DISCUSS YOUR FILE
CONTACT #1 NAME CONTACT #1 EMAIL CONTACT #1 PHONE NUMBER

CONTACT #2 NAME CONTACT #2 EMAIL CONTACT #2 PHONE NUMBER

E. EDUCATION
List in chronological order, beginning with high school, the name and location of each institution attended, degree awarded and date awarded.

DEGREE DATENAME OF SCHOOL CITY/STATE DATES ATTENDED AWARDED AWARDED
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F. EXAMINATION
HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY TAKEN A NATIONAL PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT EXAMINATION (NPTE, PES, ETC.)?

 Yes    No   If yes, please indicate the number of times and states in which the examination was taken.
NUMBER OF TIMES STATES

IMPLIES EXAMINATION GIVEN PRIOR TO THE NPTE, PES, ETC.)?

 Yes   
OTHER THAN THE EXAMS LISTED ABOVE, HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY TAKEN A STATE BOARD EXAMINATION (THIS 

 No   If yes, please indicate the number of times and states in which the examination was taken.
NUMBER OF TIMES STATES

G. PHYSICAL THERAPY/PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT LICENSE HISTORY
List all of the states and/or territories in which you currently hold or have ever held a license to practice physical therapy or as a physical therapist
assistant. This includes temporary or provisional licenses. If you have held an International license, please list it here.

STATE STATE STATE STATE

H. COMPACT PRIVILEGE HISTORY
List all of the states in which you currently hold or have held compact privileges as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant.

STATE STATE STATE STATE

I. ACTIVITIES
Chronologically list all professional and non-professional activities from high school to the present, or for the last ten years, whichever is most 
current. Please account for all months.

DATES
ACTIVITY ENTITY NAME & ADDRESS CITY & STATE COUNTRY

BEGINNING ENDING
MONTH/YEAR MONTH/YEAR

 6/2011 6/2011 Vacation/Summer BreakEXAMPLE  CITY, STATE

 7/2011 present Physical Therapist Assistant NAME OF BUSINESS, ADDRESS CITY, STATE
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J. PERSONAL HISTORY

Answer the following questions with the appropriate checkmark. If any are answered yes, see the Instruction Sheet for specific 
information and documentation needed for review.

1. Have you been denied a license, registration or certificate to practice as a physcial therapist, physical therapist assistant 
or any other profession or been denied the privilege of taking an examination administered by a U.S. state, Canadian 
provincial or international licensing agency?  Yes   No

2. Have you made application for licensure, registration or certification in another state, province or country and 
subsequently withdrawn said application?  Yes   No

3. Has any license or right to practice held by you been disciplined, including but not limited to restriction, revocation, 
suspension, probation, censure, or reprimand, whether voluntarily agreed to or not, by any U.S. state, territory, federal 
agency, Canadian province or foreign country?  Yes   No

4. Have you had any disciplinary or corrective action taken against you, or had your right to practice restricted, by any 
professional association or society, or by any licensed hospital or medical staff of a hospital?  Yes   No

5. Have you ever been restricted, suspended, terminated, requested to voluntarily resign, placed on probation, counseled, 
received a warning or been subject to any remedial or disciplinary action during college?  Yes   No

6. Have you surrendered a license issued to you by any U.S. state or any Canadian provincial licensing agency for any 
reason, other than failure to renew, retirement or relocating to another state?  Yes   No

7. Have any charges or complaints been filed against you with the federal government, any federal agency or any U.S. 
state or Canadian provincial licensing or disciplinary agency?  Yes   No

8. Has any disciplinary action been taken against you, or has your authority to practice been restricted, by any federal or 
state agency including, but not limited to, Medicare or Medicaid?  Yes   No

9. Have you forfeited collateral for breach or violation of any law, police regulation or ordinance whatsoever, been 
summoned into court as a defendant, or has any lawsuit (other than malpractice) been filed against you?  Yes   No

10. Have you been arrested, charged, indicted, found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty, an alford, no contest plea or plea of 
nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution in any state, federal, or municipal court whether or not sentence was imposed, 
including suspended imposition of sentence or suspended execution of sentence, except for minor traffic violations? 
Alcohol related traffic violations must be reported.  Yes   No

