Board of Embalmers & Funeral Directors

News Releases

 

KANSAS CITY FUNERAL HOME REVOCATION AFFIRMED BY JUDGE

Click HERE for more information.


Kansas City Funeral Home Ordered to Close March 11, 2011 at 5:00 p.m.

Click HERE for more information.


Kansas City Funeral Home Receives Stay Subject to Appointment of Interim Manager

Click HERE for more information.


Kansas City Funeral Home Receives Temporary Stay of Revocation

Click HERE for more information.

Click HERE for more information.


State Regulators Shut Down Kansas City Funeral Home

Click HERE for more information.


Attorney General Consumer Alert

Click HERE for more information.


State funeral regulators, Attorney General take action against Jefferson City funeral home

Click HERE for more information.


Sellers of preneed funerals must be licensed under new state law

Jefferson City, Mo. - State officials are reminding consumers, sellers and providers of preneed funeral contracts that a new state law has taken effect requiring a license for the sale of these contracts. The law, which took effect Aug. 28, gives more authority to the Missouri State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors and other regulatory agencies over the sales of preneed funeral contracts, as well as better oversight of the financial accounts involved.

A preneed funeral contract allows consumers to plan and pay for their funeral services in advance. Often these contracts are guaranteed, which means funeral services will be provided at no additional cost to the consumer's family. Some consumers do this to prevent their loved ones and other survivors from being burdened with funeral expenses and planning. Missourians bought more than 17,000 preneed funeral contracts in 2008.

Some changes under the new law:

  • Sellers and providers of preneed funerals must now be licensed, and preneed agents must be registered by the State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors. Licensing information is available from the board's website, ww.pr.mo.gov/embalmers.asp or by calling 573-751-0813. In the past, sellers simply had to be registered. The change allows stricter criteria for issuing licenses and for discipline of licensees who violate the law.
  • All sales staff and counselors who are employed by sellers must pass a test on Missouri preneed laws and register with the state board.
  • 85 percent of a consumer's purchase must now go into a trust account. In the past, the requirement was 80 percent. The new law also allows the buyer of a prepaid funeral plan to change funeral homes without penalty.
  • The board now has the authority to audit preneed funeral accounts to ensure they are properly funded. In the past, the board could only audit an account after receiving a complaint. By that time, it was often too late.
  • More information is available on the board's website, www.pr.mo.gov/embalmers.asp or by calling 573-751-0813.


    State revokes licenses of Warren Funeral Chapel

    Click HERE for more information.


    Funeral homes' CFO arrested for fraud

    CONSUMER ALERT