Veterinary Medical Board

About the Board

The Missouri Veterinary Medical Board was established in 1905 by an act of the Missouri General Assembly. The statutes have been updated several times with major changes made in 1953, 1963 and most recently, with the enactment of the Missouri Veterinary Medical Practice Act in 1992. The board is composed of the state veterinarian who serves as ex officio and five appointed members. The five members consist of four members possessing a license to practice veterinary medicine, and one voting public member. Board members are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.

Duties of the board, including but not limited to, are to:

The Board is also responsible for maintaining communication and interaction with other Missouri professional licensing boards and the following: American Association of Veterinary State Boards; American Veterinary Medical Association; Missouri Veterinary Medical Association; Clearinghouse of Licensure, Enforcement and Regulation (CLEAR); U.S. Animal Health Association; U.S. Food and Drug Administration; Missouri Department of Agriculture - Veterinary Services; Missouri Department of Health (including the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs); and other agencies as necessary on matters of mutual interest concerning the practice of veterinary medicine in the State of Missouri.