11. Have you been required by federal law or the law of any state to register as a sex offender?  Yes   No

12. Have you had any condition or impairment (including, but not limited to, substance abuse, alcohol abuse, or a mental, 
emotional, nervous or sexual disorder or condition) which in any way affects your ability to practice in a professional, 
competent and safe manner?  Yes   No

13. Have you been a defendant in a legal action involving professional liability (malpractice) or had a professional liability 
claim paid in your behalf or paid such a claim yourself?  Yes   No

 13a. If your answer is yes, please indicate how many claims in which you have been named. ______
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K. APPLICANT’S OATH

During the period of time in which the Board is processing my application and determining whether to issue me a license, I will inform the 
Board of any change in information included in my application for licensure, including but not limited to address updates, malpractice suits, 
discipline imposed by another state, administrative agency, hospital or other entity, arrests, and criminal convictions. I understand that 
failure to disclose this information could result in discipline pursuant to section 334.100.

I hereby certify under oath that I am the person named in this application for a license to practice in the State of Missouri; that all statements 
I have made herein are true and that I have personally read, reviewed and answered each of these questions; that all documents submitted 
with this application or as part of the application process that are original, or duplicated copies of the originals, have not been altered in any 
fashion whatsoever; that I am the original and lawful possessor of and person named in the various documents and credentials furnished 
to the Board in connection with this application. I acknowledge and state that I have read Chapter 334 (statutes and rules), RSMo, which 
contains the Statutes, Rules and Regulations governing the practice as a physical therapist assistant, that can be located on the Board’s 
website; I have answered all questions truthfully and in compliance with the instructions provided; and I understand that the application fee 
submitted with this application is non-refundable and cannot be transferred to another application.

I hereby authorize the Missouri State Board of Healing Arts, its Director or designee, to release and/or discuss information contained in my 
application for licensure in the State of Missouri to the individuals indicated on the application. 

I further state that by filing this application for a license to practice in the State of Missouri, I hereby authorize and consent to have an 
investigation made as to my moral character, professional reputation and fitness for practice, when in the opinion of the Missouri Board 
such an investigation is deemed necessary. I agree to give any further information which may be required in reference to my past record. 
I authorize and request every person, hospital, clinic, community, governmental agency (local, state, federal or international), court, 
association, institution or other organization having control of any documents, records and other information pertaining to me to furnish to 
the Missouri State Board of Healing Arts any such information, including documents, records regarding charges or complaints filed against 
me, formal or informal, pending or closed, or any other pertinent data and to permit the Missouri State Board of Healing Arts or any of its 
agents or representatives to inspect and make copies of such documents, records, and other information, in connection with this application.

MUST BE SIGNED IN APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE

PRESENCE OF NOTARY ▼

L. NOTARIZATION
STATE COUNTY

NOTARY PUBLIC RUBBER STAMP
The applicant identified him/herself with a government issued photographic identification and bearing 
true likeness to the attached photograph subscribed and swore to the truthfulness of this application 
before me, this _____________ day of ____________________________ , _______________ .
NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE COMMISSION EXPIRES NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER SEAL

NOTARY PUBLIC PRINTED NAME

PLEASE GLUE OR TAPE YOUR PHOTO TO THE APPLICATION.
PHOTO

DO NOT STAPLE OR PAPER CLIP PHOTO.
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chronic illness that has been previously diagnosed by an approved health care provider as long as certain conditions are 
met. (Section 334.506.4, RSMo)

 6. T F To be eligible for relicensure, a licensed physical therapist or physical therapist assistant needs to accumulate thirty (30) 
hours of continuing education every two (2) years.  (Section 334.507, RSMo)

 7. T F Before applying to the Board for an inactive license status, a licensee must hold a current and active license to practice 
physical therapy in the state of Missouri and shall not be under investigation by the board or involved in pending 
disciplinary proceedings. (Section 334.525, RSMo, and Rules 20 CSR 2150-3.055(4) and 20 CSR 2150-3.163(4)) 

 8. T F Patient records do not need to be legible. When a correction, addition, or change is made in a patient’s record, it does 
not need to be clearly marked or identified as such.  (Section 334.602, RSMo) 

