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MISSOURI REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS COMMISSION 
 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
 
 

2 YEAR EXAMINATION EXPIRATION 
 
The Missouri Real Estate Appraisers Commission would like to advise you of the following change to Section 
339.515.3.   
 
“If an applicant is not certified or licensed within two years after passing an examination given pursuant to the 
provisions of this section, he or she shall be required to retake the examination prior to certification or licensure.” 
 
This change was made as a result of an audit finding by the Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC).  The ASC performs 
routine audits of the state appraiser regulatory commissions throughout the country.  The Missouri Real Estate 
Appraisers Commission (MREAC) was audited in October 2004.  Following the audit, the MREAC was informed by 
the ASC that Missouri’s appraiser statutes were in conflict with a July 1, 2000 Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) 
interpretation related to the time period an appraiser has to complete his/her requirements.  Missouri’s law allowed 
an appraiser three years from the date the appraiser passed the examination to obtain the experience necessary 
for certification/licensure and the AQB’s interpretation allows only two years.   
 
Therefore, to ensure that the Missouri requirements are in compliance with federal law (Title XI) and that Missouri 
appraisers are qualified for inclusion on the Federal Registry, the statute was revised. 
 
The Commission does not have the authority to waive this provision.      
 
************************************************************************************************************* 

2006 USPAP 
 

The 2006 edition of USPAP was adopted with an effective date of July 1, 2006, meaning the current (2005) edition 
of USPAP is valid until June 30, 2006.  It is anticipated that the 2006 edition will be effective until December 31, 
2007 (a period of 18 months).  Effective with the 2008 edition, USPAP is planned to be issued on a two-year 
publication cycle.   
 
The Commission will be mailing to each Missouri licensed and certified appraiser the new 2006 USPAP edition 
within the next few weeks.  Watch your mailboxes. 
 
************************************************************************************************************* 

RENEWAL AND CE 
 

Your current license or certificate expires on June 30, 2006.  Renewal notices will be mailed to all certified and 
licensed appraisers on or around April 1st.  In order to renew, you will need 28 hours of approved CE that includes a 
7 hour National USPAP Update Course.  The CE must have been obtained within the past two year cycle (July 1, 
2004 – June 30, 2006).  No carry over of CE is allowed.  Please do not submit course completion certificates with 
your renewals.  All continuing education will be “attested to” by you on the renewal application as having been 
completed.  The Commission will randomly audit at least 15% of all certified and licensed appraisers for verification 
of the required CE. 
 
New this year – Appraisers will have the option to renew ONLINE.  Instructions will be included in your renewal 
notice. 
 
The notices will be mailed to the contact address the Commission currently has on file for you.  So, if you have 
moved and have not notified the commission not only will you not receive your renewal notice, but you are also in 
violation of Section 339.529 RSMo that requires the Commission be notified, in writing, within thirty (30) days of any 
change. 



 2

 
*********************************************************************************************************** 
 
 
 

COMPETENCY AND SCOPE OF PRACTICE STANDARDS 
 

THIS RULE BECAME EFFECTIVE FEBRUARY 28, 2005 
 

Title 4 - DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
Division 245 - Real Estate Appraisers 

Chapter 9 
Competency and Scope of Practice Standards 

 
4 CSR 245-9.010 Competency and Scope of Practice Standards 
 
PURPOSE: This rule sets the scope of practice standards for the development and communication of real estate 
appraisals by state-certified general real estate appraisers, state-certified residential real estate appraisers, and 
state-licensed real estate appraisers. 
 
(1) Prior to accepting an assignment or entering into an agreement to perform any assignment, an appraiser shall 
properly identify the problem to be addressed and have the knowledge and experience to complete the assignment 
competently; or alternatively, must:  

 
(A) Disclose the lack of knowledge and/or experience to the client before accepting the assignment; 
(B) Take all steps necessary or appropriate to complete the assignment competently; and 
(C) Describe the lack of knowledge and/or experience and the steps taken to complete the assignment 
competently in the report. 

 
(2) If an appraiser discovers during the course of an appraisal assignment that he or she lacks the required 
knowledge or experience to complete the assignment competently, at the point of such discovery, the appraiser 
shall notify the client and comply with subsections (1)(B) and (1)(C) of this rule. 
 
(3) Notwithstanding the requirements and allowances of sections (1) and (2) of this rule, state-certified and state-
licensed real estate appraisers shall limit their practice to the development and communication of real estate 
appraisals as follows: 
 

