IMPORTANT — PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

STATE BOARD EXAMINATION INFORMATION LETTER

The Missouri Veterinary Medical Board (“Board”) has redeveloped and updated the Missouri
State Board Examination. You may be eligible to take the examination online through a secure
website offered by the Board. The examination is an open book test consisting of 50 multiple
choice guestions. To prepare for the test, please study the material on our website at
wWww.pr.mo.gov/veterinarian.asp. If you are unable to access the Study Material on our website,
please request by e-mail that a study packet be mailed to you. Please e-mail the request to
vets@pr.mo.gov. You must receive a score of at least 70% to pass the examination.

In order for an applicant to be scheduled to take the Missouri State Board Examination,
applicants must:

1) Submit an application for licensure in the State of Missouri, and pay the required fees.
The application and fees must be received at least 60 days prior to the administration of
the examination.

2) The Board will determine if an applicant is eligible to sit for the examination by reviewing
the application and documentation required. No applicant will be approved to sit for the
examination until their application file is complete. Also, it is important to note that a
license cannot be issued to an applicant until the application has been approved
by the Board.

3) After you submit the completed application, which should include your e-mail address,
and are approved by the Board to sit for the examination, you will then be considered
eligible to take the examination and will be informed on how to proceed with the Missouri
State Board Examination.

4) To gain access to the examination site, an applicant must have a Board issued PIN
number.

5) Upon completion of the examination, you should know your score. The score is also
sent directly to the Board’s office. The Board must receive the official test results to be
included in your file and prior to the issuance of a license.

6) If the examination is failed, the applicant will be required to wait 30 days to retest.
During this time period the applicant will need to submit an abbreviated application and
the required fee. If the examination is failed after 2 attempts, the application will not only
be required to wait 30 days to retest but must take a paper and pencil examination in
Jefferson City, Missouri. The applicant is also required to submit an abbreviated
application and the required fee.

Please notify our office immediately, if your contact information changes to ensure that our
office has your current information to allow for scheduling. If you have any questions regarding
the application process or the State Board Examination, please contact our office.
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The abuse of prescription drugs is a serious social and health problem in the United States. As a
practitioner, you share responsibility for preventing prescription drug abuse and diversion. Prescribing
controlled substance medications is always a balancing act; the physician must do his or her best to safely
and effectively treat their patients while at the same time avoid prescription practices that could
potentially foster drug misuse or abuse. The information provided in this booklet is intended to aid
physicians and other health professionals in their practice.

* You have a legal and ethical responsibility to uphold the law and to help protect society from
drug abuse.

e Protect your practice from becoming an easy target for drug diversion and remember that you
have a legal responsibility to acquaint yourself with the state and federal requirements for the
prescribing and dispensing of controlled substances. Should you fail to abide by the
requirements, you are subject to the loss or restriction of controlled substances privileges and
discipline by the appropriate professional state licensing board.

This booklet will help you meet these responsibilities and legal requirements. It summarizes key aspects
of Missouri and federal controlled substance law and outlines common sense procedures that
practitioners can use to prevent diversion of these drugs.

Additional educational handouts and publications regarding record keeping, forms and preventing
prescription fraud are available at the website of the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs at
www.dhss.mo.gov/BNDD.,
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How This Booklet is Planned Qut— Chronologically:

This booklet is laid out in chronological order. We first define controlled substances so practitioners can
learn what they are and where to find a list. Next we talk about having proper state and federal
controlled substances registrations. Then we purchase, store them securely, administer, dispense,
provide proper packaging, required labeling and then the required record keeping such as receipt records,
inventories, dispensing logs and documentation in patients’ charts. How to dispose of unwanted
controlled substances is covered. The booklet provides a lot of information on the requirements for
prescribing, what the limits are, what must be documented and how prescriptions may be transmitted.

This book is compiled of the most frequently asked questions from practitioners and items they wish to
cover during educational presentations. Not every single law and circumstance can be covered in this
booklet. The website of the DEA given below and the website of the BNDD given on page two have
links to many more educational handouts, as well as state licensing boards whose websites may be

viewed at www.pr.mo.gov.

What Are Controlled Substances ?

A controlled substance is a drug or other substance that comes under the jurisdiction of the Federal
Controlled Substances Act of 1970. Narcotics, depressants, stimulants, hallucinogens and anabolic
steroids are regulated by the Controlled Substances Act (CSA) and are listed in one of five schedules.

Schedule I substances have a high potential for abuse and no accepted medical use in the U.S. Schedule
II drugs also have a high abuse potential with a severe liability for psychic or physical dependence, but in
general are substances that are approved by the FDA for a therapeutic use. Schedules III-V includes
drugs with decreasing levels of abuse potential. Schedule IV drugs are predominantly benzodiazepines.

In the state of Missouri, the Comprehensive Drug Control Act of 1989, administered by the Bureau of
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs in the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, closely
parallels federal law. The statutes are in Chapter 195 RSMo and the state regulations are in 19 CSR 30-
1.00 through 1.078. In some instances, however, Missouri’s law is more stringent and takes precedence
over federal law. For example, in Missouri, narcotic-containing cough syrups and certain products that
contain ephedrine are listed in Schedule IV and cannot be purchased without a prescription. In Missouri,
drug products containing solid dosage forms of pseudoephedrine are Schedule V and must be signed for
at the pharmacy counter. Legend drugs with pseudoephedrine that require prescriptions are not Schedule
V.

A List of Controlled Substances:

You may find a list of controlled substances in Missouri Statutes in Section 195.017, RSMo. These are
listed by Schedule.

For a more user-friendly listing of controlled substances, you may view a searchable listing of controlled
substances at the DEA’s website, www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov . The left side of their homepage has a
link where you can see all controlled substances in alphabetical order or you may also search them by
schedule. It also matches brand name drug products to generic names.
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Controlled Substance Registrations

For an individual practitioner to conduct any activities with controlled substances in Missouri, they must
obtain registrations from both the Missouri Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs (BNDD) first, and
secondly the federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA). Individual practitioners include
physicians, dentists, optometrists, podiatrists, veterinarians, and advance practice nurses. Practice sites
such as offices and clinics are not registered separately from individual practitioners.

A full BNDD registration and a DEA registration must each be obtained every three years. The BNDD
registration terminates if a practitioner discontinues practice at their registered location without proper
notification to the BNDD. If this occurs, the practitioner no longer has controlled substance authority.
If the BNDD is notified in writing, within 30 days of a change of practice location, then their registration
may be amended.

A full 3-year registration is given at a Missouri practice location where patient care occurs and controlled
substance activities take place. This is the practitioner’s principal practice location where they spend the
most time. This is where patients’ records are kept and this location is open for inspection.

A temporary or locum tenen registration is issued for a one-year period. This registration is for travelling
practitioners who fill in on a temporary basis. These practitioners must provide a Missouri practice
location of where they will spend the majority of their time in Missouri. They may provide a separate
mailing address to their home or employment agency. These practitioners are not allowed to accept or
stock controlled substances for dispensing. These practitioners must maintain a log that lists all of their
Missouri practice locations and the dates they worked there. This log must be maintained for two years
and made available upon request.

A veterinarian may work under the authority of their employer’s DEA registration. However each and
every individual veterinarian must have their own personal Missouri state registration in order to conduct
controlled substance activities in Missouri. A veterinarian who practices under their employer’s DEA
number cannot issue controlled substance prescriptions. An individual DEA number is required to issue
a controlled substance prescription.

Physicians in residencies and training programs may use the hospital’s DEA number with a suffix that

identifies them. These practitioners are limited to only using controlled substances on the patients of the
hospitals and facilities they are training in.

Do I Need Multiple Registrations?

Most practitioners have only one registration. They can purchase, stock, administer, dispense and
prescribe at their principal and registered location. They can travel all over Missouri and prescribe from
any locations.

Additional registrations are required if you:

1. Begin stocking and storing controlled substances at more than one location. There must
be a separate location at every separate location drugs are stored,
2. Perform other activities other than being a practitioner, such as becoming a

manufacturer, distributor, researcher, analytical lab, importer or exporter.

Any questions regarding registrations should be directed to the BNDD at (573) 751-6321



Purchasing/Obtaining Controlled Substances:

When practitioners want controlled substances for administration and dispensing in their offices, the
practitioners may only have controlled substances transferred to them by another authorized DEA
registrant and proper transfer records of documentation must be maintained. There are strict
requirements for what a stocking practitioner must do and there are specific laws about what practitioners
cannot do to obtain controlled substances.

What you may do:

1. Purchase and obtain controlled substances from a pharmacy, wholesaler, distributor, or have
drugs transferred to you by another DEA registrant. You should call the other registrant and
share required information for documenting the drug transfer such the name, addresses and DEA
numbers of the supplier and the receiver. A transfer form template is provided in the forms
section of this booklet.

What vou may never do:

1. No practitioner may issue a prescription to obtain office stock. Prescriptions are for patients only
and must have a patient name. Never write a prescription for office stock. It is prohibited by
law.

2. No practitioner may accept any portion of a patient’s controlled substance prescription for any

reason, unless you were the original practitioner who initially dispensed the drugs. This is by
statute 195.070.4, RSMo. If you dispensed drugs and the patient wants to return them, then you
can take them back for destruction. If you were not the dispenser and the drugs came from a
pharmacy or other practitioner, you may not take possession of the drugs.

Never store patients’ controlled drugs for them in your practice.

4. Never store unused medications and use them for dispensing to other patients.

[FS]

Continuous Record Keeping For Accountability

Controlled substances are documented and tracked from the day they are made until they are dispensed
into the hands of a patient. Every time the drugs change hands there must be a documented paper trail.

Drugs are tracked from the manufacturer, to the distributor, then to the pharmacy or to the practitioner.
Records must be maintained of the drug names, strengths, dosage forms and quantities you received and
the dates you received them. You must also document the names, addresses and DEA numbers of other
registrants you transfer with.

It is just like balancing a bank book. You must be able to document and account for every dosage unit
you have received. Every dosage unit you have administered or dispensed. You must be able to know
what balance you should have on hand so that if any are missing it can be reported immediately.

As we go through activities with controlled substances in your practice we will cover the following types
of record keeping requirements

1. Purchasing/Receipt Records 5. Administration/Dispensing logs 9. Reporting losses
2. Initial Inventory 6. Prescription documentation 10. How to audit
3. Annual Inventory 7. Faxing prescriptions

4. Transferring Drugs Out 8. Disposal of unwanted drugs
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Controlled Substance Receipt Records

Registrants must maintain a record of all controlled substances they receive. The receipt records must
contain the following information:

¢ Name, address and DEA number of the supplier;

o Name, address and DEA number of the recipient;

¢ Drug name, strength, form and quantities received;

¢ The date the drugs were received.
All of this information must be maintained on file by the registrant and made available for inspection and
copying. There are no exceptions for samples. All controlled substances must have records maintained.

Caution: If you choose to use a packing slip, invoice or billing record as your receipt record, you are
responsible to make sure all of the information required above is documented on the records you
maintain.

When you want to receive Schedule II drugs, you will execute a DEA Form 222 Order Form.

When you want to receive drugs in Schedule IIl—V, you may create a form or record of your own and no
specific form is required. The record you create must have all of the required information. A transfer
form template is included in the forms section of this booklet.

Receiving Schedule Il Drugs Requires DEA Forms:

All transfers of Schedule II controlled substances between registrants require a DEA Form 222 Official
Order Form. You may obtain these order forms from the DEA at www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov They
should be secured and any lost 222 forms must be reported to the DEA immediately.

The registrant who is requesting the drugs starts the process. The purchaser fills out the form which has
their name, address and DEA number. They list the drug name, strength, form and quantities desired.
The name, address and DEA number of the supplier/distributor is documented. The form is sent to the
supplier. The purchaser keeps the 3" copy as a receipt record.

The supplier will receive the written form requesting the drugs. The order will be filled and shipped
back to the purchaser. The purchaser must document their 3" copy of the form to document what
quantities they received and the dates of receipt. These forms must be maintained for two years.

Only the registrant whose name appears on the forms may sign and execute these order forms. If the
registrant wishes to delegate the signing of these forms to another person, they may do so, however they
must execute a power of attorney form. Power of attorney forms are available on the website of the
BNDD at www.dhss.mo.gov/BNDD.

Receiving Schedule III—V Drugs

You are required to maintain a receipt record with all of the information listed above. There is a transfer
form you may use included in this booklet or you may create your own. You are responsible to make
sure it is compliant. It is to your advantage to use the included form. If you document the form
completely, both the supplier and receiver should keep a copy. It works as a “receipt” record for the
receiver and then a “transfer out” record for the supplier.



Storage of Controlled Substances

Individual practitioners must store controlled substances in a securely locked, substantially constructed
cabinet or safe. Access to the storage area should be restricted to persons specifically authorized to

handle the controlled substances. This includes restricting the number and accessibility of keys or
passwords.

The safe or cabinet should remain locked at all times. It is not allowed to have it remain unlocked
throughout the day while you are open for business.

If there are other practitioners in your building that have separate stocks of drugs then each practitioner
must keep their individual drugs stored separately. Do not mix the drugs of multiple practitioners in one
single safe or cabinet.

If the safe is small and portable it should be bolted to the floor or wall or placed in a locked closet.

Initial Inventory

On the very first day that you receive controlled substances for the first time, you must conduct an initial
inventory on that day with your first arriving drug shipment. In case you want to perform an audit in the
future to determine if drugs are missing, this initial audit would be your starting date and point in time.
An initial inventory must document the following information:
e Registrant’s name and DEA number;
s Date;
e Drug names, strengths, dosage forms and quantities;
* You must take the inventory at the opening or closing of business. You must document
whether you took it at the opening or closing of business. You cannot take an inventory
during business hours.

e If you have business that operates 24 hours, you must document the time of day;
There is a template form included with this booklet that may be used.

This initial inventory should be documented and filed away. Do not write on it again.

Schedule II drugs should be inventoried and documented separately from drugs in Schedule III—V.
Do not include other non-controlled drugs or items on these inventories.

Annual Inventory

Once a year you must perform an annual inventory of controlled substances. This inventory should be
performed exactly like the inventory described above. If you are undergoing a records inspection you
should be able to produce an annual inventory that is less than 12 months old.

This annual inventory should be documented and filed away. Do not write on it again.

Schedule II drugs should be inventoried and documented separately from drugs in Schedule III—V.
Do not include other non-controlled drugs or items on these inventories.



Administering and Dispensing Controlled Substances

Up to this point we have covered getting registered and purchasing and locking up the drugs. Now we
get into the activities with drugs in the practice such as administering to a patient or dispensing drugs to a
patient so they may leave your practice with drugs for future use. In this area we will cover record
keeping, packaging, labeling and proper actions by staff.

Record Keeping—Administration/Dispensing Logs

Registrants must maintain a record of all controlled substances received, administered, dispensed, or
otherwise disposed of. You must be able to document what patients have received drugs and how much
and when. It is required that practitioners maintain a log of controlled substances administered and
dispensed. You must document the date, patient name, patient address, drug name, strength, dosage form
and quantity dispensed, and the name/initials of the person performing the dispensing. A dispensing log
form is available on the BNDD website at www.dhss.mo.gov/BNDD.

This log must be filed separately from patients’ charts. Although it is required to document all controlled
drug activities in a patient’s chart, the practitioner must also maintain this separate log.

A Valuable Security Tool

Keeping this perpetual log provides a good security device to your practice. You can review the log and
see what patients are receiving your drugs and how many and how often. All of the numbers should add
up correctly and balance. If the count is off then you know that a drug has been diverted or someone
dispensed without making a record. The log is also used to let you know when to order additional
supplies.

Packaging When Dispensing

When you dispense and give a patient a supply of drugs for future use, you must follow the same laws as
a pharmacy. You must place the controlled substances in a child-proof container. Dispensing in
envelopes or napkins or other devices violates the FDA’s Poison Prevention Packaging Act of 1970. If
you are dispensing samples, the FDA accepts the factory packaging for samples as being compliant
containers. There is no need for you to place a factory sample into a child-proof bottle.

Required Labeling

When you dispense drugs you must apply required labeling to the packaging. You must provide a label
that contains the following information:
e  Name and address of the dispensing practitioner or pharmacy;
e  Patient’s name;
If you’re a pharmacy, name of the prescribing practitioner;
If drugs are dispensed from a prescription by an advance practice nurse, the name of the
collaborating physician must be documented;
Drug name, strength, dosage form and quantity;
Directions for administration;
Date;
If the prescriber is a veterinarian, the animal species and animal owner’s name must be
documented

The burden of proof is on a person to prove lawful possession of controlled drugs. If drugs are not
labeled the person is subject to arrest. In the past, patients arrested wrongfully have sued practitioners
for not labeling medications as required and causing the patients to undergo an embarrassing arrest.



Required Warning Label or Caution Label
When a controlled substance is dispensed, the dispenser must affix a label or sticker that warns and

cautions the patient that it is illegal to transfer these controlled substances to another person. This can be
part of the major label or it may be a separate sticker.

Direct Supervision

When a registrant wants to have an employee dispense a controlled substance from their stock, the
registrant must be present to provide direct supervision.

The one exception is that a physician may have a registered nurse dispense from their stock when the
physician is not present, if the registered nurse has a collaborative practice agreement with the nurse.

A practitioner must provide direct supervision to employees who assist in administering and dispensing.
Controlled substances may be administered or dispensed from an individual practitioner’s inventory by
an authorized employee or agent when the practitioner is not present at the registered location enly
when—

(A) The administration or dispensing is authorized by the individual practitioner under a
written agreement pursuant to an arrangement established and implemented in accordance with
Missouri statutes;

(B) The person who administers or dispenses the controlled substance is authorized by statute to
administer or dispense controlled substances;

(C) The person who administers or dispenses the controlled substance is registered with the
Department of Health and Senior Services to administer or dispense controlled substances;

(D) The person who administers or dispenses the controlled substance does so in compliance with all
provisions of Chapter 195, RSMo and regulations promulgated there under.

For Physicians

If you are a licensed physician you must also follow the regulations of the Missouri State Board of
Registration for the Healing Arts. They have a non-pharmacy dispensing rule in State Regulation 20
CSR 2150-5.020 that includes the dispensing of all drugs and not just controlled substances.

Transferring Drugs Out to Another

There may be a time when you need to transfer some drugs to another registrant. You may want to send
drugs back to a distributor or maybe transfer drugs to a fellow practitioner who is running low in
supplies. You must document the movement of the drugs with a transfer form. If it is a Schedule 1I drug,
the receiving registrant would send you a DEA Form 222 Order Form. If the drugs are in Schedules IIl—
V the two of you must document a transfer form. A transfer form template is included in this booklet.
The documentation must include the names, address and DEA numbers of the supplier and receiver, as
well as the date and the drug names, strengths, forms and quantities received. This document serves as a
transfer record for the supplier and a receipt record for the receiver.

It is the responsibility of the supplier to always insure the person they are transferring drugs to is a
BNDD and DEA registrant. The state registration of an individual practitioner can be verified at the
BNDD website of www.dhss.mo.gov/BNDD.
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Disposing of Unwanted Controlled Substances

There will be times when a practitioner wants to dispose of unwanted controlled substances. There are
laws regarding how practitioners may dispose of unwanted controlled substances. This booklet is
prepared for individual practitioners so this booklet does not cover disposal in licensed hospitals and
long-term care facilities.

As a practitioner you must first ask yourself a question. “Why do I want to dispose of these
medications?” There are two answers:
A. The drugs have been contaminated by patient contact. It is a left-over injectable medicine in a
syringe; or it was a tablet that fell out of a patient’s hand or mouth. If this is the case, the drug
may be destroyed by two employees in the practice. The drug must be destroyed beyond
reclamation and documented as described below in the next section.
B. The drugs have not been contaminated but they are out-dated, expired, or simply no longer
wanted. In this case the drugs must be transferred to another registrant and they may not be
destroyed by the practitioner. You may send them back to the distributor who supplied them if
they will accept them. You may send them to a reverse distributor, which is a company that
collects unwanted medications for destruction. There is a list of these reverse distributors at the
BNDD website www.dhss. mo.gov/BNDD,

Documenting Controlled Substance Destruction

If you are administering and dispensing controlled substances then you should already be maintaining an
administration and dispensing log to show the use of all controlled substances. The wastage and
destruction of controlled substances should be documented on this log to maintain an accurate balance.

The drug should be destroyed beyond reclamation. The destruction record should include the date, drug

name, strength, form, and quantity destroyed. The reason for the destruction, the name person
performing the destruction shall sign the log as well as the person witnessing the destruction.

How to Conduct an Audit of Controlled Substances

If you want to determine if any controlled substances are missing you must use all of your required
records to conduct an audit. An example audit covering one year is shown below.

Annual inventory on 1-1-2008............ccooiiiiiiiiii s 200 tablets
Drugs received 1-1-08t0 1-1-09. .. ...ooiveneieieeenieeneieiieieineennn, 1.000 tablets
Total You Are Responsible For 1,200 tablets
Tablets Administered/Dispensed 1-1-08to 1-1-09.................oovei s, 850 tablets
Tablets destroyed because of contamination................cooevviiiiinnnne. 5 tablets
Tablets returned to beingoutdated. ............coociieneeeiiieiiieiiiienne.s 100 tablets
Total Doses Leaving the Practice 955 tablets

1,200 tablets minus 955 tablets = 245 tablets that should be in your safe.

Now you can see why all the records and dates are important.
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Reporting Losses/Thefts of Controlled Substances

Registrants should always be able to tell if they have lost any controlled substances. They should have
records in place so that an audit can be performed to determine if any drugs are missing. When
reviewing the regulations, there are two types of losses described.

Insignificant Loss:

The drugs were not really “lost” and there was not crime or loss of accountability. This is when a
compounding pharmacy has some liquid that sticks to the inside of a beaker or there is an insignificant
amount of drug lost during a mixture or preparation. There was no theft or diversion. A tablet was
dropped on the floor, stepped on and crushed and could not be picked up. When this happens, the drug

was not truly “lost” because you know what happened to it. You must document this and what happened
and it must be stapled to your annual inventory.

Lost or Stolen Controlled Substances:

These are cases where controlled substances were stolen, diverted or lost. This would include cases
where drugs are missing and you are not sure where they went. These must be reported to the BNDD
immediately upon discovery. You must submit a loss report form within 7 days. You must also submit a
written loss report to the DEA. This is a DEA Form 106 for reporting lost or stolen drugs and you can
obtain one at the DEA’s website www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov

The BNDD state loss/theft report form is included in this website and may be obtained at the BNDD
website www.dhss.mo.gov/BNDD.

Documentation Required on Written Prescriptions

State and federal law requires that a prescription must have all of the information required documented
on the face of the prescription in order for the prescription to be legal. Federal law states that both the
prescriber and the pharmacy have a corresponding liability to make sure the information is documented.
Both the prescriber and the pharmacy are liable. The following information is required for controlled
substance purposes:
o The date the prescription was signed and issued;
Patient’s name and address;
Name, address and DEA number of the prescriber;
Drug name, strength, dosage form, quantity to be dispensed;
Directions for administration or use;
Signature of the prescriber- original ink if patient presents prescription at the pharmacy.
If the prescription is for greater than a 30-day supply of a Schedule II drug, the prescriber must
write the medical reason on the prescription. A diagnosis code number is not acceptable.
o If the practitioner does not want the prescription filled until a certain date the prescriber may write
“Do not fill until ” at the bottom of the prescription.

Prescriptions Transmitted Verbally by Telephone

Prescriptions for Schedules Il—V may be telephoned to a pharmacy. All of the information listed above
is still required. The pharmacist must reduce it in writing and document the name of the person making
the call and pharmacy employee receiving the call. Schedule II prescriptions may only be phoned in for
emergencies where no other medical care is available. The prescriber must provide the pharmacy with an
original prescription within 7 days. If no original prescription is presented as required, the pharmacy is
mandated to report the prescriber to BNDD by law.
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Faxing Controlled Substance Prescriptions

A prescription may be transmitted by fax machine, however the document faxed must be a facsimile of a
completely documented prescription that contains all of the required information. The prescription
should be prepared with all of the required information. The practitioner must sign it as required and
then it may be faxed only after the prescriber has signed. It may not be printed by another person and it
may not be stamped and it may not say, “signature on file.”

The majority of all faxed controlled substance prescriptions are for Schedules ITI, TV and V.

There are limitations for Schedule II prescriptions when sent by fax;

e Although a prescriber may fax a Schedule II prescription so the pharmacy can get it ready, the
pharmacy cannot dispense it until the patient presents the original prescription.

e The pharmacy may dispense a Schedule II prescription based solely on the faxed prescription
under three conditions:
1. The patient is in a long-term care facility and prescription documents that fact;
2. The patient is in a hospice program and the prescription documents that fact;
3. The prescription is for a narcotic preparation to be administered by infusion, meaning

parenteral, intravenous, intramuscular, subcutaneous or intra-spinal.

Prescribers File Faxed Prescriptions Separately

After the practitioner has signed the prescription, it may be faxed. After the prescription has been faxed,
the person faxing the prescription should sign and date it to document it has been faxed. The faxed
prescription must be placed in a separate file where all faxed controlled substance prescriptions are
maintained in chronological order.

Although controlled substance prescriptions get documented in patients’ charts, the prescriber must
maintain a separate chronological file of faxed controlled prescriptions. This file of faxed prescriptions
must be separate from patients’ charts.

Electronic Prescribing Not Allowed

Although the DEA has published a proposed rule, the DEA has not authorized the electronic transmission
of controlled substance prescriptions as of this date. Prescribers may not use a computer to send a
controlled substance prescription to a pharmacy. Although a computer may be used to prepare a
prescription, the prescriber must print it and sign it before it can be faxed. Prescriptions with digital
signatures or messages saying “signature on file” are not allowed at this time.
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Multiple Schedule I Prescriptions

A practitioner may issue multiple prescriptions for Schedule II drugs on the same date. All prescriptions
should be dated at the top on the date they signed and issued the prescriptions. Each prescription should
have “Do not fill until ” across the bottom. Although multiple prescriptions can be issued at once,
the prescriber cannot exceed a 90-day supply of Schedule IT drugs.

CHART OF PRESCRIBING LIMITATIONS

Prescription
Characteristic

Limitation
Schedule 11

Limitation Schedule
IMMand IV

Limitation
Schedule V

Mode of issuing

Written mostly;

May be written or

May be written or

prescription Verbal in emergency; verbal or faxed verbal or faxed
Faxed if injectable, or
long term care or
hospice

Refills No Refills Allowed; As authorized by the
Partial filling allowed Maximum of five physician. Can be
for terminal patients or | Within six months of | refilled PRN as
patients in long-term issuing prescription prescriber allows for
care facilities one year

Length of prescription | Six months Six months One year

validity

Quantity limitations 30 days for most; 90 days 90 days

Rx for over 30 days
requires medical
reason;

Maximum is 90 day
supply

Can write multiple &
separate Rx with “Do
Not fill until date”
written on bottom.
Can’t exceed 90 day

supply
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What Constitutes a Legal & Legitimate Prescription

Federal and state regulations specify legitimate purposes for prescribing controlled substances:

e A prescription for a controlled substance is valid only if it is issued for a legitimate medical

purpose by a practitioner acting in the usual course of their professional practice.

Three criteria should be met:
1. The patient must desire treatment for a legitimate illness or condition.

2. A practitioner must establish a legitimate need through assessment, utilizing pertinent

technical diagnostic modalities.

3. There must be reasonable correlations between the drugs prescribed and the patient's

legitimate needs.

s The Intractable Pain Act, passed in 1995, provides guidelines for the treatment of chronic,
intractable pain. This law was intended to clarify the parameters for treating chronic pain
with controlled substances. The physician must document the diagnosis and treatment of
chronic pain in the patient record and the use of controlled substances must be therapeutic in
nature and manner utilized. Physicians may not prescribe or dispense controlled substances
to a patient for chemical dependency unrelated to intractable pain or to a patient who the
physician knows, or should know is using the medication in a non-therapeutic manner

(unless they are approved and registered as a narcotic treatment program).

Physicians may be subject to disciplinary action for nontherapeutic use of controlled
substances, failing to keep accurate on-going treatment records, failing to keep complete and
accurate controlled substance records, writing false or fictitious prescriptions, or prescribing

controlled substances in a manner inconsistent with state or federal drug laws.

e Practitioners may not issue a prescription to obtain controlled substances for dispensing to
patients. Practitioners can purchase controlled substance medications for stock from a drug
distributor or pharmacy. A DEA form 222 must be used to obtain Schedule II controlled
drugs. Each practitioner must maintain documentation as required under state and federal

laws.

e Controlled drugs for a practitioner’s personal treatment must be prescribed by another
appropriate practitioner, under the basis of an established practitioner/patient relationship.
Practitioners are prohibited by law from prescribing or dispensing controlled drugs for their

personal use except in a true medical emergency.

e It is recommended that practitioners do not prescribe, dispense or administer controlled drugs
to office staff or family members. If the physician does decide to treat family members or
employees, the physician must do so under the auspices of a legitimate patient/physician
relationship and in “good faith”. This includes performing a proper evaluation, maintaining a
chart, listing a diagnosis, plan of treatment and prognosis, and using the same documentation

and care as with regular patients.

o For dentists, veterinarians, podiatrists and optometrists certified to use therapeutic
pharmaceutical agents licensed by their respective professional boards, the prescribing,
administering, dispensing or distribution of controlled substances is limited to the scope of
their respective professional practice after establishment of a practitioner/patient
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relationship. If the practitioner does prescribe, dispense or administer to office staff or
family members, these individuals must be treated in the same manner as regular patients.
This includes maintaining a chart, listing a diagnosis, plan of treatment and prognosis, and
using the same documentation and care as with regular patients.

o “Internet Prescribing” — The Internet is primarily a communications tool that can be used to
facilitate any type of business. The DEA issued a notice on April 27, 2001 in the Federal
Register in reference to practitioners using the Internet as part of their business.

Some practitioners prescribe medications based on an on-line Questionnaire. Federal law
requires that "A prescription for a controlled substance to be effective must be issued for a
legitimate medical purpose by an individual practitioner acting in the usual course of their
professional practice” (21 CFR 1306.04(a)). Every state separately imposes the same
requirement under its laws. Under Federal and state law, for a practitioner to be acting in the
usual course of professional practice, there must be a bona fide practitioner/patient
relationship.

For purposes of state law, many state authorities, with the endorsement of medical societies,
consider the existence of the following four elements as an indication that a legitimate
practitioner/patient relationship has been established:

e A patient has a medical complaint;

e A medical history has been taken;

o A physical examination has been performed; and

e A legitimate clinical relationship exists between the medical complaint, the medical
history, the physical examination, and the drug prescribed.

Completing a questionnaire that is then reviewed by a practitioner hired by an Internet
pharmacy can not be considered the basis for a practitioner/patient relationship. A consumer

can more easily provide false information in a questionnaire than in a face-to-face meeting
with a practitioner. It is illegal to receive a prescription for a controlled substance without the
establishment of a legitimate practitioner/patient relationship, and it is unlikely for such a
relationship to be formed through Internet correspondence alone.

Required Documentation in Patients’ Charts

All controlled substance activities are required to be documented in patients’ charts. The controlled drug
records in patients’ charts are open for inspection and copying by BNDD and as all controlled drug
records must be produced within 3 days upon request. All administrations, dispensing, prescriptions and
refills must be documented with the date, drug, strength, form, quantities and refills.

Not having a chart not only violates the record keeping law but is consider failure to establish a
legitimate practitioner-patient relationship and it is prescribing/administering/dispensing in the absence

of good faith.

It is also a security violation. If prescriptions are not charted then practitioners would not know if a refill
request was timely.
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How to Prevent Diversion in Your Practice

Adherence to state and federal regulations goes a long way in protecting your practice from becoming a
source of drug diversion and prescription drug abuse. The best practice is to have set policies and
procedures and train your staff to follow them. The practitioner must provide supervision to see that the
policies are enforced. Although many practitioners know laws and good practices they sometimes
become too busy to supervise staff.

Suggestions for Practitioners on How to Protect their Practice and Patients:

1.

2.

11.

12.

13.
14.

15.

Keep all prescription pads secure and not left out where people may obtain them to forge
prescriptions.
Only the registered practitioner should be allowed to call in or place orders for new stocks of
controlled substances.
If the practitioner is too busy and ordering new stock is delegated, only one employee should
have the right to place orders. Do not let all staff members place orders.
When controlled drugs arrive in the practice, they should be opened, checked in, and added to
inventory by at least two licensed professionals. Do not let one person do this alone. Do not let
the same two people do it all the time.
The person who pays the bills should not be allowed to order drugs. The person who orders
drugs should not be allowed to write checks. This prevents someone from ordering drugs and
paying the bill without the practitioner’s knowledge. The person who orders the drugs should
communicate with the person who verifies what drugs the practice received. The receipt invoice
should be given to a separate employee who pays the bills. The receipt for drugs and bills
should be reviewed by the practitioner.
Only certain staff should be allowed to call in telephoned prescriptions to area pharmacies. The
practitioner’s staff may wish to designate a special “code word” or “secret password” with the
pharmacy so the pharmacy knows the call is valid.
Use your continuing administration log as a perpetual inventory so you know how many dosage
units have been dispensed and how many you have left on a daily basis.
As a practitioner, review the administration log to make sure you recognize the patient names and
that no fictitious patient has been invented.
Only licensed professionals should have access to the locked drug cabinets.
Periodically, ask a local pharmacy for a print out of all the controlled substance prescriptions
they have filled, that you issued. Look at the print out and make sure you recognize the names as
your patients. Follow up on any names that seem strange or unfamiliar.
Set up a rotating self-inspection where on a monthly basis, the office manager or practitioner
inspects the practice. Check the current stocks to make sure they are locked. Review the
inventory and current balance. Review what has been ordered. Review what bills have been
paid. Look at the administration log to make sure all the required information is recorded.
Make sure your controlled substances are inventoried at least once a year and recorded in your
files. An inventory is required annually.
Set up a policy of random drug testing for employees.
If a practitioner chooses to treat their own family members or staff, they must keep charts and
records on their family and staff just like any other patient. Allowing staff to take office
medications on the job may lead to serious violations.
Before hiring a new employee, conduct an extensive background check by reviewing licensure
discipline and running a criminal history check. Before employing any person with a criminal
conviction for a drug offense who has access to controlled substances, the employer must first
obtain a waiver. Drug related misdemeanors require a waiver from the BNDD and drug related
felonies require a waiver from both the BNDD and the DEA.
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Preventing Prescription Fraud & Drug Seeking Patients

Our Task Force could dedicate an entire booklet to scams, schemes and tricks of professional patients
and also provide practitioners on how to prevent them. In fact, we did just that. Rather than providing
all of that information here, we invite you to visit the BNDD website at www.dhss.mo.gov/BNDD and
under the link of publications, click on our booklet regarding Preventing Prescription Fraud. This
booklet provides over twenty scams that professional patients use. It also provides practitioners with tips

on how to deal with these patients, report fraud and what information they can share without violating
confidentiality and HIPAA.

Helpful Websites - Controlled Substance Information

BNDD....ooiiiiii www.dhss.mo.gov/BNDD
DEA. ..o www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov
State Boards............ To view the website of licensing boards in the Division of Professional

Registration, visit the website at www.pr.mo.gov and then click on the licensing
board of your choice. Many boards have their own educational materials and
newsletters.

Caution

The purpose of this information is to educate and inform the practitioner of the regulations and
statutes pertaining to controlled substances and make recommendations to assist the practitioner
in protecting their practice and patients from diversion, drug abuse and misuse. It is not the
intent to reduce or deny the use of controlled substances where medically indicated. Nothing in
this booklet shall be construed as authorizing or permitting any person to do any act that is not
authorized or permitted under federal or state laws. In addition, none of the policy and
information in this booklet may be construed as authorizing or permitting any person to do any
act that is not authorized, or refuse to meet any requirements imposed under the regulations
published in the most recent publication of the Code of State Regulations or the Revised Statutes
of Missouri.
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ANNUAL INVENTORY OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES

Date: Schedule(s):

(Schedule 11 must a separate form than II[—V)

Opening or Closing of Business, or Time of Day:

Inventory Performed By:

DRUG NAME FORM (tab/cap/inj) § STRENGTH mg/ml QUANTITY
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TRANSFER OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES

Schedules 111, IV, & V only

Date of transfer

Receiving Registrant’s Information Supplying Registrant’s Information
Name: Name:
Address: Address:
DEA #: DEA#:
BNDD#: BNDD#:

DRUG NAME STRENGTH | DOSAGE FORM | QUANTITY OF DOSAGE UNITS COMMENTS
Signature of Receiver Signature of Supplier
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SUBSTANCES

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SENIOR SERVICES
BUREAU OF NARCOTICS AND DANGEROUS DRUGS

REPORT OF LOSS OR THEFT OF CONTROLLED

Mail completed report to:
BNDD

P.O. Box 570

Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570

Missouri Regulation 19 CSR 30-1.034(2)(B) requires a registrant to notify the Bureau of the theft, diversion,
or significant loss of any controlled substance upon discovery. This report must be submitted within seven (7)
days from the date of the loss. The Bureau may be contacted at (573) 751-6321 if more time is needed.

Name and address of registrant

Area code and phone number

Date(s) of theft or discovery

Street Address and City

Missouri BNDD Registration Number

Federal DEA Registration Number

State

Zip Code

County in which located

Principal Business of Reporting Registrant:

[ MD O po ] ppMm
1 ob ] pvM ] pps
[l pMmD [0 HOSPITAL

[ Ems [0 MANUFACTURER

] NURSING HOME KIT

[ ] PHARMACY

] DISTRIBUTOR

[C] IMPORTER / EXPORTER

[] NARCOTIC TREATMENT PROGRAM

[0 TEACHING INSTITUTION [] OTHER

Date Reported to DEA (Mandatory)

Was theft reported to police?

] YES ] No

Name and phone number of police agency:

Number of thefts or losses registrant has had
in past 24 months.

[} Forgery/falsified records

Type of theft or loss

] Burglary [] Robbery [] Employee theft/diversion

] Other

] Lost in transit

Name(s) of person(s) who commitied theft or diversion

Social security number and date of birth of person responsible for committing theft or diversion

The reporting regulation requires the registrant to submit a summary of their internal investigation, the final outcome of the
investigation and a copy of any law enforcement reports made when applicable.

[] Summary and reports are attached

Final summary and reports will follow by

Continue on reverse
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If loss or theft occurred in transit:

Name of common carrier

Name of consignee

Ongin of delivery

LIST OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES LOST

(Drug name, strength, dosage form and quantity)

Trade or Brand Name Generic name Dosage strength & form Quantity
Example: Vicodin™ hydrocodone/apap tablets 7.5/750 24 tablets
xample: Robitussin A-C ™ codeine phosphate 2mg/cc liquid 12 ounces
xample: Demerol ™ meperidine hydrochloride S50mg/ml vial 5x30ml
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
Print name Signature Title Date

Additional information:

1. Insignificant losses that occur from doing business day to day do not need to be reported. A significant loss or shortage

requires reporting.