 9. T F An unlicensed student may practice physical therapy without the on-site supervision of a physical therapist, if the 
unlicensed student is in an entry level of a professional education program satisfying clinical education requirements 
related to the person’s physical therapist or physical therapist assistant education. (Sections 334.506.7 and 334.610, 
RSMo)

 10. T F The Board may discipline a licensee for obtaining or attempting to obtain any fee, charge, tuition, or other compensation 
by fraud, deception, or misrepresentation; willfully and continually overcharging or overtreating patients; or charging for 
sessions of physical therapy which did not occur unless the services were contracted for in advance, or for services which 
were not rendered or documented in the patient’s records. (Section 334.613.2(4)(a), RSMo)

 11. T F A licensee may delegate physical therapy responsibilities to a person who is not qualified by training, skill, competency, 
age, experience, or licensure to perform such responsibilities; and by doing so, the licensee does not violate the Physical 
Therapy Practice Act. (Section 334.613.2(4)(d), RSMo)
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APPLICANT LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME

ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER DOB EMAIL ADDRESS

EXAMINATION ON THE LICENSURE ACT, RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR PHYSICAL THERAPISTS AND PHYSICAL THERAPIST 
ASSISTANTS

INSTRUCTIONS
Completion of the jurisprudence examination and achieving a score of seventy five percent (75%) or higher is a requirement for licensure by 
the Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts (“Board”). Each of the twenty “True (T) or False (F)” questions is given a weight 
of five percentage points. All the answers are readily available to you in the statutes and rules that are located on the Board’s website at 
http://pr.mo.gov/healingarts-rules-statutes.asp

JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION SCORE 4

 1. T F When practicing physical therapy in the state of Missouri, a licensed physical therapist or physical therapist assistant shall 
limit his/her scope of practice to what was defined as “practice of physical therapy” under the Missouri Physical Therapy 
Practice Act. (Section 334.500(4), RSMo)

 2. T F A supervising physical therapist may delegate physical therapy responsibilities to a physical therapy technician, who is 
not a licensed physical therapist assistant or an unlicensed student attempting to satisfy supervised clinical education 
requirements related to the person’s physical therapy education. (Sections 334.506.7 and 334.610, RSMo) 

 3. T F Physical therapists may initiate treatment for a new injury or illness without a prescription from an approved health care 
provider. The approved health care provider only include physician and surgeon licensed under Chapter 334, RSMo. 
(Section 334.506, RSMo)

 4. T F A physical therapist may provide educational resources and training, develop fitness or wellness programs for 
asymptomatic persons, or provide screening or consultative services within the scope of physical therapy practice without 
the prescription and direction of an approved health care provider. (Section 334.506.3, RSMo) 

 5. T F A physical therapist may examine and treat, without the prescription and direction of an approved health care provider, 
any person with a recurring self-limited injury within one year of diagnosis by an approved health care provider or a 

STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS

STATE OF MISSOURI P.O. BOX 4, JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102
FOR OVERNIGHT DELIVERIES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION 3605 MISSOURI BLVD.

STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65109
TELEPHONE (573) 751-0098

JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION TOLL FREE (866) 289-5753
FAX (573) 751-3166



JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION (continued)

 12. T F It Is unlawful for any physical therapist or physical therapy assistant to assist or enable unlicensed practice; or to 
knowingly perform any act which in any way aids, assists, procures, advises, or encourages unlicensed practice. (Section 
334.613.2(10), RSMo)

 13. T F Knowingly making or causing to be made a false statement or misrepresentation of a material fact, with intent to defraud, 
for payment from MO HealthNet or Missouri Department of Mental Health or for payment from the federal Medicare & 
Medicaid program is considered a violation of the Physical Therapy Practice Act and constitutes ground(s) to discipline a 
person’s physical therapist or physical therapist assistant license. (Section 334.613.2(16), RSMo)

 14. T F The Board may hold a hearing to determine whether probable cause exists to reexamine a licensee to establish 
competency if the Board has reason to believe a licensee is unable to practice within reasonable skill and safety due to 
reasons of incompetency, illness, drunkenness, excessive use of drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or as a result of any mental 
or physical condition. (Section 334.613.2(24), RSMo and 20 CSR 2150-3.085)

 15. T F The Board may issue an order suspending or restricting the license of a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 
if the licensee presents a clear and present danger to the public health and safety. (Section 334.615, RSMo)

