BEFORE THE MISSOURI
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS COMMISSION

In the Matter of the Application of

STACY KING,

N’ N N’ N N

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS COMMISSION ISSUING
A PROBATIONARY STATE LICENSED REAL ESTATE APPRAISER’S LICENSE TO
STACY KING

The Missouri Real Estate Appraisers Commission (the “Commission”) hereby issues its
ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY STATE LICENSED REAL ESTATE
APPRAISER’S LICENSE, License No. 2016013851, to Stacy King (hereafter “King”),
pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, King may
submit a written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and
review of the Commission’s decision to issue a probated residential appraiser certification. Such
written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of
delivery or mailing of this Order of the Commission. The written request should be addressed to
the Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room
640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written request for review is filed with the
Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of the

Commission’s decision shall be considered waived. Should King file a written request for

review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect

unless or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the

contrary.

LAl statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.



L.
Based upon the foregoing, the Commission hereby states:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Commission is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established
pursuant to § 339.507, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of
real estate appraisal in this state. The Commission has control and supervision of the licensed
occupations and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapter 339.500 to 339.549, RSMo.

2. Applicant’s current address is P.O. Box 223, Belton, Missouri, 64012.

3. On or about January 12, 2016, Applicant completed the application to become a
State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser.

4. On her application, Applicant answered “yes” to the question “Has applicant ever
been adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution pursuant to the laws of any state or of the United States, whether or not sentence was
imposed?”

5. Applicant explained that she had a conviction for a class C felony for possession
of a controlled substance.

6. A review of Applicant’s criminal history reveals that:

a. On or about April 29, 2008, Applicant pled guilty to the class A misdemeanor of

Unlawful Use Of Drug Paraphernalia, in the Circuit Court of Clay County, Missouri,

case number 07CY-CR04946. The Court sentenced Applicant to 180 days’ jail

incarceration, suspended execution of Applicant’s sentence and placed Applicant on two

years’ supervised probation.



b. On or about December 3, 2009, Applicant pled guilty to the class C felony of
Possession of a Controlled Substance, in the Circuit Court of Jackson County, Missouri,
case number 0716CR0188602. The Court suspended imposition of Applicant’s sentence
and placed Applicant on two years’ supervised probation.

7. On or about February 4, 2016, Applicant submitted her experience log containing
twelve months and 2,000 hours of experience. The Commission requested two work samples
based on her experience log.

8. On or about February 8, 2016, Applicant submitted two demonstration appraisals
to the Commission for review.

9. On or about March 8, 2016, Applicant passed the State Licensed Real Estate
Appraiser examination.

10.  The Commission met with Applicant on March 22, 2016 regarding the two
appraisals.

11.  On or about April 15, 2016, the Commission completed its final review of
Applicant’s appraisal of a residential property located at 6212 Ward Parkway, Kansas City,
Missouri (“Ward Parkway” appraisal).

12. The Ward Parkway Appraisal did not comply with several provisions of the
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP):

a. It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 1-1(a), (b) and (c), because
Applicant was not aware of, did not understand, and did not correctly employ
recognized methods and techniques necessary to produce a credible appraisal;
Applicant committed substantial errors of omission or commission that

significantly affected the appraisal; and Applicant rendered appraisal services in a



careless or negligent manner, in that Applicant did not provide analysis of the
contract; failed to provide support for the site value; provided no explanation of
why it appraised for more than the asking price; and provided no comments as to
the neighborhood that weren’t generic.

. It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 1-2(e)(i), because Applicant did
not correctly identify the characteristics of the property that were relevant to the
type and definition of value and intended use of the appraisal, including its
location and physical, legal and economic attributes, in that the zoning was
incorrect and the neighborhood comments were canned and spoke nothing to the
subject property specifically.

It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 1-4(b)(i) because the cost
approach was necessary for credible assignment results and Applicant did not
develop an opinion of site value by an appropriate appraisal method or technique
in that Applicant did not develop site value support.

. It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 1-5(a), because Applicant failed
to analyze the contract.

It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 2-1(b) because the written
appraisal report did not contain sufficient information to enable the intended users
of the appraisal to understand the report properly in that Applicant used canned
comments and no specific information regarding the subject property and the
location.