(A) State-certified general real estate appraisers may perform appraisals on all types of real estate 
regardless of complexity or transaction value and may perform appraisal consulting, if, and only if, 
performed in compliance with all state and federal laws, rules and regulations pertaining to the appraisal 
assignment; 
(B) State-certified residential real estate appraisers may perform appraisals on residential real estate of one 
to four (1.4) residential units without regard to transaction value or complexity and may perform appraisal 
consulting in the area of residential real estate, if, and only if, performed in compliance with all state and 
federal laws, rules and regulations pertaining to the appraisal assignment. This designation permits the 
appraisal of vacant or unimproved land that may be utilized for one- to four- (1.4) family purposes. This 
certification does not permit the appraisal of subdivisions or of agricultural real estate. Individual parcels of 
property located within a residential subdivision shall 
be considered residential real estate. For all other appraisals, the appraisal report shall be signed by the 
state-certified residential real estate appraiser and a state-certified general real estate appraiser. For the 
purposes of this rule, agricultural real estate shall be defined as improved or unimproved land with a 
highest and best use and primary purpose devoted to income production by crops, livestock and other 
products of the soil (fruit, pasture, timberland, etc). 
(C) State-licensed real estate appraisers may perform appraisals of real property consisting of one (1) 
residential unit, if, and only if, performed in compliance with all state and federal laws, rules and regulations 
pertaining to the appraisal assignment. For all other appraisals, the appraisal report shall be signed by the 
state-licensed real estate appraiser and a state-certified real estate appraiser. 
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(4) A state-licensed or state-certified real estate appraiser shall be exempt from the provisions 
of section (3) of this rule if providing valuation services in a setting for which licensure or certification would not be 
required under section 339.501.5, RSMo. In all other instances, a real estate appraiser must comply fully with 
sections (1), (2) and (3) of this rule. Sections (1), (2) and (3) shall not be interpreted so as to except a real estate 
appraiser from compliance with the other sections. 
 
(5) Prior to July 1, 2007, the provisions of section (3) of this rule shall not apply to any person that was certified or 
licensed as a real estate appraiser before the effective date of this rule. 
 
AUTHORITY:  section  339.509(5), RSMo 2000.* Original rule filed June 25, 2004, effective Feb. 28, 2005. 
*Original  authority:  339.509,  RSMo  1990,  amended 1998. 
 
 

 
 

********************************************************************************* 
 
 
 

Implementation of the 2008 AQB Criteria 
 
The Missouri Real Estate Appraisers Commission will accept applications for examination from 
those individuals meeting the current 2003 AQB education criteria until June 30, 2007.   Those 
applicants will then have to pass the examination by December 31, 2007, for their education 
and examination to qualify under the 2003 criteria.  If an applicant does not have the application 
for examination submitted to the Commission by June 30, 2007 and/or does not pass the 
examination by December 31, 2007 he/she will be required to meet the new 2008 AQB criteria.  
No exceptions.   For more information please call the Missouri Real Estate Appraisers 
Commission at 573-751-0038. 
 
SEE A SUMMARY OF THE CHANGES TO APPRAISER QUALIFICATIONS ON THE 
FOLLOWING PAGE 
 
 
 
*********************************************************************************************************** 
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On February 20, 2004, the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation adopted changes to the Real Property 
Appraiser Qualification Criteria that will become effective on January 1, 2008. These changes represent the minimum national 
requirements that each state must implement for individuals applying for a real estate appraiser license or certification as of 
January 1, 2008. The changes include increased required education, which is summarized as follows: 
 
 
 

 
 
1) Hours required include completion of the 15-hour National USPAP Course (or its equivalent). 
2) Hours required include specific core curriculum courses and hours – please see the Real Property Appraiser Qualification 
Criteria for details. 
3) College-level courses and degrees must be obtained from an accredited college or university. 
 
Please note that individual states may adopt requirements more stringent than the national requirements, and may opt to 
impose those requirements prior to January 1, 2008. Therefore, applicants for a real estate appraisal license or certification 
should always check with their state for individual requirements. 
 
Copies of the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria (contains the current and 2008 Criteria) as well as guidance such as 
A Guide for Understanding the 2008 Criteria are available from The Appraisal Foundation. To receive your complimentary 
copies, please visit www.appraisalfoundation.org. Questions regarding the national requirements can be directed to The 
Appraisal Foundation, 1155 15th Street, NW, Suite 1111, Washington, DC 20005; online at www.appraisalfoundation.org; 
or, via phone at 202.347.7722. 
 
 

Category  Current 
Requirements1  

1/1/08 Requirements1, 2  
1/1/08 College-Level Course 
Requirements3  

License  90 hours  150 hours  None  

 
Certified Residential  

 
120 hours  

 
200 hours  

 
Associate degree or higher. In lieu of 
the required degree, Twenty-one (21) 
semester credit hours covering the 
following subject matter courses: 
English Composition; Principles of 
Economics (Micro or Macro); Finance; 
Algebra, Geometry or higher 
mathematics; Statistics; Introduction to 
Computers – Word 
Processing/Spreadsheets; and 
Business or Real Estate Law.  

 
Certified General  

 
 

180 hours  

 
300 hours  

 
Bachelors degree or higher. In lieu of 
the required degree Thirty (30) 
semester credit hours covering the 
following subject matter courses: 
English Composition; Micro Economics; 
Macro Economics; Finance; Algebra, 
Geometry or higher mathematics; 
Statistics; Introduction to Computers – 
Word Processing/Spreadsheets; 
Business or Real Estate Law; and two 
(2) elective courses in accounting, 
geography, ag-economics, business 
management, or real estate  