16.  T F The Board shall not automatically revoke a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant’s license when such person 
has been found guilty or has entered a plea of guilty in a felony criminal persecution under the laws of the state of Missouri, 
the laws of any other states, or the laws of the United States for any offense reasonably related to the qualifications, 
functions or duties of their profession.  (Section 334.616, RSMo)

 17. T F The Board may make application to a court of general jurisdiction for an injunction, restraining order or other order as may 
be appropriate to enjoin a person from engaging in the practice of physical therapy without a license. (Section 334.617, 
RSMo)

18.  T F As a condition of discipline, the Board may not require a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant to submit to 
care, counseling or treatment at the expense of the individual to be examined, or require the person to attend relevant 
continuing educational courses and pass an examination as the Board may direct. (Section 334.100.4, RSMo)

 19. T F A licensee who fails to complete the necessary hours of continuing education during the biennial cycle and who fails to 
request a prior extension of time from the Board pursuant to rule 20 CSR 2150-3.202 may still practice as a physical 
therapist or physical therapist assistant. (Rule 20 CSR 2150-3.201(2))

 20. T F Failure to receive a renewal application form does not relieve any licensee of the duty to renew or register and pay the 
required fee, nor does such failure exempt the licensee from the penalties provided by Chapter 334 for failure to register. 
(Sections 334.080 and 334.613.2(4)(n), RSMo)
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Section One:  Agency Information 

AGENCY 4-DIGIT MACHS REGISTRATION NUMBER:  __________________ 

Agency Name: ________________________________________________________________________________ 

Agency ORI: __________________________________________ Agency OCA: ___________________________ 

Section Two:  The Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) 

For fingerprinting services through the state electronic fingerprint vendor, you must first register with the Missouri 
Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS). If you do not have internet access, you may contact the vendor 
(IDEMIA) at 844-543-9712 for assistance with registration. 

MACHS Registration Instructions: 
1. Log-on to www.machs.mo.gov
2. Click on the "blue box" Click here to register with the fingerprint portal
3. Click on the "blue box" Click here to register with MACHS
4. Enter the 4-digit registration number provided by your agency.  Click "enter"
5. Enter your personal information in the appropriate fields and proceed through the registration process.
6. Near the end of registration, you will be asked to verify all personal data and agency information before
proceeding.  If all information entered is accurate and complete, click “complete registration.”  This will redirect
you to IDEMIA’s website for further instruction.
7. Please note your Transaction Control Number (TCN) for future reference.
8. Email and/or phone number, and Date of Birth will be required at the fingerprint vendor location to search for
your registration transaction.

The processing fee is automatically calculated based on the 4-digit registration number that was entered at the 
beginning of registration. All fees are payable to IDEMIA at the time of fingerprinting unless a billing account has 
been established by your agency.  

Once fingerprinting is completed, IDEMIA will transmit your photo, personal data, and fingerprint images to the 
Missouri State Highway Patrol (MSHP) for processing. The results of the search will be provided to the authorized 
agency within approximately 1-5 business days.  NOTE:  IDEMIA does not have access to criminal history.  For 
questions about your results, contact the requesting agency or MSHP.  Please reference your TCN. 

Missouri State Highway Patrol 
Applicant Fingerprint Services of Missouri

Applicant Fingerprint Form for State and FBI Criminal History Background Checks 
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I, ____________________________________________ hereby authorize and request the State Board of _________________________ 

having control of any documents, records and other information pertaining to me to furnish to the Missouri Board information, includ-

ing    documents, records regarding charges or complaints filed against me, formal or informal, pending or closed, or any other pertinent           

information.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT LICENSE NUMBER ISSUE DATE

NAME IN FULL (PLEASE PRINT) DATE OF BIRTH SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

OTHER NAMES USED IN OBTAINING LICENSURE

CURRENT ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, AND ZIP CODE)

THE FOLLOWING SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED BY AN OFFICIAL OF THE STATE BOARD AND RETURNED DIRECTLY TO THE 
MISSOURI BOARD OF HEALING ARTS.
STATE OF FULL NAME OF LICENSEE

LICENSURE STATUS LICENSE NUMBER ISSUE DATE EXPIRATION DATE

LICENSURE METHOD

     NATIONAL EXAM STATE BOARD EXAM RECIPROCITY WITH ________________

     OTHER (SPECIFY):  ___________________________________________________________________________________________

1. HAS THE APPLICANT EVER BEEN NOTIFIED OR REQUESTED TO APPEAR BEFORE ANY LICENSING OR DISCIPLINARY AUTHORITY IN YOUR STATE?
 IF YES, ATTACH DETAILS.