2. Any suspected theft or diversion must be reported, regardless of the amount. Reports to BNDD and DEA are required, even if
no referrals are made to law enforcement or professional licensing boards.

3. Section 195.045, RSMo 2000, states in material part that any person who reports or provides information to the Bureau

pursuant to controlled substances laws, and does so in good faith to comply, shall not be subject to civil damages
4. You may contact the Burecau at: P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, or call (573) 751-6321 or fax (573) 526-2569.
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CHAPTER 340
MISSOURI VETERINARY MEDICAL BOARD

340. 200, Definitions. When used in sections 340.200 to 340.330, the following terms mean:

(1) "Accredited school of veterinary medicine"”, any veterinary college or division of a university or
college that offers the degree of doctor of veterinary medicine or its equivalent and is accredited by the
American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA);

(2) "Animal", any wild, exotic or domestic, living or dead animal or mamumal other than man, including
birds, fish and reptiles;

(3) "Applicant”, an individual who files an application to be licensed to practice veterinary medicine or
to be registered as a veterinary technician;

(4) " Appointed member of the board", regularly appointed members of the Missouri veterinary
medical board, not including the state veterinarian who serves on the board ex officio;

(5) "Board", the Missouri veterinary medical board;

(6) "Consulting veterinarian'', a veterinarian licensed in another state, country or territory who gives
advice or demonstrates techniques to a licensed Missouri veterinarian or group of licensed Missouri
velerinarians;

(7) "ECFVG certificate', a certificate issued by the American Veterinary Medical Association
Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates or its successor. The certificate must indicate
that the holder of the certificate has demonstrated knowledge and skill equivalent to that possessed by a
graduate of an accredited school of veterinary medicine;

(8) "Emergency", when an animal has been placed in a life-threatening condition and immediate
treatment is necessary to sustain life or where death is imminent and action is necessary to relieve pain or
suffering;

(9) "Faculty member", full professors, assistant professors, associate professors, clinical instructors and
residents but does not include interns or adjunct appointments;

{10} "Foreign veterinary graduate', any person, including foreign nationals and American citizens,
who has received a professional veterinary medical degree from an AVMA listed veterinary college
located outside the boundaries of the United States, its territories or Canada, that is not accredited by the
AVMA;

(11) "License", any permit, approval, registration or certificate issued or renewed by the board;

(12) "Licensed veterinarian”, an individual who is validly and currently licensed to practice veterinary
medicine in Missouri as determined by the board in accordance with the requirements and provisions of
sections 340.200 to 340.330;

(13) "Minimum standards", standards as set by board rule and which establish the minimum
requirements for the practice of veterinary medicine in the state of Missouri as are consistent with the
intent and purpose of sections 340.200 to 340.330;



(14) "Person", any individual, firm, partnership, association, joint venture, cooperative or corporation or
any other group or combination acting in concert; whether or not acting as principal, trustee, fiduciary,
receiver, or as any kind of legal or personal representative or as the successor in interest, assigning agent,
factor, servant, employee, director, officer or any other representative of such person;

(15) "Practice of veterinary medicine", to represent directly, indirectly, publicly or privately an ability
and willingness to do any act described in subdivision (28) of this section;

(16) "Provisional license™, a license issued to a person while that person is engaged in a veterinary
candidacy program;

(17) "Registered veterinary technician', a person who is formally trained for the specific purpose of
assisting a licensed veterinarian with technical services under the appropriate level of supervision as is
consistent with the particular defegated animal health care task;

(18) ""Supervision':

{a) "Immediate supervision'', the licensed veterinarian is in the immediate area and within audible and
visual range of the animal patient and the person treating the patient;

(b) "Direct supervision', the licensed veterinarian is on the premises where the animal is being treated
and is quickly and easily available and the animal has been examined by a licensed veterinarian at such

times as acceptable veterinary medical practice requires consistent with the particular delegated animal

health care task;

(c) "Indirect supervision™, the licensed veterinarian need not be on the pf'ﬁtﬂiSf:S but has given either
written or oral instructions for the treatment of the animal patient or treatment protocol has been
established and the animal has been examined by a ficensed veterinacian at such times as acceptable
veterinary medical practice requires consistent with the particular delegated health care task; provided
that the patient is not in a surgical plane of anesthesia and the licensed veterinarian is available for
consultation on at least a daily basis;

(19) "Supervisor", a licensed veterinarian employing or utilizing the services of a registered veterinary
technician, veterinary intern, temporary provisional licensee, veterinary medical student, unregistered
assistant or any other individual working under that veterinarian's supervision;

(20) "Temporary license", any temporary permission {o practice veterinary medicine issued by the
board pursuant to section 340.248;

(21) "Unregistered assistant"', any individual who is not a registered veterinary technician or licensed
veterinarian and is employed by a licensed veterinarian;

(22) "Veterinarian", "doctor of veterinary medicine”, "DVM”, "VMD", or equivalent title, a person who
has received a doctor's degree in veterinary medicine from an accredited school of veterinary medicine or
holds a ECFVG certificate issued by the AVMA;

(23) "Veterinarian-client-patient relationship'’, the veterinarian has assumed the responsibility for
making medical judgments regarding the health of the animal and the need for medical treatment, and the
client, owner or owner's agent has agreed to follow the instructions of the veterinarian. There is sufficient
knowledge of the animal by the veterinarian to initiate at least a general or preliminary diagnosis of the
medical condition of the animal. Velerinarian-client-patient relationship means that the veterinarian has
recently seen and is personally acquainted with the keeping and care of the animal by virtue of an
examination or by medically appropriate and timely visits to the premises where the animal is kept. The
practicing veterinarian is readily available for follow-up care in case of adverse reactions or failure of the
prescribed course of therapy;



(24) "Veterinary candidacy program", a program by which a person who has received a doctor of
veterinary medicine or equivalent degree from an accredited school of veterinary medicine can obtain the
practical experience reguired for licensing in Missouri pursuant to sections 340.200 to 340.330;

(25) "Veterinary facility”, any place or unit from which the practice of veterinary medicine is
conducted, including but not limited to the following:

(a) "Veterinary or animal hospital or clinic”, a facility that meets or exceeds all physical requirements
and minimum standards as established by board rule for veterinary facilities; provides quality
examination, diagnostic and health maintenance services for medical and surgical treatment of animals
and is equipped to provide housing and nursing care for animals during illness or convalescence;

(b) "'Specialty practice or clinic", a facility that provides complete specialty service by a licensed
veterinarian who has advanced training in a specialty and is a diplomate of an approved specialty board.
A specialty practice or clinic shall meet all minimum standards which are applicable to a specialty as
established by board rule;

{c) "Central hospital", a facility that meets all requirements of a veterinary or animal hospital or clinic
as defined in paragraph (a) of this subdivision and other requirements as established by board rule, and
which provides specialized care, including but not limited to twenty-four-hour nursing care and specialty
consultation on permanent or on-call basis. A central hospital shall be utilized primarily on referral from
area veterinary hospitals or clinics;

(d) "'Satellite, outpatient or mobile small animal clinic", a supportive facility owned by or associated
with and has ready access to a full-service veterinary hospital or clinic or a central hospital providing atl
mandatory services and meeting all physical requirements and minimum standards as established by
sections 340.200 to 340.330 or by board rule;

(e) "Large animal mobile clinic", a facility that provides examination, diagnostic and preventive
medicine and minor surgical services for large animals not requiring confinement or hospitalization;

(N "Emergency clinic", a facility established to receive patients and to treat illnesses and injuries of an
emergency nature;

(26} "Veterinary candidate", a person who has received a doctor of veterinary medicine or equivalent
degree from an accredited school or college of veterinary medicine and who is working under the
supervision of a board-approved licensed velerinarian;

(27) "Veterinary intern", a person who has received a doctor of veterinary medicine or equivalent
degree from an accredited school or college of veterinary medicine and who is participating in additional
clinical training in veterinary medicine to prepare for AVMA-recognized certification or specialization;

(28) "Veterinary medicine", the science of diagnosing, treating, changing, alleviating, rectifying, curing
or preventing any animal disease, deformity, defect, injury or other physicat or mental condition,
including, but not limited to, the prescription or administration of any drug, medicine, biologic, apparatus,
application, anesthesia or other therapeutic or diagnostic substance or technique on any animal, including,
but not limited to, acupuncture, dentistry, animal psychology, animal chiropractic, theriogenology,
surgery, both general and cosmetic surgery, any manual, mechanical, biological or chemical procedure for
testing for pregnancy or for correcting sterility or infertility or to render service or recommendations with
regard to any of the procedures in this paragraph;

(29) "Veterinary student preceptee", a person who is pursuing a veterinary degree in an accredited
school of veterinary medicine which has a preceptor program and who has completed the academic
requirements of such program.

(L. 1992 HB. 878 § 1, A.L. 1999 S.B. 424, A.L. 2004 H.B. 869)




340.202. Missouri veterinary medical board created--members--vacancies, how filled--
public member--terms. 1. There is hereby created a board to be known as the "Missouri Veterinary
Medical Board”. The board shall consist of the state veterinarian, who shall serve ex officio, and five
appointed members, including a voting public member. Not more than three of the appointed members
shall be of the same political party. Each appointed member, other than the public member, of the board
shall be a United States citizen, a taxpaying resident of the state of Missouri for one year, a graduate of an
accredited school of veterinary medicine, and shall have been lawfully engaged in the actual practice of
veterinary medicine in the state of Missouri for no less than five years next preceding the date of the
member's* appointment.

2. The public member shall be at the time of the public member's* appointment, a citizen of the United
States; a resident of Missouri for a period of one year and a registered voter; a person who is not and
never has been a member of any profession licensed or regulated pursuant to sections 340.200 to 340.330
or the spouse of such person; and a person who does not have and never has had a material, financial
interest in either the providing of the professional services regulated by sections 340.200 to 340.330, or an
activity or organization directly related to any profession licensed or regulated pursuant to sections
340.200 to 340.330. The duties of the public member shall not include the determination of the technical
requirements {o be met for licensure or whether any person meets such technical requirements or of the
technical competence or technical judgment of a licensee or candidate for licensure,

3. The president of the Missouri Veterinary Medical Association in office at the time shall, at least ninety
days prior to the expiration of the term of a board member other than the public member, or as soon as
feasible after a vacancy on the board otherwise occurs, submit to the director of the division of
professional registration a list of five veterinarians qualified and willing to fill the vacancy in question
with the request and recommendation that the governor appoint one of the persons so listed. With the list
so submitted, the president of the Missouri Veterinary Medical Association shall include in the* letter of
transmittal a description of the method by which the names were chosen by the association,

4. All members, including the public member, shall be chosen from lists submitted by the director of the
division of professional registration. All appointments shall be made by the governor with the advice and
consent of the senate. Before entering into the*® term of office, each member shall file a written oath to
discharge the member's* official duties in a faithful manner with the secretary of state.

5. All members shall be appointed to serve four-year terms. Any vacancy in the membership of the board
shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired term.

(1. 1992 H.B. 878 § 2. A.L. 1999 H.B. 343 merged with 8.8, 424)

*Words "his or her" appear in H.B. 343, 1999,

340.204. Termination of membership, when. No person who has been appointed to the board shall
conlinue his or her membership on the board if, during the term of his or her appointment, that member
shall:

(1) Transfer his or her legal residence to another state;
(2) Have* his or her license to practice veterinary medicine revoked or suspended; or

(3) Miss three consecutive meetings of the board.
(L. 1992 HLB. 878 § 3, A.L. 1999 5.B. 424)

*Word "has"” appears in origingl rolls.




340.206. Daties of board--special meetings by telephone conference--open {o public. . The
board shall:

(1) From its members elect a chairperson and a vice chairperson who shall serve a term of one year, such
term to expire as of the end of the first board meeting of each calendar year;

{2) Have at least one business meeting per year.

2. The chairperson or vice chairperson shall have the authority to call special meetings of the board when
such is deemed necessary and provided that sufficient notice is given to the other board members and to
the general public pursuant to chapter 610, RSMo.

3. The board may hold special meetings by telephone conference; as provided by chapter 610, RSMo.

4. All board meetings shall be open to the general public except where such meetings, or portions thereof,
are required or otherwise authorized to be closed to the public pursuant to chapter 610, RSMo.

(L. 1992 HB. 878 § 4, A.L. 999 5.B. 424)

340.208. Compensation, expenses. Each member of the board shall receive as compensation an
amount set by the board not to exceed fifty dollars for each day devoted to the affairs of the board and
shall be entitled to reimbursement of expenses necessarily incurred in the discharge of official duties.

(L. 1992 1.B.878§ 5

340.210. Seal--powers of board--rulemaking procedure. 1. The board shall adopt and have a
common seal bearing the name "Missouri Veterinary Medical Board".

2. The powers of the board are granted to enable the board to effectively supervise the practice of
veterinary medicine and to carry out the intent and provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.330, and,
therefore, are to be construed liberally in order to accomplish such objectives.

3. Including, but not limited to, the board shall have the power to:

(1) Examine and determine the qualifications and fitness of applicants for a license to practice veterinary
medicine in this state;

(2) Issue, renew, deny, suspend, revoke, or place on probation any license, certificate, authority or permit
to practice or assist in the practice of veterinary medicine in this state, or to otherwise discipline or assess
civil monetary penalties or order restitution, or other actions consistent with the provisions of sections
340.200 to 340.330 and the rules adopted thereunder;

(3) Conduct investigations of complaints or other investigations as deemed necessary by the board for the
purpose of discovering violations of* sections 340.200 to 340.330 or grounds for disciplining any person
licensed or regulated under sections 340.200 to 340.330, and to contract for or appoint persons ot
committees to assist in such investigations;

(4) Hold hearings, issue subpoenas and take testimony bearing on the records of applicants for licensing
or licensees who may be under consideration by the board for discipline and to issue final orders of the
board on such matters that come before the board;

(5) Issue permits to and, upon complaint by any person, inspect any veterinary facility utilized by any
practicing veterinarian or from which the practice of veterinary medicine is conducted. Such inspection
shall not include any vehicle used in the practice of veterinary medicine, unless the board has received a



complaint regarding such vehicle, then the board may inspect the vehicle. Such inspection shail be made
by the board, a board member or other authorized representatives as appointed by the board. The results
of the inspection shall be reported to the board, on forms prescribed by the board, the purpose of which
shall be to ensure compliance with the provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.330 or board rules
promulgated thereunder for such facilities or for seeking disciplinary action in all instances where the
board has reason to believe there are or may be violations of such provisions or rules;

(6) Provide registration for veterinary technicians, temporary licensees and provisional licensees and fo
adopt rules concerning the training, supervision and service limits, and continning education of such
persons while employed or acting under the supervision of licensed veterinarians and to have exclusive
jurisdiction in determining the eligibility and qualification requirements and in granting or refusing to
grant any registration, certificate or license for any such person or to discipline any person so registered or
licensed under the provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.330 or by board rule;

(7) Fix by board rule minimum standards for, but not limited to, the practice of veterinary medicine,
medical records, emergency services, radiological services, dispensed drug labeling, nursing care,
veterinary facilities, sanitation and sterilization, veterinatian-client-patient relationships, and continuing
education;

(8). Employ full- or part-time personnel, including an executive director, professional, clerical or special
personnel as necessary to effectuate the provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.330 and to rent or purchase
any necessary space, equipment and supplies within available appropriations;

(9) Establish fees necessary to administer the provisions of sections 34(.200 to 340.330;

(10) Authorize the chairman or vice chairman to sign complaiats or referrals for proceedings before the
administrative hearing commission or in a court of competent jurisdiction as necessary for the
enforcement of sections 340.200 to 340.330;

(11) Appoint from its own membership one or more members to act as representatives of the board at any
meeting within or without the state when such representation is deemed desirable;

(12) Establish standing or ad hoc committees from its membership to facilitate its work effectively, fulfill
its duties and to exercise its powers. Such committees must consist of at least two board members to
transact business. Any business or action of the committee shall have no effect until and unless the
business or action is ratified by a majority vote of the full board;

(13) Adopt, amend or repeal all rules necessary to carry into effect the provisions of sections 340.200 to
340.330, including, but not limited to, the establishment and publication of rules of professional conduct
for the practice of veterinary medicine and such rules as it deems necessary to supervise the practice of
veterinary medicine. Such rules must be published and made available upon request to persons licensed or
registered under sections 340.200 fo 340.330 at no cost and distributed at no cost to all applicants for
licensing or registration under sections 340.200 to 340.330. Any proposed rulemaking, revision or
amendment thereto, shall be accomplished in accordance with the requirements and provisions of chapter
536, RSMo;

(14) Assist the attorney general in any proper action to oust from practice uniawful practitioners or
remove from practice licensed or registered persons in violation of any provision of sections 340.200 to
340.330 or board rule and assist with any prosecution for criminal violations of sections 340,200 to
340.330; and

(15) Enter into contracts with any entity, public or private, for the purpose of having examinations
prepared, graded, evaluated, proctored, or for any other examination service deemed desirable or
necessary by the board.




4. No rule or portion of a rule promulgated under the authority of this chapter shall become effective
unless it has been promulgated pursuant to the provisions of chapter 536, RSMo.
(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 6, AL. 1993 S.B. 52, AL. 1995 8,8, 3, AL. 1999 S.B. 424)

*Word "of " does not appear in original rolls.

340.212. Record of board proceedings--list of persons licensed, suspended, revoked,
disciplined, forwarding of lists--reports of final disciplinary actions--immunity. 1. The board
shal] cause the executive director to prepare and maintain a written record of all board proceedings
whether or not such proceedings are formal, informal, open or closed to the public. All records so
prepared and maintained and other documents or reports incorporated therein shall be open to the public
except where specifically required or allowed to be closed to the public pursuant to chapter 610, RSMo.

2. Other provisions of section 324.001, RSMo, to the contrary notwithstanding, the board shall publish a
list of the names and addresses of all persons who hold licenses under the provisions of sections 340.200
to 340.330, and shall publish a list of all persons whose licenses have been suspended, revoked,
surrendered, restricted, denied, withheld, or otherwise disciplined, whether voluntarily or not. The board
shall mail a copy of such list to any person, agency or professional association upon request and payment
of a fee necessary for photocopying and postage as established by board rule. The board may forward
such lists at no charge and upon its own motion for the purpose of voluntary interstate exchange of
information or to other administrative or law enforcement agencies acting within the scope of their
statutory authority, whether the same be interstate or intrastate.

3. Other provisions of section 324.001, RSMo, to the contrary notwithstanding, the board shall prepare
and make available to the public a report upon the final disciplinary actions taken by the board or deniat
of licensure. Such report shall set forth findings of fact, grounds for such denial or discipline, names of
board members who were present, and any resulting order or directive of the board; the same to apply
whether or not discipline or denial is voluntarily agreed to by the licensee or applicant. Whenever a
person possessing a license voluntarily enters chemical or alcohol treatment and monitoring programs for
purposes of rehabilitation by informal agreement with the board, the action shall not be reported with any
other actions taken or agreed to between the board and the licensee or applicant.

4. Where the board does not recommend disciplinary action, a report stating that no action s
recommended shall be prepared and forwarded to the complaining party and the licensee or applicant.

5. Members of the board or employees of the board shall be immune from any suit predicated on the
publication of information, reports or lists required by this section.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 7, A.L. 2008 5.B. 788)

340.214. Veterinary medical board fund created, fees to be transmitted, preemption--fund
to lapse into general revenue, when. 1. All fees payable under the provisions of sections 340,200 to
340.330 shal! be paid to and collected by the division of professional registration and transmitted to the
department of revenue for deposit in the state treasury to the credit of a fund to be known as the
"Veterinary Medical Board Fund", which is hereby created, and shall be subject to the appropriations of
the general assembly.

2. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 33.080, RSMo, to the contrary, money in the fund shall not
be transferred and placed to the credit of the general revenue fund until the amount in the fund at the end
of the biennium exceeds two times the amount of the appropriation from the board's funds for the
preceding fiscal year or, if the board requires by rule permit renewal less frequently than yearly, then
three times the appropriation from the board's funds for the preceding fiscal year. The amount, if any, in



the fund which shall lapse is that amount in the fund which exceeds the appropriate multiple of the
appropriations to the board for the preceding fiscal year.

3. The fees prescribed by sections 340.200 to 340.330 shall be exclusive, and notwithstanding any other
provision of law, no municipality may require any person licensed under the provisions of sections
340.200 to 340.330 to furnish any bond, pass any examination, or pay any license fee or occupational tax
relative to practicing his or her profession.

(L. 1992 H.B.878 § 3, A.L. 1993 H.B. 127, A.L. 1999 § B. 424)

340. 216. Practice without license prohibited, prohibited acts--exceptions. 1. It is unlawful for
any person not licensed as a veterinarian under the provisions of sections 340.200 to 340,330 to practice
veterinary medicine or o do any act which requires knowledge of veterinary medicine for valuable
consideration, or for any person not so licensed to hold himself or herself out to the public as a
practitioner of veterinary medicine by advertisement, the use of any title or abbreviation with the person's
name, or otherwise; except that nothing in sections 340.200 to 340.330 shall be construed as prohibiting:

(1) Any person from gratuitously providing emergency treatment, aid or assistance to animals where a
licensed veterinarian is not available within a reasonable length of time if the person does not represent
himself or herself to be a veterinarian or use any title or degree appertaining to the practice thereof;

(2) Acts of a person who is a student in good standing in a school or college of veterinary medicine or
while working as a student preceptee, in performing duties or functions assigned by the student's
instructors, or while working under the appropriate level of supervision of a licensed veterinarian as is
consistent with the particular delegated animal health care task as established by board rule, and acts
performed by a student in a school or college of veterinary medicine recognized by the board and
performed as part of the education and training curriculum of the school under the supervision of the
faculty. The unsupervised or unauthorized practice of veterinary medicine, even though on the premises
of a school or college of veterinary medicine, is prohibited;

(3) Personnel employed by the United States Department of Agriculture or the Missouri department of
agriculture from engaging in animal discase, parasite control or eradication programs, or other functions
specifically required and authorized to be performed by unlicensed federal or state officials under any
lawful act or statute, except that this exemption shall not apply to such persons not actively engaged in
performing or fulfilling their official duties and responsibilities;

(4) Any merchant or manufacturer from selling drugs, medicine, appliances or other products used in the
prevention or treatment of animal diseases if such drug, medicine, appliance or other product is not
marked by the appropriate federal label. Such merchants or manufacturers shall not, either directly or
indirectly, attempt to diagnose a symptom or disease in order to advise treatment, use of drugs, medicine,
appliances or other products;

(5) The owner of any animal or animals and the owner's full-time employees from caring for and treating
any animals belonging to such owner, with or without the advice and consultation of a licensed
veterinarian, provided that the ownership of the animal or animals is not transferred, or employment
changed, to avoid the provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.330; however, only a licensed veterinarian
may immunize or treat an anitnal for diseases which are communicable to humans and which are of
public health significance, except as otherwise provided for by board rule;

(6) Any graduate of any accredited school of veterinary medicine while engaged in a veterinary candidacy
program or foreign graduate from a nonaccredited school or college of veterinary medicine while engaged
in a veterinary candidacy program or clinical evaluation program, and while under the appropriate level of
supervision of a licensed veterinarian performing acts which are consistent with the particular delegated
animal health care task;




(7) State agencies, accredited schools, institutions, foundations, business corporations or associations,
physicians licensed to practice medicine and surgery in all its branches, graduate doctors of veterinary
medicine, or persons under the direct supervision thereof from conducting experiments and scientific
research on animals in the development of pharmaceuticals, biologicals, serums, or methods of treatment,
or techniques for the diagnosis or treatment of human ailments, or when engaged in the study and
development of methods and techniques directly or indirectly applicable to the problems of the practice of
veterinary medicine;

(8) Any veterinary technician, duly registered by, and in good standing with, the board from
administering medication, appliances or other products for the treatment of animals while under the
appropriate level of supervision as is consistent with the delegated animal health care task; and

(9 A consulting veterinarian while working in a consulting capacity in Missouri while under the
immediate supervision of a veterinarian licensed and in good standing under sections 340.200 to 340.330.

2. Nothing in sections 340.200 to 340.330 shall be construed as limiting the board's authority to provide
other exemptions or exceptions to the requirements of licensing as the board may find necessary or
appropriate under its rulemaking authority.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 9, AL. 1999 S.B. 424)

340.217. Practice of veterinary medicine across state lines defined--license not required,
when. I.No person registered as a veterinarian in Missouri shall engage in the practice of veterinary
medicine, as authorized in this chapter, across state lines, except as herein provided.

2. For purposes of this chapter, the "practice of veterinary medicine across state lines" means:

(1) The rendering of a written or otherwise documented veterinary medical opinion concerning the
diagnosis or treatment of a patient within this state by a veterinarian located outside this state as a result
of transmission of individual patient data by electronic, telephonic, or other means from within this state
or any other state to such veterinarian or veterinarian's agent; or

(2) The rendering of treatment to a patient within this state by a veterinarian located outside this state as a
result of transmission of individual patient data by electronic, telephonic, or other means from within this
state or any other state to such veterinarian or veterinarian's agent.

3. A veterinarian located outside this state shall not be required to obtain a license when:
(1) In consultation with a veterinarian licensed to practice veterinary medicine in this state; and

(2) The veterinarian licensed in this state retains the ultimate authority and responsibility for the diagnosis
and/or treatment in the care of the patient located within this state; or

(3) Evaluating a patient or rendering an oral, written, or otherwise documented veterinary medical opinion
when providing testimony or records for the purpose of any civil or criminal action before any judicial or
administrative proceeding in this state or other forum in this state.

(L. 2004 H.B. 869)

340.218. Evidence of intent to engage in practice. The use of any title, words, abbreviations,
letters or symbol in a manner or under circumstances which induce the reasonable belief that the person
using them is qualified to do any act described in subdivision (24) of section 340.200 is prima facie
evidence of the intention to represent such person as engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine under
sections 340.200 to 340.330.

{L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 1)




340.220. Transplant of embryo considered veterinary practice, when. It is considered the
practice of veterinary medicine to use any invasive procedure to remove any embryo from an animal for
the purpose of transplanting such embryo into another female animal or for the purpose of cryopreserving
such embryo, or to implant such embryo into an animal. It is not considered the practice of velerinary
medicine for a person or that person's full-time employees to remove an embryo from the person's own
animal for the purpose of transplanting or cryopreserving such embryo or to implant an embryo into the
person's own animal; however, ownership of the animal shall not be transferred or the employment of any
person changed for the purpose of circumventing sections 340.200 to 340.330.

(L. i1992H.B. 878§ 11, ALL. 1999 8.8, 424)

340.222. Supervisor responsible and liable, when. A supervisor, as defined in subdivision (19) of
section 340.200, is individually and separately responsible and liable for the performance of the acts
delegated to and the omissions of the veterinary technician, veterinary medical candidate, temporary
licensee, veterinary medical preceptee, unregistered assistant or any other individual working under his or
her supervision. Nothing in this section shall be construed to relieve veterinary technicians, veterinary
medical candidates, provisional licensees, temporary licensees, veterinary medical preceptees or
unregistered assistants of any responsibility or liability for any of their own acts or omissions.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § [2, A.L. 1999 S.B. 424, A.L. 2006 8.B, 756)

340.224. Board's authority not limited, when. Nothing in sections 340,200 to 340.330 shall be
construed as limiting the board's authority to establish additional physical requirements or minimum
standards by rulemaking for any facility listed in sections 340.200 to 340.330 or for any place, unit or
setting from which the practice of veterinary medicine is conducted.

(L. 1992 HB. 878 § 13)

340.226. Licensed veterinary employees, prohibited when--exceptions --application of
section. 1. A licensed veterinarian may practice veterinary medicine as an employee of a corporation,
partnership or other business organization only so long as the articles of incorporation, partanership
agreement or business organization documents clearly state that the licensed veterinarian is not subject to
the direction of anyone not licensed to practice veterinary medicine in Missouri in making veterinary
medical decisions or judgments.

2. The provisions of subsection | of this section do not apply to:
(1) A veterinarian treating his or her employer's animals;

(2) A veterinarian employed by an agency of the federal or state government or any political subdivision
thereof; or

(3) A veterinarian employed by a licensed research facility.

3. The provisions of subsection 1 of this section do not apply to any partnership, employee or owner if
such partnership, employment or ownership is in existence and has been in existence for a period of six
meiigs prior to August 28, 1992, Such partnership, employee or owner shall be recognized by the board
ar- ontinue existing operations if such partnership, employee or owner complies with ali other
pr.-visions of sections 340.200 to 340.330.
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4. The provisions of subsection | shall apply when any partnership of record on August 28, 1992, changes
because of death, dissolution, removal, admittance of new partners or by any other means or when
employment or ownership is changed in any manner.

(L. 1992 HB. 878 § [4, ALL. 1999 8.8, 424}

340.228. Application for licensure, contents--false statements, penalty --qualifications for
licensure. 1. Any person desiring a license to practice veterinary medicine in the state of Missouri shall
make a written application to the board on forms to be provided by the board. The board shall provide
such forms without charge upon the applicant's request,

2. Each application shalf contain a statement that is made under oath or affirmation that representations
made therein are true, correct and contain no material omissions of fact to the best knowledge and belief
of the person making the application and whose signature shall be subscribed thereto. Any person who
knowingly submits false information, information intended to mislead the board, or omits a material fact
on the application shall be subject to penalties provided for by the laws of this state for giving a false
statement under oath or affirmation, in addition to any actions which the board may take pursuant to the
provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.330.

3. To qualify for licensure under sections 340.200 to 340.330, the application must show that the pplicant:
(1) Is a person of good moral character;
(2) Is a graduate of an accredited school of veterinary medicine;

(3) Has completed a veterinary candidacy program after graduation under the supervision of a
veterinarian licensed and in good standing in any state, territory or district of the United States. The
supervising veterinarian shall submit an affidavit to the board stating that the applicant has satisfactorily
completed the veterinary candidacy program. If the applicant submits satisfactory proof that he or she has
completed a student preceptor program recognized and approved by the board before graduation, the
board may waive the veterinary candidacy requirement; and

(4) Has passed an examination or examinations as prescribed by board rule. The examination or
examinations shall be designed to test the examinee's knowledge of, and proficiency in, subjects and
techniques commonly taught in schools of veterinary medicine, the requirements of sections 340.200 to
340.330, other related statutes and administrative rules and other material as determined by the board. An
examinee must demonstrate scientific, practical and legal knowledge sufficient to establish for the board
that the examinee is competent to practice veterinary medicine. The examination or examinations will
only be given in the English fanguage. Applications for examination shall be in writing, on a form
furnished by the board and shall include evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant possesses the
qualifications set forth in this section.

4. The board may require such other information and proof of a person's fitness as it deems necessary.
(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 15, AL, 1999 5.B. 424)

340.230. Nonaccredited colleges, educational commission of foreign veterinary graduate's
certificate. Graduates of nonaccredited colleges of veterinary medicine located outside the United
States, its territories and Canada shall farnish proof which is satisfactory to the board that the applicant
has:

(1) Earned and currently holds an Educational Commission of Foreign Veterinarian Graduate (ECFVQ)
certificate provided by the AVMA;
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(2) Completed a veterinary candidacy program; and

(3) Passed the national certifying examination or examinations with a score at least equal to the passing
score required for ficensure in Missouri,
{1.. 1992 H.B. 878 § 16, A.L. 1994 H.B. 1317 merged with S.B. 587, A.L. [999 S.B. 424)

340.232. Registration and examination fees--return of examination fee --procedure upon
failure of examination. 1. The application shall be accompanied by registration and examination fees
as established by board rule pursuant to section 340.210. The registration fee shall not be returned if the
applicant is admitted to the practice of veterinary medicine but shall be deemed to include payment of the
registration fee for the remainder of the licensing period in which the applicant is admitted.

2, The examination fee shall be returned to the applicant if the board determines that the applicant is not
qualified to sit for the examination. However, the examination fee shall not be returned if the board
denied the application because the applicant provided false information,

3. If an applicant fails an examination, the applicant shall:
(1) Pay examination fees for each subsequent application;

(2) Wait for some period of time as prescribed by board rule from the date of the failed examination to
take the next examination; and

(3) Prior to the fourth and final attempt at passage, present to the board a plan for passage and evidence of
conmpletion of at least thirty hours of board-approved continuing education since last sitting for the
examination or in the calendar year preceding the final application.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 17. A.L. 1999 S.B. 424)

340.234. Examination--licensure without examination. 1. If the board determines that the
applicant possesses the proper qualifications as set forth in subsection 3 of section 340.228, it shall admit
the applicant to the next scheduled examination.

2. Applicants shall submit an application and the registration and examination fees as required by rule of
the board.

3. The board shall establish the requirements for a passing score on the examination. In order for a
previous examination score to be transferred for a current licensing period, the score must have been
received within five years prior to the application. If that passing score was not received within three
attempts, the board may require the applicant to appear before the board or submit evidence that the
applicant has completed at least thirty hours of board-approved continuing education. The board shall
have sole discretion on whether to accept for transfer a score from another state's licensing authority.

4. If all the other requirements of sections 340.200 to 340.330 have been met, the board shall issue
licenses to the persons who successfully completed the examination. The executive director shall record
the new licenses.

5. If the board determines that the applicant is eligible for licensure without examination through the
reciprocity provision of section 340.238, the board may grant the applicant a license without examination.

(L. 1992 HB. 878 § I8, AL. 1999 S.B. 424, A L. 2006 §.B. 736)
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340.236. FFailure to qualify for examination, notice, contents, appeal. 1. If the board determines
that an applicant is not qualified to sit for the examination or for licensure under section 340.238, the
executive director shall notify the applicant in writing. The notification shall include specific findings of
the board as to the applicant’s failure to qualify, inform the applicant that he or she may request a hearing
before the board on the question of the applicant's qualifications, and inform the applicant of his or her
right, pursuant to section 621.120, RSMao, to file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission.

2. No person shall be refused a license to practice veterinary medicine in the state of Missouri because of
race, creed, sex, color or national origin.
(1. 1992 H.B. 878 § 19. AL 1999 §.B. 424)

340.238. Licensure by reciprocity, requirements--additional requirements --negotiation of
compacts--fee--notification of failure to qualify, filing of complaint. 1. The board may issue a
license to practice veterinary medicine to an applicant, without examination, if the applicant submits
proof satisfactory to the board of the following requirements for licensuge by reciprocity:

(1) The applicant has been actively engaged in the profession in another state, territory, district or
province of the United States or Canada for a period of at least five consecutive years immediately prior
to making application in Missouri and provides the board with a complete listing of all locations of all
previous places of practice and licensure in chronological order;

(2) A certificate from the proper licensing authority of the other state, territory, district or province of the
United States or Canada certifying that the applicant is duly licensed, that the applicant's license has never
been suspended, revoked, surrendered, or placed on probation, whether voluntarily or not, and that,
insofar as the records of that authority are concerned, the applicant is entitled to its endorsement;

(3) The standards for admission to practice veterinary medicine of the state, territory, district or province
of the United States or Canada in which the applicant is currently licensed were equal to or more stringent
than the requirements for initial registration in Missouri at the time of the applicant's initial registration.

2. Even if the applicant has submitted proof of the qualifications in subsection 1 of this section, the board
may by rule require any applicant under this section to take any examination, oral or written, or practical
examination if such examination is required for an applicant seeking licensure by examination pursuant to
the provisions of sections 340,200 to 340.330.

3. The board miay negotiate reciprocal compacts with licensing boards of other states, territories, districts
or provinces of the United States or Canada for admission to the practice of veterinary medicine.

4. To determine the admission standards of other staies, territories, districts or provinces of the United
States or Canada, the executive director shall gather information as directed by the board pertaining to
such standards. The board may contract with persons to assist the board in obtaining and evaluating such
information and material.

5. The board may issue a license upon payment of a fee for licensure by reciprocity, if the applicant meets
the requirements of this section and other provisions of sections 340.200 to 340,330,

6. If the board determines that an applicant is not qualified to be licensed under this section, the executive
director shall immediately notify the applicant in writing. The notification shall include specific findings
of the board as to the applicant's failure to qualify under this section, that the applicant may request a
hearing before the board on the question of the applicant's qualifications, that the applicant may otherwise
be considered for licensure after examination as provided in section 340.240* and of the applicant's right
pursuant to section 621,120, RSMo, to file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 20, A.L. 1999 5.B. 424)
*Section 340.240 was repealed by S.B. 424, 199%.
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340.246. Provisional licensure, requirements--term. A provisional license may be issued to a
qualified applicant for licensure pending examination results and completion of the veterinary candidacy
program, or who has otherwise applied for licensure by grade transfer, reciprocity, or examination, if the
applicant meets all other required qualifications for licensure in sections 340.200 to 340.330; provided
that the applicant is working under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian in good standing. Such
supervision shall be consistent with the delegated animal health care task. A provisional license shall
expire one year after the date of issuance. A provisional license shall not be issued to individuals applying
for faculty licensure.

(L. 1992 HL.B. 878 § 23, A.L. 1%99 8.B. 424, A.L. 2004 H.B, $69)

340.247. Veterinary faculty license, requirements, limitations --disciplinary actions--
cancellation. 1. Notwithstanding any other provisions of law to the contrary, the board may issue a
veterinary faculty license to any qualified applicant associated with the University of Missouri-Columbia,
College of Veterinary Medicine and involved in the instructional program of either undergraduate or
graduate veterinary medical students, subject to the following conditions:

(1) The holder of the veterinary faculty license is compensated for the practice aspects of his or her
services solely from the state, federal or institutional funds and not from the patient-owner beneficiary of
his or her practice efforts;

(2) The applicant furnishes the board with such proof as the board may deem necessary to demonstrate
that:

(a) The applicant is a graduate of a reputable school or college of veterinary medicine;

(b) The applicant has or will have a faculty position at one of this state's institutions of higher learning
and will be involved in the instructional program of either undergraduate or graduate veterinary medical
students, as certified by an authorized administrative official at such institution; and

(c) The applicant understands and agrees that the faculty license is valid only for the practice of veterinary
medicine as a facuity member of the institution; and

(3) The applicant takes and passes the state board examination.

2. The license issued pursuant to this section may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
otherwise disciplined in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.

3. The license issued pursuant to this section shalf be canceled by the board upon receipt of information
that the holder of the veterinary faculty license has left or has otherwise been discontinued from faculty
employment at an institution of higher learning in this state.

