APPLICATION FOR FUNERAL DIRECTOR BY EDUCATION

Individuals can apply for a license as a funeral director by education if one (1) of the following apply:
o Applicant has completed a funeral service education program accredited by the American Board of
Funeral Service Education
e Applicant has completed a course of study in funeral directing offered by an institution accredited and
approved by the board
e Applicant is a Missouri licensed embalmer

Individuals applying for a funeral director by education must submit the completed Application for Funeral
Director's License marked with the application type of education, official transcripts, proof of being at least
eighteen (18) years of age, National Board Funeral Service Arts examination scores from The International
Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards’ (the Conference), and the fee of $164 ($150.00 application
fee and $14.00 Highway Patrol background check fee).

Applicants will be required to complete the Missouri Law (LRR) examination. The state board office will notify
the applicant of eligibility. The board encourages applicants to take the examination as soon as possible after
the completion of the apprenticeship.

Information relating to specifics of the examination process can be found at The International Conference of
Funeral Service Examining Boards’ (the Conference) website at http://www.theconferenceonline.org/ or at
(479) 442-7076 or 1885 Shelby Lane, Fayetteville, AR 72704.

Applicants will be required to successfully complete the Missouri Law (LRR) examination with a passing score
of seventy-five (75) or better. Applicants will be required to submit proof of successful completion of the
National Board Funeral Service Arts examination with a score of seventy-five (75) or better. For applicants that
have not completed the National Board Funeral Service Arts examination, successful completion of the
Missouri Funeral Service Arts examination with a passing score of seventy-five (75) or better may be
submitted.

The State of Missouri examination(s) fees are paid through the Conference as listed below:
Missouri Funeral Service Arts $285.00
Missouri Law (LRR) $140.00

The Conference has developed a study guide for the Missouri Funeral Service Arts examination which
candidates may purchase to use in preparing for the examination. This information can be found at the
Conference’s website at http://www.theconferenceonline.org/ or by contacting their office.

Applicants shall have twenty-four (24) months to successfully complete the requirements for licensure or the
application will be cancelled and the applicant will be required to follow the same procedure as any new
applicant by submitting a new application and paying all applicable fees.

Applicants should keep the board office informed of any changes in email and mailing address to ensure that
correspondence will reach them promptly. Changes can be submitted to the board office by mail or by email
to embalm@pr.mo.gov.

If applicants have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the board office at embalm@pr.mo.gov or
(573) 751-0813.
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