YES        NO
2. HAS THE APPLICANT EVER BEEN THE SUBJECT OF  COMPLAINTS OR CHARGES RECEIVED BY A DISCIPLINARY AUTHORITY IN YOUR STATE?
 IF YES, ATTACH DETAILS.

YES        NO
3. HAS THE APPLICANT EVER BEEN WARNED, CENSURED OR DISCIPLINED IN ANY MANNER BY A LICENSING OR DISCIPLINARY AUTHORITY IN YOUR STATE?
 IF YES, ATTACH DETAILS.

YES        NO
4.  HAS ANY APPLICATION BY THE ABOVE APPLICANT FOR INITIAL LICENSURE OR REINSTATEMENT EVER BEEN DENIED? 
 IF YES, ATTACH DETAILS.

YES        NO
COMMENTS, IF ANY

BOARD SEAL SIGNATURE AND TITLE DATE

 STATE BOARD

MO 375-0439 (4-19) PAGE 8

STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS
P.O. BOX 4, JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102

STATE OF MISSOURI FOR OVERNIGHT DELIVERIES
3605 MISSOURI BLVD.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65109
STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS TELEPHONE (573) 751-0098

TOLL FREE (866) 289-5753
VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE - PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT FAX (573) 751-3166



I understand that I must maintain continual verbal and written contact with my temporary licensee, and on-site contact every 
two (2) weeks. I understand that if it is determined that the temporary licensee needs additional supervision, that additional 
supervision shall occur on a weekly basis. I further understand that if I am unable to fulfill the supervision requirements for this 
temporary licensee, it is my responsibility to report this to the Board immediately. If a temporary license is issued, it expires 
90 days from the date of issue or upon receipt of examination scores.

I further attest that the temporary licensee shall begin employment at a location in the State of Missouri within seven 
days of issuance of the temporary license.

SUPERVISING PHYSICAL THERAPIST SIGNATURE DATE

NOTARIZATION AND NOTARY INFORMATION
STATE COUNTY

NOTARY PUBLIC RUBBER STAMP
The applicant identified him/herself with a government issued photographic identification and bearing 
true likeness to the attached photograph subscribed and swore to the truthfulness of this application 
before me, this _____________ day of ____________________________ , _______________ .
NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE COMMISSION EXPIRES NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER SEAL

NOTARY PUBLIC PRINTED NAME

APPLICANTS CANNOT BEGIN PRACTICING UNTIL THE TEMPORARY LICENSE HAS BEEN APPROVED AND A LICENSE HAS BEEN 
ISSUED BY THE MISSOURI BOARD OF HEALING ARTS.
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ONLY COMPLETE THIS FORM IF YOU ARE APPLYING FOR A TEMPORARY LICENSE.
STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS

P.O. BOX 4, JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102
FOR OVERNIGHT DELIVERIES

STATE OF MISSOURI 3605 MISSOURI BLVD.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65109
TELEPHONE (573) 751-0098

STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS TOLL FREE (866) 289-5753

PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT APPLICATION AGREEMENT TO SUPERVISE FAX (573) 751-3166

I ______________________________________________________________________________ , 
(SUPERVISOR’S NAME - PRINTED)

Physical Therapist license number ______________________________ ,

hereby accept responsibility for the clinical supervision of __________________________________________________ , 
(TEMPORARY LICENSEE NAME - PRINTED)

while he/she is practicing under a temporary license in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 334 RSMo. I also hereby 
certify that I am not an immediate family member of the applicant as defined by Rule 20 CSR 2150-3.150(3), and I have 
been involved in active clinical practice in the State of Missouri for a minimum of one (1) year.