It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 2-2, because the report did not

prominently state which reporting option was used by Applicant and the report



failed to include an analysis of the contract; it contained canned comments for the
location; it contained canned comments and incorrect zoning for site comments;
and there were no comments/analysis of why the value was $560,000 and the
property was listed at $539,950 after being reduced from $569,000.

g. It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 2-2(a)(iii), because Applicant did
not summarize the information sufficiently enough to identify the real estate
involved in the appraisal, in that incorrect zoning was used and there were no
comments that were specific to the subject property.

13. On or about April 15, 2016, the Commission completed its final review of
Applicant’s appraisal of a residential property located at 11712 E 59" Street, Kansas City,
Missouri (“59™ Street” appraisal).

14.  The 59" Street Appraisal did not comply with several provisions of the Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP):

a. It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 1-1(a), (b) and (c), because
Applicant was not aware of, did not understand, and did not correctly employ
recognized methods and techniques necessary to produce a credible appraisal;
Applicant committed substantial errors of omission or commission that
significantly affected the appraisal; and Applicant rendered appraisal services in a
careless or negligent manner, in that Applicant did not provide analysis of the
contract; failed to provide support for the site value; provided no explanation of
why it appraised for more than the asking price; and provided no comments as to

the neighborhood that weren’t generic.



. It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 1-2(e)(i), because Applicant did
not correctly identify the characteristics of the property that were relevant to the
type and definition of value and intended use of the appraisal, including its
location and physical, legal and economic attributes, in that the zoning was
incorrect and the neighborhood comments were canned and spoke nothing to the
subject property specifically.

It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 1-4(b)(i) because the cost
approach was necessary for credible assignment results and Applicant did not
develop an opinion of site value by an appropriate appraisal method or technique
in that Applicant did not develop site value support.

. It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 1-5(a), because Applicant failed
to analyze the contract.

It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 2-1(b) because the written
appraisal report did not contain sufficient information to enable the intended users
of the appraisal to understand the report properly in that Applicant used canned
comments and no specific information regarding the subject property and the
location.

It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 2-2, because the report did not
prominently state which reporting option was used by Applicant and the report
fails to include an analysis of the contract; it contained canned comments for the
location; it contained canned comments and incorrect zoning for site comments;
and there were no comments/analysis of why the value was $77,000 and the

property was listed at $69,981 after being reduced from $75,000.



g. It failed to comply with USPAP Standards Rule 2-2(a)(iii), because Applicant did
not summarize the information sufficiently enough to identify the real estate
involved in the appraisal, in that incorrect zoning was used and there were no

comments that were specific to the subject property.

II.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

15. The Commission has authority to deny or refuse any certificate or license
application pursuant to § 339.532.1, RSMo, which provides:

The Commission may refuse to issue or renew any certificate or license issued
pursuant to sections 339.500 to 339.549 for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The Commission shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his or her

right to file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided
by chapter 621, RSMo.

16.  The Commission has cause to deny or refuse Applicant’s application for licensure

as a State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser pursuant to § 339.532.2, RSMo, which provides:

The Commission may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any state-certified real estate
appraiser, state-licensed real estate appraiser, or any person who has failed to renew
or has surrendered his or her certificate or license for any one or any combination of
the following causes:

(4) The person has been finally adjudicated and
found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or
nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution
under the laws of any state or the United States,
for any offense reasonably related to the
qualifications, functions or duties of any
profession licensed or regulated pursuant to
sections 339.500 to 339.549 for any offense
of which an essential element is fraud,
dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any




offense involving moral turpitude, whether
or not sentence is imposed,

(7) Failure to comply with the Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice promulgated by the
appraisal standards board of the appraisal foundation;

(8) Failure or refusal without good cause to exercise
reasonable diligence in developing an appraisal,
preparing an appraisal report, or communicating an
appraisal][.]

17. As a result of Applicant’s guilty pleas as detailed in paragraph 6 a — b above and
Applicant’s non-compliance with numerous provisions of USPAP in the Ward Parkway and 59™
Street Appraisals, the Commission has cause to deny or refuse Applicant’s application for
licensure as a State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser pursuant to § 339.532.1, RSMo, and
§ 339.532.2 (4), (7) and (8), RSMo.

18. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Commission may, at its
discretion, issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038.1, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a Commission within or assigned to the division of professional

registration, including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue

a license for reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the

administrative hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of

a license, the Commission, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at

its discretion, issue to an applicant a license subject to probation.

19.  The Commission issues this Order in lieu of denial of Applicant’s application for

licensure as a State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser. The Commission has determined that this

Order is necessary to ensure the protection of the public.



II1.
ORDER

15. Based on the foregoing, Applicant is granted licensure as a State Licensed Real

Estate Appraiser, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for a period of one (1) year from the

effective date of this Order, subject to the terms and conditions set forth below.

IV.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

16. During the aforementioned probation, Applicant shall be entitled to present

herself and serve as a State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser subject to the following terms and

conditions:

1. Education Requirements

A.

Within six months after the effective date of this Order, Applicant shall submit
verification to the Commission of successful completion of a fifteen hour approved
qualifying education course on report writing.

II. General Requirements

A.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall not supervise any real estate appraisal, as
defined by § 339.503(1), RSMo, of property located in the state of Missouri nor sign any
appraisal for property located in Missouri as an appraisal supervisor.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall maintain a log of all appraisal
assignments completed, including appraisal values. Applicant shall submit a true and
accurate copy of her log to the MREAC within three (3) months after the effective date of
this Order and a copy of the log within nine (9) months after the effective date of this
Order. All logs shall comply with rule 20 CSR 2245-2.050.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Commission informed of her
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Commission in
writing within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, as necessary, Applicant shall timely renew her licensure
granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all
other Commission requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current and active
state.



E. During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Commission’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

F. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Commission or its designee upon request.

G. Applicant shall submit written reports to the Commission every six (6) months during the
probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been compliance with all terms
and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be received by the Commission
on or before six months from the effective date of this Order.

H. Applicant shall execute any release or provide any other authorization necessary for the
Commission to obtain records of her employment during the terms of the permit.

I. Applicant shall comply with all provisions of §§ 339.500 to 339.549, RSMo; all federal
and state drug laws, rules, and regulations; and all federal and state criminal laws.
“State” here includes the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United
States, and the ordinances of political subdivisions of any state or territory. Applicant
shall immediately report any violation of this provision to the Commission in writing.
Applicant shall also immediately report any allegation that she has violated this provision
to the Commission, in writing. Examples of allegations of such a violation include, but
are not limited to, any arrest, summons, inquiry by any law enforcement official into
these topics, or inquiry into these topics by a health oversight agency. Applicant shall
sign releases or other documents authorizing and requesting the holder of any closed
record related to this paragraph to release such records to the Commission.

J. Applicant is hereby informed that the Missouri Real Estate Appraisers Commission will
maintain this Order as an open record of the Commission as provided in Chapters 610,
339 and 324, RSMo. She shall truthfully answer any inquiry regarding her license status
or disciplinary history.

K. Applicant shall immediately submit documents showing compliance with the
requirements of this Order to the Commission when requested.

L. In the event the Commission determines that Applicant has violated any term or
condition of this Order, the Commission may, in its discretion, after an evidentiary
hearing, suspend, revoke, or otherwise lawfully discipline Applicant’s licensure.

M. No Order shall be entered by the Commission pursuant to the preceding paragraph of this
Order without notice and an opportunity for hearing before the Commission in

accordance with the provisions of Chapter 536, RSMo.

N. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes her address from the
state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain her State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser
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licensure as current and active under the provisions of Chapter 339, RSMo, or fails to
keep the Commission advised of all current places of residence, the time of such absence,
unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to
satisfy any part of the probationary period.

O. Unless otherwise specified by the Commission, all reports, documentation, notices, or
other materials required to be submitted to the Commission shall be forwarded to:
Missouri Real Estate Appraisers Commission, P.O. Box 1335, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

P. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

17. This Order does not bind the Commission or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Respondent of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 339,
RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

18. The Commission will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the
Commission as provided in Chapters 324, 339 and 610, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS é/ MDAY OF MAY, 2016.

MISSOURI REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS COMMISSION

/
Janerce %M/aﬂ/\./)

Vanessa Beaaxdﬁmp, Executive Director
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