(L. 1999 S.B. 424}

340.248. Out-of-state veterinarian, temporary licensure for specific animal owner--term,
renewal--agent for service of process, 1. 1f alicensed veterinarian of another state is not under
discipline or investigation, the board may issue a temporary license to such veterinarian exclusively to
permit the veterinarian to provide veterinary medical services for a specific animal owner in Missouri,
The license is limited to the animals of the spesific owner identified in the application. The temporary
license shall expire one hundred twenty days after it is issued. Upon request of the applicant, the board
may renew the temporary license for an additional ninety days.
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2. When a licensed veterinarian of another state applies for a temporary license under this section, the
applicant shall designate the secretary of state as the applicant’s agent for the purpose of service of
process in any action or proceeding against the applicant arising out of any transaction or operation
connected with, or incidental to, the practice of veterinary medicine pursaant to such temporary license.

3. Only one temporary license may be issued to any person at the same time.

4. The employer identified on the application for a temporary license issued pursuant to this section shall
notify the board within ten days if the employment ceases at the place of employment designated on the
temporary license.

(L. 1992 H.B, 878 § 24, AL, 1999 S.B. 424}

340.250. Temporary or provisional license, board's exclusive authority. The rights granted by
the board to a holder of a temporary or provisional license under sections 340.246 and 340.248 are
exclusive, A temporary or provisional license issued under sections 340.246 and 340.248 may be revoked
by a majority vote of the board without a hearing. The board’s exclusive authority shall be clearly stated
on the temporary or provisional license and the application and is a condition for the issuance of a
temporary or provisional license.

{i.. 1992 H.B. 878 § 25, A.L. 1999 5.B. 424)

340.252. Display of license, certificate, permit. A person issued a license, certificate, permit or
other authority issued under sections 340.200 to 340.330 shall conspicuously display such license,
certificate, permit or other authority in the person's principal place of business or employment or as
otherwise provided for by board rule. Such person shall exhibit such license, certificate, permit or other
authority upon demand by any member of the board or its authorized agent.

(L. 1992 HB. 878 § 26, A.L. 1999 3.B. 424)

340.254. Existing certificate recognized, requirements. Any person holding a valid license,
certificate, permit or other authority regulated under the provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.330 on
August 28, 1992, shall be recognized by the board and shall be entitled to retain any existing status so
long as the person complies with the provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.330 and board rules
promulgated pursuant to sections 340.200 to 340.330.

(L. 1992 H.B, 8§78 § 27, A.L. 1999 8.B. 424)

340.255. Inactive license status, procedure, Any veterinarian licensed under sections 340.200 to
340.330 who is not practicing or involved in any aspect, administrative or otherwise, of veterinary
medicine in Missouri, as defined in section 340.200, may request that his or her license be placed on an
inactive status, Any veterinarian requesting his or her license to be placed on an inactive status shall file
an affirmation with the board stating that he or she will not engage in the practice or be involved in any
aspect, administrative or otherwise, of veterinary medicine in Missouri, To renew such inactive license,
the person shall submit an application for licensure renewal, pay the renewal fee, and submit approved
continuing education hours as required by rule of the board.

(L. 2004 H B, 865}
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340.256. Retirement, affidavit required--effect. Any person licensed under sections 340.200 to
340.330 who retires from any profession regulated by sections 340.200 to 340,330 shall file an affidavit
stating the date of retirement and any other information required by the board in order to verify such
retirement. Any person filing the affidavit as required by this section, does not need to renew his or her
license as required by section 340.258. If such person decides to again practice his or her profession, the
person must renew his or her license prior to performing any act or practice regulated by sections 340.200
to 340.330.

(E. 1992 H.B. 878 § 28, A.L. 1999 5.B. 424)

340.258. License expires, when--notice of renewal--application for renewal, continuing
education requirements, contents--false statements, penalties--declaration of noncurrency
for failure to renew. 1. Every license issued under the provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.330 shall
expire annually or as otherwise established by board rule but may be renewed by the licensee upon
application to the board for renewal and payment of renewal fees, subject to the provisions of this section.
The board shall not renew any license unless the licensee provides satisfaciory evidence that he or she has
complied with the board's minimum requirements for continuing education,

2. At least thirty days prior to the expiration date, the executive director shall send a notice of renewal and
an application for renewal to each licensee of record. The notice and application shall be mailed to the
licensee's last known business address. Neither the failure to mail nor the failure to receive the notice and
application shall relieve any licensee of the duty to make application for renewal or to pay the necessary
renewal fee. The failure to mail or to receive the notice and application will not exempt the licensee from
the penalties provided by sections 340.200 to 340,330 for failure to promptly renew such license.

3. The applicant shall disclose on the application for renewal:
(1) Applicant's full name;

(2) Applicant's business and residence addresses;

(3) Date and number of applicant's license;

(4) Any disciplinary actions taken against the applicant by any state, territory or district of the United
States, or federal agency;

(5) Any felony criminal convictions;
(6) Any continuing educational credits; and

(7) Any other information deemed necessary by the board to assess the applicant's fitness for license
renewal,

4. The application shall be made under oath or affirmation and subject to penalties provided for making a
false statement under oath or affirmation. Such penalties are in addition to and not in lieu of any penalty
or other discipline provided for in sections 340.200 to 340.330.

5. If a licensee fails to submit an application and fees within thirty days of expiration of his or her license,
the executive director shall notify the licensee that the application and fees have not been received and
that the licensee’s failure to respond within ten days will result in * his or her license being declared
noncurrent. The notification required by this subsection shall be by certified mail, return receipt
requested, to the licensee’s last known business and residence addresses. If the application and fees are
not received within ten days after the return receipt is received, the licensee's license shall be declared
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noncurrent. The executive director shall give notice to the licensee by certified mail, return receipt
requested, at the licensee's last known business and residence addresses that his or her license has been
declared noncurrent and that the licensee shall not practice veterinary medicine until he or she applies for
reinstaterent and pays the required fees.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 29. A.L. 1999 5.B. 424)

*Word “of* appears in original rolis.

340.260. Practice after declaration of noncurrency, penalty. If any person practices veterinary
medicine after his or her license is declared noncurrent pursuant to subsection 5 of section 340.258, he or
she is subject to criminal prosecution as provided in sections 340.200 to 340.330. Such criminal
prosecution shall be in addition to any penalty or other discipline provided for in sections 340.200 to
340.330.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 30, A.L. 1999 5.B. 424)

340.262. Renewal of expired license, requirements--waiver of fees, when. If a personis
otherwise eligible to renew his or her license, the person may renew an expired license within two years
of the date of expiration. To renew such expired license, the person shall submit an application for
renewal, pay the renewal fee, pay a delinquent renewal fee, pay a penalty fee, and submit approved
continuing education hours as required by rule of the board. Upon a finding of extenuating circumstances,
the board may waive the payment of the penalty fee; however, nothing in this section shall be construed
as requiring such waiver. If more than two years have lapsed since the date the license expired, the license
may not be renewed. The holder of such expired license must apply under the procedures for a new
license pursuant to sections 340.200 to 340.330.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 31, AL, 1999 5.8, 424, AL, 2004 H.B. 869}

340.264. Refusal to issue or renew certificate, grounds--complaint may be filed, grounds--
procedure. 1. The board may refuse to issue or renew any certificate of registration or authority, permit
or license required pursuant to sections 340,200 to 340.330 for one or any combination of causes stated in
subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in writing of the reasons for the refusal
and shall advise the applicant of his or her right to file a complaint with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

2. The board may file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter
621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by
sections 340,200 to 340.330 or any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered his or her
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license for any one or combination of the following
causes:

(1) Use of any controlled substance, as defined in chapter 195, RSMo, or alcoholic beverage to an extent
that such use impairs a person's ability to perform the work of any profession licensed or regulated by
sections 340.200 to 340.330;

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guiity, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo
contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws of any state, territory, district of the United States, or
the United States, for any offense reasonably related to the qualifications, functions or duties of any
profession licensed or regulated under sections 340,200 to 340.330 or for any offense for which an
essential element is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving moral turpitude,
whether or not sentence is imposed,
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(3) Use of fraud, deception, misrepresentation or bribery in securing any certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license issued pursuant to sections 340.200 to 340.330 or in obtaining permission to
take any examination given or required pursuant to sections 340.200 to 340.330;

(4) Misconduct, fraud, misrepresentation, dishonesty, unethical conduct or unprofessional cenduct in the
performance of the functions or duties of any profession licensed or regulated by sections 340.200 to
340.330, inciuding, but not limited to:

(a) Obtaining or attempting to obtain any fee, charge, tuition or other compensation by fraud, deception or
misrepresentation;

(b) Willfully and continually overcharging for services or overtreating patients or charging for services
which did not occur unless the services were contracted for in advance, or for services which were not
rendered or documented in the patient's records, or charging for services which were not consented to by
the owner of the patient or the owner's agent;

{c) Willfully or continually performing inappropriate or unnecessary treatment, diagnostic tests or
medical or surgical services;

(d) Attempting, directly or indirectly, by intimidation, coercion or deception to obtain or retain a patient
or discourage the owner from seeking a second opinion or consultation;

(e) Delegating professional responsibilities to a person who is not qualified by training, skill, competency,
age, experience, registration or licensure to perform such responsibilities;

() Misrepresenting that any disease or ailment can be cured by a method, procedure, treatment, medicine
or device;

(g) Performing or prescribing medical services which have been declared by board rule to be of no
medical value;

(h) Final disciplinary action by any professional veterinary medical association or society or licensed
hospital or clinic or medical staff of such hospital or clinic in this state or any other state or territory,
whether agreed to voluntarily or not, and including, but not limited to, any removal, suspension,
limitation, surrender, or restriction of a license or staff or hospital or clinic privileges, failure to renew
such privileges or license for cause, or other final disciplinary action, if the action was related to
unprofessional conduct, professional incompetence, malpractice or any other violation of sections
340.200 to 340.330;

(i) Dispensing, prescribing, administering or otherwise distributing any drug, controlled substance or
other treatment without sufficient examination or establishment of a veterinarian-client-patient
relationship, or for other medically accepted therapeutic or experimental or investigative purposes, or not
in the course of professional practice, or not in good faith to relieve pain and suffering, or not to cure an
ailment, physical infirmity or disease; or the dispensing, prescribing, administering or distribution of any
drug, controlled substance or other treatment by anyone other than a properly licensed veterinarian, unless
such person is a properly registered veterinary technician, unregistered assistant, or the patient's owner
and then to be limited to administration of drugs or other treatment under the supervision, control or
explicit instructions of a licensed veterinarian;

(j) Terminating the medical care of a patient without adequate notice to the owner or without making
other arrangements for the continued care of the patient;

(k) Failing to furnish details of a patient's medical records to another treating veterinarian, hospital, clinic,
owner, or owner's agent upon proper request or waiver by the owner or owner's agent, or failing to
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comply with any other law relating to medical records; except, radiographs prepared by the licensed
veterinarian shall remain the property of the veterinarian and shall be returned upon request or as
otherwise agreed between the veterinarian and client;

(1) Failure of any applicant or licensee to cooperate with the board during any investigation, if such
investigation does not concern the applicant or licensee;

{m) Failure to comply with any subpoena or subpoena duces tecum from the board or an order of the
board;

(n) Failure to timely pay license or registration renewal fees as specified in sections 340.200 to 340.330;

(0) Violating a probation agreement with the board or any other licensing authority of this state, another
state or territory of the United States, or a federal agency;

(p) Violating any informal consent agreement for discipline entered into by an applicant or licensee with
the board or any other licensing authority of this state, another state or territory of the United States, or a
federal agency;

(¢) Failing to inform the board of any change in business or residential address as required by sections
340.200 to 340.330 or administraiive rule;

(r) Advertising by an applicant or licensee which is false or misleading, or which violates any rules of the
board, or which claims without substantiation the positive cure of any disease, or professional superiority
to or greater skill than that possessed by any other veterinarian;

(5) Any conduct or practice which is or might be harmful or dangerous to the health of a patient;

(6) Incompetency, gross negligence or repeated negligence in the performance of the functions or duties
of any profession licensed or regulated by sections 340.200 to 340.330. For purposes of this subdivision,
"repeated negligence” means the failure, on more than one occasion, to use that degree of skill and
learning ordinarily used under the same or similar circumstances by members of the profession;

(7) Violation of, or attempting to violate, directly or indirectly, or assisting, or enabling any person to
violate, any provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.330, or any lawful rule or regulation adopted pursuant
to sections 340.200 to 340.330;

{8) Impersonation of any person holding a certificate of registration or authority, permit or license or
allowing any person to use his certificate of registration or authority, permit, license or diploma from any
school;

(9) Revocation, suspension, restriction, modification, limitation, reprimand, warning, censure, probation
or other final disciplinary action against the holder of, or applicant for, a license or registration or other
right to practice any profession regulated by sections 340.200 to 340.330 or by another state, territory,
federal agency or country, whether or not voluntarily agreed to by the licensee or applicant, including, but
not limited to:

(a) Denial of licensure or registration;
(b) Surrender of the license or registration;
(c) Allowing the license or registration to expire or lapse; or

(d) Discontinuing or limiting the practice of veterinary medicine while subject to an investigation or while
actually under investigation by any licensing authority, medical facility, insurance company, court,
agency of the state or federal government, or employer;
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(10) Being adjudge“d incapacitated or disabled by a court of competent jurisdiction;

(11) Assisting or enabling any person to practice or offer to practice any profession licensed or regulated
by sections 340.200 to 340.330 who is not licensed or registered and currently eligible to practice under
sections 340.200 to 340.330, or knowingly performing any act which aids, assists, procures, advises, or
encourages any person to practice veterinary medicine who is not licensed or registered and currently
eligible to practice under sections 340.200 to 340.330;

(12) Issuance of a certificate of registration or authority, permit or license based upon a material mistake
of fact;

(13) Failure to obtain, renew or display a valid certificate, license, permit or notice if required;

(14} Violation of the drug laws or rules and regulations of this state, any other state, territory, or the
federal government;,

(15) Knowingly or reckiessly making or causing to be made, or aiding or abetting in the making of a false
statement or documeniation in connection with the birth, death, or health of any animal, executed in
connection with the practice of his or her profession or failure to file such statements or documents with
the proper officials of the federal or state government as provided by law or any rule promulgated under
sections 340.200 to 340.330;

(16) Soliciting patronage in person or by agents, under his or her own name or under the name of another,
actual or pretended, in such a manner as to confuse, deceive or mislead the public as to the need or
appropriateness of animal heaith care or services or the qualifications of an individual person or persons
to diagnose, render, or perform such animal health care services;

(17) Failure or refusal to properly guard against contagious, infectious or communicable diseases or the
spread thereof;

(18) Maintaining an unsanitary office or facility, or performing professional services under unsanitary
conditions with due consideration given to the place where the services are rendered;

(19) Practicing or offering to practice any profession or service regulated by sections 340.200 to 340.330
independent of the supervision and direction of a person licensed under sections 340.200 to 340.330 as a
veterinarian in good standing by any candidate for registration or person registered to practice as a
veterinary technician or engaged as an unregistered assistant to a veterinarian,

(20) Treating or attempting to treat atlments or health conditions of animals other than as authorized
under sections 340.200 to 340.330 or board nule by any candidate for registration or person registered to
practice as a veterinary technician or engaged as an unregistered assistant to a licensed veterinarian,;

(21) A pattern of personal use or consumption of any controlled substance unless it is prescribed,
dispensed or administered by a licensed physician;

(22) Any revocation, suspension, surrender, limitation or restriction of any controlled substance authority,
whether agreed to voluntarily or not;

(23) Being unable to practice as a veterinarian or veterinary technician with reasonable skill and safety to
patients because of illness, drunkenness, excessive use of drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or as a result of any
mental or physical condition;

(24} Violation of any professional trust or confidence;
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(25) Failing to obtain or renew any facility permit or to maintain mandatory requirements or minimum
standards for any such facility as required by sections 340.200 to 340.330 or board rule.

3. If the board files a complaint pursuant to subsection 2 of this section, the proceedings shall be
conducted in accordance with the provisions of chapter 621, RSMo. If the administrative hearing
commission finds that grounds provided in this section are met, the board may either singly or in
combination:

(1) Warn, censure or place the person named in the complaint on probation on such terms and conditions
as the board deems appropriate for a period not to exceed ten years;

(2) Suspend such license, certificate or permit for a period not to exceed three years;
(3) Restrict or limit the license, certificate or permit for an indefinite period of time;
{4y Revoke such license, certificate or permit;

{(5) Administer a public or private reprimand;

(6) Deny the application for a license;

(7) Permanently withhold issuance of a license or certificate;

(8) Require the applicant or licensee to submit to the care, counseling or treatment of physicians
designated by the board at the expense of the person {o be examined;

(9) Require the person to attend such continuing educational courses and pass such examinations as the
board may direct.
(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 32, A.L. 1999 S.B. 424)

340.266. Application for reinstatement of license--period. If the board orders the license to be
revoked, the board may provide that the person may not apply for reinstatement of license, certificate or
registration, or permit for a period of at least one year and not more than seven years following the date of
the revocation. Any stay order will toll the period of revocation.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 33)

340.268. Continuing education course, examination may be required. Before restoring to good
standing a license, certificate, registration or permit issued under sections 340.200 to 340.330, which has
been revoked, suspended, surrendered or is in an inactive state for any cause for more than two years, the
board may require the applicant to attend such continuing education courses and pass such examinations
as the board may direct.

{L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 34}

340.270. Records of patients, discoverable, In any investigation, hearing or other proceeding to
determine a licensee's or applicant's fitness to practice, or in any investigation of a complaint before the
board, any record relating to any patient of the licensee or applicant is discoverable by the board and
admissible as evidence notwithstanding any privilege to the contrary which such licensee, applicant, or
record custodian might otherwise invoke.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 35)
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340,272, Complaint for expedited hearing, when--hearing, decision, when --temporary
authority final, when. 1. If the board, after notice and hearing, concludes that a person has committed
an act or is engaging in a course of conduct which would be grounds for disciplinary action under section
340.204 and such act or course of conduct constitutes a clear and present danger to the public health,
safety or welfare, the board may file a complaint before the administrative hearing commission requesting
an expedited hearing and specifying the activities which give rise to the danger and the nature of the
proposed restriction or suspension of the person's license,

2. The administrative hearing commission shall conduct a preliminary hearing within fifteen days after
service of a complaint pursuant to subsection | of this section, to determine whether the alleged activities
appear to constitute a clear and present danger to the public health, safety or welfare which justifies that
the person's license be immediately restricted or suspended. The administrative hearing commission shall
issue its decision immediately after the hearing and either grant the board the authority to suspend or
restrict the license or dismiss the action,

3. If the administrative hearing commission grants the board temporary authority to restrict or suspend the
license, the temporary authority shall become final if the person does not request a full hearing within
thirty days of the preliminary hearing. If the person requests a full hearing, the administrative hearing
commission shall set a date for the hearing pursuant to chapter 621, RSMo.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 36)

340.274. Automatic revocation of license, when--automatic reinstatement, when --automatic
denial of license, when. 1. A license issued under sections 340.200 to 340.330 shall be automatically
revoked following a review of the record of the proceedings by the board and upon a formal motion of the
board:

(1) When the final trial proceedings are concluded where a person has been adjudicated and found guilty,
or has entered a plea of guiity or nolo contendere whether or not a sentence is imposed:

(a) In a felony criminal prosecution under the laws of this state, the laws of any other state, territory or
district of the United States, or the United States for any offense reasonably related to the qualifications,
functions or daties of the person licensed under sections 340.200 to 340.330;

(b) For any felony offense, for which an essential element is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence; or
(c) For any felony offense involving moral turpitude;

(2) Upon the final and unconditional revocation or surrender of the person’s license to practice the same
profession in another state, territory or district of the United States upon grounds for which revocation is
authorized in this state.

2. The license of such person shall be automatically reinstated if the conviction, judgment or revocation is
set aside upon final appeal in any court of competent jurisdiction.

3. Any person who has been denied a license, certificate, permit or other authority to practice a profession
in another state, if such profession in this state is regulated pursuant to sections 340.200 to 340.330, shall
automatically be denied a license to practice such profession in this state; however, the board may
establish qualifications whereby such person may be qualified and licensed to practice such profession in
this state,

(L. 1992 H.B. 878§ 37)
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340. 276. Injunctions, restraining orders, other orders, when, grounds --commencement of
action, where, 1. Upon application by the board, and the necessary burden having been met, a court of
general jurisdiction may grant an injunction, restraining order or other order as may be appropriate to
enjoin a person from:

(1) Offering to engage or engaging in the performance of any acts or practice for which a license,
certificate, permit or other authority is required by sections 340.200 to 340.330 upon a showing that such
acts or practices were performed or offered to be performed* without a license, certificate, permit or other
authority; or

(2) Engaging in any practice authorized by a license, certificate, permit or other authority issued pursuant
to sections 340.200 to 340.330 upon a showing that the holder presents a substantial probability of serious
danger to the health, safety or welfare of any resident of the state or client or patient of the licensee.

2. Any such action shall be commenced either in the county in which such conduct occurred or in the
county where the defendant resides. Any action brought under this section shall be in addition to and not
in lieu of any penalty or other discipline provided for by sections 340.200 to 340.330 and may be brought
concurrently with other actions to enforce sections 340.200 to 340.330.

{L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 38}

*Words "to perform” appear in originai rolls rather than “te be performed™,

340.278. Relicensing and reinstatement--conditions. 1. Upon written application to the board
showing cause justifying relicensing and reinstatement, any person whose license has been revoked or
suspended by the board may be relicensed or reinstated at any time without examination by a majority
vote of the full board.

2. Nothing in subsection 1 of this section shall be construed as requiring the board to reinstate a license
due to a showing of justification. Such relicensing or reinstatement is within the sole discretion of the
board.

3. The board may condition such reinstatement or relicensing as it deems appropriate under the
circumstances, including, but not limited to, restricting or limiting the person's practice or placing the
person on probation under terms and conditions set by the board.

(L. 1992 H.B. $78 § 39}

340.280. Chairman may administer oaths, issue subpoena--enforcement of subpoenas,
where. 1. The chairman or vice chairman of the board may administer oaths, subpoena witnesses, issue
subpoenas duces tecum and require production of documents and records pertaining to complaints or
investigations. Subpoenas, including subpoenas duces tecum, shall be served by a person so authorized to
serve subpoenas of courts of records. In lieu of requiring attendance of a person to produce original
documents in response to a subpoena duces tecum, the board may require sworn copies of such
documents to be filed with it or delivered to its designated representative.

2. The board may enforce its subpoenas, including a subpoena duces tecum, by applying to a circuit court
of Cole County, the county of investigation, hearing or proceeding, or any county where the person
resides or may be found, for an order upon any person who shall fail to obey a subpoena to show cause
why such subpoena should not be enforced. The order and a copy of the application therefor shall be
served upon the person in the same manner as a summons in a civil action. If the circuit court, after a
hearing, determines that the subpoena should be sustained and enforced, such court shall proceed to
enforce the subpoena in the same manner as though the subpoena had been issued in a civil case in the
circuit court.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 4(»
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340,282, ITmmunity of persons cooperating with the board. Any person who in good faith and
without malice reports, provides information or cooperates in any manner with the board, or assists the
board in any manner, including, but not limited to, applicants or licensees, whether or not the applicant or
licensee is the subject of an investigation, record custodians, consultants, attorneys, board members,
agents, employees, staff or expert witnesses, in the course of any investigation, hearing or other
proceeding conducted by or before the board pursuant to the provisions of sections 340.200 to 340,330
shall not be subject to an action for civil damages and no cause of action shall arise against him as a result
thereof.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 41)

340,284, Medical records to be maintained. Any person who provides veterinary medical
services shall prepare and maintain medical records for any patient. Such records shall meet or
exceed the minimum standards as established by board rule.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 42)

340.286. Disclosure of information, when required--immunity--waiver of privilege. 1. Except
as otherwise provided for under section 340.270 or by board rule, no veterinarian licensed under the
provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.330 shall be required to disclose any information concerning the
veterinarian's care of an animal, except on written authorization or other waiver by the veterinarian’s
client or on appropriate court order or subpoena or as may be required to ensure compliance with any
other federal or state law,

2. Any veterinarian releasing information under written authorization or other waiver by the client or
under court order or subpoena shall not be liable to the client or any other person for claims arising as a
result of releasing such information.

3. The privilege provided by this section shall be waived to the extent that the owner of the animal places
the veterinarian's care and treatment of the animal or the nature and extent of injuries to the animal at
issue in any civil or criminal proceeding.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 43)

340.287. Veterinary emergency care, no civil liability, exceptions (Good Samaritan law).
Any veterinarian duly registered pursuant to sections 340.200 to 340.330 who gratuitously and in
good faith gives emergency treatment to a sick or injured animal at the scene of an accident or
emergency shall not be liable in any civil action for damages to the owner of such animal. This
section is not intended to provide immunity for acts which constitute gross negligence,

{L. 1999 §.B. 424)

340.288. Animal deemed abandoned, when, disposal of--immunity--abandoned defined,
effect--necropsy authorized, when, disposal of corpse --owner's financial obligation. 1. Any
animal placed in the custody of a licensed veterinarian for treatment, boarding or other care, which is
unclaimed by its owner or its owner's agent for more than ten days after written notice by certified mail,
return receipt requested, is sent to the owner or ownetr's agent at the person's last known address shall be
deemed to be abandoned. Such abandoned animal may be turned over to the nearest humane society or
animal shelter, or otherwise disposed of or destroyed by the licensed veterinarian in a humane manner.
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2. If notice is sent pursuant to subsection 1 of this section, the licensed veterinarian or any custodian of
such abandoned animal is relieved of any further liability for disposal. If a licensed veterinarian follows
the procedures of this section, the veterinarian shali not be subject to disciplinary action uader sections
340.200 to 340.330 unless such licensed veterinarian fails to provide the proper notification to the owner
or owner's agent.

3. For the purposes of this section, the term "abandoned” means to forsake entirely, to neglect or refuse to
provide or perform legal obligations for the care and support of an animal, or to refuse to pay for
treatment or other services without an assertion of good cause. Such abandonment shall constitute the
relinquishment of all rights and claims by the owner to such animal.

4. If an animal should die while in the custody of a licensed veterinarian for the purpose of treatment,
boarding or other care, the licensed veterinarian may perform necropsy after reasonable attempts to notify
the owner and obtain permission have failed. The licensed veterinarian shall maintain or otherwise store
the corpse for a period of at least three days following such death or three days after notification to the
owner, whichever is longer, after which time the corpse may be disposed of in any lawful manner.

5. The disposal of an abandoned or deceased animal shall not relieve the owner or owner's agent of any
financial obligation incurred for treatment, boarding or other care provided by the veterinarian.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 44, AL, 1999 S.B. 424)

340.290. Certain proceedings not abated. No judicial or administrative proceeding pending
prior to August 28, 1992, shall be abated as a result of the repeal of chapter 340 and the
enactment of sections 340.200 to 340.330.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 45)

340,292, Severability. If any clause, sentence, paragraph, section or part of sections 340.200 to
340.330 or the application thereof to any person or circumstances shall for any reason be adjudged by any
court of competent jurisdiction to be unconstitutional or invalid, such judgment shall not affect, impair or
invalidate the remainder thereof, and the application thereof to other persons or circumstances, but shall
be confined in its operation to the clause, sentence or paragraph, section or part thereof involved in the
controversy, in which such judgment shall have been rendered and to the person or circumstances
involved, except as provided in section 340.210.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 46)

340.294. Penalty--separate offenses. Any person who violates any provision of sections 340.200 to
340.330 shall, upon conviction in a court of competent jurisdiction, be adjudged guilty of a class A
misdemeanor for each offense. The unlawful practice of veterinary medicine shall be deemed a separate
offense for each animal treated by any person engaged in such unlawful practice.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 47}

340.296. Veterinary technician, board to register. The Missouri veterinary medical board shall be
responsible for registering any person who wishes to practice as a veterinary technician in this state and
shall limit, restrict, supervise and define such practice by board rule as the board deems appropriate and
necessary for the protection of the public health, safety and general welfare.

(L. 1992 HL.B. 878 § 48}
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340.298. Provisions applicable to technicians. All provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.296 shall
be applicable to licensed veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians, except as otherwise
specifically provided for in sections 340.298 to 340.330. Whenever the term "veterinarian” or "veterinary
practice” is used in sections 340.200 to 340.300, it shall mean veterinary technician or the practice of a
veterinary technician.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878§ 49)

340.300. Veterinary technician, registration of, application, contents --qualifications. 1. Any
person desiring to be registered as a veterinary technician in the state of Missouri shall submit a written
application to the board. Such application shall be on forms furnished by the board without charge.

2. Each application shall contain a statement that is made under oath or affirmation that representations
made therein are true, correct and contain no material omissions of fact (o the best knowledge and belief
of the person making the application and whose signature shall be subscribed thereto. Any person who
knowingly subrmits false information, information intended to mislead the board, or omits a material fact
on the application shali be subject to penalties provided for by the faws of this state for giving a false
statement under oath or affirmation; such penalty is in addition to and not in lieu of any action which the
board takes pursuant to the provisions of sections 340.200 to 340.330.

3. To qualify to be registered as a veterinary technician pursuant to this section, the application must show
that the applicant:

(1) Is at* least eighteen years of age;
(2) Is of good moral character;

(3) Has successfully completed a college level course of study in veterinary technology in a school having
a curriculum approved by the board or a college level course in the care and treatment of animals which is
accredited by the AVMA; and

(4) Has passed an examination or examinations as prescribed by board rule. The examination or
examinations shall be designed to test the examinee's knowledge of, proficiency in, subjects and
techniques commonly taught in schools providing a currictlum in veterinary technology, familiarity with
the requirements of sections 340,200 to 340.330, related statutes and board rules, and other material as
determined by the board. An examinee must demonstrate scientific, practical and legal knowledge
sufficient to establish to the board that the applicant is competent to practice as a veterinary technician.
Applications for examination shall be in writing, on a form furnished by the board and shall include
evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant possesses the qualifications set forth in subdivisions
(1), {2) and (3) of this subsection.

4. The board may require additional information and proof of a person's fitness and qualifications by
board rule.
(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 50, A.L. 1999 S.B. 424

*Word "at” does not appear in ariginal rolls,

340.302. Registration fee, technician--examination fee--consequences of failure, 1. The
applicant for registration as a veterinary technician shall submit with the application the registration and
examination fees as established by board rule pursuant to section 340.210. The registration fee shatl not
be returned if the applicant is registered as a veterinary technician but shall be deemed to include payment
of the registration fee for the remainder of the registration period in which the applicant is admitted.
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2. If the applicant has complied with the requirements of subsection 2 of section 340.312, the examination
fee shall be returned to the applicant if the board determines that the applicant is not qualified to sit for the
examination. The examination fee shall not be returned if the board denied the application because the
applicant provided false information in the application.

3. If an applicant fails an examination, the applicant shall:
(1) Pay examination fees for each subsequent application;

(2) Wait for some period of time as prescribed by board rule from the date of the failed examination to
take the next examination; and

(3) Prior to the fourth and final attempt at passage, present to the board, for approval, a plan for passage
and evidence of completion of at least ten hours of board-approved continuing education taken since the
last examination since last sitting for the examination or in the calendar year preceding the final
application.

(L. 1992 HB, 878 § St AL, 1999 S.B. 424

340.304. Technician, admittance to examination--failure to qualify, notice. 1. If the board
determines that the appiicant possesses the proper qualifications, it shall admit the applicant to the next
scheduled examination.

2. If the board determines that an applicant is not qualified to sit for the examination, the executive
director shall notify the applicant in writing. The notification shall include specific findings of the board
as to the applicant's failure fo qualify, inform the applicant that he or she may request a hearing before the
board on the question of the applicant's qualifications and inform the applicant of his or her right,
pursuant to section 621,120, RSMo, to file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission.

3. No person shall be refused registration as a veterinary technician in the state of Missouri because of
race, creed, sex, color or national origin.
(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 52, A.L. 1999 $.B. 424)

340.306. Waiver of examination, when--grade score transfer permitted, when. 1. The board
may issue a certificate of registration to an applicant, without examination, if the applicant submits proof,
satisfactory to the board, that the applicant:

(1) Is currently registered in another state, territory, district or province of the United States or Canada
having standards for admission substantially the same as the standards in Missouri, and that the standards
were in effect at the time the applicant was first admitted to practice in the other state, territory, district or
province of the United States or Canada; and

(2) Has been employed and supervised by a licensed veterinarian for a period of at least five consecutive
years preceding the applicant's application to practice as a veterinary technician in Missouri.

2. If the applicant has not been licensed in another state, territory, district, or province of the United States
or Canada for five consecutive years, the board may determine that the applicant is eligible for licensure
by grade score transfer. For a previous examination score to be transferred for a current licensing period,
the score must be received within the five-year period immediately preceding the application. If such
passing score is not received within three attempts, the board may require the applicant to appear before
the board and/or submit evidence that the applicant has completed continuing education.

{1.. 1992 H.B, 878 § 53, A.L. 1999 §.B. 424, A.L. 2004 H.B. 869)
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340.308. Examination for technicians--application fee--rules--notification of results, 1.
Applicants shall submit an application and the registration and examination fees at least sixty days prior
to taking the examination.

2. The board shall establish by rule the score needed to pass all examinations.

3. The executive director shall notify each examinee within ninety days of the examination the results of
the examination. If all the other requirements of registration have been met, the board shall issue
certificates of registration to the persons who successfully completed the examination. The executive
director shall record the certificates and hold the certificates until the applicant has met the requirements
of section 340.310.

(L. 1992 H.B, 878 § 54, AL, 1999 S.B. 424}

340.310. Notice to successful examinees. The board shall send a fetter, signed by the board
chairperson or vice chairperson, to all successful examinees for registration as a veterinary technician;
however, the board shall not send a certificate of registration until the applicant has submitted proof of
employment and supervision by a licensed® veterinarian. Upon receipt of such proof, the executive
director shall issue the certificate of registration.

(1. 1992 HB. 878 § 55)

*Word "byvelerinared” appears in original rolls, ar apparent printing ervor.

340.312, Technician certification, inactive status, when--notification of termination of
employment--continuing education required, when. 1. If the technician leaves the employment or
supervision of the licensed veterinarian and is not employed by or supervised by another licensed
veterinarian within thirty days of the termination of his or her employment, the technician’s certificate
shall be placed on inactive status. It is the responsibility of the technician to inform the executive director
within thirty days of termination of his or her employment. It is grounds for revocation of the technician's
certificate if he or she fails to notify the executive director of such termination.

2. Any veterinary technician in the state of Missouri whose certificate has been on inactive status will be
required to complete the required continuing education credits in accordance with rules of the board, pay
all fees and meet all other requirements of sections 340.200 to 340.330 and board rules for registration as
a veterinary technician,

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 56, A.L. 1999 $.B. 424, A.L. 2004 H.B. 86%)

340.314. Expiration, renewal of technician's certificate, fees--notice of renewal, application.
I. The certificates issued to veterinary technicians pursuant to sections 340.300 to 340.330 shall expire as
established by board rule but may be renewed upon application to the board for renewal and payment of
renewal fees.

2. At least sixty days prior to the expiration date, the executive director shall send a notice of renewal and
an application for renewal to each certificate holder of record. The notice and application shall be mailed
to the certificate holder's last known business or residence address. Failure to mail or to receive the notice
and application does not relieve any certificate holder of the duty to apply for renewal or to pay the
necessary renewal fee, nor will it exempt the certificate holder from the penalties provided by sections
340.200 to 340.330 for failure to promptly renew the certificate.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 5T)
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340.316. Application, contents--false statements, penalty, 1. The application shall include the
disclosure of:

(1) Applicant’s full name;

(2) Place of employment;

(3) Supervisor's name, license number and signature;
(4) Business and residence addresses;

(5) Date and number of applicant's certificate;

(6) Any disciplinary actions taken against the applicant by any state, territory or district of the United
States or federal agency;

(7) Felony criminal convictions;
(8) Continuing educational credits; and

(9) Other information deemed necessary by the board to assess the applicant's fitness for certificate
renewal,

2. The application shall be made under oath or affirmation by the applicant. The applicant is subject to
penalties provided for under the laws of this state for making a false statement under an oath or
affirmation, which shall be in addition to and not in lieu of any penalty or other discipline provided for by
sections 340.200 to 340.330. -

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 58)

340.318. Declaration of noncurrency for failure to renew certificate, notice. If a certificate
holder fails to submit an application and fees within thirty days of expiration of the certificate, the
executive director shall notify the certificate holder that the application and fees have not been received
and that the certificate holder's failure to respond within ten days will result in his or her certificate being
declared noncurrent. The notification shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the
certificate holder's last known business and residence addresses. If the application and fee is not received
within ten days after the return receipt is received, the certificate shall be declared noncurrent and the
executive director shall notify the certificate holder of such declaration by certified mail, return receipt
requested, at the certificate holder's last known business and residence addresses that his or her
certification has been declared noncurrent and that the certificate holder shall not practice as a veterinary
technician until he or she applies for reinstatement and pays the required fees.

(L. 1992 H.B, 878 § 59, A.L. [999 5.B. 424)

340.320, Practice as technician after revocation, penalty--application for renewal. 1. Any
person who practices as a veterinary technician after his or her certificate has been revoked pursuant to
section 340.318 is in violation of sections 340.200 to 340.330 and subject to criminal prosecution as
provided for under sections 340.200 to 340.330. Such criminal penalty shall be in addition to and not in
lieu of any penalty or other discipline provided for under sections 340.200 to 340.330.

2. If a person is otherwise eligible to renew his or her certificate, such person may renew an expired
certificate within two years of the date of expiration by submitting an application for renewal, payment of
the renewal fee, payment of delinquent renewal fees and payment of a penalty fee as established by the
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board. A certificate may not be renewed if two years have lapsed since the date the certificate expired.
Such holder of an expired certificate must make application for a new certificate.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 60, A.L. 1999 §.B. 424, A.L.. 2004 H.B. 869}

340,322, Renewal, inactive status. If the veterinary technician is not employed and supervised by a
licensed veterinarian at the time for renewal, the certificate will be placed on inactive status until the
technician finds proper employment. If the technician submits satisfactory proof that he or she has
obtained employment under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian, the board shall issue a new
certificate to the technician if the technician meets all other requirements and qualifications for renewal.

