About the Committee

Authority: Sections 324.475 to 324.499 RSMo

Membership: The committee shall consist of five members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the senate.

Requirements: All committee members shall be citizens of the United States and registered voters of the state of Missouri. Three committee members shall be acupuncturists. Such members shall at all times be holders of licenses for the practice of acupuncture in this state; except for the members of the first committee who shall meet the requirements for licensure pursuant to sections 324.475 to 324.499. One member shall be a current board member of the Missouri state board for chiropractic examiners. The remaining member shall be a public member. All members shall be chosen from lists submitted by the director of the division of professional registration.

The president of the Acupuncture Association of Missouri in office at the time shall, at least ninety days prior to the expiration of the term of a board member, other than the public member, or as soon as feasible after a vacancy on the board otherwise occurs, submit to the director of the division of professional registration a list of five acupuncturists qualified and willing to fill the vacancy in question, with the request and recommendation that the governor appoint one of the five persons so listed, and with the list so submitted, the president of the Acupuncture Association of Missouri shall include in his or her letter of transmittal a description of the method by which the names were chosen by that association.

The public member of the committee shall not be and never has been a member of any profession regulated by the provisions of sections 324.475 to 324.499, or the spouse of any such person; and a person who does not have and never has had a material financial interest in either the providing of the professional services regulated by the provisions of sections 324.475 to 324.499 or an activity or organization directly related to the profession regulated pursuant to sections 324.475 to 324.499.

Term: All members shall be appointed to serve a 4-year term.

Compensation: No statutory provision exists for per diem or reimbursement of expenses.

Board function: The Missouri Acupuncturist Advisory Committee registers, licenses, and regulates all acupuncturists in the state. Members review and act on issues of discipline, licensure, rules and regulations, legislation and other business. The Committee has the power to recommend revocation, suspension, denial, probation and reinstatement of licenses to the State Board of Chiropractic Examiners.

Mission: The Acupuncturist Advisory Committee protects the public from incompetence, misconduct, gross negligence, fraud, misrepresentation or dishonesty; licenses only "qualified" professionals by examination and evaluation of minimum competency; enforces standards by implementing legislation and administrative rules; and encourages economic development and partnerships with existing small businesses.

Meetings: The Acupuncturist Advisory Committee will meet approximately 2 times per year with meetings held in Jefferson City, Missouri.

Other: The Board shares office space and staff with the Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage and the Missouri State Board of Chiropractic Examiners. The staff includes one executive director, one program assistant and two licensing technicians.