During the assigned supervision period, I understand that I must:

1. Maintain my license in good standing with the Board;

2. Supervise no more than one temporary licensee;

3. Be readily available, at all times, to provide advice to the temporary licensee;

4. Observe the temporary licensee performing physical therapy measures, treatments, procedures, and functions;

5. Perform periodic chart of review on at least three randomly selected patient charts on each site visit, and make modifications 
and adjustments in the patient’s treatment plan as necessary;

6. Verify the issuance of the temporary license prior to allowing the temporary licensee to begin practicing under my 
supervision.

7. Notify the Board within three (3) days if the temporary licensee’s employment ceases.



DATE PRESIDENT, REGISTRAR, DEAN OR DIRECTOR OF COURSE

(SCHOOL SEAL) NAME OF SCHOOL

 ADDRESS OF SCHOOL

IF SCHOOL HAS NO SEAL THE STATEMENT MUST BE NOTARIZED.
MO 375-0439 (4-19) PAGE 10

ONLY COMPLETE THIS FORM IF YOU ARE APPYLING TO SIT FOR 
THE EXAM WITH MISSOURI AS YOUR JURISDICTION. STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS

P.O. BOX 4, JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102
STATE OF MISSOURI FOR OVERNIGHT DELIVERIES

3605 MISSOURI BLVD.
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65109
STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS TELEPHONE (573) 751-0098

TOLL FREE (866) 289-5753
CERTIFICATE OF PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION - PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT FAX (573) 751-3166

This form may be submitted in lieu of the transcripts for the purpose of obtaining a temporary license or to sit for the examination. However, 
complete transcripts must be received by the Board before your examination results will be released. THIS FORM MUST BE SUBMITTED 
ON THE DATE OF OR AFTER GRADUATION.

It is hereby certified that ____________________________________________________________________ attended the 
(USE NAME AS GIVEN ON DIPLOMA)

Physical Therapist Assistant school, _____________________________________________________________________
(NAME OF PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT SCHOOL)

at ____________________________________ from the ________________________ day of _______________________, 
(CITY AND STATE) (MONTH AND YEAR)

to the ________________________  day of _______________________, during which time he/she pursued and completed 
(MONTH AND YEAR)

all the requirements for the associate degree program in Physical Therapy education accredited by the Commission on 

Accreditation for Physical Therapy Education. It is further certified that the applicant received the following diploma 

____________________________________ dated the _______________________ day of _______________________ , 
(SPECIFY DEGREE, CERTIFICATE, LETTER OF (MONTH AND YEAR)

CERTIFICATION, OTHER)

which is the final diploma offered by this school as a qualification for the practice as a Physical Therapist Assistant.



 SEPARATE TESTING AREA

 USE OF COMPUTER OR OTHER ADAPTIVE EQUIPMENT (SPECIFY): _________________________________________________

 OTHER: _____________________________________________________________________________________________________

COMMENTS

SIGNED DATE
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ONLY COMPLETE THIS FORM IF YOU ARE APPYLING TO 
SIT FOR THE EXAM WITH MISSOURI AS YOUR JURISDICTION. STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS

P.O. BOX 4, JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102
STATE OF MISSOURI FOR OVERNIGHT DELIVERIES

3605 MISSOURI BLVD.
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65109
STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR THE HEALING ARTS TELEPHONE (573) 751-0098

TOLL FREE (866) 289-5753
ACCOMMODATION REQUEST - PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT FAX (573) 751-3166

The information requested below and any documentation regarding your disability and your need for accommodation in testing will be          
considered strictly confidential and will not be shared with any outside sources without your express written permission, or in accordance 
with State Law.

NAME TELEPHONE NUMBER

ADDRESS

ACCOMMODATIONS REQUESTED FOR THE EXAMINATION

CHECK ALL THAT APPLY

 ACCESSIBLE TESTING SITE

BRAILLE  LARGE PRINT TAPE

 READER AS ACCOMMODATION FOR VISUAL IMPAIRMENT

 SCRIBE/AMANUENSIS AS ACCOMMODATION FOR VISUAL OR MOTOR IMPAIRMENT

 READER AS ACCOMMODATION FOR LEARNING DISABILITY

 SCRIBE/AMANUENSIS AS ACCOMMODATION FOR LEARNING DISABILITY

 SIGN LANGUAGE INTERPRETER

 EXTENDED TIME

 TIME AND A HALF

 DOUBLE TIME

 MORE THAN DOUBLE TIME (SPECIFY) ________________
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