(L. 1992 HB. 878 § 61, A.L. 1999 S.B. 424)

340.324. Continuing education, requirement. The board shall not renew any certificate unless
the holder provides satisfactory evidence that he or she has complied with the board's minimum
requirements for continuing education,

(L. 992 HB. 8§78 § 62, AL, 1999 5.8, 424)

340.326. Supervision of veterinarian required--level of supervision. Any person registered as a
veterinary technician and while practicing as a velerinary technician in this state must at all times be
under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian or a veterinarian exempt from licensing under sections
340.200 to 340.330. The level of supervision shall be consistent with the delegated animal health care
task. The board shall by rule establish, in general or specific terms as it deems necessary, the animal
health care tasks that veterinary technicians may provide and the level of supervision that is required by
the licensed veterinarian for any delegated health care task.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 63)

340.328. Emergency treatment authorized--immunity, Any veterinary technician duly registered
pursitant to sections 340.200 to 340.330 who gratuitously and in good faith gives emergency treatment to
a sik or injured animal at the scene of an accident or emergency shall not be in violation of sections
340.200 to 340.330 and shall not be liable in any civil action for damages to the owner of such animal.
This section is not intended to provide immunity for acts which constitute gross negligence.

(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 64)

340.330. Disciplinary action against technician authorized, when. The provisions and causes of
actions as set forth under section 340.264 are applicable to veterinary technicians in all respects. The
board may, also, take disciplinary action against a veterinary technician if the technician:

(1) Solicits patients from any licensed veterinarian;

(2) Solicits or receives any form of compensation from any person for services rendered other than from
the veterinarian under whom the technician is employed;

(3) Willfully or negligently divulges a professional confidence or discusses a veterinarian's diagnosis or
treatment without the express permission of the veterinarian; or

(4) Demonstrates a manifest incapability or incompetence to perform as a veterinary technician.
(L. 1992 H.B. 878 § 65)
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340.335. Loan repayment program for veterinary graduates--fund created. 1. Sections
340.335 to 340.350 establish a loan repayment program for graduates of approved veterinary medical
schools who practice in arcas of defined need and shall be known as the "Large Animal Veterinary
Medicine Loan Repayment Program".

2. The “Large Animal Veterinary Medicine Loan Repayment Program Fund" is hereby created in the state
treasury. All funds recovered from an individual pursuant to section 340.347 and all funds generated by
loan repayments and penalties received pursuant to section 340.347 shall be credited to the fund. The
moneys in the fund shall be used by the department of agriculture to provide loan repayments pursuant to
section 340.343 in accordance with sections 340.335 to 340.350.

{L.. 2001 S.B. 462, A.L. 2007 S.B. 32(h

340.337. Definitions. As used in sections 340.335 to 340.405%, the following terms shall mean:

(1) "Areas of defined need”, arcas designated by the department pursuant to section 340.339, when
services of a large animal veterinarian are needed to improve the veterinarian-patient ratio in the area, or
to contribute professional veterinary services to an area of economic impact;

(2) "College", the college of veterinary medicine at the University of Missouri-Columbia;
(3) "Department”, the Missouri department of agriculture;
{(4) "Director”, director of the Missouri department of agriculture;

(5) "Eligible student”, a resident who has been accepted as, or is, a full-time student at the University of
Missouri-Colimbia enrolled in the doctor of veterinary medicine degree program at the college of
veterinary medicine;

(6) "Large animal”, an animal which is raised, bred, or maintained for its parts or products having a
commercial value including, but not limited to, its muscle tissue, organs, fat, blood, manure, bones, milk,
wool, hide, pelt, feathers, eggs, semen, or embryos;

(7) "Large animal veterinarian”, veterinarians licensed pursuant to this chapter, engaged in general or
large animal practice as their primary focus of practice, and who have a substantial portion of their
practice devoted to large animal veterinary medicine;

(8) "Qualified applicant”, an eligible student approved by the department for participation in the large
animal veterinary student loan program established by sections 340.381 to 340.396;

(9) "Qualified employment”, employment as a large animal veterinarian and where a substantial portion
of business involves the treatment of large animals on a full-time basis in Missouri located in an area of
need as determined by the department of agriculture. Qualified employment shall not include employment
with a large-scale agribusiness enterprise, corporation, or entity. Any forgiveness of such principal and
interest for any qualified applicant engaged in qualified employment on a less than full-time basis may be
prorated to reflect the amounts provided in this section;

(10) "Resident", any person who has lived in this state for one or more years for any purpose other than
the attending of an educational institution located within this state.

{L. 2001 $.B. 462, A L. 2007 $.B. 320, A.L. 2008 S.B. 931)

*Section 340.405 was repeated by S.B, 831, 2008,

340.339. Certain areas designated as areas of defined need by department by rule. The
department shall designate counties, communities or sections of rural areas as areas of defined need as
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determined by the department by rule.

(L. 2001 S.B. 462, A.L. 2007 S.B, 12

340,341, Eligibility standards for loan repayment program--rulemaking authority. 1. The
department shall adopt and promulgate rules establishing standards for determining eligible students for
loan repayment pursuant to sections 340.335 to 340.350. Such standards shall include, but are not limited
to the following;:

(1) Citizenship or lawful permanent residency in the United States;
(2} Residence in the state of Missouri;

(3) Enroliment as a full-time veterinary medical student in the final year of a course of study offered by
an approved educational institution in Missouri;

(4) Application for loan repayment.

2. The department shall not grant repayment for more than six veterinarians each year,
(L. 200t S8, 462, A.L. 2007 §.B. 320, A L. 2008 S.B. 931)

340.343. Contract for loan repayment, contents--specific practice sites may be stipulated, 1.
The department shall enter into a contract with each individual qualifying for repayment of educational
loans, The written contract between the department and an individual shall contain, but not be limited to,
the fotlowing:

(1) An agreement that the state agrees to pay on behalf of the individual, loans in accordance with section
340.345 and the individual agrees to serve for a time period equal to four years, or such longer period as
the individual may agree to, in an area of defined need, such service period to begin within one year of
graduation by the individual with a degree of doctor of veterinary medicine;

(2) A provision that any financial obligations arising out of a contract entered into and any obligation of
the individual which is conditioned thereon is contingent upon funds being appropriated for foan
repayments;

(3) The area of defined need where the person will practice;
(4) A statement of the damages to which the state is entitled for the individual's breach of the contract;

(5) Such other statements of the rights and labilities of the department and of the individual not
inconsistent with sections 340.335 to 340,350,

2. The department may stipulate specific practice sites contingent upon department-generated large
animal veterinarian need prioritics where applicants shall agree to practice for the duration of their
participation in the program.

(L. 2001 S.B. 462, A.L. 2007 S.B. 320)

340.345. Loan repayment to include principal, interest and related expenses--annual limit.
1. A loan payment provided for an individual pursuant to a written contract under the large animal
veterinary medicine loan repayment program shall consist of payment on behalf of the individual of the
principal, interest and related expenses on government and commercial loans received by the individual
for tuition, fees, books, laboratory and living expenses incurred by the individual.
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2. For each year of obligated services that an individual contracts to serve in an area of defined need, the
department may pay up to twenty thousand dollars on behalf of the individual for loans described in
subsection 1 of this section.

3. The department may enter into an agreement with the holder of the loans for which repayments are
made under the large animal veterinary medicine loan repayment program to establish a schedule for the
making of such payments if the establishment of such a schedule would result in reducing the costs to the
state.

4. Any qualifying communities providing a portion of a loan repayment shall be considered first for
placement,
(L. 2001 S.B. 462, A.L. 2007 5.B. 320)

340.347. Liability for amounts paid by program, when--breach of contract, amount owed to
state. 1. An individual who has entered into a written contract with the department or an individual who
is enrolled at the college and fails to maintain an acceptable level of academic standing or voluntarily
terminates such enrotlment or is dismissed before completion of such course of study or fails to become
licensed pursuant to this chapter within one year after graduation shall be liable to the state for the amount
which has been paid on such individual's behalf pursuant to the contract.

2. If an individual breaches the written contract of the individual by failing either to begin such
individual's service obligation or to complete such service obligation, the state shall be entitled to recover
from the individual an amount equal to the sum of:

(1) The total of the amounts paid by the state on behalf of the individual, including interest; and

(2) An amount equal to the unserved obligation penalty, which is the total number of months of obligated
service which were not completed by an individual, multiplied by five hundred dollars.

3. The department may act on behalf of a qualified community to recover from an individual described in
subsections | and 2 of this section the portion of a loan repayment paid by such community for such
individual.

{i.. 2001 §.B. 462, A.L. 2007 S.B. 320)

340.350. Rulemaking authority, No rule or portion of a rule promulgated pursuant to the authority of
sections 340.335 to 340.350 shall become effective unless it has been promulgated pursuant to the
provisions of chapter 536, RSMo.

(L. 2001 8.8. 462)

340.375. Department to administer loan program--advisory panel to be appointed,
members, duties--rulemaking authority. 1. The department of agriculture shall implement and
administer the large animal veterinary medicine loan repayment program established under sections
340.335 to 340.350, and the large animal veterinary student loan program established under sections
340.381 to 340.396.

2. An advisory panel of not more than five members shall be appointed by the director. The panel shall
consist of three licensed large animal veterinarians, the dean of the college or his or her designee, and one
public member from the agricultural sector. The panel shall make recommendations to the director on the
content of any rules, regulations or guidelines under sections 340.335 to 340.396 prior to their
promulgation. The panel may make recommendations to the director regarding fund allocations for loans
and loan repayment based on current veterinarian shortage needs.
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3. The department of agriculture shall promulgate reasonabie rules and reguiations for the administration
of sections 340.381 to 340,396, including but not limited to rules for disbursements and repayment of
loans. It shall prescribe the form, the time and method of filing applications and supervise the proceedings
thereof. Any rule or portion of a rule, as that term is defined in section 536.010, RSMo, that is created
under the authority delegated in this section shall become effective only if it complies with and is subject
to all of the provisions of chapter 536, RSMo, and, if applicable, section 536.028, RSMo. This section
and chapter 536, RSMo, are nonseverable and if any of the powers vested with the general assembly
pursuant to chapter 536, RSMo, to review, (o delay the effective date, or to disapprove and annul a rule
are subsequently held unconstitutional, then the grant of rulemaking authority and any rule proposed or
adopted after August 28, 2007, shall be invalid and void.

(I.. 2007 S.B. 320, A.L. 2008 §.B3.931)

340.381., Program and fund created, use of moneys. 1. Sections 340.381 to 340.396 establish a
student {oan forgiveness program for approved veterinary students who practice in areas of defined need.
Such program shall be known as the "Large Animal Veterinary Student Loan Program".

2. There is hereby created in the state treasury the "Veterinary Student Loan Payment Fund”, which shall
consist of general revenue appropriated to the large animal veterinary student foan program, voluntary
contributions to support or match program activities, money collected under section 340.396, and funds
received from the federal government. The state treasurer shall be custodian of the fund and shall approve
disbursements from the fund in accordance with sections 30.170 and 30.180, RSMo. Upon appropriation,
money in the fund shali be used solely for the administration of sections 340.381 to 340.396.
Notwithstanding the provisions of section 33.080, RSMo, to the contrary, any moneys remaining in the
fund at the end of the biennium shall not revert to the credit of the general revenue fund. The state
treasurer shall invest moneys in the fund in the same manner as other funds are invested. Any interest and
moneys earned on such investments shall be credited to the fund.

(L. 2607 8.8, 320, AL, 2008 §.B.931)
Expires 6-30-13

340.384. Application procedures-amount of award-number of applicants to be awarded, 1.
Eligible students may apply to the department for financial assistance under the provisions of sections
340.381 to 340.396. If, at the time of application for a loan, a student has formally applied for acceptance
at the college, receipt of financial assistance is contingent upon acceptance and continued enrollment at
the college. A qualified applicant may receive financial assistance up to twenty thousand doltars for each
academic year he or she remains a student in good standing at the college, provided that the cumulative
total shall not exceed eighty thousand dollars per qualified applicant. An eligible student may apply for
financial assistance under this section at any point in his or her educational career at the college, however
any such financial assistance shall only be awarded for current or future academic years, as applicable,
and shall not be awarded for any academic year completed prior to the time of application.

2, Up to six qualified applicants per academic year may be awarded loans under the provisions of sections
340.381 to 340.396. Priority for loans shall be given to eligible students who have established financial
need. All financial assistance shall be made from funds credited to the veterinary student loan payment
fund,

(L. 2007 S.B. 320, A.L. 2008 §.B. 931)

Expires 6-30-13

340.387. Contracts for assistance-repayment-forgiveness of loan, when, 1. The department of
agriculture may enter into a contract with each qualified applicant receiving financial assistance under the
provisions of sections 340.381 to 340.396. Such contract shall specify terms and conditions of loan
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forgiveness through quatified employment as well as terms and conditions for repayment of the principal
and interest.

2. The department shall establish schedules for repayment of the principal and interest on any financial
assistance made under the provisions of sections 340,381 to 340.396. Interest at a rate set by the
department, with the advice of the advisory panel created in section 340.341, shall be charged from the
time of the payment of financial assistance on all financial assistance made under the provisions of
sections 340.381 to 340.396, but the interest and principal of the total financial assistance granted to a
qualified applicant at the time of the successful completion of a doctor of veterinary medicine degree
program shall be forgiven through qualified employment.

3. For each year of qualified employment that an individual contracts to serve in an area of defined need,
the department shall forgive up to twenty thousand dollars and accrued interest thereon on behalf of the
individual for financial assistance provided under sections 340,381 to 340.396,

(L. 2007 S.B. 320. A.L. 2008 85.B. 931}
Expires 6-30-13

340.390. Failure to meet employment obligations, repayment of loan required-deferral on
repayment permitted, when. 1. A recipient of financial assistance under sections 340.381 to 340.396
who does not meet the qualified employment obligations agreed upon by contract under section 340,387
shall begin repayment of the loan principal and interest in accordance with the contract within six months
of the first day on which the recipient did not meet the qualified employment obligations. If a qualified
applicant ceases his or her study prior to successful completion of a degree or graduation from the
college, interest at the rate specified in section 340.387 shali be charged on the amount of financial
assistance received from the state under the provisions of sections 340.381 to 340.396, and repayment, in
accordance with the contract, shall begin within ninety days of the date the financial aid recipient ceased
to be an eligible student. All funds repaid by recipients of financial assistance to the department shall be
deposited in the veterinary student loan payment fund for use pursuant to sections 340.381 to 340.396.

2. The department shall grant a deferral of interest and principal payments to a recipient of financial
assistance under sections 340.381 to 340.396 who is pursuing a post-degree training program, is on active
duty in any branch of the armed forces of the United States, or upon special conditions established by the
department, The deferral shall not exceed four years. The status of each deferral shall be reviewed
annually by the department to ensure compliance with the intent of this section.

(L. 2007 S.B. 320, A.L.. 2008 5.B. 931)
Expires 6-30-13

340.393. Action to recover amounts due permitted. When necessary to protect the interest of the
state in any financial assistance transaction under sections 340.381 to 340.396, the department may
institute any action to recover any amount due.

(L. 2007 8.B. 320, AL. 2008 S.B. 931)
Expires 6-30-13

340.396. Contracts not required, when-expiration date. 1. Sections 340.381 to 340.396 shall not
be construed to require the department to enter into contracts with individuals who qualify for education
loans or loan repayment programs when federal, state, and local funds are not available for such purposes.

2. Sections 340.381 to 340.396 shall not be subject to the provisions of sections 23.250 to 23.298, RSMo,
3. Sections 340.381 to 340.396 shail expire on June 30, 2013,

(L. 2007 S.B. 320, A.L. 2008 S.B. 931}
Expires 6-30-13
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND
PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION
Division 2270—Missouri Veterinary Medical Board
Chapter 1—General Rules

20 CSR 2270-1.011 Organization of Veterinary Technician Committee
PURPOSE: This rule specifies the duties of the board and describes its organization.

(1) The board may appoint a Veterinary Technician Examining Committee comprised of at least four {4)
persons, one (1) of whom shall be the executive director, who will administer the veterinary technician
examination and report the results with raw scores to the board within sixty (60) days of the examination. The
committee shall consist of two (2) currently registered veterinary technicians, two (2) members of the Missouri
Veterinary Medical Board and the executive director. The veterinary technicians shall have at least five (5) years
veterinary experience and not be associated in practice with an appointed member of the board.

(2) All members shall be appointed to serve four (4) years. The terms of the members of the Veterinary Medical
Board serving on the committee shall coincide with their terms on the board.

(3) Each member of the Veterinary Technician Examining Committee shall receive as compensation an amount
set by the board not to exceed fifty dollars ($50) for each day devoted to the affairs of the committee and shall
be entitled to reimbursement of expenses necessarily incurred in the discharge of official duties.

(4) Three (3) members of the board shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

AUTHORITY: sections 340,208 and 340.210. RSMo 2000.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-1.011. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July
8. 1993. Amended: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Cet. 30, 2004, Moved to 20 CSR 2270-1.011, effective Aug. 28, 2006,

*Urivinal authority: 340.208, RSMo 1992; and 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999,

20 CSR 2270-1.021 Fees
PURPOSE: This rule establishes the various fees authorized in Chapter 340, RSMo.

(1) The following fees are established by the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board:

(A) Veterinarians—

1. Registration Fee........ooiiiiii e $ 50,00
2. Reciprocity FEE ...oovviiii i e $150.00
3. Grade Transfer Fee .. ..vioi e $150.00
4, Faculty License Fee .......cocooiiiiiiiiii $200.00
5. Temporary or Provisional License Fee ...........ccoociiiiiiiinnin $25.00
A, Temporary or Provistonal License Extension ......................... $ 10,00
6. Annual Renewal Fee—
AL ACHVE L.ttt e et e $ 50.00
B INACHVE L.ttt ei et e e e $25.00
C.FaCUIY Loove e $50.00
7. Late Renewal Penalty Fee ... $100.00
8. Name Change Fee .....vvvniiie et e $15.00
9. Wall Hanging Replacement Fee ... $ 1500

(B) Veterinary Technicians—
1. Registration Fee ......coviviirni it $ 50.00



2. Reciprocity Fee ...t $ 50.00

3. Grade Transfer Fee ..., certieen $50.00
4. Provisional Registration Fee ..............cooiiivniiiiiiinieee $ 50.00
5. Annual Renewal Fee—
AUACHVE oo e $20.00
BiINACtVE .o $10.00
6. Late Renewal Penalty Fee ......oiviiiiininn e, $ 50.00
7.Name Change Fee ..o $15.00
8. Wall Hanging Replacement Fee .......oviviiiiiiiiiiii i $15.00
(C) Facility Permit Fee---
I. Initial Application Fee ..................... TN $100.00
2. Change of Ownership Fee ..o $100.00
3. Change of Physical Address Fee ........cocoeeviiiviiiiiiiiiin, $100.00
4. Annual Renewal Fee ..o . $25.00
5. Change in Function Fee ...........cocoiiiiiiiiiii e, $25.00
6. Change in Facility Name Fee .............oocooiiiiiii i, $25.00
7. Late Renewal Penalty Fee ..o $ 50.00
(D) Certification of Professional Corporations Fee .............c.cocooiiiiiinn, $25.00

(2) All fees, with the exception of those noted in section 340.232, RSMo, are nonrefundable.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210 and 340.232, RSMe 2000. * This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-1.021. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July
8. 1993, Amended: Filed April 14, 1994, effective Sept. 30, 1994, Amended: Filed March 10, 1995, effective Sept. 30, 1995, Amended: Filed Oct, 10,
1995, effective April 30, 1996. Amended: Filed Aug. 31, 1998, effective March 30, 1999. Amended: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct. 30, 2001.
Amended: Filed April 1, 2003, effective Sept. 30, 2003. Moved to 20 CSR 2270-1.021, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed Oct. 16, 2006, effective
April 30, 2007, Awended: Filed Aug. 21, 2007, effeciive Feb. 29, 2008. Emergency anendment filed March 23, 2009, effective April 2, 2009, expired Jan.
12, 2010. Amended: Filed March 23, 2009, effective Sept. 30, 2009. Amended: Filed Jan. 3, 2012, effective June 30, 204 2,

*Original anthority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999 and 340,232, RSMo 1992, amended 1999,

20 CSR 2270-1.031 Application Procedures

PURPOSE: This rule outlines the procedure for application for licensure as a veterinarian or registration as a veterinary
technician.

(1) Application for licensure or registration must be made on the forms provided by the board. Application
forms may be obtained by requesting them from the executive director, Missouri Veterinary Medical Board,
P.O. Box 633, Jefferson City, MO 65102,

(2) An application must be legible (printed or typed), signed, notarized and accompanied by the appropriate
fees. The fee must be in the form of a cashier’s check, personal check or money order.

(3) The following documents must be on file for an application to be considered complete:

(A) Completed application;

(B) Appropriate fee;

(C) Proof of acceptable educational credentials as evidenced by an official transcript sent directly to the board
by the school. However, if the applicant is a doctor of veterinary medicine seeking provisional licensure, a true
and accurate copy of the applicant’s diploma or a certified letter from the dean of the accredited school or
college of veterinary medicine from which the applicant graduated will be acceptable proof of educationat
credentials of said applicant for provisional licensure only;

(D) Two (2) current, standard passport photos, black and white or color, one and one-half inches by two inches
(1.5" x 2.0"), with applicant’s signature on the back of each.
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(4) All forms must be completed and received by the board by the established deadline.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210, 340,228 and 340,300, KSMo 2000.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-1.031. Original rule filed Nov. -, 1992,
effective July 8, 1993, Amended: Filed June 7. 1995, effective Dec. 30, 1995, Amended: Filed April 1, 2003, effective Sepr. 30, 2003, Amended: Filed Dec.
1, 2005, effective June 30, 2006. Moved to 20 CSR 2270-1.031, effective Auy. 28, 2006.

#Qriginal authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.228, RSMe 1992, amended 1999; und 340,300, RSMo 1992, amended 1999.

20 CSR 2270-1.040 Name and Address Changes
PURPOSE: This rule outlines the requirements for notifying the board of name and uddress changes.

(1) All indivicuals licensed as veterinarians or registered as veterinary technicians shall ensure that the
license/registration bears the current legal name of that individual.

(2) A licensee/registrant whose name is changed, within sixty (60) days of the effective change, shall—
{A) Notify the board of the change and provide a copy of the appropriate document indicating the change;
(B) Pay the name change fee prescribed in 20 CSR 2270-1.021;
(C) Request from the board a new license/registration bearing the individual’s new legal name; and
(D) Return the current license/registration and the original wall-hanging certificate bearing the former name.

(3) A licensee/registrant may request a replacement wall-hanging certificate by paying the wali-hanging
replacement fee.

(4) A licensee/registrant whose address has changed from that printed on the certificate must inform the board of
those changes by sending a letter to P.O. Box 633, Jefferson City, MO 65102 within thirty (30) days of the
effective date of the change.

AUTHORITY: section 340,210, RSMo 2000.* This rule originaily filed us 4 CSR 276-1.040. Griginal rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8 1993. Moved
10 20 CSR 2270-1.040, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed June 27, 2008, effective December 30, 2008.

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1993, 1999,

20 CSR 2270-1.050 Renewal Procedures

PURPOSE: This rule provides information ta veterinarians licensed and veterinary technicians registered in Missouri
regarding renewal of their license or certificate of registration.

(1) Definitions:

(A) “Inactive veterinarian or inactive veterinary technician” is defined as a currently licensed veterinarian or
registered veterinary technician who has signed an affidavit that s/he is not practicing or involved in any aspect,
administrative or otherwise, of veterinary medicine in Missouri as defined in section 340,200(28), RSMo;

(B) “License” shall include cettificate of registration and the term “licensee” shall include registrant; and

(C) “Retired veterinarian or veterinary technician” is defined as a veterinarian or veterinary technician who has
signed an affidavit that s/he is not practicing veterinary medicine as defined in section 340.200(28), RSMo.

(2) Renewal of an Active or Inactive License/Certificate of Registration.
(A) In order for a veterinarian to renew an active or inactive license, the licensee shall submit the following to
the board office prior to the expiration date of the license:
1. A completed and signed renewal application, which shall certify that the licensee has completed the
required number of approved continuing education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.042; and
2. The appropriate renewal fee.
(B) In order for a veterinary technician to renew the active or inactive certificate of registration, the licensee
shall submit the following to the board office prior to the expiration date of the registration:
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1. A completed and signed renewal application, which has been signed by the supervising veterinarian and
certifies that the licensee has completed the required number of approved continuing education credits in
accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.050; and

2. The appropriate renewal fee.

(C) If a veterinary technician is not employed under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian, his/her
certificate of registration will be placed on an inactive status. An inactive veterinary technician shall sign an
affidavit stating that s/he will not practice as a veterinary technician in Missouri and submit that affidavit with
the renewal application and the appropriate fee to the board office.

(D) Failure to provide the requested information will result in the renewal application being returned to the
licensee,

(E) Failure of a licensee to receive the notice and application to renew his/her licensefregistration shall not
excuse him/her from the requirements of sections 340.258 or 340.314, RSMo to renew that license/certificate of
registration.

(F) Failure to renew a license/registration, either active or inactive, within thirty (30) days of the license
renewal date shall result in the license/certificate of registration being declared noncurrent as authorized by
sections 340.258 and 340.314, RSMo.

(G) Any licensee who fails to renew his/her license/registration or whose license/certificate of registration has
been declared noncurrent shall not perform or offer to perform any act for which a license is required.

(3) Restoration of a Noncurrent License/ Certificate of Registration.

(A) Any veterinarian whose license has been declared noncurrent under section 340.262, RSMo and who
wishes to restore the license shall make application to the board by submitting the following within two (2)
years of the license renewal date:

1. An application for renewal of licensure;

2. The current renewal fee and all delinquent renewal fees as set forth in 20 CSR 2270-1.021;

3. The penalty fee as set forth in 20 CSR 2270-1.021; and

4. Certification of completion of the required number of approved continuing education credits in accordance
with 20 CSR 2270-4.042.

(B) Any veterinary technician whose registration has been declared noncurrent under section 340.320.2, RSMo
and who wishes to restore the certificate of registration shall make application to the board by submitting the
following within two (2) years of the registration renewal date:

1. An application for renewal of registration;

2. The cwrrent renewal fee and all delinquent renewal fees as set forth in 20 CSR 2270-1.021;

3. The penalty fee as set forth in 20 CSR 2270-1.021,

4. Certification of completion of the required number of approved continuing education credits in accordance
with 20 CSR 2270-4.050; and

3. Verification of employment under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian.

(4) Inactive License/Certificate of Registration.

(A) A veterinarian or veterinary technician may choose to place his/her license/registration on an inactive
status by signing an affidavit stating that s/he will not engage in the practice or be involved in any aspect,
administrative or otherwise, of veterinary medicine in Missouri and submitting that affidavit with the renewal
application and the appropriate fee to the board office. The license/certificate of registration issued to all these
applicants shall be stamped “Inactive.”

(B) In order for a veterinarian to activate an inactive license, the licensee shall submit to the board office:

1. The renewal application which shall certify that the licensee has completed the required continuing
education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.042;

2. The balance of the active renewal fee; and

3. The license stamped “Inactive.”

(C) In order for a veterinary technician to activate an inactive registration, the licensee shall submit to the
board office:

1. The renewal application which shall certify that the licensee has completed the required continuing
education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.050;
2. The balance of the active renewal fee;
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3. The license stamped “Inactive™; and
4. Verification of current employment under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian.
{D3) The board will issue an active license/certificate of registration, which shall be effective until the next
regular renewal date. No penalty fee shall apply.

{5) Retired License/Certificate of Registration,

(A) A veterinarian or veterinary technician ay place hisfher license/registration on a retired status by signing an
affidavit stating the date of retirement and submitting that affidavit with the renewal application to the board
office. No fee is required and no certificate will be issued. The retired status will prevent the license/registration
from being declared noncurrent pursuant to section 340.258.5, RSMo.

(B) If a retired veterinarian decides to again practice veterinary medicine, s/he must submit to the board office
a completed renewal application which shall certify that the licensee has completed the required continuing
education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.042 and the current renewal fee. The board will issue an
active license which shall be effective until the next regular renewal date. No penaity fee shall apply. If it has
been more than two (2) years since the retirement affidavit was submitted, evidence of ten (10) hours of
continuing education for each year of retirement must be submitted with the renewal application. The board
reserves the right pursuant to section 340.268, RSMo to direct any such applicant {o take an examination(s} to
reactivate his/her license.

{C) If a retired veterinary technician decides to again practice veterinary medicine, s/he shall submit to the
board office a completed renewal application along with the current renewal fee. The renewal application shall
verify current employment under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian and certify completion of the
required number of approved continuing education credits in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-4.050. The board
will issue an active registration which shall be effective until the next regular renewal date. No penalty fee shall
apply. The board reserves the right pursunant to section 340.268, RSMo to direct any such applicant to take an
examination(s) to reactivate his/her registration.

(D) Any retired veterinarian or veterinary technician or any veterinarian or veterinary technician with an
inactive license is not currently eligible to practice in Missouri and will be subject to disciplinary action under
sections 340.264, 340.294 and 340.330, RSMo #f sfhe practices or offers to practice in Missouri.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210 340,258, 340.314, 340.322, 340.324 and 340.326, RSMo 2000 and 340.262, 340.312 and 340.320, RSMo Supp. 2007.*
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-1.050. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993, Amended: Filed April 4, 1994, effective Sept. 30,
1994, Rescinded and readopted: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct. 30, 2001, Amended: Filed Dec. 1, 2003, effective June 30, 2006. Moved 10 20 CSR
2270-1.050, effective Aug. 28, 2000. Amended: Filed Aug. 11, 2000, effective Jan. 30, 2007 Amended: Filed June 27m 2008, effective Dec. 30, 2008.

*Original authoriyy: 340,210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.258, RSMe 1992, umended 1999: 340,262, R3Mo 1992, amended 1999, 2004;
340.312, RSMo 1992, amended 1999, 2004, 340,314, RSMo 1992, 340.320, RSMo 1992, amended 1999, 2004; 340,322, RSMo 1992, amended 1999;
340.324, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; and 340.326, RSMo 1992

20 CSR 2270-1,060 Public Records

PURPOSE: This rule establishes standards for compliance with Chapter 616}, RSMo as it relates to public records of the
Missouri Veterinary Medical Board.

(1) Ali public records of the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board shall be open for inspection and copying by the
general public at the board’s office during normal business hours, holidays excepted, except for those records
closed pursuant to section 610.021, RSMo. All public meetings of the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board, not
closed pursuant to the provisions of section 610.021, RSMo will be open to the public. Ali requests for public
records will be acted upon by the board as soon as possible but in no event later than the end of the third
business day following the date the request is received.

(2) The Missourt Veterinary Medical Board establishes the executive director of the board as the custodian of its
records as required by section 610.023, RSMo. The executive director is responsible for maintaining the board’s
records and for responding to requests for access to public records and may appoint deputy custodians as
necessary for the efficient operation of the board.
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(3) When a party requests copies of the records, the board may collect the appropriate fee for costs for
inspecting and copying the records and may require payment of the fee prior to making the records available
{see 20 CSR 2270-1.021).

(4) When the custodian believes that requested access is not allowed under Chapter 610, RSMo, the custodian,
within three (3) business days following the date the request is received, shall inform the requesting party that
compliance cannot be made, specifying what sections of Chapter 610, RSMo require that the record remain
closed. Correspondence or documentation of the denial shall be copied to the board’s general counsel. The
custodian also shall inform the requesting party that s/he may appeal directly to the board for access to the
records requested. The appeal and all pertinent information shali be placed on the agenda for the board’s next
regularly scheduled meeting. If the board reverses the decision of the custodian, the board shall direct the
custodian to advise the requesting party and supply access to the information during regular business hours at
the party’s convenience.

AUTHORITY: sections 340,210, RSMo 2000, 610.023 and 610.026, RSMo Supp. 1987.% This rule was originally filed as 4 CSR 270-1.030. This rule
previousty filed as 4 CSR 270-1.060, Original rule filed Aug. 5, 1991, effective Feb. 6, 1992, Aniended: Filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993, Moved
to 20 CSR 2270- 1060, effective Aug. 28, 20006. Amended: Filed June 27, 2008, effective Dec. 30, 2008,

*Criginal authority: 340210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 610.023, RSMo 1987, amended 1998, 2004; and 610.026, RSMo 1987, amended
1998, 2001
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND
PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION
Division 2270-—Missouri Veterinary Medical Board
Chapter 2—Licensure Requirements for Veterinarians

20 CSR 2270-2.011 Educational Requirements
PURPOSE: This rule defines the educational vequirements for an individual to be licensed as a veterinarian in Missouri.

(1) To meet the educational requirements for licensure to practice veterinary medicine in Missouri, an applicant
must have received a doctor of veterinary medicine degree or its equivalent from a university or school that is
accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA).

(2) In the alternative, an applicant must have graduated from an AVMA-listed, nonaccredited university or
school of veterinary medicine located inside or outside the United States, its territories or Canada. This degree
must be accompanied by proof satisfactory to the board that s/he has earned and currently holds an Educational
Commission of Foreign Veterinary Graduate (ECFVG) certificate provided by the AVMA or its successor.

AUTRORITY: sections 340.210, 340.228 and 340.230, RSMo 2000.% This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-2.01 1. Original rile filed Nov. 4, 1992,
effective July 8, 1993, Amended: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct. 30, 2001, Moved to 20 CSR 2270-2.011, effective Aug. 28, 2006.

*Original quthority: 346.210, RSMe 1992, amended 1993, 1993, 1999; 340.228, RSMo 1992, umended 1999; and 340.230, RSMo 1992, amended 1994,
1999,

20 CSR 2270-2.021 Internship or Veterinary Candidacy Program
PURPOSE: This rule describes the postgraduate internship program required for licensure as a veterinarian,

(1) All applicants for licensure by examination shall complete a three hundred twenty (320) hour postgraduate
internship or veterinary candidacy program under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian in good standing or
demonstrate the practice of veterinary medicine without encumbrance in another state or jurisdiction at least
twelve (12) months prior to application for licensure in Missouri. To be in good standing the veterinarian’s
license(s) must be current and unencumbered. The postgraduate internship or veterinary candidacy program may
be completed in any state, territory or district of the United States or Canada. The postgraduate internship or
veterinary candidacy program located outside the United States must be approved by the board. The applicant
must submit a request for approval in writing and provide the credentials of the supervising veterinarian.

(2) The supervising veterinarian shall submit an evaluation form stating that the applicant has satisfactorily
completed the internship or veterinary candidacy program. The form is available upon request from the
executive director, Missouri Veterinary Medical Board, P.O. Box 633, Jefferson City, MO 65102,

(3) The purpose of the internship or veterinary candidacy program is to provide the applicant with at least three
hundred twenty (320) hours of work experience, with a maximum daily accumulation of 12 hours, in veterinary
medicine under supervision prior to licensure. This practice shall inciude, at a minimum, diagnosis, treatment,
surgery and practice management.

(4) An applicant may complete the internship or veterinary candidacy program under a provisional license at any
time after graduation. Sthe may take the examinations for licensure prior to the internship or veterinary
candidacy program.

(5) Completion of a student preceptor program which is recognized and approved by the board prior to
graduation may be substituted for the internship or veterinary candidacy program. The board shall have the sole
discretion as to whether or not the preceptor program will qualify in lieu of the internship or veterinary
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candidacy program. This program shall be defined by the curriculum of the velerinary schoo! or university and
must include a minimum of three hundred twenty (320) hours of work experience in the following areas:
diagnosis, treatment, surgery and practice management. The student preceptor program may not begin before the
start of the student’s third year and must be completed prior to the date of graduation or demonstration that the
applicant has practiced in another state or jurisdiction for the preceding twelve (12) months prior to application
for licensure in Missouri and that the applicant’s license(s}) in another state or jurisdiction has never been the
subject of any disciplinary action. A student preceptor program located outside the United States nust be pre-
approved by the board. The applicant must submit a request for approval in writing and provide the credentials
of the supervising veterinarian.

(6) Any school or university that wishes to submit a student preceptorship program for board approval shall send
a photocopy of the description of the program from the veterinary school’s curriculum to the board office.

(7) For a student preceptorship to qualify in lieu of an internship or a veterinary candidacy program, an
evaluation form must be submitted to the board office. The form is available upon request from the executive
director, Missouri Veterinary Medical Board, P.O. Box 633, Jefferson City, MO 65102.

AUTHORITY: sections 340,200 and 340.246, RSMo Supp. 2007 and section 340,210, RSMeo 2000.% This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-2.021.
Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, offective June 1, 1994, Amended: Filed July 23, 1993, effective March 10, 1994, Amended: Filed April 13, 2001, effective
Oct. 30, 2000 Amended: Filed June 28, 2002, effective Dec. 30, 2002, Moved 10 20 CSR 2270-2.021, effective Ang. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed May 14,
2007, effective Nov, 30, 2007, Amended: Filed July 9, 2008, effective Jan. 30, 2009,

#O0riginal anthority: 340.200, RSMp 1992, amended 1999, 2004; 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1993, 1999; and 340,246, RSMu 1992, amended
1999, 2004.

20 CSR 2270-2.031 Examinations
PURPOSE: This rule describes the examination and passing scores required for licensure as a veterinarian.

(1) All applicants for licensure as veterinarians in Missouri shall take both—
(A) The North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE).
1. The deadline for applying to take the NAVLE shall be August 1 and January 3 prior to each test window;
and
(B) The Missouri State Board Examination,
1. The deadline for applying to take the Missouri State Board Examination shall be sixty (60) days prior to
the scheduled date of examination.

(2) Applicants shall submit—
{A) The application for licensure and the registration fee to the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board;
(B) The NAVLE application and fee directly to the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
(NBVME); and
(C) The fee for the Missouri State Board Examination to the board’s designated testing agency.

(3) The passing score on the NAVLE shall be the minimum criterion referenced score as provided by the testing
agency. The passing score on the Missouri State Board Examination shall be seventy percent (70%).

(4) The requirements for transfer of the NAVLE scores are described under section 340.234, RSMo.

(5) The NAVLE and the Missouri State Board Examinations will be administered at least once each year,
Veterinary students within six (6) months of graduation may apply to take all of the required exams. However,
no license will be issued until an official certified transcript verifying receipt of the degree in veterinary
medicine is received by the board office sent by the degree-granting institution. It shall be the student’s
responsibility to arrange with the school or university for the transmitting of the official transeript to the board
office.
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(6) All applicants for veterinary ficensure in Missouri shall take the Missouri State Board Examination and may
be requested to meet with the board. In order to qualify for licensure, a passing score on the Missouri State
Board Examination must have been received within two (2} years of issuance of the license.

AUTHORITY: section 340.210, RSMea 2000, and section 340.234, RSMo Supp. 2011.% This rule ariginally filed as 4 CSR 270-2,631. Qriginal rule filed
Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8. 1993, Amended; Filed April 14, 1994, effective Sept. 30, 1994, Aniended: Filed July 31, 2000, effective Jan. 30, 2001.
Muoved 1o 20 CSR 2270-2.031, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed Mayv 14, 2007, effective Nov. 30, 2007. Amended: Filed Nov. 21, 2008, effective
May 30, 2009. Amended: Filed Jun.

