License Status Explanations

There are four different types of license statuses; active, inactive, lapsed and retired.

Active License Status: An active license is one that is current. It allows the nurse to practice nursing and provide nursing services to patients in Missouri if the license is not suspended.

Inactive License Status: An inactive license is one that has been voluntarily requested to be placed inactive by the nurse. A nurse cannot request inactive status if his/her license is already expired. A nurse can request inactive status on the renewal form, when renewing online or by submitting a form found under Licensure Information & Forms. The nurse does not pay any renewal fees while his/her license is inactive. The nurse cannot practice nursing or provide nursing services to Missouri patients in Missouri during the inactive license time period. The nurse will no longer receive the board of nursing newsletter. If the nurse wishes to renew, s/he must follow the procedures to reinstate the nursing license. The form to do so can be found at our web site under Licensure Information & Forms and then Form to Renew Expired Missouri License.

Lapsed License Status: A license becomes lapsed if the nurse does not request inactive status or retired status and 30 days have elapsed since the expiration date of the license. The nurse cannot request lapsed status. This status is assigned due to inaction by the nurse. The nurse cannot practice nursing or provide nursing services to Missouri patients in Missouri during the lapsed license time period. The nurse will no longer receive the board of nursing newsletter. If the nurse wishes to renew, s/he must follow the procedures to reinstate the nursing license. The form to do so can be found at our web site under Licensure Information & Forms and then Form to Renew Expired Missouri License. A nurse who has a lapsed license will incur a $50 penalty fee in addition to the renewal fee when requesting reinstatement. A nurse who places his/her license on inactive status does not incur the $50 penalty fee.

Retired License Status: This is a status available for those retired from the profession. A nurse can request retired status on the renewal form, when renewing online or by submitting a form found under Licensure Information & Forms. A nurse cannot request retired status if his/her license is already expired. While on retired nurse status, the nurse cannot practice nursing for monetary compensation. The nurse may provide volunteer service and use his/her nurse title. A nurse on retired status is required to renew the retired nurse license every two years and pay the retired nurse renewal fee at a reduced rate. The retired nurse renewal fee is currently set at $15. A RN retired nurse license will expire April 30 of each odd-numbered year. A LPN retired nurse license will expire May 31 of each even-numbered year. The board of nursing quarterly newsletter will continue to be mailed to those with a retired nurse license. If the nurse plans to resume nursing practice, s/he must follow the procedures to reinstate the nursing license. The form to do so can be found at our web site under Licensure Information & Forms and then Form to Renew Expired Missouri License.

You can find the definitions in state law 335.016, RSMo,
http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtml/33500000161.html.

The relevant rules related to licensure can be found at
http://www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/current/20csr/20c2200-4.pdf.

Request for Inactive Nurse License Status
Request for Retired Nurse License Status