Board of Embalmers & Funeral Directors
Board Seeking Public Comment on Proposed Rule Changes
The State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors reviewed proposed rule changes during their November 6, 2013 meeting. The board is seeking public comment on the proposals before finalizing the review process.
Please note the text in black is existing, the text in brackets in red arial is proposed deletion and the text in red bold in times new roman is proposed addition.
If you have comments on any of the proposals, please email those comments to email@example.com no later than December 2, 2013 in order for the board to review them during their December meeting.
Funeral Establishments Now Renewing!!
Funeral establishments were mailed post card notices on October 1, 2013. Licensee's have the option of renewing on line or requesting a paper renewal notice.
It is recommended that everyone submit their renewals by December 1, 2013 to allow processing time.
Any licensee whose license has not renewed by the December 31, 2013 deadline cannot practice after that date until the license has been renewed by the board. Submission of the renewal form and fee does not constitute renewal or grant the ability to practice after December 31, 2013.
To renew online please go to https://renew.pr.mo.gov. You will be required to have your PIN number (printed on your renewal form) and will be charged a convenience fee. If you have misplaced your PIN number, you can request such in writing from the board office.
To request a paper renewal notice, please click the button at the top of the page or contact the board office at firstname.lastname@example.org or via facsimile at (573) 751-1155. Paper renewals will be emailed, faxed or mailed to the licensee based on the request.
Preneed Sellers, Preneed Providers, Preneed Agents and Preneed Agent Funeral Directors Renewal Period Ended October 31, 2013
Any license that was not renewed by the deadline lapsed and the licensee is not authorized to practice until the license has been renewed.
To obtain the forms necessary to renew, please contact the board office at email@example.com or (573) 751-0813.
Exam Fee Increases Announced
The International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards (The Conference) has announced examination fee increases that become effective January 1, 2014. The information relating to the fee changes can be found at http://www.theconferenceonline.org/
Additionally, the Missouri law (MO-LRR) examination fee will increase to $140 on the same date.
Missouri State Highway Patrol Background Check Fees Increase Effective November 1, 2013
The board has been notified that effective November 1, 2013 the fees for background checks will increase from $10 to $11.
Statute/Rule Book Publication Available
The board has published a new statute/rule book publication. An electronic version has been mailed to each licensee.
Additionally, the document can be accessed under the "Statutes & Rules" tab on the right side of the home page.
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO EMBALMER APPLICANTS
As of August 28, 2011, the oral examination requirement for embalmer licensure has been removed from the statutes. If you are currently in the process of obtaining an embalmer's license, you will not need to sit for an oral examination.
GET BOARD NEWS
If you would like to receive e-mail notification and/or a text of upcoming meetings, etc., please subscribe by scrolling to the bottom of the screen and clicking on the "Get Embalmers & Funeral Directors Board News" icon.
NOTICE - FTCThe Federal Trade Commission and the board have agreed to settle FTC allegations regarding restrictions and prohibitions on the sale of funeral merchandise or caskets.
Click HERE for more information.