3, 2042, effective June 30, 2012,

*Original anthority: 340,210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999 and 340,234, RSMa 992, amended 1998, 20006.

20 CSR 2270-2.041 Reexamination
PURPOSE: This rule outlines the requivenients and procedures for retaking the licensure examination for veterinarians.

(1} Any applicant who fails an examination for licensure as a veterinarian may be reexamined by making
application to the board office and paying the appropriate nonrefundable examination fee and registration fee
and provide two (2) additional photographs. The deadline for applying to retake the North American Veterinary
Licensing Examination (NAVLE) shall be August | and January 3 prior to each test window and the Missouri
State Board Examination shall be thirty (30) days prior to the scheduled examinations.

(2) Applicants shall submit—
(A) The application for licensure and the registration fee to the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board,
(B) The NAVLE application and fee directly to the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
(NBVME); and
(C) The fee for the Missouri State Board Examination to the board’s designated testing agency.

(3) Effective August 28, 1999, no person may take any examination more than four (4) times either in or out of
Missouri to qualify for licensure in Missouri. Prior to making application for the fourth attempt at passage of the
examination, the applicant shall schedule an appearance with the board to outline a continuing education
program which shall be board-approved and completed prior to filing an application for the subsequent
examination,

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210 and 340.232,RSMo 2000.* This rule orighially filed as 4CSR 270-2.041. Original rule file Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8,
1993, Amended: Filed April 14, 1994, effective Sept. 30, 1994.Aniended: Filed July 31, 2000, effective Jan.30, 2004, Moved to 20 CSR 2270-.041.effective
Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed Nov.21, 2008, effective May 30, 2009. Amended: Filed Jan. 3, 2012, effective June 30, 2012,

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999 and 340,232, RSMo 1992, amended1999.

20 CSR 2270-2.051 Licensure (Exception)

PURPOSE: This rule provides for an exception to the requirements of licensure for university veterinary school or college
Jaculty members who are graduates of non-American Veterinary Medical Association accredited universities and who do
not have an Educational Commission of Foreign Veterinary Graduate certificate but are American Veterinary Medical
Association board-certified.

(1) Faculty members at an American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA)-accredited college or university
who are AVMA board-certified but did not graduate from an AVMA-accredited college of veterinary medicine
may apply to the board for a veterinary license under the following conditions:

(A) Achieving a passing score as defined in 20 CSR 2270-2.031 on the North American Veterinary Licensing
Examination (NAVLE) and Missouri State Board examinations; and

(B} Submitting a letter from the AVMA certification board verifying the applicant’s certification and stating
the specialty in which the applicant is certified and the date it was granted.
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(2) A license issued under this rule shail restrict the licensee to practice only within the university setting where
s/he is employed as a member of the faculty and only in the specialty area listed on his/her board certificate.

AUTHORITY: sections 340,210, 340.216 and 340,230 RSMo 2000, % This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-2.051. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992,
effective July 8, 1993, Amended: Filed April 1, 2003, effective Sept, 30, 2003, Moved to 20 CSR 2270-2.051, effective Aug. 28. 2006, Amended: Filed
June 27, 2008, effective Dec. 30, 2008.

*Original awthorivy: 340,210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.216, RSMo 1992, amended 1999: und 340.230, RSMo 1992, amended 1994,
1999,

20 CSR 2270-2.052 Faculty Licensure

PURPOSE: This rule establishes a restricted veterinary license for faculty at the University of Missouri College of
Veterinary Medicine.

(1) The board may issue a veterinary facuity license to any qualified applicant associated with the University of
Missouri-Columbia, College of Veterinary Medicine, and involved in the instructional program of either
undergraduate or graduate veterinary medical students, In order to qualify for a faculty license, the applicant
must:

(A) Demonstrate ability to communicate in and understand written and spoken English; and

(B) Have been actively engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine for at least five (5) consecutive years
immediately prior to making application in Missouri. “Actively engaged,” shall mean that the applicant has
regularly and consistently practiced veterinary medicine. The Board may request the applicant produce records
demonstrating the regular and consistent practice of veterinary medicine; or

(C) Have completed an internship at an American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) accredited
veterinary school. :

(2) All applicants for this faculty license shall:

(A) Provide for the board a transcript or diploma demonstrating graduation from a reputable veterinary
program;

(B) Schedule an appearance before the board prior to the issuance of a license; and

{C) Take and pass the State Board Examination.

(3) A faculty license does not meet the requirements of licensure for federal accreditation with the United States
Department of Agriculture (USDA) or deputyship with the Missouri Department of Agriculture.

(4) A license issued under this rule shall restrict the licensee to practice only within the university setting where
s/he is employed as a member of the faculty. The setting shall include only the university buildings and the large
animal ambulatory facility.

(5) A license issued under this rule shall expire upon termination of the licensee’s employment by the university.
The licensee shall notify the board immediately upon termination of his/her employment.

(6) The applicant shall submit the registration fee, the state board examination fee and the restricted license fee.
(7) All licenses issued under this rule shall have the word “Faculty” on them.
(8) Faculty licenses shall be renewed annually by submitting the renewal application and fee.

(9) Unless otherwise specified, all provisions of Chapter 340, RSMo, and its rules, shall apply to individuals
applying or licensed under this rule.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210 and 340.247, RSMo 2000. % This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-2.052. Original rule filed Oct. 10, 1995, effective April
30, 1996. Amended: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct. 30, 2001. Moved 10 20 CSR 2270-2.032, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed Oct. 30, 2007,
effective April 30, 2008.
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*Originat thority: 340,210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; and 340.247, RSMo 1999,

20 CSR 2270-2.060 Reciprocity
PURPOSE: This rule provides information to those desiring licensure by reciprocity.

(1) To be licensed by reciprocity, section 340.238, RSMo, requires an applicant to have been actively engaged
in the practice of the profession in another state, territory, district or province of the United States or Canada for
at least five (5) consecutive years immediately prior to making application in Missouri,

(A) For the purposes of reciprocity, the term “actively engaged” shall mean that the applicant has regularly and
consistently practiced veterinary medicine. Whether or not the board requires examinations, and what
examinations may be required in a particular case, may be determined by the information provided on the
application, or the board may request the applicant produce records demonstrating the regular and consistent
practice of veterinary medicine.

(B) For the purposes of this rule, the term “immediately prior” shall mean that the five (5) consecutive years
ended within the one (1) year before applying for licensure in Missouri,

(2) The standards for admission to practice veterinary medicine of the state, territory, district or province of the
United States or Canada in which the applicant is currently licensed were equal to or more stringent than the
requirements for initial registration in Missouri at the time of the applicant’s initial registration.

(3) The applicant shali—

(A) Complete an application form provided by the board (see 20 CSR 2270-1.031) which shall include a
complete listing of all locations of all previous places of practice and licensure in chronological order;

(B) Submit the nonrefundable reciprocity fee and registration fee;

(C) Request the licensing authority in each state in which the applicant has ever been licensed to submit a
Verification Request Form (see 20 CSR 2270-1.031) which is available from the board;

(D) Request the national testing service to send evidence that the applicant has taken and received a passing
score on both the National Board Examination and Clinical Competency Test or the North American Veterinary
Licensing Examination (NAVLE). Effective August 28, 1999, no person may take any examination more than
four (4) times either in or out of Missouri to qualify for licensure in Missouri; and

(E) Successfully complete the State Board Examination administered by the board.

(4) Following the review process, the applicant will be informed by letter that licensure by reciprocity has been
approved or denied. The denial letter will identify the reason(s) for denial and the appeal process.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210, 340,228, 340,232, and 340.238, RSMo 2000, and section 340,234, RSMo Supp. 2012. * This rule originally filed us 4
CSR 270-2.060. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993. Amended: Filed Oct. 10, 1995, effective April 30, 1996. Amended: Filed July 31,
2001}, effective Jan. 30, 2001. Maved to 20 CSR 2270-2.060, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed Oct. 30, 2007, effective April 30, 2008. Amended:
Filed June 27, 2008, effective Dec. 30, 2008. Amended: Filed Jan. 10, 2013, effective July 30, 2013,

*Original authoriry: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.228, RSMu 1992, amended 1999; 340.232, RSMo 1992, amended 1999;
340.234, RSMo 1992, amended 1999, 2006, and 340.238, RSMe 1992, amended 1999,

20 CSR 2270-2.070 Provisional Licenses
PURPOSE: This rule provides the procedures and requirements for obtaining a provisional license in Missouri.

(1) A provisional license may be issued pursuant to section 340.246, RSMo to a qualified applicant for licensure
pending examination results and completion of the internship or veterinary candidacy program, if the applicant
meets the requirements for licensure and provided that the applicant is working under the supervision of a
licensed veterinarian in good standing. The applicant must submit the following:

(A) An application for both permanent and provisional licensure provided by the board;

(B) All nonrefundable license fees; and
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(C) A statement signed by a licensed veterinarian in good standing that the applicant shall be working under
the supervision of that veterinarian. To be in good standing the veterinarian’s license(s) must be current and
unencumbered. This supervision shall be consistent with the delegated animal health care task.

(2) A provisional license issued based on section (1) shall expire in one (1) year or sooner if the applicant
becomes permanently licensed. A provisional license cannot be renewed.

(3) The provisional license will be sent to the supervisor.

{(4) The supervisor identified on the provisional license application is responsible for the provisional licensee
and shall notify the board within ten (10} days if the employment ceases at the place of employment designated
on the provisional license.

(5) Only one (1) provisional license may be issued to any person at the same time.

(6) Provisional licensees are subject to the requirements of Chapter 340, RSMo and these rules,

AUTHORITY: sections 340,210, 346.240 and 340.250, RSMo 2000.% This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-2.070. Original rule filed Nov, 4., 1992,
effective July 8, 1993, Amended: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct. 30, 2001. Moved 10 20 CSR 2270-2.070, effective Aug. 28, 26006. Amended: Filed Oct.
30, 2007, effective April 30, 2008.

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMe 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.246, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; 340,250, RSMo 1992, amended 1999,

20 CSR 2270-2.071 Temporary Licenses

PURPOSE: This rule provides the procedures and requirements for obtaining a temporary license in Missouri. This rule
also implements Senate Bill 424 of the 90th General Assembly, which made various changes to Chapter 340.

(1) Pursuant to section 340.248, RSMo, a temporary license may be issued to a licensed veterinarian of another
state who is not under discipline or investigation by that state, for the exclusive purpose of providing veterinary
medical services for a specific animal owner in Missouri. The applicant shall submit the following:

(A) An application provided by the board which must clearly identify the name of the specific animal owner,
and

(B) The nonrefundable temporary license fee.

(2) A temporary license issued based on section (1) shall expire in one hundred twenty (120) days. Upon
request, it may be renewed one time for an additional ninety (90) days upon approval by the board and payment
of the required fee.

(3) Only one (1) temporary license may be issued to any person at the same time.

(4) Temporary licensees are subject to the requirements of Chapter 340, RSMo and these rules.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210, 340.248 and 340.250, RSMo 2000.* This rule originally filed us 4 CSR 270-2,071. Original rule filed April 13, 2001
effective Oct. 30, 2001. Moved to 20 CSR 2270-2.071, effective Aug. 28, 2006.

*Original authority: 340210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340,248, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; and 340.250, RSMo 1992, amended 1999,
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20 CSR 2270-2.072 Temporary Courtesy License

PURPOSE: This rule states the requirements and procedures for a nonresident spouse of an active duty member of the
military who is transferred to this state in the course of the member’s military duty to obtain a temporary courtesy license
to practice veteringry medicine for one hundred eighty (180} days.

(1) The board shall grant a temporary courtesy license to practice veterinary medicine without examination to a
“nonresident military spouse” as defined in section 324.008.1., RSMo, who provides proof that such applicant’s
qualifications meet or are at least equivalent to the requirements for initial licensure in this state and who
provides the board the following:

(A) A completed application form;

(B) A non-refundable application fee, as established by the board pursuant to rule, made payable to the board;

(C) Verification sent directly to the board from the state, district, or territory from where the applicant holds a
current and active license verifying that the applicant holds a current and active license;

(D) Proof that the applicant has been engaged in active practice in the state, district, or territory of the United
States in which the applicant is currently licensed for at least two (2) years in the five (§) years immediately
preceding this application;

(E) Verification sent directly to the board from the state, district, or territory of the United States in which the
applicant was initially licensed verifying that—

1. The applicant is, or was at the time of licensure, in good standing;

2. The applicant has not committed an act in any jurisdiction that would have constituted grounds for the
refusal, suspension, or revocation of a license or certificate to practice at the time the act was committed; and

3. The applicant has not been disciplined by a licensing or credentialing entity in another jurisdiction and is
not the subject of an unresolved complaint, review procedure, or disciplinary proceeding by a licensing or
credentialing entity in another jurisdiction;

(F) If the board is unable to determine if the licensing requirements of the state, district, or territory in which the
applicant was initially licensed are equivalent to Missouri’s licensing requirements, the applicant shall submit
documentation regarding the licensing requirements equivalency;

(G) Any person applying for temporary licensure as a veterinarian, shall be required to take and pass the State
Board Examination related to the practice of veterinary medicine; and

(H) Such additional information as the board may request fo determine eligibility for a temporary courtesy
license.

AUTHORITY: section 324.008.1.. RSMo Supp. 2012.% Original rule filed Sepr. 18, 2012, effective March 30, 2013,

*Original anthority: 324.008, RSMo 2011
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND
PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION
Division 2270—Missouri Veterinary Medical Board
Chapter 3—Registration Requirements for Veterinary Technicians

20 CSR 2270-3.011 Registration Requirements
PURPOSE: This rule defines the requirements for a veterinary technician registration.

(1) To meet the educational requirements to be registered as a veterinary technician, an applicant must have
successfully completed a—
(A) College level course of study in veterinary technology in a school having a curriculum approved by the

board; or
(B) Post-high school college level course in the care and treatment of animals which is accredited by the

American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA),

(2) In order to be approved by the board the curricutum described in section (1) shall be substantially equal to
the curriculum accredited by the AVMA.

(3) Tt shall be the student’s responsibility to have the school transmit directly to the board, a copy of the
curriculum and a statement substantiating the equivalency to the AVMA accreditation standards, The board
shall have the sole discretion of whether or not to approve the curriculum.,

(4) The board shall notify the applicant by letter concerning the approval of the curriculum. If it is not approved,
the letter will identify the reason(s).

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210, RSMo Supp. 1993 and 340.300, RSMo Supp. 1992.% This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-3.011. Qriginal rule filed
Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993. Moved 1o 20 CSR 2270-3.04 |, effective Aug. 28, 2006.

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993 and 340,308, RSMo 1992,

20 CSR 2270-3.020 Examinations
PURPQOSE: This rule describes the examinations required for registration as a veterinary technician.

(1) Ali applicants for registration as a veterinary technician in Missouri shall take both—
{A) The Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE).
1. The deadline for applying to take the VTNE shall be fifteen (15) days prior to the date set by the American
Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB); and
(B} The Missouri State Board Examination.
1. The deadline for applying to take the State Board Examination shall be sixty (60) days prior to the
scheduied date of the examination.

(2) Applicants shall submit—
(A) The application for registration and fee to the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board;
(B) The VTNE application an: ¢ directly to the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB);

and
(C) The fee for the Missouri Siute Board Examination to the board’s designated testing agency,

(3) The passing score on the VTNE shall be the minimum criterion referenced score of four hundred twenty-five
(425). The passing score shall be seventy percent (70%}) correct on the Missouri State Board Examination for
the issuance of a registration in this state.
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(4) The VTNE and the Missouri State Board Examination shall be administered at least once cach year,

(5) Effective December 31, 2010, an applicant may apply for the examinations during his/her final semester of
college, however, to be eligible to sit for the VTNE, the applicant must provide official documentation from the
coltege verifying to the board that the applicant has graduated. However, no certificate of registration will be
issued until an official transcript verifying receipt of the degree is received by the board office sent directly by
the degree-granting institution. It shall be the applicant’s responsibility to arrange with the school or college for
the transmitting of the official transcript to the board office.

(6) Any applicant who fails either of the required examinations for registration as a veterinary technician may
retake the failed examination(s) by notifying the board office and paying the appropriate nonrefundable
examination fee and registration fee no less than sixty (60) days prior to the scheduled examination. Test scores
are valid and will be accepled by the board for a period not to exceed five (5) years.

(7) Effective August 28, 1999, no person may take either examination more than four (4) times either in or owt
of Missouri to qualify for registration in Missouri. Prior to making application for the fourth attempt at passage
of an examination, the applicant shall schedule an appearance with the board to outline a continuing education
program, which shall be board-approved and completed prior to filing application for the subsequent
examination.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210, 340,300, 340.302, and 340,308, RSAMo 2000.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-3.020. Original rule filed Nov. 4,
1992, effective July 8, 1993. Amended: Filed April 14, 1994, effective Sept. 30, 1994. Amended: Filed March 10, 1995, effective Sept. 30, 1995, Amended:
Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct.30, 2001. Moved to 200 CSR 2270-3.020, effective Aug. 28, 2000. Amended: Filed April 8, 2009, effective Sepi. 30, 2009,
Amended: Filed Jan. 3, 20012, effective June 30, 2012,

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340,300, RSMo 1992, amended 1999;340.302, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; and
240308, RSMo 1992, amended 1999.

20 CSR 2270-3.030 Reciprocity
PURPOSE: This rule provides information to those desiring registration by reciprocity.

(1) To be registered by reciprocity, an applicant shall—

(A} Have been employed as a registered veterinary technician and supervised by a licensed veterinarian for at
least five {5) consecutive years preceding his/her application to practice in Missouri; and

(B) Be currently registered in another state, territory, district, or province of the United Siates or Canada
having standards for admission substantially the same as the standards in Missouri, and that the standards were
in effect at the time the applicant was first admitted to practice in the other state, territory, district, or province of
the United States or Canada.

(2} The applicant shall—

(A) Complete an application form provided by the board which shall include a complete employment history;
(B) Submit the nonrefundable reciprocity fee and registration fee;

(C) Request the licensing authority in each state in which the applicant has ever been registered to submit a
Verification Request Form which is available from the board office; and

(D) Request the national testing service to send evidence that the applicant has taken the Veterinary Technician
National Examination (VTNE) and received a passing score as defined in 20 CSR 2270-3.020. Effective August
28, 1999, no person may take any examination more than four (4) times either in or out of Missouri to qualify
for licensure in Missouri.

(3) Following the review process, the applicant will be informed by letter that registration by reciprocity has
been approved or denied. The denial letter will identify the reason(s) for denial and the appeal process.

(4) If an applicant does not qualify for registration by reciprocity because the other state’s requirements are not
substantially equal to Missouri’s, sthe may request the board to transfer his/her VTNE score. The applicant shall
50



provide satisfactory proof that the exam was taken within five (5) years of the date of the application and that
s’/he completed the VINE with a score at least equal to the passing score required for registration in Missourt,

(5) Grade score transfer applicants will be required to take the Missouri State Board Examination,

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210, 340.238 ,340.300, and 340.302, RSMo 2000, and sections 340.234 and 340.306, RSMo Supp.2012.% This rule originally
fited as 4 CSR 270-3.030, Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993, Amended: Filed March 10. 1995, effective Sept. 30, 1995. Amended:
Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct, 30, 2001, Moved 10 20 CSR 2270-3.030, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed June 27, 2008, effective Dec. 30,
2008, Amended: Filed Jan. 10, 2013, effective Julv 30, 2013,

*Qriginal anthority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340234, RSMo 1992, amended 1999, 2006, 340.238, RSMo 1992, amended 1999;
340,360, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; 341,302, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; and 340.306, RSMo 1992, amended 1999, 2004,

20 CSR 2270-3.040 Temporary Registration for Veterinary Technicians
PURPQOSE: This rule describes the requirements and procedures for getting a temporary registration for veterinary technicians.

(1) A temporary registration may be issued to a qualified applicant for registration pending examination results
if the applicant meets the requirements for registration and provided that the applicant is working under the
supervision of a licensed veterinarian in good standing. The applicant shall sabmit the following:

(A) An application provided by the board;

(B) The nonrefundable temporary registration fee; and

(C) A statement signed by a licensed veterinarian in good standing that the applicant shall be working under
the supervision of that veterinarian. To be in good standing the veterinarian’s license(s) must be current and
unencumbered. This supervision shall be consistent with the delegated animal health care task.

(2) The supervisor identified on the temporary registration application is responsible for the temporary registrant
and shall notify the board within ten (10) days if the employment ceases at the place of employment on the
temporary certificate of registration.

(3) A temporary registration shall expire in one (1) year or sooner if the applicant becomes permanently
registered, A temporary registration cannot be renewed.

(4) Temporary registrants are subject to the requirements of Chapter 340, RSMo and these rules.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210, 340.240 and 340.298, RSMo 2000.% This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-3.040. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992,
effective July 8, 1993. Awiended: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct, 30, 2001. Maved to 20 CSR 2270-3.040, effective Aug. 28, 2006,

*Original authority: 340,210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.246, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; and 340,298, RSMo 1992.

20 CSR 2270-3.050 Animal Health Care Tasks

PURPOSE: This rule describes the delegated animal health care rasks thar veterinary technicians may perform and the
level of supervision required for each.

(1) Unless specifically so provided by regulation, a registered veterinary technician shall not perform the
following functions or any other activity which represents the practice of veterinary medicine or requires the
knowledge, skili and training of a licensed veterinarian;

(A) Surgery;

(B) Diagnosis and prognosis of animal diseases; and

(C) Prescription of drugs, medicines or appliances.

(2) A registered veterinary technician in a veterinary or animal hospital or clinic setting may perform the
following procedures under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian when done so pursuant to the order,
control and full professional responsibility of the licensed veterinarian:
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(A) Application of casts and splints; and
(B) Placement of indwelling intravenous catheters.

(3) Subject to the provisions of section (1), registered veterinary technicians in a veterinary or animal hospital or
clinic setting may perform under the direct or indirect supervision of a licensed veterinarian other auxiliary
animal health care tasks when done pursuant to the order, control and full professional responsibility of a
licensed veterinarian.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210 and 340.296, RSMo Supp. 1993.% This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-3.05(, Original rule filed Nov. 4. 1992, effective
July 8, 1993, Moved 1o 20 CSR 2270-3.050, effective Aug. 28, 2006.

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, anended 1993 and 340,296, RSMo 1992,
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND
PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION
Division 2270—Missouri Veterinary Medical Board
Chapter 4—Minimum Standards

20 CSR 2270-4.011 Minimum Standards for Veterinary Facilities

PURPOSE: This rule defines the minimum standards for veterinary hospitals and clinics, central hospitals, satellite out-
patient or mobile small animal clinics and large animal mobile clinics.

(1) All permitted facilities where veterinary medicine is being practiced, and all instruments, apparatus and
apparel used in connection with the practice of veterinary medicine, shall be kept clean and sanitary at all times
and shall conform to the minimum standards specified for different types of facilities. The ownership of the
veterinary practice shall conform in all ways to the requirements of section 340.226, RSMo. Additionally, all
permitted facilities shatl have:

(A) An adequate library of textbooks or current journals;

(B) Proper storage and environmental control for all medicines and biologics based on the manufacturer’s
recommendations;

(C) Appropriate current licenses and permits conspicuously displayed; and

(D) Properly maintained records.

(2) Veterinary Hospitals or Clinics.
(A) Exterior,

t. Legible sign.

2, Facility clean and in good repair.

3. Grounds clean and well maintained.

(B) Interior.

L. Indoor lighting for halls, wards, reception areas, examining and surgical rooms shall be adequate for the
iniended purpose. All surgical rooms shall be provided with emergency lighting,

2., Hot and cold running water.

3. A reception area and office, or a combination of the two (2).

4 An examination room separate from other areas of the facility and of sufficient size to accommodate the
doctor, assistant, patient and client.

5. A designated surgery room(s) not accessible to the general public,

6. Facility permit conspicuously displayed. '

7. Veterinary license and veterinary technician registration conspicuously displayed.

(C) Housing. In those veterinary hospitals and clinics where animals are retained for treatment or
hospitalization, the following shall be provided:

1. Separate compartments of adequate size, one for each animal, maintained in a sanitary manner;

2. Facilities allowing for the effective separation of contagious and noncontagious cases;

3. Exercise areas which provide and allow effective separation of animals and their waste products. Where
animals are kept in clinics for twenty-four (24) hours or more, walking the animal meets this requirement. The
exercise areas are to be kept clean; and

4. An animal identification systen.

(D) Practice Management,

I. Veterinary facilities shall maintain a sanitary environment to avoid sources and transmission of infection.
This is to include the proper routine disposal of waste materials and proper sterilization or sanitation of all
equipment used in diagnosis or treatment,

2. Fire precautions shall meet the requirements of local and state fire prevention codes.

3. The temperature and ventilation of the facility shall be maintained so as to assure the reasonable comfort
of all patients.
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4, The velerinary facility must have the capacity to render adequate diagnostic radiological services, either in
the hospital or clinic or through other commercial facilities. If radiological services are provided through other
commercial facilities, a written agreement to provide these services must exist. Radiological procedures shall be
in accordance with federal and state public health standards.

5. Laboratory and pharmaceutical facilities must be available either in the hospital or clinic or through
commercial lacilities.

6. Sanitary methods for the disposal of deceased animals shall be provided and maintained. Where the owner
of a deceased animal has not given the veterinarian authorization to dispose of his/her animal, the veterinarian
shall be required to comply with section 340.288, RSMo.

(E) Equipment Requirements.
. Sterilization of all appropriate equipment is required.
. A library of textbooks or current journals shalf be available on the premises for ready reference.
. Anesthetic equipment appropriate for the level of surgery performed will be available at all times.
. Oxygen equipment will be available at all times.
. Surgeons and assistants shall wear clean attire and sterile gloves for any clean and sterile procedures.

6. Surgical packs shall be used and properly sterilized for all accepted sterile surgical procedures. Surgical
packs include drapes, gloves, sponges and proper instnimentation.

7. Examination and treatment rooms shall be equipped with waste receptacles, disposable towels and
examination tables with impervious surfaces.

8. Proper storage and environmental control will be available for all medicines and biologics based on the
manufacturer’s recommendations.

9. All waste receptacles, other than those in areas where animals will not be housed, treated or examined, wil
be lined with plastic or made of an impervious material (rubber/plastic) that is easily sanitized,

N D B e

(3) Central hospital shall meet the same minimum standards as a veterinary hospital or clinic and shall also
provide on premises twenty-four (24)-hour nursing care, specialty consultation on a permanent or on-call basis
and be capable of rendering the following major medical and surgical services:

{A) Intensive care unit;

(B) Laboratory facilities;

(C) Radiological services;

(D) Cardiac monitoring; and

(E) Postitive ventilation gas anesthesia.

(4) Satellite or Out-Patient Clinic,
(A) These clinics shall be owned by or associated with a permitted full-service veterinary hospital or clinic or a
central hospital. .
{B) At a minimum, these clinics shall have-—
. Hot and cold running water;
. A one hundred ten (110) volt power source for diagnostic equipment;
. A collection tank for disposal of waste material;
. Adequate lighting;
. Table tops and counter tops, such as formica or stainless steel, which can be cleaned and disinfected,;
. Fioor coverings which can be cleaned and disinfected;
. Adequate heating, cooling and ventilation;
. All necessary equipment compatible with the services rendered; and
. Separate compartments when it is necessary fo hold animals.
(C) These clinics also shall comply with the sanitary and sterilization provisions of 4 CSR 270-4.011(2).

O 00 =1 OV L B RO e

(5) Mobile Small Animal Clinic.
{A) These clinics shall be owned by or associated with a permitted full-service veterinary hospital or clinic or a
central hospital.
(B) These clinics shall be maintained in a clean fashion.
(C) At a minimurm, these clinics shall have——
1. A method for disposal of waste materials;
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2. A procedure for disposal of deceased animals;
3. The capability to sterilize or sanitize equipment;
4. Surgical packs; and

5. Separate compartments to transport animals.

{6) Large Animal Mobhile Clinic,

(A) These clinics shall be maintained in a clean fashion.

(B) The vehicle shall contain those items of equipment that are necessary for the veterinarian to perform
physical examinations, surgical procedures and medical treatments consistent with the standards of the
profession and the type of veterinary services being rendered. Standard items equipping the unit should include,
but not be limited to, the following:

1. If sterile surgery is to be performed, sterile surgical instruments, suturing materials, syringes and needles
should be carried;

2. Protective clothing, rubber or disposable boots and a means to clean them between each visit to each
premises as the disease warrants;

3. Current and properly stored pharmaceuticals and biologicals;

4. A means of cold sterilization; and

5. Obstetrical sleeves for rectal palpation which shall be cleaned and sanitized between each premises, If
disposable sieeves are used, a new sleeve shall be used at each premises.

(7) Specialty Facilities,

{A) An application for a facility permit to practice veterinary medicine appropriately limited to proceduses
such as training, rehabilitation, and other modalities not requiring facilities otherwise permitted by the board,
shall be submitted in writing and include:

1. A description of the procedures to be utilized;

2. The classes of practitioners who will practice in the facility;
3. The design of the facility, and

4. The location of the facility.

(B) Specialty facilities shall comply with all applicable building codes and zoning reguiations.

(C) The name of the facility shall be prominentty displayed.

(D) The name of the veterinarian responsible for the facility shall be legibly posted on the sign.

(E) The facility shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary manner.

() The practice of the facility shall be strictly limited to that approved by the board, except in an emergency.
Such emergencies shall be reported to the board in writing within 72 hours of the occurrence.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210, 340.224 and 340.264, RSMo 2000.% This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-4.01 1. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992,
effective July 8, 1993, Amended: Filed April 14, 1994, effective Sept, 30, 1994, Amended; Filed Dec. 1, 2005, effective June 30, 2606. Moved o 20 CSR
2270-4.01 1, effective Aug. 28, 2000. Amended: Files May 14,2 007, effective Nov. 30, 2007.

*Criginal authority: 340,210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.224, RSMo 1992; and 340.264, RSMo 1992, 1999,

20 CSR 2270-4.021 Minimum Standards for Emergency Clinics/Services
PURPQSE: This rule defines the minimum standards for emergency clinics and services.

(1) Emergency clinics are facilities which advertise or otherwise purport to provide veterinary medical services
on a twenty-four (24)-hour basis or during periods when these services are not normally available through other
facilities. Nothing contained in this rule is intended to prohibit any permitted facility from providing services of
an emergency nature.

{(2) The minimum staffing requirements for an emergency facility shall include a licensed veterinarian on the
premises at all times during the posted hours of operation.

(3) Advertisements for emergency facilities shall clearly state—-
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(A) A licensed veterinarian is on the premises during the posted emergency hours;
{B) The hours the facility will provide emergency service; and
{C) The address and telephone number of the facility.

(4) Medical Records.
(A) When continuing care of the patient is required following emergency clinic service, the animal owner shall
be provided with a tegible copy of the medical record to be transferred to the next attending veterinarian.
(B) The minimum information included in the medical record shall consist of the following:
1. Physical examination findings;
2. Dosages and time of administration of medications;
3. Copies of diagnostic data or procedures;
4. All radiographs, for which the facility shall obtain a signed relcase when transferred;
5. Surgical summary;
6. Tentative diagnosis and prognosts; and
7. Follow-up recommendations.

(5) Equipment. In addition to the equipment for veterinary hospitals and clinics, all emergency facilities also
shall have the equipment necessary fo perform standard emergency medical procedures, including, but not
limited to:

(A) The capacity to render timely and adequate diagnostic radiologic services on premises;

(B) The capacity to render timely and adequate laboratory services; and

(C) The ability to provide diagnostic cardiac monitoring.

AUTHORITY: section 340.210. RSMo Supp.1993.% This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-4.021. Original yule filed Nov. 4, 1992 effective July 8, 1993.
Moved to 20 CSR 2270-4.021, effective Aug. 28, 2006,

*Original autharity: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993,

20 CSR 2270-4.031 Minimum Standards for Practice Techniques
PURPOSE: This rule defines the minimum standards for the delivery of various services.

(1) Radiological Services.

(A) All veterinary facilities must have adequate diagnostic radiological services, unless there exists a written
agreement to provide these services through another facility.

(B) A radiograph is the property of the veterinarian or the veterinary facility which originally ordered it to be
prepared. However, the radiograph or a copy of it shall be released within a reasonable time period upon the
request of another treating veterinarian who has the authorization of the owner of the animal to which it pertains
or directly to the owner. An original radiograph shall be returned to the originating veterinarian within a
reasonable time period after written request. Radiographs originating at an emergency hospital or clinic shall
become the property of the next attending veterinary facility upon receipt. Documented proof of transfers of
radiographs shall be verifiable.

(C) Radiographs should be stored and maintained for a minimum of five (5) years from the date the radiograph
was taken. All exposed radiographic films shall have a permanent identification, legibly exposed in the film
emulsion, which will include the following:

1. The hospital or clinic name or facility permit number;
2. The identity of the person taking the radiograph;

3. Client identification,

4. Patient identification; and

5. The date the radiograph was taken,

(2) Laboratory Services and Equipment.
(A) Clinical pathology and histopathology diagnostic laboratory services must be available within the
veterinary facility or through outside services.
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(B) Laboratory data is the property of the veterinarian or the veterinary facility which originally ordered it to be
prepared and a copy shall be released within a reasonable time period upon the request of another veterinarian
who has the authorization of the owner of the animal to which it pertains or directly to the owner,

(C) A laboratory must be equipped with a microscope.

(3) Dispensed Drug Labeling.

(A) No legend drug or biologic shall be prescribed, dispensed or administered without the establishment of a
veterinarian-client-patient relationship or the direct order of a licensed veterinarian who has an established
veterinarian-client-patient relationship with that animal(s).

(B) The veterinarian in charge is responsible for assuring that any legend drugs and biologicals prescribed for
use in the veterinary facility are properly administered, for maintaining accurate records to include strength,
dosage and quantity of all medications used or prescribed and for instructions to clients on the administration of
drugs when the veterinarian will not be providing direct supervision.

(C) All drugs and biologicals shall be maintained, administered, dispensed and prescribed in compliance with
state and federal laws.

(D) All repackaged legend drugs dispensed for companion animals shall be in approved safety closure
containers, except that this provision shall not apply to drugs dispensed to any person who requests that the
medication not be placed in these containers, or in those cases in which the medication is of a form or size that it
cannot be dispensed reasonably in these containers.

(E) All drugs dispensed shail be labeled in compliance with all state and federal laws and as a minimum
include:

1. Name, address and telephone number of the facility;

2. Patient’s name;

3. Date dispensed;

4. Directions for use; :

5. Name, strength (if more than one (1) dosage form exists), and quantity of drug and the expiration date
when available; and

6. Name of prescribing veterinarian,

(F) All clients shall have the right o receive a written prescription from their veterinarian to take to the
pharmacy of their choice so long as a valid veterinarian-patient-client relationship exists.

(G) Records shall be maintained of all medications prescribed and dispensed for any animal or group of
animals in that animal’s individual record or the herd owner’s record. These pharmacy records may be
transferred, in whole or in parl, from one veterinarian to another, in writing or by telephone, at the request of the
client/owner, when necessary to continue treatment or disease prevention medication started by the original
attending velerinarian,

(4) Vaccinations.

(A) A vaccination is the administration of a vaccine to an animal in an attempt to prevent disease.

(B) A veterinarian-client-patient relationship must exist prior to administration or dispensing of a vaccine for
diseases which are communicable to humans and which are of a public health significance in order to ensure that
the patient is medically fit to receive it. In order to implement the exemption provisions of section 340.216.1(5),
RSMo, the board recognizes that the following diseases are communicable to humans and are of public health
significance, and that only a veterinarian may immunize or treat an animal for these diseases:

I. Bruceliosis; and
2. Rabies.

(C) A plan for initial vaccination and subsequent revaccinations shall be formulated and communicated to the
client.

(D) No vaccine shall be dispensed or administered unless provision has been made for treatment of
vaccination-related emergencies. If this treatment is not to be provided on-site, clients will be advised where
emergency service is provided.

(5) Disposal of Dead Animals. Sanitary methods for the disposal of deceased animals shall be provided and
maintained. When the owner of a deceased animal has not given the veterinarian authorization to dispose of
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his/her animal, the veterinarian shall be required to retain the carcass for at least three (3) days following the
death or three (3) days after notification to the owner, whichever is longer, in accordance with 340.283.4.,
RSMo.

{6) Anesthesia Services.

(A) General anesthesia is a condition caused by the administration of a drug or combination of drugs sufficient
to produce a state of unconsciousness or dissociation and blocked response to a given pain or alarming stimuius,
Appropriate and humane methods of anesthesia, analgesia and sedation shall be utilized to minimize pain and
distress during surgical procedures.

{B) A veterinarian shall comply with the following standards when administering a general anesthetic:

1. Every animal shall be given a physical examination within twelve (12) hours prior to the administration of
an anesthetic; and

2. The animal under general anesthesia shall be under continuous observation until at least the swallowing
reflex has returned and shall not be released to the client until the animal demonstrates a righting reflex. This
shall not preclude direct transfer of an animal under anesthesia to a suitable facility for referred observation.

(C) Equipment.

I. Anesthetic equipment in accordance with the level of surgery performed will be available at all times. The
minimum amount of support equipment required for the delivery of assisted ventilation will be—

A. Resuscitation bags of appropriate volumes; and
B. An assortment of endotracheal tubes with cuffs in working condition.

2, Oxygen equipment will be available at all times.

3. Some method of respiratory monitoring is mandatory, such as observing chest movements, watching the
rebreathing bag or use of a respirometer, Some method of cardiac monitoring is recommended and may include
use of a stethoscope or electrocardiographic monitor.

(D) Effective means shall be provided for exhausting waste gases from hospital areas in which inhalation
anesthesia is used. These means shall comply with existing federal, state and local regulations and may include
use of filtration canisters, gravitational or negative-suction venting, or a combination of these.

(E) Anesthetic equipment will be maintained in proper working condition.

(7) Surgical Services.

(A) Sterile surgery shall be defined as procedures in which aseptic technique is practiced in patient preparation,
instrumentation and surgical attire.

(B) Surgery Room.

(. A room shall be designated for aseptic surgery and it shall be clean, orderly and properly maintained.

2. Nothing in this section shall preclude performance of emergency aseptic surgical procedures in another
room when the room designated for that purpose is already occupied.

3. The surgery room will be well-lighted and will be provided with effective emergency lighting.

4, The floors, table tops and counter tops of the surgery room will be of a material suitable for regular
disinfection and cleaning, and will be cleaned and disinfected regularly.

(C) Instruments and Equipment.

I. Instruments and equipment will be—

A. Adequate for the type of surgical service provided; and

B. Sterilized by a method acceptable for the type of surgery for which they will be used.
2. In any sterile procedure, a sterile pack will be used.

