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APPLICATION FOR APPRENTICE EMBALMER 

Individuals applying for an embalmer license must submit the completed Application for Embalmer’s License 
marked with the application type of apprentice, an official transcript send from the mortuary science program 
documenting graduation, proof of being at least eighteen (18) years of age, official results for National Board 
Funeral Service Arts or Missouri Funeral Service Arts and National Board Funeral Service Sciences 
examinations sent directly from The International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards’ (the 
Conference), and the fee of $164 ($150.00 application fee and $14.00 Highway Patrol background check fee).  

Once the required information is received and finalized, the applicant will be issued an apprentice registration 
to work as an apprentice embalmer with an Affidavit of Practical Work form for each eligible Missouri licensed 
embalmer listed as a supervisor for each licensed funeral establishment listed on the application.  The 
designated card on the Affidavit of Practical Work form or a copy of such shall be displayed in a 
conspicuous location accessible to the public at each establishment where the apprentice is working. 

The apprentice embalmer must serve at least thirty (30) hours per week for at least twelve (12) 
consecutive months under the direct supervision of a Missouri licensed embalmer(s) and must embalm at 
least twenty-five (25) dead human bodies. The information for each embalming will need to be listed on the 
Affidavit of Practical Work form(s) of the licensed embalmer that directly supervised the embalming.   

If during the apprenticeship, the apprentice should change or add places of employment or embalmers as 
supervisors, the apprentice will need to submit an Update Application for Registration as an Embalmer 
Apprentice.  That form can be found on the board’s website at http://pr.mo.gov/embalmers-forms.asp.  

The embalmer apprentice registration authorizes the apprentice to engage in the practice of embalming only 
during the period of apprenticeship.  Once the apprenticeship is successfully completed, the embalmer 
apprentice registration shall become null and void.   Any Missouri licensed funeral director who allows a 
former apprentice who has completed his/her apprenticeship to engage in the practice of embalming before the 
applicant is fully licensed may be subject to discipline for misconduct. 

Once an applicant has completed the apprenticeship, they should submit affidavits to the state board office 
signed and notarized, reflecting that they served at least a twelve (12) consecutive month apprenticeship and 
performed at least twenty-five (25) embalmings. 

Prior to the completion of the apprenticeship, the apprentice embalmer must successfully complete the 
Missouri Law (LRR) examination with a passing score of seventy-five (75) or better.  The state board office will 
notify the applicant of eligibility to take the required examinations.  The board encourages applicants to take 
the examination as soon as possible. 

Information relating to specifics of the examination process can be found at the Conference’s website at 
http://www.theconferenceonline.org/ or at (479) 442-7076 or 1885 Shelby Lane, Fayetteville, AR  72704.  

The State of Missouri examination fee is paid through the Conference as listed below: 
Missouri Law (LRR)                                $140.00 

Applicants shall have five (5) years from the date of graduation from an accredited program to successfully 
complete the requirements for licensure or the application will be cancelled and the applicant will be required to 
follow the same procedure as any new applicant by submitting a new application and paying all applicable 
fees. 

Applicants should keep the board office informed of any changes in email and mailing address to ensure that 
correspondence will reach them promptly.   Changes can be submitted to the board office by mail or by email 
to embalm@pr.mo.gov. 
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************************************ 

APPLICANTS WHO HAVE PREVIOUSLY BEEN LICENSED IN MISSOURI-LICENSE VOID 

Individuals applying for a license who have previously held a Missouri embalmers license that has become 
void pursuant to statute, shall be required to make application and meet all licensure requirements as noted 
above with the exception of the difference in the period of apprenticeship. 

Pursuant to the board’s regulations, the applicant shall complete a six (6) consecutive month period of 
apprenticeship during which time they shall be required to embalm at least twelve (12) dead human bodies 
under the supervision of a Missouri licensed embalmer.  No previous apprenticeship will be considered. 

*************************************** 

If applicants have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the board office at embalm@pr.mo.gov or 
(573) 751-0813.
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