(D) Sterilization. Aseptic surgery requires sterilization of all appropriate equipment. An acceptable method of
sterilization must be used on all instruments, packs and equipment intended for use in aseptic surgical
procedures.

(E) Attire for surgical service, When performing clean surgery, the surgeon(s) and ancillary personnel shall
wear clean clothing.

(8) Dental Service.
(A} Dental operation shall mean-—
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1. The application or use of any instrument or device to any portion of an animal’s tooth, gum or any related
tissue for the prevention, cure or relief of any wound, fracture, injury or disease of an animal’s tooth, gum or
related tissue; and

2. Preventive dental procedures including, but not limited to, the removal of calculus, soft deposits, plague,
stains or the smoothing, filing or polishing of tooth surfaces.

(B) Nothing in this rule shall prohibit any person from utilizing cotton swabs, gauze, dental floss, dentifrice,
toothbrushes or similar items to clean an animal’s teeth,

AUTHORITY: sections 340.200 and 340.210, RSMo 2000.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-4.031, Original rule filed Nov, 4, 1992, effective July
8, 1993. Awtended: Filed April 14, 1994, effective Sepr. 30, 1994, Amended: Filed March 10, 1995, effective Sepl. 30, 1995. Amended: Filed Oct. 10, 1995,
effective April 30, 1996. Amended: Filed April 1, 2003, effective Sept. 30, 2003. Moved 1o 20 CSR 2270-4.031, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed
March 31, 2008, effective Sept, 30, 2008.

*Original authority: 340.200, RSMo 1992, amended 1999 and 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999,

20 CSR 2270-4.041 Minimum Standards for Medical Records
PURPOSE! This rule describes the minimum stendards for medical records.

(1) Every veterinarian performing any act requiring a license pursuant o the provisions of 340.200(28), RSMo
upen any animal or group of animals shall prepare a legible, written, individual (or group) animal and client
record concerning the animal(s) which shall contain the requirements listed here. The medical record will
provide documentation that an adequate physical examination was performed.

(A) Name, address and telephone number of animal’s owner or agent.

(B) Name or identity, or both, of the animal(s), including age, sex, breed, weight and color, where appropriate.

(C) A brief history.

(D) Notations of the physical examination.

(E) Treatments or intended treatment plans, or both, including medications, amounts administered, dispensed
or prescribed and frequency of use.

(F) A diagnosis or tentative diagnosis.

(G) When pertinent, a prognosis.

(H) Progress notes and disposition of the case.

(1) Dates (beginning and ending) of custody of the animal with daily notations.

(J) In the case of vaccination clinics, a certificate including the information required by subsections (1)(A) and
(B) may serve as the medical record.

{K) The veterinarian who created the record,

(L) Name of the veterinarian who orders any radiographs.

(2) Record and Radiograph Storage. All records shall be maintained for a minimum of five (5) years after the
iast visit and all radiographs shall be maintained for a minimum of five (5) years from the date the radiograph
was taken. Copies of records will be made available within a reasonable period of time upon the request of
another treating veterinarian who has the authorization of the owner of the animal to which it pertains or directly
to the owner. Documented proof of transfers of radiographs will be verifiable.

(3) Computer Records. Computer records are acceptable medical records so long as the security of the computer
is maintained. If computer records are used by a veterinarian, a daily and cumulative monthly back-up on a
separate disk shall be made. The board strongly recommends that the information required in section (1) of this
rule be maintained on hard copy.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210, 340.264 and 340.284, RSMo 2000.% This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-4.041. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992
effective July 8, 1993, Amended: Filed Dec. 1, 2005, effective June 30, 2006, Moved 1o 20 CSE 2270-4.041, effective Aug. 28, 2000, Amended: Filed
March 31, 2008, ¢ffective September 30, 2008,

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMeo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.264, RSMo 1992, 1999; and 340.284, RSMo 1992,
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20 CSR 2270-4,042 Minimum Standards for Continuing Iiducation for Veterinarians
PURPOSE: This rule defines the minimum standards for continuing education for veterinarians.

{1) Pursuant to section 340.258, RSMo, all licensees shall provide satisfactory evidence of having completed at
least ten (10) hours of continuing education each year that is relevant to the practice of veterinary medicine and
in accordance with this rule in order fo renew their licenses.

(2) The continuing education reporting period shall begin each year on December 1 and end November 30 of the
following year. Continuing education hours earned after November 30 shall apply to the next reporting cycle. A
renewal license will not be issued until all renewal requirements have been met.

(3) For the license renewal due on November 30, 2002, and each subsequent renewal thereafter, the licensee
shall certify that he/she has obtained at least ten (10) hours of continuing education during the year preceding
the license renewal on the renewal form provided by the board. The renewal form shall be mailed directly to the
board office prior 1o November 30 of each year. The licensee shall not submit the record of continuing education
attendance to the board except in the case of a board audit. A ficensee is not required to obtain any continuing
education hours for the reporting period in which the licensee graduates from an accredited school of veterinary
medicine and is initially licensed to practice as a veterinarian in Missourt.

(4) Every licensee shall maintain full and complete records of all approved continuing education hours earned
for the two (2) previous reporting periods in addition to the current reporting period. The records shall document
the titles of the courses taken, dates, locations, course sponsors, number of hours earned, and certificate of
attendance or completion. The board may conduct an audit of licensees to verify compliance with the
continuing education requirements. Licensees shall assist the board in its audits by providing timely and
complete responses to the board’s inquiries.

(5) Violation of any provision of this rule shall be grounds for discipline in accordance with section 340.264,
RSMo.

{6} A continuing education hour includes but is not limited to:

(A) Fifty (50) minutes of attendance at an approved workshop or seminar,

(B) Fifty (50) minutes of reading an approved scientific journal;

(C) Twenty-five (25) minutes of presentation in an approved workshop or seminar. No credit shall be granted
for any subsequent presentations on the same subject matter during the same renewal period;

(D) Completion of academic course work for credit in veterinary medicine at an accredited college of
veterinary medicine with one (1) credit hour equaling ten (10) continuing education hours,

(7) The required ten (10) hours may be satisfied through any combination of the following education activities:

{A) Attendance or presentation at scientific workshops or seminars approved by this board;

(B) Completion of audio or video recordings, electronic, computer, or interactive materials or programs on
scientific subjects prepared or sponsored by any of the organizations defined in section (8) below. The licensee
must obtain written certification of course completion from the sponsor;

(C) A maximum of two (2) hours of selfstudy reading approved scientific journals;

(D) A maximum of four (4) hours attendance in an approved workshop or seminar on non-scientific subjects
relating to the practice of veterinary medicine such as communication skills, medical record keeping, stress
management, or practice management;

(E) A maximum of four (4) hours of audio or video recordings, electronic, computer or interactive materials, or
programs on non-scientific subjects, as set forth in subsection (7)(ID} above, and prepared or sponsored by any
of the organizations defined in section (8) below. The licensee must obtain written certification of course
completion from the sponsor; or

(F) Study in a graduate resident program at an American Veterinary Medical Association approved veterinary
school will satisfy the continuing education requirements for the year in which the veterinarian is enrolled in
such program.
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(8) Workshops, seminars, and prepared materials on scientific and non-scientific subjects relating to veterinary
medicine approved by or sponsored by the following organizations are approved:

(A) American Veterinary Medical Association;

(B) Specialty groups of the American Veterinary Medical Association;

(C) Regional meetings such as Central Veterinary Conference and Western Veterinary Conference;

(D) Any state or province veterinary medical association;

(E) Any local or regional veterinary medical association affiliated with a state veterinary medical association;

(F} The American Animal Hospital Association;

(G) American veterinary schools accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association that are open to
all licensees;

(H) Any state veterinary academy;

(I) American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) or its successor—Registry of Approved
Continuing Education (RACEY,

(J) Missousi State Veterinarian; and

(K) Other programs receiving prior approval from this board.

(9) With the exception of any of the previously mentioned educational organizations, any other regularly
organized group of veterinarians that wants to sponsor an educational program to meet the standards for license
renewal in Missouri shall submit two (2) copies of the program schedule and outline to the board’s executive
director not fewer than thirty (30) days prior to the date of the program. The outline must include the program’s
subject matter, the number of hours required for its presentation and the identity and qualifications of the
speakers and instructors. The board shall review the schedule and outline to determine if approval will be
granted. The board will not consider requests for approval of any program submitted after it has already been
presented.

(10) The following scientific journals are approved by the board:
(A) Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association;
(B) The Jowrnal of Veterinary Research;
(C) Veterinary Medicine;
(D) Publications of the American Veterinary Medical Association Approved Constituent Specialty Groups;
(E) Compendium of continuing education;
(F) Journal of American Animal Hospital Association;
(G) Other publications approved in advance by the board.

(11) The board shall waive continuing education requirements as required by section 41,946, RSMo, and grant a
waiver or an extension of time for continuing education requirements to a licensee for good cause. Any licensee
seeking renewal of a license or certificate without having fully complied with these continuing education
requirements who wishes to seek a waiver or extension of the requirements shall file with the board a renewal
application, a statement setting forth the facts concerning the noncompliance, a request for waiver or an
extension of time in which to complete the continuing education requirements and, if desired, a request for an
interview before the board. If the board finds from the statement or any other evidence submitted, that good
cause has been shown for waiving the continuing education requirements, or any part thereof, or for granting an
extension of time in which to obtain the required continuing education hours, the board shall waive part or all of
the requirements for the renewal period for which the licensee has applied or grant an extension of time, not to
exceed six (6) months, in which to obtain the required continuing education hours. At that time, the licensee will
be requested to submit the required renewal fee.
(A) Good cause shall be defined as an inability to devote sufficient hours to fulfilling the continuing education

requirements during the applicable renewal period based on one (1) of the following reasons:

1. Full-time service in the armed forces of the United States during a substantial part of the renewal period,
or

2. An incapacitating illness; or

3. Undue hardship.
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(B) If an interview before the board is requested at the time the request for waiver or extension is filed, the
licensee shall be given at least twenty (20) days written notice of the date, time, and place of the interview.

(12) Continuing education credit hours used to satisfy the continuing education requirements of another state
may be submitted to fulfill the requirements of this state if the other state’s continuing education requirements
are substantially equal to or greater than the requirements of this state.

(13) A licensee who completes more than ten (10) continuing education hours, excluding self-study, during the
current reporting period may receive credit for the excess hours, not to exceed ten (10), in the next succeeding
reporting period. Continuing education hours cannot be carried over more than one (1) continuing education
reporting period after being earned.

(14) Any licensee who seeks to renew an inactive, retired, or noncurrent license shall submit proper evidence
that s/he has obtained at least ten (10) continuing education hours for each year that his/her license was inactive,
retired, or noncurrent, These required approved continuing education credits shall not exceed a total of fifty (50}
hours. The required hours must have been obtained within three (3) years prior to renewal.

AUTHORITY: sections 41,940, 340.210, 340.258, and 340.268, RSMo 2000.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-4.042. Original rule filed April 13,
2001, effective Oct. 30, 2001, Amended: Filed April 1, 2003, gffective Sept. 30, 2003, Amended: Filed June 25, 2004, effective Dec. 30, 2004. Maoved 10 20
CSR 2270-4.042, effevtive Atg. 28, 20006, Amended: Filed Oci. 16, 2000, effective April 30, 2007, Amended: Filed July 22, 2009, effective Jan. 30, 2010,
Amended: Filed Jan. 10, 2013, effective July 30, 201 3.

*Qriginal authority: 41.946, RSMo 1991; 340.210, RSMo 1992, aniended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.258, RSMo 1992, amended 1999, and 340.268. RSMo
1992,

20 CSR 2270-4.050 Minimum Standards for Continuing Education for Veterinary Technicians
PURPOSE: This rule defines the minimum standards for continuing education for veterinary technicians.

(1) Each licensee shall certify by signature, under penalty of perjury that sthe has completed five (5) hours of
continuing education units (CEUs).

(2) At least three (3) hours of the five (5) hour per year requirement shall be obtained by —

(A) Attending a formal meeting;

(B) Completion of audio or video recordings, electronic, computer or interactive materials or programs on
scientific subjects prepared or sponsored by the Board or the American Association of Veterinary State Boards
(AAVSB) or its successor — Registry of Approved Continuing Education (RACE). The licensee must obtain
written certification of course completion from the sponsor.

(3) The other two (2) hours of the five (5) hour requirement may be fulfilled by—

(A) One (1) clock hour of consultation with another registered veterinary technician or licensed veterinarian
other than the applicant’s supervisor, This consultation shall be documented by reporting the name and
profession of the person with whom the applicant consulted, the date, time and subject matter(s) discussed on
the annual renewal registration application; and

(B) One (1) clock hour of reading from a professional journal. This reading shall be documented by reporting
the name and publication date of the journal and the subject matter of the article(s) read on the annual renewal
registration application.

(4) A registered veterinary technician may accumulate the required five (5) hours of continuing education for up
to two (2) years. For example, if a formal meeting included ten (10) hours of CEUS, the applicant could report
five (5) hours the year the meeting was held and report the other five (5) hours the next year. Under no
circumstances can CEU credits be carried over more than one (1) renewal year after being earned.

(5) Every licensee shall maintain full and complete records of alf approved continuing education hours earned
for the two (2) previous reporting periods in addition to the current reporting period. The records shall document
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the titles of the courses taken, dates, locations, course sponsors, number of hours earned and certificate of
attendance or completion. The board may conduct an audit of licensees to verify compliance with the continuing
education requirements. Licensees shall assist the board in its audits by providing timely and complete responses
to the board’s inquiries.

(6) Violation of any provision of this rule shall be grounds for discipline in accordance with section 340.264,
RSMo.

(7) The board shali waive continuing education requirements as required by section 41,946, RSMo and
otherwise may grant a waiver or an extension of time for continuing education requirements to a license for
good cause. Any licensee seeking renewal of a license or certificate without having fully complied with these
continuing education requirements who wishes to seek a waiver or extension of the requirements shall file with
the board a renewal application, a statement setting forth the facts concerning the noncompliance, a request for
waiver or extension of time in which to complete the continuing education requirements and, if desired, a
request for an interview before the board. If the board finds from the statement or any other evidence submitted,
that good cause has been shown for waiving the continuing education requirements, or any part thereof, or for
granting an extension of time in which to obtain the required continuing education hours, the board shall waive
part or all of the requirements for the renewal period for which the licensee has appiied or grant an exiension of
time, not to exceed six (6) months, in which to obtain the required continuing education hours. At that time, the
licensee will be requested to submit the required renewatl fee.
(A) Good cause shall be defined as an inability to devote sufficient hours to fulfilling the continuing education

requirements during the applicable renewal period based on one of the following reasons:

1. Fuli-time service in the armed forces of the United States during a substantial part of the renewal period;
or

2. An incapacitating iliness; or

3. Undue hardship.

(B) If an interview before the board is requested at the time the request for waiver or extension is filed, the

licensee shall be given at least twenty (20) days written notice of the date, time and place of the interview.

(8) Any licensee who seeks to renew an inactive, retired or noncurrent registration shall submit proper evidence
that s/he has obtained at least five (5) continuing education hours for each year that his/her registration was
inactive, retired or noncurrent. These required approved continuing education credits shall not exceed a total of
twenty (20) houss. The required hours must have been obtained within three (3) years prior to renewal.

AUTHORITY: sections 41.946, 340.210, 340.258 and 340,324, RSMo 2000, % This rute originally filed as 4 CSR 270-4.050. Original rule filed Nov. 4,
1992, effective July 8, 1993, Amended: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct. 30, 2001, Amended: Filed June 25, 2004, effective Dec. 30, 2004, Moved to 20
CSR 2270-4.050, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Awmended: Filed July 9, 2008, effective Jan. 36, 2009.

*Original awthority: 41.946, RSMo 1991; 340.210, RSMo 1992, umended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.258, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; and 340.324, RSMo
1992, amended 1999,

20 CSR 2270-4.060 Minimum Standards for Supervision
PURPOSE: This rule defines the minimum standards for supervision,

(1) Duties of the Supervising Veterinarian-—

(A) The supervising veterinarian shall be responsible for determining the competency of the veterinary
technician, veterinary medical candidate, temporary licensee, provisional licensees, veterinary medical preceptee
or unregistered assistant to perform delegated animal health care tasks;

(B) The supervising veterinarian of a veterinary technician, veterinary medical candidate, temporary licensee,
provisional licensees, veterinary medical preceptee or unregistered assistant shall make all decisions relating to
the diagnosis, treatment, management and future disposition of the animal patient; and

(C) The supervising veterinarian shall have examined the animal patient prior to the delegation of any animal
health care task to either a veterinary technician, veterinary medical candidate, temporary licensee, provisional
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licensees, veterinary medical preceplee or an unregistered assistant. The examination of the animal patient shall
be conducted at such time as good veterinary medical practice requires consistent with the particular delegated
animat health care task.

(2) The required levels of supervision of individuals with different levels of training performing various
delegated animal health care tasks are designated in the accompanying table, included herein.

(3) The supervising veterinarian must be in good standing. To be in good standing the veterinarian’s license(s)
must be current and unencumbered.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210, 340.222 and 340.326, RSMo 2000.% This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-4.060. Original rule filed Nov. o, 1992,
eftective July 8 1993, Amended: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Qct. 30, 2001, Amended: Filed April 1, 2003, cffective Sept. 30, 2003. Moved 1o 20 CSR
2270-4.060, effective Aug, 28, 2006. Amended: Filed Oct. 30, 2007, effective April 30, 2008,

*Original arthority: 340,216, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; 340.222, RSMo 1992, amended 1999; and 340.326, R§Mo 1992,

#*THE REQUIRED LEVELS OF SUPERVISION TABLE IS LOCATED ON THE LAST PAGE OF
THE RULES (PAGE 73)

64



Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND
PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION
Division 2270—Missouri Veterinary Medical Board
Chapter 5—Veterinary Facilities Permits

20 CSR 2270-5,011 Permit Applications
PURPOSE: This rule outlines the procedures reguired to secure a permit for all veterinary fucilities.
(1) All veterinary facilities shall have a facility permit issued by the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board.

(2) Applications for facility permits must be made on the forms provided by the board. Permit application forms
may be obtained by requesting them from the executive director, Missouri Veterinary Medical Board, P.O. Box
633, Jefferson City, MO 65102.

(3) The application must be legible (printed or typed), signed under oath or affirmation by the responsible
veterinarian in charge of the facility and accompanied by the appropriate fee.

(4) The following documents must be on file for a permit application to be considered complete:

(A) Completed application;

(B) Appropriate fee;

(C) Completed seif-inspection form; and

(D) If a business entity owns the facility, a copy of the articles of incorporation, partnership agreement or
business organization documents that clearly state that the licensed veterinarian is not subject to the direction of
anyone not licensed to practice veterinary medicine in Missouri in making veterinary medical decisions or
judgments.

(5) Upon receipt of a completed application, the facility permit may be issued. The permit shall be
conspicuously displayed within the facility.

(6) If ownership of a veterinary facility changes, the veterinarian in charge to whom the permit was originally
issued is responsible for notifying the board and returning the permit within thirty (30) days of the change in
ownership. The veterinarian in charge must apply for a new permit and submit all applicable fees prior to
performing any veterinary services in the facility.

(7) H the name of a veterinary facility changes, the veterinarian in charge is responsible for notifying the board
and returning the permit within thirty (30) days of the name change. The veterinarian in charge must apply for a
new permit and submit all applicable fees prior to doing business under the new name.

(8) If the physical location of a veterinary facility changes, the veterinarian in charge is responsible for notifying
the board and returning the permit within thirty (30) days of the location change. The veterinarian in charge
must complete a facility permit and self-inspection form with the new location information,

(9) If a change of ownership, location, name and/or function has occurred, the veterinarian in charge must apply
for a new permit and submit all applicable fees prior to performing any veterinary services in the facility.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210 and 340.226, RSMo 2000, * This rule originally fited as 4 CSR 270-5,011, Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July
8, 1993. Amended: Filed April 14, 1994, effective Sept. 30, 1994, Amended: Filed April 13, 2001, effective Oct. 30, 2601, Moved to 20 CSR 2270-5.011,
effective Aug. 28, 2000.

*Original authority: 340,210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999, and 340.226, RSMo 1992, amended 1999.
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20 CSR 270-5.021 Veterinary Facility Self-Inspection Procedures
PURPOSE: This rule outlines the procedures for self-inspection of veterinary facilities.

(1) The veterinarian in charge of each veterinary facility in the state is responsible for completing the self-
inspection form and returning it to the board office.

(2) The self-inspection form (see 20 CSR 2270-5.011} is available from the executive director, Missouri
Veterinary Medical Board, P.O. Box 633, Jefferson City, MO 65102.

(3) The purpose of the self-inspection is to verify that all veterinary facilities comply with the minimum
standards which are found in Chapter 4 of these rules.

(4) Pursuant to 340.210, RSMo the board may inspect a veterinary facility about which the board has received a
complaint.

AUTHORITY: sections 340,210 and 340.264, RSMa 2000.% This rule originally filed as 4 CSK 270-5.021. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July
8, 1993. Moved 1o 20 CSR 2270-5.021, effective Ang. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed June 27, 2008, effectice Dec. 30, 2008.

=Qriginal authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, antended 1993, 1995, 1999; and 340.264, RSMo 1992, amended 1999,

20 CSR 2270-5.031 Facility Permit Renewal Procedures
PURPOSE: This rule outlines the procedures for the renewal of facility permits.

(1) A facility permit shall be reviewed annually on or before the expiration of the permit by submitting the
properly completed renewal application and inspection form and the fee to the Missouri Veterinary Medical
Board. The renewal application and inspection form shall be signed under oath or affirmation,

(2) Failure of the veterinarian in charge to receive the notice and application to renew the permit shall not
excuse him/her from the requirements of this rule.

(3) Each facility permit shalt expire annually on March 31. Failure to renew a permit constitutes grounds for
discipline pursuant to 340.264.2(13) and (25), RSMo for all veterinarians and veterinary technicians working at
the facility. If the permit is not renewed within thirty (30) days of the expiration date, a penalty fee will be
assessed.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210. RSMo Supp. 1993 and 340.264, RSMo Supp. 1992.% This rule originaily filed as 4 CSR 270-5.031. Original rule filed
Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993. Amended: Filed April 14, 1994, effective Sept. 30, 1994. Moved to 20 CSR
2270-5.031, effective Aug. 28, 2006

*Original autharity: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993; and 340.264, RSMo 1592,

20 CSR 2270-5.041 Temporary Continuance of Veterinary Practice Upon Death of Owner
PURPOSE: This rule establishes a way for an individually owned veterinary practice to be continued when the owner dies.
(1) Upon the demise of the licensed owner of an individually owned veterinary practice, an unlicensed spouse or
the executor, administrator, trustee or personal representative of the licensee’s estate may continue (0 own and

maintain the practice for a period of one (1) year in order to convey or liquidate the practice, provided that the
services of a Missouri licensed veterinarian shall be engaged to be the veterinarian in charge.
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(2) The unlicensed owner shall provide the Veterinary Medical Board with written notice of the veterinarian in
charge in accordance with 20 CSR 2270-5.011(6). The thirty (30) day time period may be extended upon written
petition to the board.

(3) The veterinarian in charge shall also write to the board indicating his/her willingness to assume the position,

(4) If, for any reason, the veterinarian in charge is terminated, both the owner and the veterinarian in charge
shall immediately inform the board in writing and a new veterinarian in charge shall be immediately engaged
and registered with the board.

(3) The one (1)-year period of conveyance or liquidation may be extended following written petition to the
board.

(6) Nothing in this rule shall be construed to authorize the unlicensed practice of veterinary medicine as defined
in section 340.216, RSMo.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.21) and 340.264, RSMo 2000.% This rule originedly filed as 4 CSR 270-5.041. Original rule filed March 10, 1995, effective
Sept. 30, 1995, Moved 10 20 CSR 2270-5.041, effective Aug. 28, 20006, Amended: Filed Oct. 30, 2007, effective April 36, 2008. Amended: Filed June 27,
2008, effective Dec, 30, 2008,

*Original anthority: 340,210, RSMo 1992, amended 1693, 1995, 1999 and 340,264, RSMo 1992, amended 1999,
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND
PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION
Division 2270-—Missouri Veterinary Medical Board
Chapter 6—Professional Conduct for the Practice of Veterinary Medicine

20 CSR 2270-6.011 Rules of Professional Conduct
PURPOSE: This rule establishes a professional code of conduct for veterinarians and veterinary technicians.

(1) Pursuant to section 340.210.2(13), RSMo, the Missouri Veterinary Medical Board adopts the following rules
to he referred 1o as the rules of professional conduct, These mles of professional conduct are binding on every
person licensed by the board to practice as a veterinarian or registered by the board to practice as a veterinary
technician. Whenever the term ficensee is used, it shall be read (o include any individual possessing a license,
certificate of registration, permit or any other form of authorization issued by the board pursuant to Chapter 340,
RSMo. Any act or practice found to be in violation of these rules of professional conduct shall be considered as
unprofessional conduct and shall be grounds for the filing of a complaint with the Administrative Hearing
Commission.

(2) In the performance of professional services, licensees at all times shall be cognizant that their primary
responsibility is to the public’s safety, health or welfare and that this responsibility shall never be compromised
by self-interest, personal advantage or monetary gain.

(3) Licensees shall undertake to perform only those professional services for which they, or those whom the
licensee may employ, are qualified by education, training or experience to perform. If the licensee is not
qualified to provide services requiring advanced training or education, the licensee must truthfully and
accurately inform the client of those limitations and offer all available assistance in referring the client to
colleagues or other professionals who are qualified to render those services or treatments.

(4) Licensees, directly or indirectly, shall not injure the professional reputation, standing, prospects of practice
or employment of another member of the profession in any manner which could reasonably be deemed as
malicious, false or misieading,

(5) Licensees at all times shall conform their practice to the currently accepted standards for the profession of
veterinary medicine as these standards are set forth under Chapter 340, RSMo or by any rule lawfully
promulgated by the board or as otherwise found to be accepted within the profession as gauged by the
reasonable conduct of other professionals engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine.

(6) Licensees shall not initiate or knowingly participate in any form of advertising or solicitation that contains
false, deceptive or misleading statements or claims.

(7) A licensee shall not advertise, state or imply by any means that s/he is a specialist in any given field unless
the licensee is, in fact, a diplomate of an American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA)-recognized
specialty and is board-certified by the AVMA.

(8) Licensees at all times shall conduct themselves in a professional manner with the general public and clients
through courteous verbal exchange. Licensees shail provide all clients with a diagnostic assessment and
treatment plan, to include recommendations and medications when appropriate, prior (o rendering the treatment,
except in cases of emergencies where the client cannot be reached for consultation within a reasonable time
frame as dictated by the patient’s condition. Ali clieats shall be informed of any required follow-up treatment.
All diagnostic assessments, treatment plans, medications and other pertinent information regarding the treatment
of the patient shall be recorded in the patient’s medical record and a copy of the record shall be made available
to the client upon request.
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(9) In the event that a client should choose to consult with or utiiize the services of another veterinarian, the
licensee shall withdraw from the case if so requested. The licensee shall indicate the circumstances for
withdrawal on the medical records and shall cooperate fully with the other veterinarian to include the transmittal
of a copy of all pertinent medical records upon the request of the other veterinarian or client.

(10) Although a licensee may choose whom to serve, once the care of a patient has been undertaken the licensee
has an obligation to provide reasonable services or treatment to stabilize the patient or to prevent unnecessary
suffering or pain.

(11) Licensees shall not reveal confidential, proprietary or privileged facts or data or any other sensitive
information contained in a patient’s medical records or as otherwise obtained in a professional capacity without
the prior consent of the client except as otherwise authorized or required by Chapter 340, RSMo, lawful rules as
promulgated by the board, court order or any other state or federal law, or regulation. However, this section shatl
not apply to cases in which the veterinarian may observe animal abuse or neglect. The board recognizes that
veterinarians may observe cases of animal abuse or neglect as defined by federal or state laws, or focal
ordinances. When these situations cannot be resolved through education, the board considers it the responsibility
of the veterinarian to report such cases to the appropriate authorities. Disclosures may be necessary to protect
the health and welfare of animals and people. Veterinarians should be aware that accurate record keeping and
documentation of these cases are invaluable.

(12) Licensees have an obligation to immediately inform the board of any disciplinary action taken against their
licenses to practice veterinary medicine by another state or federal authority or of the suspension, revocation

or surrender of any controlled substance license or registration issued by any state or federal authority.
Licensees at all times shall conduct their professional activities in conformity with all state and federal laws and
regulations.

(13) Licensees have an obligation and professional duty to cooperate with any reasonable request by the board
to appear before the board or to furnish information to the board upon request concerning any investigation or
complaint.

(14) Licensees at all times shall comply with any lawful order issued by the board or with any consent
agreement voluntarily entered into between the licensee and the board.

(15) A licensee shall not dispense or prescribe any controlled substance or legend drug except in the
professional course of his/her practice and only upon the establishment of a bona fide veterinarian-client-patient
relationship. .

(16) A licensee shall not issue any certificate of health/inspection required or authorized by state, federal or
municipal law unless s/he has personal knowledge of the factual averments contained in the certificate of health
by means of actual inspection, examination, appropriate testing, or any combination of these, of the animal(s).

(17) A licensee shall not aid or abet, either directly or indirectly, the unlawful practice of veterinary medicine
and shall be obligated to report to the board any information which the licensee has regarding the untawful or
unlicensed practice of veterinary medicine,

(18) A licensee shall not delegate any professional responsibility to any person, whether or not that person is
employed by the licensee, except as otherwise provided for or authorized under and pursuant to Chapter 340,
RSMo or any lawful rule promulgated by the board.

(19) A licensee shall obtain the informed written consent of the client prior to placing any patient under
anesthesia or performing any surgical procedure, or both, except in an emergency.
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(20) Licensees shall have the responsibility and obligation to ascertain whether or not any person engaged in the
employment of the licensee has the necessary license or registration to practice his/her profession in this state
and that the license or registration is current.

(21) A licensee shall obtain the consent of the client prior to transporting a patient to another facility for
veterinary care or lodging, unless circumstances qualifying as an emergency do not permit obtaining consent, or
as otherwise provided for under Chapter 340, RSMo or any lawful rule promulgated by the board.

(22) Licensees shall notify clients where to call if a licensed veterinarian is unavailable at that facility. The use
of an answering device will meet the intent of this rule.

(23) The initials “RVT"” shall designate a registered veterinary technician. Only those individuals who are so
licensed by the board may use the designation with their name,

AUTHORITY: section 340.210, RSMao 2000. % This rele originally filed as 4 CSR 270-6.01 1. Original rule filed Nov, 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993,
Amiended: Filed Aprit 14, 1994, effective Sept. 30, 1994, Amended: Filed June 28, 2002, effective Dee, 30, 2002, Moved to 20 CSR 2270-6.01 1, effective
Aug. 28, 2000, Amended: Filed Oct. 30, 2007, effective April 30, 2008.

*Original authoriey: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999,
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND
PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION
Division 2270—Missouri Veterinary Medical Board
Chapter 7—Disciplinary Proceedings

20 CSR 2270-7.010 Public Complaint Handling and Disposition Procedure

PURPOSE: This rule establishes a procedure for the veceipt, handling and disposition of public complaints pursuans to the
mandate of section 620.010,15(6), RSMo.

(1) All complaints shall be made in writing on an official complaint form available from the board office and
shall fully identify the complainant by name and address. Oral or telephone communications will not be
considered or processed as complaints. The person making these communications will be asked to file a written
statement,

(2) Complaints shall be mailed or delivered to the following address: Missouri Veterinary Medical Board, P.O.
Box 633, Jefferson City, MO 65102, Complaints may be based upon personal knowledge or beliefs based on
information received from other sources. The executive director or any board staff member may file a complaint
pursuant to this rule in the same manner as any member of the public.

(3) Each complaint received under this rule will be maintained by the board. The complaint file will contain a
record of each complainant’s name and address; the name and address of the subject(s) of the complaint; the
date each complaint is received by the board; a brief statement of the complaint, including the name of any
person injured or victimized by the alleged acts or practices; a notation whether the complaint resulted in its
dismissal by the board or formal charges being filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission and the
ultimate disposition of the complaint. This complaint file shall be a closed record of the board.

(4) Each complaint received under this rule shall be acknowledged in writing. The complainant shall be notified
of the ultimate disposition of the complaint.

(5) This rule shall not be deemed to limit the board’s authority to file a complaint with the Administrative
Hearing Comrnission charging a licensee with any actionable conduct or violation. The complaint filed by the
board need not be limited to the acts charged in a public complaint.

AUTHORITY: sections 340.210 and 340,282, RSMo 2000 and 620.010.15, RSMo Supp. 2002.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-7.010. Original
rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effective July 8, 1993, Amended: Filed April 1, 2003, effective Sept. 30, 2003, Moved to 20 CSR 2270-7.010, effective Aug. 28,
2006.

*Original authority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999, 340.282, RSMo 1992, and 620.010.15., RSMo 1973, umended 1981, 1983,
1986,1989, 1990, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1999, 2001.

20 CSR 2270-7.020 Revocation of Temporary or Provisional License

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the procedure to be used for revocation of temporary licenses under section 340,250,
RSMo.

(1) All proceedings instituted or conducted by the board, or both, in regard to the revocation of temporary or

provisional licenses as authorized under section 340.250, RSMo shall be handled in accordance with the
provisions as set forth under Chapter 536, RSMo as a contested case.
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(2) Nothing contained under section (1) shall preclude the informal disposition of contested cases by stipulation,
consent order or agreed settfement.

AUTHORITY: seetions 340.210 and 348,250, RSMo 2000.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-7.020. Original rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, effeciive July
8 1993 Amended: Fifed April 13, 2001, effective Oct. 30, 2000, Moved ta 200 CSR 2270-7.020. effective Ang. 28, 20006,

*Original authoriry: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; and 340.250, RSMo 1992, amended 1999,

20 CSR 2270-7.030 Automatic Revocation of License

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the procedure to be used for the automatic revocation af licenses under section 340,274,
RSMo.

(1) All proceedings conducted by the board in regard to the automatic revocation of licenses as authorized under
section 340.274, RSMo shall be handled in accordance with the provisions as set forth under Chapter 536,
RSMo as a contested case,

(2) Nothing contained under section (1) shall preclude the informal disposition of contested cases by stipulation,
consent order or agreed settlement,

AUTHORITY: sections 340,21 and 340.274, RSMo Supp. 1992.% This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 270-7.030. Origina! rule filed Nov. 4, 1992, ¢ffective
July 8, 1993, Moved to 20 CSR 2270-7.030, effective Aug. 28, 2006.

*Original auihority: 340.210, RSMo 1992, amended 1993, 1995, 1999; and 340.274, RSMo 1992,
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SECTION I - INTRODUCTION

This practitioner’s manual is intended to summarize and explain the basic requirements for
prescribing, administering, and dispensing controlled substances under the Controlled
Substances Act (CSA), 21 USC 801-890, and the DEA regulations, Title 21, Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR), Parts 1300 to 1316. Pertinent citations to the law and regulations are
included in this manual.

Printed copies of the CFR and the complete regulations implementing the CSA may be
obtained from:

Superintendent of Documents
U.S. Government Printing Office
Washington, D.C. 20402

Both the CFR and the Federal Register (which includes proposed and final regulations
implementing the CSA) are available on the Internet through the U.S. Government Printing
Office (GPO) website. This website, which provides information by section, citation and
keywords, can be accessed at:

www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html

Unofficial copies of pertinent CFR citations may be found at:

www.DEAdiversion.usdoj.gov

This practitioner’s manual may also be found on the Internet at DEA’s Web Site (under
“publications”):

www.DEAdiversion.usdoj.gov

Should any pertinent provisions of the law or regulations be modified in the future, DEA will
issue a revised electronic version of this document, which will be published on the DEA
Diversion Website.

If you encounter errors in this document, please notify:

Editor, DEA Practitioner’s Manual
¢/o DEA, Office of Diversion Control
Liaison and Policy Section
Washington, D.C. 20537

Inquiries regarding topics within this document may be addressed to your local DEA field
office (listed in Appendix E) or the address above.
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Page 1



Drug Enforcement Administration
Practitioner’s Manual

This Document is Authorized for Public Dissemination

All material in this publication is in the public domain and may be reproduced without the
express permission of the Drug Enforcement Administration.
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Message from the Administrator

The Drug Enforcement Administration is pleased to provide this updated edition of the 1990
Practitioner’s Manual to assist you in understanding your responsibilities under the
Controlled Substances Act (CSA) and its implementing regulations. This manual will help
answer questions that you may encounter in your practice and provide guidance in complying
with federal requirements.

DEA remains committed to the 2001 Balanced Policy of promoting pain relief and
preventing abuse of pain medications. In enforcing the CSA, it is DEA’s responsibility to
ensure drugs are not diverted for illicit purposes. Unfortunately, this country is now
experiencing an alarming prescription drug abuse problem:

s Today, more than 6 million Americans are abusing prescription drugs—that is more
than the number of Americans abusing cocaine, heroin, hallucinogens, and inhalants,
combined.

¢ Researchers from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention report that opioid
prescription painkillers now cause more drug overdose deaths than cocaine and
heroin combined.

o Today more new drug users have begun abusing pain relievers (2.4 million) than
marijuana (2.1 million) or cocaine (1.0 million).

It is more important now than ever to be vigilant in preventing the diversion and abuse of
controlled substances. This manual will help you do that by listing some safeguards you can
take to prevent such diversion. It also explains registration, recordkeeping, and valid
prescription requirements.

As a practitioner, your role in the proper prescribing, administering, and dispensing of
controlled substances is critical to patients’ health and to safeguarding society against the
diversion of controlled substances. DEA is committed to working jointly with the medical
community to ensure that those in need are cared for and that legitimate controlled
substances are not being diverted for illegal use.

Karen P. Tandy
Administrator
September 2006
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Preface

The Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) was established in 1973 to serve as the
primary federal agency responsible for the enforcement of the Controlled Substances Act
(CSA). The CSA sets forth the federal law regarding both illicit and licit (pharmaceutical)
controlled substances. With respect to pharmaceutical controlled substances, DEA’s
statutory responsibility is twofold: to prevent diversion and abuse of these drugs while
ensuring an adequate and uninterrupted supply is available to meet the country’s legitimate
medical, scientific, and research needs. In carrying out this mission, DEA works in close
cooperation with state and local authorities and other federal agencies.

Under the framework of the CSA, the DEA is responsible for ensuring that all controlled
substance transactions take place within the “closed system” of distribution established by
Congress. Under this “closed system,” all legitimate handlers of controlled substances —
manufacturers, distributors, physicians, pharmacies, and researchers — must be registered
with DEA and maintain strict accounting for all distributions.

To carry out DEA’s mission effectively, this 2006 Practitioner’s Manual seeks to aid DEA
registrants in complying with the CSA and its implementing regulations. The DEA
understands that it can best serve the public interest by working with practitioners to prevent
diversion of legal pharmaceutical controlled substances into the illicit market.

The federal controlled substances laws are designed to work in tandem with state controlled
substance laws. Toward this same goal, DEA works in close cooperation with state
professional licensing boards and state and local law enforcement officials to ensure that
pharmaceutical controlled substances are prescribed, administered, and dispensed for
legitimate medical purposes in accordance with federal and state laws. Within this
cooperative framework, the majority of investigations into possible violations of the
controlled substances laws are carried out by state authorities. However, DEA also conducts
investigations into possible violations of federal law as circumstances warrant.

In the event a state board revokes the license of a practitioner, the DEA will take action and
request a voluntary surrender of the practitioner’s DEA registration. If the practitioner
refuses to voluntarily surrender the registration, the DEA will pursue administrative action to
revoke the DEA registration. The DEA may also pursue judicial action if there is sufficient
evidence of illegal distribution or significant recordkeeping violations. All such actions are
intended to deny the practitioner the means to continue to divert or abuse controlled
substances as well as to protect the health and safety of the public and the practitioner.

The DEA is authorized under federal law to pursue legal action in order to prevent the
diversion of controlled substances and protect the public safety. A lack of compliance may
result in a need for corrective action, such as administrative action (that is, Letter of
Admonition, an informal hearing or “order to show cause™), or in extreme cases, civil, or
criminal action.

2006 Edition
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SECTION 1I - GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

Schedules of Controlled Substances

The drugs and other substances that are considered controlled substances under the CSA are
divided into five schedules. A complete list of the schedules is published annually on an
updated basis in the DEA regulations, Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Sections
1308.11 through 1308.15. Substances are placed in their respective schedules based on
whether they have a currently accepted medical use in treatment in the United States and
their relative abuse potential and likelihood of causing dependence when abused. Some
examples of the drugs in each schedule are outlined below.

IMPORTANT NOTE:

All drugs listed in Schedule I have no currently accepted medical use in treatment in the
United States and therefore may not be prescribed, administered, or dispensed for medical
use. In contrast, drugs listed in Schedules II through V all have some accepted medical use
and therefore may be prescribed, administered, or dispensed for medical use.

Schedule I Substances

Substances in this schedule have no currently accepted medical use in treatment in the
United States, a lack of accepted safety for use under medical supervision, and a high
potential for abuse.

Some examples of substances listed in Schedule I are: heroin; lysergic acid diethylamide
(LSD); marijuana (cannabis); peyote; methaqualone; and methylene-dimethoxy-
methamphetamine (“ecstasy™).

The CSA allows for bona fide research with controlled substances in Schedule I,
provided that the FDA has determined the researcher to be qualified and competent, and
provided further that the FDA has determined the research protocol to be meritorious.
Researchers who meet these criteria must obtain a separate registration to conduct
research with a Schedule I controlled substance.

Schedule IT Substances

Substances in this schedule have a high potential for abuse with severe psychological or
physical dependence.

Examples of single entity Schedule II narcotics include morphine, codiene, and opium.
Other Schedule II narcotic substances and their common name brand products include:
hydromorphone (Dilaudid®), methadone (Dolophine®), meperidine (Demerol®)
oxycodone (OxyContin®), and fentanyl (Sublimaze® or Duragesic®).
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Examples of Schedule II stimulants include amphetamine (Dexedrine® or Adderall®),
methamphetamine (Desoxyn®), and methylphenidate (Ritalin®). Other Schedule 11
substances include: cocaine, amobarbital, glutethimide, and pentobarbital.

Schedule IIT Substances

Substances in this schedule have a potential for abuse less than substances in Schedules 1
or II.

Examples of Schedule III narcotics include combination products containing less than 15
milligrams of hydrocodone per dosage unit (i.e., Vicodin®) and products containing not
more than 90 milligrams of codeine per dosage unit (i.e., Tylenol with codeine®).

Examples of Schedule III non-narcotics include benzphetamine (Didrex®),
phendimetrazine, dronabinol (Marinol®), ketamine, and anabolic steroids such as
oxandrolone (Oxandrin®).

Schedule IV Substances

Substances in this schedule have a lower potential for abuse relative to substances in
Schedule III.

Examples of Schedule I'V narcotics include propoxyphene (Darvon® and
Darvocet-N 100®).

Other Schedule IV substances include alprazolam (Xanax®), clonazepam (Klonopin®),
clorazepate (Tranxene®), diazepam (Valium®), lorazepam (Ativan®), midazolam
(Versed®), temazepam (Restoril®), and triazolam (Halcion®).

Schedule V Substances

Substances in this schedule have a lower potential for abuse relative to substances listed
in Schedule IV and consist primarily of preparations containing limited quantities of
certain narcotic and stimulant drugs. These are generally used for antitussive,
antidiarrheal and analgesic purposes.

Examples include cough preparations containing not more than 200 milligrams of
codeine per 100 milliliters or per 100 grams (Robitussin AC®, and Phenergan with
Codeine.
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Registration Requirements

Under the CSA, the term “practitioner” is defined as a physician, dentist, veterinarian,
scientific investigator, pharmacy, hospital, or other person licensed, registered, or otherwise
permitted, by the United States or the jurisdiction in which the practitioner practices or
performs research, to distribute, dispense, conduct research with respect to, administer, or use
in teaching or chemical analysis, a controlled substance in the course of professional practice
or research. Every person or entity that handles controlled substances must be registered
with DEA or be exempt by regulation from registration.

The DEA registration grants practitioners federal authority to handle controlled substances.
However, the DEA registered practitioner may only engage in those activities that are
authorized under state law for the jurisdiction in which the practice is located. When federal
law or regulations differ from state law or regulations, the practitioner is required to abide by
the more stringent aspects of both the federal and state requirements. In many cases, state
law is more stringent than federal law, and must be complied with in addition to federal law.
Practitioners should be certain they understand their state as well as DEA controlled
substance regulations.

Application for Registration

To obtain a DEA registration, a practitioner must apply using a DEA Form 224,
Applicants may submit the form by hard copy or on-line. Complete instructions
-accompany the form. To obtain the application, DEA may be contacted at:

¢ www.DEAdiversion.usdoj.gov (DEA Diversion Internet Web Site)
e any DEA field office (see listing in Appendix E of this manual)

o DEA Headquarters’ Registration Section in Washington, D.C. at 1-800-882-9539
(Registration Call Center)

The DEA Form-224 may be completed on-line or in hard copy and mailed to:

Drug Enforcement Administration
Registration Unit

Central Station

P.O. Box 28083

Washington, D.C. 20038-8083

A sample DEA Form 224 — New Application for Registration, is located at Appendix H,
DEA Forms.
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Certificate of Registration

The DEA Certificate of Registration (DEA Form 223) must be maintained at the
registered location in a readily retrievable manner and kept available for official
inspection.

A practitioner must be registered with the DEA in each state where controlled
substances are prescribed, administered, or dispensed. In addition, a separate
registration is required for each principal place of business or professional practice
where controlled substances are stored or dispensed by a person. Thus, if a practitioner
has more than one office where controlled substances are maintained, administered, or
dispensed; the practitioner must obtain a separate DEA registration for each office.
However, a practitioner need not obtain a separate registration for any additional offices
where controlled substances are prescribed but neither administered nor otherwise
dispensed as a regular part of the professional practice of the practitioner at such office,
provided further that no supplies of controlled substances are maintained at such office.

A duplicate Certificate of Registration may be requested on-line. It appears on DEA’s
website, wwwDEAdiver,s_ion-.u_sdoj-.goy,‘a.$ follows:

of Justice
g Enfcmmmt Administrats

. VERSION CONTROL PR()G
DEA Registration Certificate Duplicate

: .QEA'Form 223 D‘L_iplliqat__:ef‘c_éiftiﬁcgte Login:
DEA Number (Required - Not Case Sensitive)

Last Name or Business Name {(Required - Not Case Sensitive)
As It appears on your registration. Example:
If "Smith, John Q MD" is on your registration, then ernter: Smith
If "Smith's, Pharmacy” is on your registration, then enter. Smith's
if “Smith's Pharmacy” (no cormma) is on your registration,

then enter: Smith's Pharmacy

3
1
i

SSN ( Required if given on application)

ired if given on application)

Notea: If you renewed your registration recently, your duplicate certificate may not
contain the new expire date, as some processing time is required.
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Registration Renewals

Practitioner registrations must be renewed every three years. Renewal registrations use
DEA Form 224a, Renewal Application for DEA Registration (see example at Appendix
H, DEA Forms). The cost of the registration is indicated on the application form.

A renewal application is sent to the registrant approximately 45 days before the
registration expiration date. The renewal application is sent to the address listed on the
current registration certificate. If the renewal form is not received within 30 days before
the expiration date of the current registration, the practitioner should contact the DEA
registration office for their state, or DEA Headquarters at 1-800-882-9539, and request a
renewal registration form.
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The registration renewal application may be completed on-line at
www.DEAdiversion.usdoj.gov, or in hard copy and mailed to:

Drug Enforcement Administration
Registration Unit

Central Station

P.O. Box 28083

Washington, D.C. 20038-8083

PO 42,52, EXUS IR TIRENT O NI TIE]
Wi;ﬁ DAL EFIRCENENT ADMVHMEB TRATION

By Begiviiaing » ODWIF

Registration Applications

Office of Diversion Control Web Interactive Forms (ODWIF)

RENEWAL APPLICATIONS

' Loginte Bogiy  Petail Phammacy, HospiaiClinc, Practitioner, Teaching instikution, or Mid Lavel Practitionar,

Manufacturer, Distributor, Researchar, Analytical Laboratory, Imponter, Exponter, Domestic Chemicals
Renewal Progcess

" This tink may be used GNLY if you have previously submitted a Henewal Appiication through this tool
Obtain Receipt and noed an additionst receipt.
Duplicate.  Onling luol 1o reques! certificates for additional, misplaced,
Certificate

MINIMUM ON-LINE REQUIREMENTS

The DEA Forms listed below are for those applying to DEA for a contreiled substance registration. Data will be entered through a
secure connection to tha ODWIF on-line web application system. Your web browser must suppoit 128-hit encryption.

You will need to have the following information handy in order to complete the form:

o Tax ID number and/or Social Security Number

+ State Conirolted Substance Regstration information

¢ State Medical License Information

« Credit Card (VISA, MasterCard, Discover or Amencan Express)

The ODWIF system can only process credit card nansactions at this time. if you are paying by check, you
will nead Vo ass tha POF vessian of the forn, then print and mail the fenn to the adidrass Hsted on the form.
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Change of Business Address

A practitioner who moves to a new physical location must request a modification of
registration. A modification of registration can be requested on-line at
www.DEAdiversion.usdoj.gov or in writing to the DEA field office responsible for that state.
If the change in address involves a change in state, the proper state issued license and
controlled substances registration must be obtained prior to the approval of modification of
the federal registration. If the modification is approved, DEA will issue a new certificate of
registration and, if requested, new Schedule II order forms (DEA Form-222, Official Order
Form). A Renewal Application for Registration (DEA Form-224a) will only be sent to the
registered address on file with DEA. It will not be forwarded.

Termination of Registration

Any practitioner desiring to discontinue business activities with respect to controlled
substances must notify the nearest DEA field office (see Appendix E ) in writing. Along
with the notification of termination of registration, the practitioner should send the DEA
Certificate of Registration and any unused Official Order Forms (DEA Form-222) to the
nearest DEA field office.

Denial, Suspension or Revocation of Registration

Under the CSA, DEA has the authority to deny, suspend, or revoke a DEA registration upon
a finding that the registrant has:

1. Materially falsified any application filed

2. Been convicted of a felony relating to a controlled substance or a List I chemical

3. Had their state license or registration suspended, revoked, or denied

4, Committed an act which would render the DEA registration inconsistent with the
public interest

5. Been excluded from participation in a Medicaid or Medicare program

In determining the public interest, the CSA states the following factors are to be considered:

1. The recommendation of the appropriate state licensing board or professional
disciplinary authority

2. The applicant’s experience in dispensing or conducting research with respect to
controlled substances

3. The applicant’s conviction record under federal or state laws relating to the
manufacture, distribution, or dispensing of controlled substances

4. Compliance with applicable state, federal, or local laws relating to controlled
substances

5. Such other conduct which may threaten the public health and safety
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Practitioner’s Use of a Hospital’s DEA Registration Number

Practitioners (¢.g., intern, resident, staff physician, mid-level practitioner) who are agents or
employees of a hospital or other institution may, when acting in the usual course of business
or employment, administer, dispense, or prescribe controlled substances under the
registration of the hospital or other institution in which they are employed, provided that:

1. The dispensing, administering, or prescribing is in the usual course of
professional practice

2. Practitioners are authorized to do so by the state in which they practice

3. The hospital or institution has verified that the practitioner is permitted to
dispense, administer or prescribe controlled substances within the state

4, The practitioner acts only within the scope of employment in the hospital or
institution

5. The hospital or institution authorizes the practitioner to dispense or prescribe
under its registration and assigns a specific internal code number for each
practitioner so authorized (See example of a specific internal code number

below):
Hospital ABI1234567-012 Physician’s
DEA Regjstration Hospital Code
Nurrber Nurrber

A current list of internal codes and the corresponding individual practitioners is to be
maintained by the hospital or other institution. This list is to be made available at all times to
other registrants and law enforcement agencies upon request for the purpose of verifying the
authority of the prescribing individual practitioner.

Inappropriate Use of the DEA Registration Number

DEA strongly opposes the use of a DEA registration number for any purpose other than the
one for which it was intended, to provide certification of DEA registration in transactions
involving controlled substances. The use of DEA registration numbers as an identification
number is not an appropriate use and could lead to a weakening of the registration system.

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has developed a National Provider
Identification (NPI) number unique to each healthcare provider. The Final Rule for
establishment of the NPI system was published in the Federal Register (FR 3434, Vol. 69,
No. 15) by the Department of Health and Human Services on January 23, 2004. The
effective date of this Final Rule was May 23, 2005; all covered entities must begin using the
NPI in standard transactions by May 23, 2007.
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Exemption of Federal Government Practitioners from
Registration

The requirement of registration is waived for any official of the U.S. Army, Navy, Marine
Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, Public Health Service, or Bureau of Prisons who is
authorized to prescribe, dispense, or administer, but not to procure or purchase controlled
substances in the course of his/her official duties. Such officials shall follow procedures set
forth in Title 21, CFR § 1306 regarding prescriptions, but shall state the branch of service or
agency (e.g., "U.S. Army" or "Public Health Service") and the service identification number
of the issuing official in lieu of the registration number required on prescription forms. The
service identification number for a Public Health Service employee is his/her Social Security
identification number.

If a Federal Government practitioners wish to maintain a DEA registration for a private
practice, which would include prescribing for private patients, they must be fully licensed to
handle controlled substances by the state in which they are located. Under these
circumstances, the Federal Government practitioner will not be eligible for the fee exemption
and must pay a fee for the registration.
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SECTION III - SECURITY REQUIREMENTS

Required Controls

Title 21, CFR Section 1301.71(a), requires that all registrants provide effective controls and
procedures to guard against theft and diversion of controlled substances. A list of factors is
used to determine the adequacy of these security controls. Factors affecting practitioners
include:

1. The location of the premises and the relationship such location bears on security
needs

The type of building and office construction

The type and quantity of controlled substances stored on the premises

The type of storage medium (safe, vault, or steel cabinet)

The control of public access to the facility

The adequacy of registrant’s monitoring system (alarms and detection

systems)

7. The availability of local police protection

Sk

Practitioners are required to store stocks of Schedule II through V controlled substances in a
securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet. Practitioners authorized to possess
carfentanil, etorphine hydrochloride and/or diprenorphine, must store these controlled
substances in a safe or steel cabinet equivalent to a U.S. Government Class V security
container.

Registrants should not employ as an agent or employee who has access to controlled
substances:

1. Any person who has been convicted of a felony offense related to controlied
substances

2. Any person who has been denied a DEA registration

3. Any person who has had a DEA registration revoked

4, Any person who has surrendered a DEA registration for cause

Lastly, practitioners should notify the DEA, upon discovery, of any thefts or significant
losses of controlled substances and complete a DEA Form 106 regarding such theft or loss.
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Safeguards for Prescribers

In addition to the required security controls, practitioners can utilize additional
measures to ensure security. These include:

1.

Keep all prescription blanks in a safe place where they cannot be stolen;
minimize the number of prescription pads in use.

Write out the actual amount prescribed in addition to giving a number to
discourage alterations of the prescription order.

. Use prescription blanks only for writing a prescription order and not

for notes.

. Never sign prescription blanks in advance.

. Assist the pharmacist when they telephone to verify information

about a prescription order; a corresponding responsibility rests with the
pharmacist who dispenses the prescription order to ensure the accuracy
of the prescription.

Contact the nearest DEA field office (see Appendix E) to obtain or to
furnish information regarding suspicious prescription activities.

. Use tamper-resistant prescription pads.

2006 Edition
Page 15



Drug Enforcement Administration
Practitioner’s Manual

SECTION 1V —- RECORDKEEPING
REQUIREMENTS

Recordkeeping Requirements

Each practitioner must maintain inventories and records of controlled substances listed in
Schedules I and II separately from all other records maintained by the registrant. Likewise,
inventories and records of controlled substances in Schedules III, IV, and V must be
maintained separately or in such a form that they are readily retrievable from the ordinary
business records of the practitioner. All records related to controlled substances must be
maintained and be available for inspection for a minimum of two years.

A registered practitioner is required to keep records of controlled substances that are
dispensed to the patient, other than by prescribing or administering, in the lawful course of
professional practice. A registered practitioner is not required to keep records of controlled
substances that are prescribed in the lawful course of professional practice, unless such
substances are prescribed in the course of maintenance or detoxification treatment, A
registered practitioner is not required to keep records of controlled substances that are
administered in the lawful course of professional practice unless the practitioner regularly
engages in the dispensing or administering of controlled substances and charges patients,
either separately or together with charges for other professional services, for substances so
dispensed or administered. A registered practitioner is also required to keep records of
controlled substances administered in the course of maintenance or detoxification treatment
of an individual.

Inventory

Each registrant who maintains an inventory of controlled substances must maintain a
complete and accurate record of the controlled substances on hand and the date that
the inventory was conducted. This record must be in written, typewritten, or printed
form and be maintained at the registered location for at least two years from the date
that the inventory was conducted. After an initial inventory is taken, the registrant
shall take a new inventory of all controlled substances on hand at least every two
years.

Each inventory must contain the following information:

Whether the inventory was taken at the beginning or close of business

Names of controlled substances

Each finished form of the substances (e.g., 100 milligram tablet)

The number of dosage units of each finished form in the commercial container
(e.g., 100 tablet bottle)

5. The number of commercial containers of each finished form (e.g., four 100
tablet bottles)

W
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6.Dispositi on of the controlled substances

It is important to note that inventory requirements extend to controlled substance
samples provided to practitioners by pharmaceutical companies.

Disposal of Controlled Substances

A practitioner may dispose of out-of-date, damaged, or otherwise unusable or
unwanted controlled substances, including samples, by transferring them to a
registrant who is authorized to receive such materials. These registrants are referred
to as “Reverse Distributors.” The practitioner should contact the local DEA field
office (See Appendix E) for a list of authorized Reverse Distributors. Schedule I and
11 controlled substances should be transferred via the DEA Form 222, while Schedule
ITI-V compounds may be transferred via invoice. The practitioner should maintain
copies of the records documenting the transfer and disposal of controlled substances
for a period of two years.
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SECTION V — VALID PRESCRIPTION
REQUIREMENTS

Prescription Requirements

A prescription is an order for medication which is dispensed to or for an ultimate user. A
prescription is not an order for medication which is dispensed for immediate administration
to the ultimate user (for example, an order to dispense a drug to an inpatient for immediate
administration in a hospital is not a prescription).

A prescription for a controlled substance must be dated and signed on the date when issued.’
The prescription must include the patient’s full name and address, and the practitioner’s full
name, address, and DEA registration number. The prescription must also include:

drug name

strength

dosage form

quantity prescribed

directions for use

number of refills (if any) authorized

SN BN —-

A prescription for a controlled substance must be written in ink or indelible pencil or
typewritten and must be manually signed by the practitioner on the date when issued. An
individual (secretary or nurse) may be designated by the practitioner to prepare prescriptions
for the practitioner’s signature.

The practitioner is responsible for ensuring that the prescription conforms to all requirements
of the law and regulations, both federal and state.

Who May Issue

A prescription for a controlled substance may only be issued by a physician, dentist,
podiatrist, veterinarian, mid-level practitioner, or other registered practitioner who is:

1. Authorized to prescribe controlled substances by the jurisdiction in which the
practitioner is licensed to practice '

2. Registered with DEA or exempted from registration (that is, Public Health Service,
Federal Bureau of Prisons, or military practitioners)

3. An agent or employee of a hospital or other institution acting in the
normal course of business or employment under the registration of the hospital or

1 On September 6, 2006, the DEA published in the Federal Register a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, which
proposes to permit an individual practitioner to issue multiple prescriptions authorizing the patient to receive a
total of up to a 90-day supply of a Schedule II controlled substance. If and when this proposed rule becomes
final, DEA will update this manual as appropriate.

2006 Edition

Page 18



Drug Enforcement Administration
Practitioner’s Manual

other institution which is registered in lieu of the individual practitioner being
registered provided that additional requirements as set forth in the CFR are met.

Purpose of Issue

To be valid, a prescription for a controlled substance must be issued for a legitimate
medical purpose by a practitioner acting in the usual course of professional practice.
The practitioner is responsible for the proper prescribing and dispensing of controlled
substances. In addition, a corresponding responsibility rests with the pharmacist who
fills the prescription. An order purporting to be a prescription issued not in the usual
course of professional treatment or in legitimate and authorized research is not a valid
prescription within the meaning and intent of the Controlled Substances Act and the
person knowingly filling such a purported prescription, as well as the person issuing it,
shall be subject to the penalties provided for violations of the provisions of law relating
to controlled substances.

A prescription may not be issued in order for an individual practitioner to obtain
controlled substances for supplying the individual practitioner for the purpose of
general dispensing to patients.

Schedule II Substances -

Schedule II controlled substances require a written prescription which must be signed by the
practitioner. There is no federal time limit within which a Schedule II prescription must be
filled after being signed by the practitioner.

While some states and many insurance carriers limit the quantity of controlled substance
dispensed to a 30-day supply, there are no specific federal limits to quantities of drugs
dispensed via a prescription. For Schedule II controlled substances, an oral order is only
permitted in an emergency situation.

Refills

The refilling of a prescription for a controlled substance listed in Schedule I is
prohibited (Title 21 U.S. Code § 829(a)).

Issuance of Multiple Prescriptions for Schedule II Substances

On September 6, 2006, the DEA published in the Federal Register a Notice of Proposed
Rulemaking, which proposes to permit an individual practitioner to issue multiple
prescriptions authorizing the patient to receive a total of up to a 90-day supply of a
Schedule IT controlled substance, provided that certain conditions are met. If and when
this proposed rule becomes final, DEA will update this manual accordingly.
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Facsimile Prescriptions for Schedule II Controlled
Substances

In order to expedite the filling of a prescription, a prescriber may transmit a Schedule 11
prescription to the pharmacy by facsimile. The original Schedule II prescription must
be presented to the pharmacist for review prior to the actual dispensing of the
controlled substance.

In an emergency, a practitioner may call-in a prescription for a Schedule II controlled
substance by telephone to the pharmacy, and the pharmacist may dispense the
prescription provided that the quantity prescribed and dispensed is limited to the
amount adequate to treat the patient during the emergency period. The prescribing
practitioner must provide a written and signed prescription to the pharmacist within
seven days. Further, the pharmacist must notify DEA if the prescription is not received.

Exceptions for Schedule IT Facsimile Prescriptions

DEA has granted three exceptions to the facsimile prescription requirements for
Schedule II controlled substances. The facsimile of a Schedule II prescription may
serve as the original prescription as follows:

1. A practitioner prescribing Schedule IT narcotic controlled substances to be
compounded for the direct administration to a patient by parenteral,
intravenous, intramuscular, subcutaneous or intraspinal infusion may transmit
the prescription by facsimile. The pharmacy will consider the facsimile
prescription a “written prescription” and no further prescription verification is
required. All normal requirements of a legal prescription must be followed.

2. Practitioners prescribing Schedule II controlled substances for residents of
Long Term Care Facilities (LTCF) may transmit a prescription by facsimile to
the dispensing pharmacy. The practitioner’s agent may also transmit the
prescription to the pharmacy. The facsimile prescription serves as the original
written prescription for the pharmacy.

3. A practitioner prescribing a Schedule II narcotic controlled substance for a
patient enrolled in a hospice care program certified and/or paid for by
Medicare under Title X VIII or a hospice program which is licensed by the
state may transmit a prescription to the dispensing pharmacy by facsimile.
The practitioner or the practitioner’s agent may transmit the prescription to the
pharmacy. The practitioner or agent will note on the prescription that it is for
a hospice patient. The facsimile serves as the original written prescription.
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Schedule III-V Substances

A prescription for controlled substances in Schedules 111, IV, and V issued by a practitioner,
may be communicated either orally, in writing, or by facsimile to the pharmacist, and may be
refilled if so authorized on the prescription or by call-in.

Refills

Schedule IIT and IV controlled substances may be refilled if authorized on the
prescription. However, the prescription may only be refilled up to five times within six
months after the date on which the prescription was issued. After five refills or after six
months, whichever occurs first, a new prescription is required.

Facsimile Prescriptions for Schedule I1I-V Substances

Prescriptions for Schedules IT1I-V controlled substances may be transmitted by facsimile
from the practitioner or an employee or agent of the individual practitioner to the
dispensing pharmacy. The facsimile is considered to be equivalent to an original
prescription.

Telephone Authorization for Schedule 111-V Prescriptions

A pharmacist may dispense a controlled substance listed in Schedule III, IV, or V
pursuant to an oral prescription made by an individual practitioner and promptly
reduced to writing by the pharmacist containing all information required for a valid
prescription, except for the signature of the practitioner.

Delivery of a Controlled Substance to Persons Outside the U.S.

Controlled substances that are dispensed pursuant to a legitimate prescription may not be
delivered or shipped to individuals in another country. Any such delivery or shipment is a
prohibited export under the CSA.
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SECTION VI — OPIOID (NARCOTIC)
ADDICTION TREATMENT PROGRAMS

The Narcotic Addiction Treatment Act of 1974 and the Drug Addiction Treatment Act of
2000 amended the CSA with respect to the use of controlled substances in the medical
treatment of addiction. These laws established the procedures for approval and licensing of
practitioners involved in the treatment of opioid addiction as well as improving the quality
and delivery of that treatment to the segment of society in need.

Practitioners wishing to administer and dispense approved Schedule I controlled substances
(that is, methadone) for maintenance and detoxification treatment must obtain a separate
DEA registration as a Narcotic Treatment Program. Application for registration as a
Narcotic Treatment Program is made using DEA Form 363. In addition to obtaining this
separate DEA registration, this type of activity also requires the approval and registration of
the Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT) within the Substance Abuse and Mental
Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) of the Department of Health and Human
Services (HHS), as well as the applicable state methadone authority.

If a practitioner wishes to prescribe, administer, or dispense Schedule III, IV, or V controlled
substances approved for addiction treatment (i.e., buprenorphine drug products), the
practitioner must request a waiver (Form SMA-167) and fulfill the requirements of CSAT.
CSAT will then notify DEA of all waiver requests. DEA will review each request. If DEA
approves this waiver, the practitioner will receive a Unique Identification Number. If a
practitioner chooses to dispense controlled substances, the practitioner must maintain,
separate from all other records, for a period of at least two years, all required records of
receipt, storage, and distribution. If a practitioner chooses to prescribe these controlled
substances, the practitioner must utilize their Unique Identification Number on the
prescription in additon to his/her regular DEA registration number. The practitioner must
also maintain a record of each such prescription for a period of at least two years. Practitioners
should be aware that there may be limits on how many patients they may treat for opioid
addiction at any given time and should check with SAMHSA to determine these limits.

Note that not all treatment programs utilize controlled substances, that is, some are drug free.
Accordingly, these activities do not require DEA registration or approval.

Practitioners can find additional information regarding addiction treatment by visiting DEA’s
Office of Diversion Control website at www.DEAdiversion.usdoj.gov. Click on
“Publications,” then “Narcotic Treatment Programs: Best Practices Guidelines.” The DEA
application Form 363 may be completed on-line.

To learn more about CSAT’s requirements, practitioners may visit one or more of the

following websites: www.samhsa.gov/centers/csat2002/csat_frame.html,
www.csat.samhsa.gov, or www.buprenorphine.samhsa.gov.
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If the practitioner has a patient who is in need of addiction treatment, but does not wish to
treat the individual, the practitioner can refer the patient to an existing facility through the
following website: www.findtreatment.samhsa.gov.
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APPENDIX A
CSA & CFR Definitions

Administer
The direct application of a controlled substance to the body of a patient or research
subject by 1) a practitioner or (in his presence) by his authorized agent, or 2) the
patient or research subject at the direction and in the presence of the practitioner,
whether such application is by injection, inhalation, ingestion, or any other means.

Dispense
To deliver a controlled substance to an ultimate user or research subject by, or
pursuant to the lawful order of, a practitioner, including the prescribing and
administering of a controlled substance and the packaging, labeling, or
compounding necessary to prepare the substance for such delivery.

Dispenser
An individual practitioner, institutional practitioner, pharmacy or, pharmacist who
dispenses a controlled substance.

Individual Practitioner
A physician, dentist, veterinarian, or other individual licensed, registered or
otherwise permitted, by the United States or the jurisdiction in which they practice,
to dispense a controlled substance in the course of professional practice, but does
not include a pharmacist, a pharmacy, or an institutional practitioner.

Institutional Practitioner
A hospital or other person (other than an individual) licensed, registered or otherwise
permitted, by the United States or the jurisdiction in which it practices, to dispense a
controlled substance in the course of professional practice, but does not include a
pharmacy.

Inventory
All factory and branch stocks in finished form of a basic class of controlled
substance manufactured or otherwise acquired by a registrant, whether in bulk,
commetrcial containers, or contained in pharmaceutical preparations in the
possession of the registrant (including stocks held by the registrant under separate
registration as a manufacturer, importer, exporter, or distributor).
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Long Term Care Facility
A nursing home, retirement care, mental care, or other facility or institution which
provides extended health care to resident patients.

Mid-level Practitioner
An individual practitioner, other than a physician, dentist, veterinarian, or podiatrist,
who is licensed, registered or otherwise permitted by the United States or the
jurisdiction in which he/she practices, to dispense a controlled substance in the
course of professional practice. Examples of mid-level practitioners include, but
are not limited to, health care providers such as nurse practitioners, nurse midwives,
nurse anesthetists, clinical nurse specialists, and physician assistants who are
authorized to dispense controlled substances by the state in which they practice.

Pharmacist
Any pharmacist licensed by a state to dispense controlled substances, and shall
include any other person (e.g., pharmacist intern) authorized by a state to dispense
controlled substances under the supervision of a pharmacist licensed by such state.

Prescription
An order for medication which is dispensed to or for an ultimate user but does not
include an order for medication which is dispensed for immediate administration to
the ultimate user (e.g., an order to dispense a drug to a bed patient for immediate
administration in a hospital is not a prescription).

Readily Retrievable
Certain records are kept by automatic data processing systems or other electronic or
mechanized record keeping systems in such a manner that they can be separated out
from all other records in a reasonable time and/or records are kept on which certain
items are asterisked, redlined, or in some other manner visually identifiable apart
from other items appearing on the records.
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APPENDIX B

Questions and Answers

The following questions are those that are frequently encountered by DEA’s Office of
Diversion Control and its field units. These questions and their accompanying answers
are provided in context of the CSA and its federal regulations.

Q Are separate registrations required for separate locations?

A A separate registration is required for each principal place of business or
professional practice where controlled substances are stored or dispensed by a
person.

Q Does a practitioner need a separate registration to treat patients at remote
health care facilities?

A Separate registration is not required in an office used by a practitioner (who is
registered at another location) where controlled substances are prescribed but
neither administered nor otherwise dispensed as a regular part of the professional
practice of the practitioner at such office, and where no supplies of controlled
substances are maintained.

Q Do all practitioners in a group practice need to be registered?

A An individual practitioner who is an agent or employee of another practitioner
(other than a mid-level practitioner) registered to dispense controlled substances
may, when acting in the normal course of business or employment, administer or
dispense (other than by issuance of prescription) controlled substances if and to the
extent that such individual practitioner is authorized or permitted to do so by the
jurisdiction in which he or she practices, under the registration of the employer or
principal practitioner in lieu of being registered him/herself.

Q Do medical residents assigned to hospitals need to register?

A An individual practitioner who is an agent or employee of a hospital or other
institution may, when acting in the normal course of business or employment,
administer, dispense, or prescribe controlled substances under the registration of the
hospital or other institution which is registered in lieu of being registered provided
that additional requirements as set forth in the CFR are met.
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Q Are military personnel exempted from registration?

A Registration is waived for any official of the U.S. Army, Navy, Marine Corps,
Air Force, or Coast Guard who is authorized to prescribe, dispense, or administer,
but not procure or purchase, controlled substances in the course of his/her official
duties. Such officials must follow procedures set forth in 21 CFR Part 1306
regarding prescriptions. Branch of service or agency and the service identification
number of the issuing official is required on the prescription form in lieu of the
DEA registration number.

If any exempted official engages as a private individual in any activity or group of
activities for which registration is required, that individual must obtain a registration
for those private activities.

Further, practitioners serving in the U.S. Military are exempt from registering with
DEA, but are not authorized to procure or purchase controlled substances in the
course of their official duties.

A number of states also require military practitioners to acquire a separate state
license if they issue prescriptions that are filled outside the military facility where
they practice.

Q Are contract practitioners working at U.S. Military Installations also exempt
from registration?

A They are not exempt. A contract practitioner who is not an official of the

military on active duty, but is engaged in medical practice at a military installation,
must possess a current DEA registration. The individual must also possess a valid
state license for the same state in which he/she is registered with DEA.

Q What should a practitioner do if he/she discovers a theft or loss?

A Registrants must notify the DEA field office in their area of the theft or

significant loss of any controlled substances upon discovery. The registrant must
also complete DEA Form 106 documenting the loss or theft.
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Q What is meant by “acceptable medical practice?”

A The legal standard that a controlled substance may only be prescribed, administered,
or dispensed for a legitimate medical purpose by a physician acting in the usual course of
professional practice has been construed to mean that the prescription must be “in
accordance with a standard of medical practice generally recognized and accepted in the
United States.”

Federal courts have long recognized that it is not possible to expand on the phrase
“legitimate medical purpose in the usual course of professional practice” in a way that
will provide definitive guidelines to address all the varied situations physicians may
encounter.

While there are no criteria to address every conceivable instance of prescribing, there are
recurring patterns that may be indicative of inappropriate prescribing:

e An inordinately large quantity of controlled substances prescribed or large
numbers of prescriptions issued compared to other physicians in an area;

e No physical examination was given;

¢ Warnings to the patient to fill prescriptions at different drug stores;

e Issuing prescriptions knowing that the patient was delivering the drugs to
others;

¢ Issuing prescriptions in exchange for sexual favors or for money;

e Prescribing of controlled drugs at intervals inconsistent with legitimate
medical treatment;

e The use of street slang rather than medical terminology for the drugs
prescribed; or

¢ No logical relationship between the drugs prescribed and treatment of the
condition allegedly existing.

Each case must be evaluated based on its own merits in view of the totality of
circumstances particular to the physician and patient.

For example, what constitutes “an inordinately large quantity of controlled substances,”
can vary greatly from patient to patient. A particular quantity of a powerful Schedule II
opioid might be blatantly excessive for the treatment of a particular patient's mild
temporary pain, yet insufficient to treat the severe unremitting pain of a cancer patient.

Q What information is required to be provided on a written prescription?

A All written prescriptions for controlled substances must be dated as of, and
signed on, the date when issued. Each prescription must indicate the full name and
address of the patient, the drug name, strength, dosage form, quantity prescribed,
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directions for use and the name, address, and DEA number of the practitioner.
Further, prescriptions must be written in ink, indelible pencil, or by typewriter, and
must be manually signed by the practitioner.

Q What is meant by “date of issuance?”

A The date a prescription is issued is the same date that the prescribing practitioner
actually writes and signs the prescription 2

Q Is there a time limit for filling Schedule II prescriptions?

A There is no federal time limit for filling Schedule II prescriptions. However,
some state laws do set time limits.

2 On September 6, 2006, the DEA published in the Federal Register a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, which
proposes to permit an individual practitioner to issue multiple prescriptions authorizing the patient to receive a
total of up to a 90-day supply of a Schedule II controlled substance. If and when this proposed rule becomes

final, DEA will update this manual as appropriate.
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APPENDIX C

Summarv of Control]ed Substances Act Requirements

Schedule 11 Schedule IIT & IV Schedule V
Registration Required Required Required
Receiving Order Forms Invoices, Invoices,
Records (DEA Form-222) Readily Retrievable Readily Retrievable
Prescriptions Written Prescription Written, Oral, or Fax Written, Oral, Fax, or
(See exceptions™) Over The Counter**
Refills No No more than 5 within 6 | As authorized when
months prescription is issued
Distribution Order Forms Invoices Invoices
Between (DEA Form-222)
Registrants
Security Locked Cabinet or Locked Cabinet or Locked Cabinet or
Other Secure Storage | Other Secure Storage Other Secure Storage
Theft or Report and complete Report and complete Report and complete
Significant Loss DEA Form 106 DEA Form 106 DEA Form 106

Note: All records must be maintained for 2 years, unless a state requires a longer period.

*  Emergency prescriptions require a signed follow-up prescription.
Exceptions: A facsimile prescription serves as the original prescription when issued to residents
of Long Term Care Facilities, Hospice patients, or compounded I'V narcotic medications.

**  Where authorized by state controlled substances authority.
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APPENDIX D

Internet Resources

DEA’s Diversion Control Program Website
www.DEAdiversion.usdoj.gov

DEA Homepage
www.dea.gov

U.S. Government Printing Office
www.gpoaccess.gov/cir/index.html

Provides access to the Code of Federal Regulations (21 CFR, Parts 1300 to end),
primary source for the Practitioner’s Manual, and the Federal Register which
contains proposed and finalized amendments to the CFR.

Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)
www.whitehousedrugpolicy.gov

Food and Drug Administration
www.FDA.gov

HHS & SAMHSA'’s National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug

Information
www.health.org

SAMHSA/CSAT
www.csat.samhsa.gov

Federation of State Medical Boards
www.FSMB.org

National Association of Boards of Pharmacy
www.nabp.net

National Association of State Controlled Substances Authorities
WWW.Nascsa.org
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APPENDIX E

Drug Enforcement Administration

Diversion Field Office Locations

For address and telephone number updates, please see the DEA website:

www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov

NORTHERN ALABAMA
DEA Birmingham Resident Office
920 Eighteenth Street, North
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
(205) 321-1300

SOUTHERN ALABAMA
DEA Mobile Resident Office
900 Western America Circle
Suite 501
Mobile, Alabama 36609
(334) 441-5831

ALASKA
DEA Seattle Field Division
400 2™ Avenue West
Seattle, Washington 98119
(206) 553-5443

NORTHERN & CENTRAL

ARIZONA

DEA Phoenix Field Division
3010 N. 2™ Street, Suite 301
Phoenix, Arizona 85012
(602) 664-5600

SOUTHERN ARIZONA
DEA Tucson District Office
3285 E. Hemisphere Loop
Tucson, Arizona 85706
(520) 573-5500

ARKANSAS
DEA Little Rock Resident Office
10825 Financial Center Pkwy, Suite 200
Little Rock, Arkansas 72211
(501) 312-8602

CENTRAL & COASTAL

CALIFORNIA

DEA San Francisco Field Division
450 Golden Gate Avenue, 14™ Floor
San Francisco, California 94102
(415) 436-7900

DEA San Jose Resident Office
One North First Street, Suite 405
San Jose, California 95113
(408) 291-7235

CENTRAL CALIFORNIA
DEA Fresno Resident Office
2444 Main Street, Suite 240
Fresno, California 93721
(559)487-5402

NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
DEA Oakland Resident Office
1301 Clay Street, Suite 460N
PO Box 70301
Oakland, California 94612
(510) 637-5600

DEA Sacramento District Office
4328 Watt Avenue

Sacramento, California 95821
(916) 566-7401

SOUTH CENTRAL CALIFORNIA

DEA Los Angeles Field Division
255 East Temple Street, 20™ Floor
Los Angeles, California 90012
(213) 621-6700

DEA Riverside District Office
4470 Qlivewood Avenue
Riverside, California 92501- 4155
(909) 328-6000
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SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
DEA San Diego Field Division
4560 Viewridge Avenue
San Diego, California 92123
(858) 616-4100

COLORADO
DEA Denver Field Division
115 Invemness Drive, East
Englewood, Colorado 80112
(303) 705-7300

SOUTHERN COLORADO
DEA Colorado Springs Resident Office
Plaza of the Rockies
111 S Tejon, Suite 306
Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903
(719) 866-6100

CONNECTICUT
DEA Hartford Resident Office
450 Main Street, Room 628
Hartford, Connecticut 06103
(860) 240-3700

DELAWARE
DEA Philadelphia Field Division
William J. Green Federal Building
600 Arch Street, Room 10224
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19106
(215) 597-9540

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
DEA Washington Field Division
TechWorld Plaza
801 I Street, NW, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 305-8500

NORTHERN FLORIDA
DEA Tallahassee Resident Office
3384 Capital Circle, NE
Tallahassee, Florida 32308
(850) 942-8417

CENTRAL FLORIDA
DEA Orlando Resident Office
Heathrow Business Center
300 International Pkwy, Suite 424
Heathrow, Florida 32746
(407) 333-7046

WEST CENTRAL FLORIDA
DEA Tampa District Office
4950 W. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 400
Tampa, Florida 33609
(813) 287-5165

SOUTHEASTERN FLORIDA
DEA Miami Field Division
8400 NW 53" Street
Miami, Florida 33166
(305) 994-4870

GEORGIA
DEA Atlanta Field Division
75 Spring Street, SW, Suite 800
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
(404) 893-7000

EASTERN GEORGIA
DEA Savannah Resident Office
56 Park of Commerce Boulevard
Savannah, Georgia 31405
(912) 447-1035

HAWAII
DEA Honolulu District Office
300 Ala Moana Boulevard, Room 3-147
Honolulu, Hawaii 96850
(808) 541-1930

NORTHERN IDAHO
DEA Seattle Field Division
400 2™ Avenue West
Seattle, Washington 98119
(206) 553-5443

SOUTHERN IDAHO
DEA Boise Resident Office
607 North 8™ Street, Suite 400
Boise, [daho 83702-5518
(208) 334-1620

NORTHERN & CENTRAL

ILLINOIS

DEA Chicago Field Division
Klyuczynski Federal Building

230 South Dearborn Street, Suite 1200
Chicago, Illinois 60604

(312) 353-7875
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CENTRAL ILLINOIS
DEA Springfield Resident Office
2875 Via Verde Street
Springfield, Illinois 62703
(217) 585-2750

SOUTHERN ILLINOIS
DEA St. Louis Field Division
317 South 16™ Street
St. Louis, Missouri 63103
(314) 538-4600

INDIANA
DEA Indianapolis District Office
575 N Pennsylvania Street, Room 408
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
(317) 226-7977

NORTHERN INDIANA
DEA Merrillville Resident Office
1571 East 85™ Avenue, Suite 200
. Merrillville, Indiana 46410
(219) 681-7000

JIOWA
DEA Des Moines Resident Office
210 Walnut Street, Room 937
Des Moines, lowa 50309
(515) 284-4709

KANSAS
DEA Kansas City Resident Office
8600 Farley, Suite 200
Overland Park, Kansas 66212
(913) 825-4116

KENTUCKY
DEA Louisville Resident Office
600 Dr, Martin Luther King Jr. Place
Suite 1006
Louisville, Kentucky 40202
(502) 582-5908

SOUTHEASTERN KENTUCKY
DEA London Resident Office
PO Box 5065
London, Kentucky 40745
(606) 862-4500

LOUISIANA
DEA New Orleans Field Division
3838 N Causeway Boulevard, Suite 1800
Lakeway III
Metairie, Louisiana 70002
(504) 840-1100

MAINE
DEA Boston Field Division
JFK Federal Building
15 New Sudbury Street, Room E-400
Boston, Massachusetts 02203-0402
(617) 557-2100

MARYLAND
DEA Baltimore District Office
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2222
Baltimore, Maryland 21202-2004
(410) 244-3500

MASSACHUSETTS
DEA Boston Field Division
JFK Federal Building
15 New Sudbury Street, Room E-400
Boston, Massachusetts 02203-0131
(617) 557-2100

MICHIGAN
DEA Detroit Field Division
431 Howard Street
Detroit, Michigan 48226
(313) 234-4000

MINNESOTA
DEA Minneapolis/St Paul Resident
Office
330 Second Avenue S, Suite 450
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401
(612) 725-3280

MISSISSIPPI
DEA Jackson District Office
100 W, Capitol Street, Suite 1213
Jackson, Mississippi 39269
(601) 965-4400

EASTERN MISSOURI
DEA St Louis Field Division
317 South 16" Street
St. Louis, Missouri 63103
(314) 538-4600

2006 Edition
Page 35



Drug Enforcement Administration
Practitioner’s Manual

WESTERN MISSOURI
DEA Kansas City Resident Office
8600 Farley, Suite 200
Overland Park, Kansas 66212
(913) 825-4118

MONTANA
DEA Denver Field Division
115 Inverness Drive, East
Englewood, Colorado 80112
(303) 705-7300

NEBRASKA
DEA Des Moines Resident Office
210 Walnut Street, Room 509
Des Moines, lowa 50309
(515) 284-4709

NEVADA
DEA Las Vegas District Office
550 South Main, Suite A
Las Vegas, Nevada 89101
(702) 759-8016

NEW HAMPSHIRE
DEA Boston Field Division
JFK Federal Building
15 New Sudbury Street, Room E-400
Boston, Massachusetts 02203-0402
(617) 557-2100

NORTHERN & CENTRAL

NEW JERSEY
DEA Newark Field Division
80 Mulberry Street, 2 Floor
Newark, New Jersey 07102
(973) 776-1100

SOUTHERN NEW JERSEY
DEA Camden Resident Office
211 Boulevard Avenue
Maple Shade, New Jersey 08052
(856) 321-2439

NEW MEXICO
DEA Albuquerque District Office
301 Martin Luther King Ave, NE
Albuguerque, New Mexico §7102
(505) 346-7419

NEW YORK
DEA New York Field Division
99 Tenth Avenue
New York, New York 10011
(212) 337-3900

CENTRAL & WESTERN
NEW YORK
DEA Buffalo Resident Office
28 Church Street, Suite 300
Buffalo, New York 14202
(716) 551-3391

LONG ISLAND NEW YORK
DEA Long Island District Office
175 Pinelawn Road, Suite 205
Melville, New York 11747
(631) 420-4500

NORTH CAROLINA
DEA Greensboro Resident Office
1801 Stanley Road, Suite 201
Greensboro, North Carolina 27407
(336) 547-4219

NORTH DAKOTA
DEA Minneapolis/St Paul Resident
Office
330 Second Avenue S, Suite 450
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401
(612) 725-3280

NORTHERN OHIO
DEA Cleveland Resident Office
Courthouse Square
310 Lakeside Avenue, Suite 395
Cleveland, Ohio 44113
(216) 552-3705

SOUTHERN & CENTRAL OHIO

DEA Columbus Resident Office
500 S Front Street, Suite 612
Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 255-4145

SOUTHERN OHIO
DEA Cincinnati Resident Office
36 East 7™ Street, Suite 1900
Cincinnati, Ohio 45202
(513) 684-3671
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NORTHEASTERN OKLAHOMA
DEA Tulsa Resident Office
Three Memorial Place
7615 E 63" Place, Suite 250
Tulsa, Oklahoma 74133
(918) 459-9600

OKLAHOMA
DEA Oklahoma City District Office
9900 Broadway Extension
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73114
(405) 475-7500

OREGON
DEA Portland District Office
1220 SW 3™ Avenue, Suite 1525
Portland, Oregon 97204
(503) 326-5739

EASTERN PENNSYLVANIA
DEA Philadelphia Field Division
William J. Green Federal Building
600 Arch Street, Room 10224
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19106
(215) 861-3474

WESTERN PENNSYLVANIA
DEA Pittsburgh Resident Office
Federal Building
1000 Liberty Avenue, Room 1328
Pittsburg, Pennsylvania 15222
(412) 395-4502

PUERTO RICO
DEA Caribbean Field Division
Metro Office Park, #17, calle 2
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00968-1706
(787) 775-1815

RHODE ISLAND
DEA Boston Field Division
JFK Federal Building
15 New Sudbury Street, Room E-400
Boston, Massachusetts 02203-0402
(617) 557-2100

SOUTH CAROLINA
DEA Columbia District Office
1835 Assembly Street, Suite 1229
Columbia, South Carolina 29201
(803) 253-3441

SOUTH DAKOTA
DEA Des Moines Resident Office
210 Walnut Street, Room 509
Des Moines, Iowa 50309
(515) 284-4793

TENNESSEE
DEA Nashville District Office
801 Broadway, Suite 500
Nashville, Tennessee 37203
(615) 736-2559

NORTHERN TEXAS
DEA Dallas Field Division
10160 Technology Boulevard
Dallas, Texas 75220
(214) 366-6900

TEXAS
DEA Fort Worth Resident Office
819 Taylor Street, Room 13A33
Ft Worth, Texas 76102
(817) 978-3455

EASTERN & SOUTHERN TEXAS
DEA Houston Field Division
1433 west Loop S, Suite 600
Houston, Texas 77027-9506
(713) 693-3000

CENTRAL & WESTERN TEXAS
DEA San Antonio District Office
10127 Morocco, Suite 200
San Antonio, Texas 78216
(210) 442-5690

CENTRAL TEXAS
DEA Waco Post of Duty
6801 Sanger Avenue, Suite 2000
Waco, Texas 76710
(254) 741-1920

WESTERN TEXAS
DEA El Paso Field Division
El Paso Federal Justice Center
660 S Mesa Hills Drive, Suite 2000
El Paso, Texas 79912
(915) 832-6000
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UTAH
DEA Salt Lake City Resident Office
348 East South Temple
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111
(801) 524-4156

VERMONT
DEA Hartford Resident Office
450 Main Street, Room 628
Hartford, Connecticut 06103
(860) 240-3700

VIRGIN ISLANDS
DEA Caribbean Field Division
Metro Office Park, #17, calle 2
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00968-1706
(787)775-1815

VIRGINIA
DEA Richmond Resident Office
111 Greencourt Road
. Richmond, Virginia 23228
(804) 627-6307

WASHINGTON STATE
DEA Seattle Field Division
400 2™ Avenue, West
Seattle, Washington 98119
(206) 553-1147

WEST VIRGINIA
DEA Charleston Resident Office
2 Monongalia Street, Suite 202
Charleston, West Virginia 25302
(304) 347-5209

WISCONSIN
DEA Milwaukee District Office
1000 N. Water Street, Suite 1010
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202
(414) 297-3395

WYOMING
DEA Salt Lake City Resident Office
348 East South Temple
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111
(801)524-4156

HEADQUARTERS
Office of Diversion Control
Registration Unit / ODRR
Washington, DC 20537
(202) 307-7250
{800) 882-9539

NOTE:

The address in Atlanta, Georgia is listed on the
application and renewal application for mailing
applications ONLY. It is a Financial Institution and
not the physical address of the DEA. All inquiries
relating to DEA registrations must be directed to the
following:

Telephone inquiries: 1-800-882-9539 or

Written inquiries: Drug Enforcement Administration
Registration Unit - ODRR
Washington, DC 20537
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APPENDIX F

Small Business and Agriculture
Regulatory Enforcement Ombudsman

The Small Business and Agriculture Regulatory Enforcement Ombudsman and 10
Regional Fairness Boards were established to receive comments from small
businesses about federal agency enforcement actions. The Ombudsman will
annually evaluate the enforcement activities and rate each agency’s responsiveness
to small business. If you wish to comment on DEA enforcement actions, you may
contact the Ombudsman at 1-888-REG-FAIR (1-888-734-3247).
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APPENDIX G

Additional Assistance

This publication is intended to provide guidance and information on the requirements
of the Controlled Substances Act and its implementing regulations. If you require

additional clarification or assistance, or wish to comment on any matter regarding the
DEA’s requirements or regulatory activities, please contact your local DEA Diversion
field office (see Appendix E). Every effort will be made to respond promptly to your

inquiry.

Plain Language

The Drug Enforcement Administration has made every effort to write this manual in
clear, plain language. If you have suggestions as to how to improve the clarity of this
manual, please contact us at:

Drug Enforcement Administration
Office of Diversion Control
Liaison and Policy Section
Washington, D.C. 20537
Telephone: (202) 307-7297
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APPENDIX H - DEA FORMS

The following pages provide samples of several forms frequently encountered by DEA
registrants. Included are:

DEA Form 41  Registrants Inventory of Drugs Surrendered

DEA Form 106 Report of Theft or Loss of Controlled Substances

DEA Form 222 U.S. Official Order Form for Controlled Substances

DEA Form 224 Application for Registration

DEA Form 224a Renewal Application for DEA Registration

DEA Form 363 Application for Registration as a Narcotic Treatment Program

DEA Form 363a Renewal Application for DEA Registration as a Narcotic
Treatment Program

2006 Edition
Page 41



Drug Enforcement Administration
Practitioner’s Manual

DM Agpraval
Na. 1117 - 0087

i 3. Daparen: of dosdos ! Daig Eatm

REGISTRANTS INVENTORY OF DRUGS SURRENDERED

 Adnstaton

PACHAGE 80,

The foilowing schedule 1¢ an nventory of conmelled substances which 1s bereby surzendered 1o vou

for proper dispositior.

FROM: [inoiude Neme, Shed, City, Stefe2od ZiP Cole s siuce frovided peitw.)

-

L

—

_l

NOTE: CERTFEDMAL (At Mocap! fiequesnd) 1S REQUIRED FOR SHIPMENTS
OF DROGE WA LS. POSTAL BERVICE, Soenstudians on (overss Hage 2) e S,

Sigy alapgalegn: o st 1 agpart:
RegistaTs DEA Number
Pagi: s Taagheny Nuird

CONTENTS | Can- _
Murmpa | (mperof [0l | FOR DEA USE ONLY
NAME OF DAUG OR PREPAIATION o fhae e
o | e ey CHIANTITY
Sanes | ceher o R, YT
jorcom | Eash DEPOSTION
Rstisstesenss will H 0y Cobirnns ) 20 and & ONSY, tiber) | oot QNS | MGS.
T 2 ) ] 5 & 7
1
2
3
4
5
-]
7
8
]
10
ikl
312
13
14
15
18
A — - -
FIRM CEA1 (%-07) Pardoues editon dawd 646 is utane. S0 INETILETDI T Hyese [pepe 3 of B,
2006 Edition

Page 42




Drug Enforcement Administration
Practitioner’s Manual

DEA-41 HHOBE) Py. 2

CONTENTS | Can-

= OF DRUG DR PRI groms, | 'S
NAME OF DRUNG OR PREPARATION o Tafiers, vy

Narcper | (Munberof ‘«-‘gfg-i FOR DEA USE DNLY

Catr | e e | Gonr

il | penar oo | tant o 5 QUANTITY
o | k| merosmon
Fegirens wi 4 in Sourrns 123, and ¢ ONLY, wirerf | Ul GuS. | MGS.

7 2 7 ] I3 8 7
17
18
15
20
Fi |
22
23
24

i

The carralad slciaioaes suzaadarad B godardaios with Tige 21 o ha Cade o Fodeal Reguigions, Sectan 1307 21, have Baan 2aoaived

QGG DG g G0N 10 drugs EEed an M imerary vd e bean: ** 41} Foswaddad S oadied Witk g

12) Dusvayed as indcated ard Do nmandd raarded tepda-sediad Aty writying corten; 1) Foraandad pe-dslad aher vaitdng canents.

oATE DESTROYED BY:
*EXdsw o fiews i sgpliable. WITNESSED BY:
INSTRUCTIONS

ot .n: :mn u'r.'h. drag = raluzme 1 dha '-Abu a' mni:u:s k1 c:.":n o t:c ﬂza vEH\:h :'~"‘:ﬁ'..nm..=n_ r...d 24 ..aiw 4o

waifsrs 2., pk .33 uds, 11 232y}

AL prekyges inchudsd op a siegls line skouid be sdoative iz nama, conzer and eceolled snbirancs serongrh,

{35 opies of thiv forz. vo thw Spacis! Agunt in Chargs, cxder sepamote covar Encless one addiconzl
Ty for your -ro..m.. Crs copr will bers2arned 16 ¥ou 58 arezeipe. Mo fordbar moatwill be
Azy forther e 3 those drags showid be adidresred o toe DEA Dismics % re widsl

Eugs suesdamd. This G medy & serves :0AAraE 10 T6RIstrI bidng dhom o sizar oy mecks =4

Zrugs sheaid ba stipped ::-e-su.lad '.d yowpeid &
Eriereamact Admirstaics. of the DTA Disnc

3%+ OF sesfind neas retyrs receipt zequested) o Spacial Ageet iz Chazge, Drug
Sie wiick serves your mer

PANACY ACT INFGRUMATION
AUTHORITY: Bactan 07 ot e 5-'.\1‘2&16(1 mbwmﬁa At & 1970 PL 91513
PURPDSE: To domarred i 3 which have b forwasded by regisians o DTA & disposai,

RAOUTING USES: This fom: is radguivad by Tadasa Aeguatons for e surendar o wraartad Cortolled Subsiances. Distoswas
afinfoiration Yom TiE syt a2 mada B !ns felawing maqmasa' e ki Mo purioses aad.

A Qe Fades luw erfasoaniens and sag , s and saguidiary pasposes.

8. SN ad kxak layw dniasoorant and i RIS '::xisw : vt and V PUIDRNS.
EFFECT: Taiut iodocuitantthe suzender ol unnandean%aaed Buhstances awy resak in prasacudan X vioificn ofthe
Cantdied Sutirantes At

4

U N4 Pagaradrk Hedafan ALt 8 piesail is nat wgued ﬂ.-.amd p <X mlnmm of Ffarmaion iRes it Sy S o gironty val QM3
=] TR PR N, dudng s Sl S

afel Aucries, Pulis radaeing Busikn for fig cdladtion o

L I ey,
ceSERNG Tistuctans, sodrding adatng 4% Sausis, i arid mmmnq ix d& rgadad, @d cgigingand refe alfy P Sadasson of
IR, Do) canmaan s 2egadng s burded eRTHIAY o any chee aspaet o s cafiaction olia fan, Hohuding S0 tetuing

55 I, 0 99 Dady Trosoansand Adreiisatan., 7O and ﬁmﬂ»#amg&m* Soctan, Washigsan, D.C. 20337; &rJﬂ o e OMoa o
Maragurre and Badgut, Paparaork Raducton F‘mm‘nu 1 117-0007, Wisshing¥n, D5, 20502

2006 Edition
Page 43



Drug Enforcement Administration
Practitioner’s Manual

Enfercement Adminiziradion,

Complete The Front and back of this Torim in triphicate, Forward the oniginal and duplicate copiss 1o the nearssl BEA Cffica,
Fw!.nrn the tiplesie copy far your reserdy, Sc;gf states may alac fe;?lira e gi iz 1:;’;1.

REPORT OF THEFT OR £ 0SS OF CONTRCLLED SUBSTANCES

Fedaral Regulaticns raquie regloimies 1o submit 3 detated report of any thefl or oo of Sontiolisd Subaasces 10 the Drug

OME APPROL
b, 11120001

1. Name and Address of Regisirant finchide 2P Code)

) 2. Phone No. finshuds Arss Sode}
2P O00R

2 DEM Fegistralion Nurnber

2hr. Taﬁl 7 dgit suffiv

4, Date of Thefi er Lovs

5. Principa Buzinass of Registmn {Chack ona)
1[0 Pharmacy & [] Diswibutar
2 [ Pmdilicner 8 [) Methadcne Fregram
3 O Manufacurer 7 O Other (Spedify)
4 [ HespitatiClinic

€. C:umg in which Ragsrant i 7. Waz Theftreporied X
lezsie 1o Polize?

Jtes [Ira

Narrie and Talephone Murnber of Felice Depanrment {Inzlude Ares Cede)

4, Mumber of Theftz or Lozzas Pegistrant
has expeniansad nthe pasi 24 monkhs

1 [] Hight breakin
2 [] Armed rebbery

2 [] Employe= pilferags
4 [0 Customar thekt

10. Type of Theh or Loas (Chach one and compilate ilemz. below aig appropriate)

S [0 tiher {Explain)
3 [ Lostintranzit [Semplete am 14)

1. Harmed Robbery, was aryone:

Killsd? [] Ne [ Ya {Hew mamy)
Injursd? [ Me [ Yec [How mang $

2. Parshaze walue 1o regwimnt of
Cantrplled Substarces taken?

13, Wera any pharmaceuiicals o
marchandise taken?

Ome

$

0 Yes €. Valueg

4, IF LOST IN TRARSIT, COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING:

& Nome of Cammon Camier B. Hams of Conzignae

. Consignee’s DE A Registraticn Numbsr

D, Wears the carion raceivad by the customer?

O ves 0 nNe [ es

E. I razeived, did it appearic ke tamperad with?

O Na

F. Havat?:?u eparianzed bysag in meni
frami thiz zame carrisrin the pazt?

[0 Ne

O Yes iHowMarg )

-l

5. What idertifying markz, symbols, or price codes ware an the labels of thase containers that would azsizt in identifying tha products?

-

5. )f Official Tentrolled Substance Ordas Forez. (QEA-222 ) wiers siolen, Jive numbers.

-
=

7. ‘What gecurity measres have baen taken to pravent future thafts or beses?

PRIVACY ACTINFORMATION

AUTHCOAITY: Section 301 of the Controlled Substances At of 1970 (FL 91-513),

PURPOSE: E?:n thefi or kiss of Cenirotiad Substanzes,

ROUTIME USES: The Coniralied Subsiancss Ast authorizes the preduciicn of
special raponz required for shatizhical and analpical purpozes, Dischosures of
informaticn from this systern are nade 1c the following <stepanes of usere for the
pupoges siated:

A. Other Federal law enforzement and regubsicrg agenvies for law enforcement
and regulsicry purpoces.

B. State and lozal law end td regulatory
ond ragulatory purpeses,

EFFECT: Failure 1o reporl thefi or bes of conimlied substances maryg resultin

penahies underegcibn-nlcfz and 443 of the Contrelled Subsianzes At

gencies for low snforcerment

In argordance with the Papecwrk Feduclion A of 1995, 10 perscn is
raquired to respond (0 a callection of Infirmation uniass IEdisplays a Iy
valkl OMB cantrol numitees. Tha vadkl BME conltol nurmber for thiz
colReHon of Infomaton Is 1117-0001. Putlic mporting burdsn for this
collaclion of information 5 estimated to averagy A0 minutas par
respons: |, inciuding the tine Tor revieing Instuctions, ssarching
SBUNG deti sou a5, Jalhadng and maintaining the data aaeded, and
compisling and reciswing ihe collacion of infomation.

FORM DEA - 106 {11-67) Frwviows adfons chzolele

GONTINUE ON REVERSE

2006 Edition

Page 44



Drug Enforcement Administration
Practitioner’s Manual

FORM DEA-1D6 {Nov. 2000) Pg. 2 LIST OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES LOST

Trade Mafne of SUbSLance of Preparation Nameef ConTdled Substarce in Prapamtion Oosage Strengh and Form Suantity

Examples: Dogoxyn Mathamph ine Hydrochioride 5 mg Tablats 3 x 100
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[ certify that the foregoing informyatian is correct 1o e best of my knowledge and belief.
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DEPICTION of PAGE 1 of DEA FORM-222
U.S. OFFICIAL ORDER FORM - SCHEDULES I & 11

See Reverse of PURCHASER'S No order form may be issued for Schedule I and II substances unless a OMB APPROVAL

Capy of Instructions completed application form has been received, (21 CFR 1305.04). No. 1117-0010
TO: (Name of Supplier) STREET ADDRESS
CITY and STATE DATE TO BE FILLED IN BY SUPPLIER
SUPPLIERS DEA REGISTRATION No.

ll. TO BE FILLED IN BY PURCHASER
N'% P:Ic?{aga s PSaIé:aZfe Name of Item National Drug Code ?ﬁ; :geec:’s Sﬁg; d

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9
10

LAST LINE SIGNATURE OR PURCHASER
COMPLETED  (MUST BE 10 OR LESS)| OR ATTORNEY OR AGENT

Date Issued DEA Registration No. | Name and Address of Registrant
Schedules

Registered as a

No. of this Order Form

DEA Form-222
(Oct. 1992)

U.S. OFFICIAL ORDER FORMS - SCHEDULES ) & |1
DRUG ENFORCEMENT ADMINISTRATION
SUPPLIER’S Copy 1

Note: The graphic illustrated above is not intended to be used as an actual
order form.
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Print of lype name and titie of centitying official Telaphone No. {requirad tor verfagtion)
SECTION 8 | cortify that the toregoing information furnishad on this application is true and cofredt.
SoNATORE
Signature of applicant Date
Gignn ik

Pon: or fype name and itie of applicant

WARNING ae:wn 843{=) 4 s Al 01 T‘rJe 21, United Stats Code staes thal any parsan who 3 £ hes faise or
i he i Sudjesity oz Nt more han four years, 3 e ul ot serw shan 530,008, or bojn.

1 I..o :qguu—xuen wiil ba nluod uniegs & namp]md appm:al-un form has beer receved (21 CFR 120413}
with

@35, ro persen is required to respond to 3 coll of ion unless i displays a valid GMB conal rumber. The
v:hd QM8 conuot nwrber'oruus cokecion is ‘nmc i+, Public reporiing burdar, foc this ion of i don is @ ¥ ta J8 12 Minutes per ReSponte. inciuding
e g ¢ TviRUENY NATUCHGNS, SA3IChing eXiSEhg dald 20urtes, gathering and mamianing th dilh Faeted, 3¢ A g the colk o

3, The Dett Colecton impmvcmen‘s Act of 1658 (PL I04-134) reqaires hat you fumssh your Taxpayer ideniifying Number zm‘or *m Securty Numoar or ik :wﬁcam
This aumber is for debi shouid your fes become uncolidciable.
A PRIVACY AQT iNFORMATIOR
ALTHORYTY: Section 302 and 302 of the Convolied Substances A2 of YWFD (PL #1-512) and Debt Colleciion inprovernents Actof 1998 {FL 104-134; flor
TAAPAYEC {MSNEfENg Rurber and.‘or socdal Becunty nurmbery,
PURPGOSE: Ta sbuain m'onum quik n;lsw P ba »h! et Substances Act of 1970,
ROUTINE USES: The C RCial reposs as reguired foc 2 Di of
anFarreation: om Fiis System ars made 0 ibe 'alicwmg cangmws o‘ ustrs ot e puipores Stated:
A, Otner federal taw and Teg foriaw L and
3. State and local law- et reguiatory ies for law en¥: and regulatory
. Par ¥ unaer the C: S Aot {PL 21-81331ar the purpase of varteng tha regrstration of
EFFECT. Failure 2o Tarm will F ing of the licat

RENSEWAL -Page 2
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RENZWAL iNET - Pags &

Form-224a APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL
Supplementary Instructions and Information
ADDITIONAL SECTION { DRUG SCHEDULES - Apslizants snouis check all crig schedules to be handled. Howsver, 3ppiicants must st} comaly with stale
INSTRUCTIONS requremens; federal registation 05 noz svarue state raswistions. Chess he arder form bex orly if you intend {9 purchzse or
13 transtar sohedaia | comt < subzstances.
SECTION 2. CROZR FORKMS - Order forms will be rratked fo e regisiama aidress folivwing issuance of 3 Cenificate of Registravon.
SZCTION 3. STATE LICENSE(S) - Federal regissraion oy D S5 15 oaeed unon e appl: ‘5 3OO witn 3ol € ad iacal ws.
Applicants snouid comact the leca: siate icensing autorisy prior to comotelieg his application. if your stata mecuires a separate
corveiid substancs rumber, provide that rumber on this spplization, # a1 icanse nas not yet bedr ssued, ndidate
"Fanging. ¥ wats licensing authodty s net reguaed, indicate “He®
SECTIAN 4. LIARILITY . Aoputants must answer 25 four dons for <he | whe 4 e prsceseing. ¥ you atbwaced “ves" 10
any qusstion, prewide s BSRRIGN in the Spase previded. If agdiional Ssane is required, you may atach o sesaeste shees ol pansr,
ZCTION S AFPLICANT DENTIFICATION - Entry ofstissing 6312 of correctons CHLY rusi be tyded or peioted in the dlocis proviced to nely
reduce taty entry emors. Enter changes in Credicusiy Drowded regstration imarraton, such 3% Name oh. aderess carrection,
97 new phore sumbers,  Fee axempt indvidusis shoald Ist tha rare and address of the 2 axempt o . Aphysical sddress
15 tecuioRd, alwer tha siceet addcass a1 powt sfice box may be inchues viguats ru-nwr-g l'\od d ensure dar the scoial sacarty
numagr {SEN o speerd IS sorest. i cenawing a busnass andry, a walic tax dgifisador r {T2) st de suaphied.
Debr collection information is mandatory pursusnt 1o the Debtt Colleciien lmpmvemmrAaf of T39%
BECTION 5. METHOD OF PAYMENT - Indicate the desirad method of payment. Maka chedks o “Ocag Adri
Trird-23ry checks or engsls drawn o foreipn Danks Wik not Se accspler. SEES ARE NOP-I-P=1’-'J!~3L'IABLE
LZTTION T CERTEICATE OF SXEMPTION - rom of fer it read 10 1ederal siate or local govermment
om‘:r.eﬂ =esoitals. Instinuzicns and *‘icmls Tite ap0HOTES BUDEROT F apency CHLer MYAST CEmITY SXEMDT SIalus. The signalure.
airkorty tle, and teiephone number of tha cerifying ofics] (2ther than the apalizanty mus: be provided.
SHECTHIN 5. APPLICAM TS SIGNATURE - Mus: be e erigina $:3n3tace £in ink) of the applicart.
1. SNTSRKET nforrazon can be feaed or gur wel: file St wWwandalversion w0y
CONTACT 2 TEL 1Sn3E: Hewndguraners Call Center: {990} $82-053%
INFORMATION B WRETTEN INQUIRIES: rag Ja*oom«-r. AGHUDAY X0

2.3, Bax 2635
Waskirgion. o, 20208082

3, DEX GFRICED: DEE Orfisat wre ¥sicd dalew (30D, BI7, ard 583 are wk-Frae rumbes;.

ATLANTA DIVISICN OFFICE

ATTH: Ragiswation

g&u«: SN, Suite 403
A 3003

Eacngia
Mnh Taciing

DETROIT DIVISION OFFICE
437 Howard Simet
Detenit, M 48220

PHILARDELPHIA DIVISION OFFICE
‘WWRanr J, Green Seceral Sulding
300 Arch Streel Raom 16224
Philaceipnis, FA 131D

Hantucky
{548s 80h-Tesl Minigah s i Deawae
{3284 2120350 Ohia aoc, 3& 3344 Darnsyivany

Souts Carokng HER) 8335042
TR {5887 210.TERE EL PASD DIVISION OFFICE PHOENIX DIVISION OFFICE

E: Pasc Faden! Justive Tanter 3010 . Znd Stest, Saive 305
BOITON DIVISION OFFICE 300 Souh Mesa ik Drve. Sote 2000 Facenis, AZ 2017
JFK Faders Buiding T Pase, TXTRI2
18 New Sudbury Sreer, Rasot 2453 Arirona 1800 741002
Bosien. MA 02202015t N Maxico 19481 BI2BN4

SAN DIEGG DIVISION OFFICE

Ceanestsul 72200 HOUSTON DIVESICN OFFICE 4587 Viewtidge Avenue

1423 Wast Loop fout. Suie J0C San Diego. CA 921224837

Masre

rougmon, TX 776272203

; 4638 272-5174 Caifpmia {Socthar) (8003 2541152
Frode isand i 67-220C Texas iS. & Centrzly  {500) 7420835
wermont {888 2725174 SAN FRANCISCO DivISION OFFICE
LOS ANGELES DIVISION DFFICE 45C Golden Gare Auvenue, Y60 Fioor
CARIEEEAN DIYISION OFFICE O5F East Terale Stree, 20tk Floor ® 0. box 38035

0. Bux 16T
Ss=n Juar, PR 008222187

Puerts Siec
LS. Wirgic islands

CH)""AGO CIVISION
Rl

Thisago, b 60634

Ifinzis
l'lduna

U
W:mﬁm 3"'»35‘ el
DALLAS LIVISION SFFICE

11 Technsiogy Bive., Zast
Batss, TX 7RG

TGS 13at 330476
Texas Martaerr) {BEEVAICATIR

CENYER DIVISION OFFICE
U5 bwerness Drive, =:n:
Englewcod. 20 8512

Jowndy
Monmna
Utas

Phyoming

vos fngeles, CARID12

5. Cemraly -"’"1""1«6.1‘:"
S1E-H822
15v51~1"-§EJ
1232719345216

MFAMK DIVISEC'N CQEFICE
3403 ard Sireet
Miant. -L 3335

Fletca £355) SI0-4850
NEWARK DIVISION OFFICE

B Kulbarry Streat, 2nd Floor

Newark KJETI02
New Jeriey 1550 3507
NEV? ORLEANS DiVISION OFFICE
3528 M. Causeway Sivd

Lakeway M sm;én- L )

Wetaine, LA T

Aabama {388 £12-3053
Arkansay gieia T18.7392
«~OLIsRNa : £14-739R
Missssipp: —,saé) : 145302

NEW YORK DIVISION OFFICE
M Teth Averue
NEw York, MY 1601

Rew Yark

Sar Franzsce, TAU4TIE

<

mia {Northern; {8383 304-3257%
SEATTLE DIVISION OFFICE

400 Sesond Avenue, Wes:

Saalic, ‘WA #2110

Adaska {9581 2184231
Idaho ‘SaE! 154251
Dregor {838 215424

Phashington

ST, LOWIS DIVISION OFFICE
Sout 13 Sraet

12053

P
25

T2 bansin, MO £31033

fomin LBARY sn:,.'wa
Harsas 182831 4221173
Missaun {%8E1 82311

Nusraaxa 42281 BJAN TR
Zowtr Dakers ‘!’:51 8331172

WASHINGTON, DO DIVISION OFFICE
Techworid Plaza

30C ¥ BAmeer, l‘ "4 Suie 508

Washeagten, ]

Digurer of Coluritain
Wargand

Virgina

West Virginia
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DRUG
SCHEDULES

Listew celow de examples of e schedules winh assigned crug coge numbers. ¥ you are m cead of addiionat inferrsation, sae

or cortact the DEA offica sering your area.

SCHEDRULE

RARCLOTIC 2 P\’JJ\-\’M’\‘\.GTM

SCHEDULE I
HARCOTIC BASIC CLASSES

I CFRADS

SATIC CLASEES CO0E
. Huprenarphire
Ac2torphine Ly =] Codaine up t3 B3 ergidu plus oihe” ingradients
Aceryirrathsdol =l T Dinydrocodeineup ta 60 1grEu olis other ingredieris
Azylprocine 2522 Einyimorphing U2 te 15 mgicL plus ciner ingrediants
Alahre.ylwemaﬂcl {excafpt LAANY o893 Hydrocedanz up 0 14 mgidi s othar morediens
F433 Muorphvine up ¢ 50 mzH1CCml or gm plus ot
o243 Opaitr. Uz 15 200 mg7100m. plus Sther aciv az0a
TEH
TIAE NON-NARCOTIC BASIC CLAZSES TChE
TL35
de sal5) 9G53 Anghoiie Bigraids
Amrra- H,'mbu.’j'w At jewoent drug product) 2010 Benzphstacne
Harolr f250 Euralbica:
Tocgaine T Dronabinol Pharmaosuticat Produes i3
et denvidona 2823 GHE Drug Proust [gamma-Hydrexyoutyns aeid! 2210
Lysergic asic disthylarride L3T) TS Ketamine 7285
MariFniars IS0 Mi—thwrflca 2578
WVessaties 7357 DA prs ¢ Astve ingradient: 2271
Melragusionse ZE8E i-"nmnaami* SUDRAS Oy 2y
38 k&.hhendmympheun' e (MDA 7 Phﬁn:ls:nﬂ'a..mo 1515
38 % MM 7203 Getokarbdal phut horueatrolisd sttive kg edients 2318
e Eh - ¢ Fwermycéchxy aenive P"E! T455 Secobamhi za’ SR pOBry 2313
Peyote 745 Thicpertal i)
1 - «‘1-F‘wﬂf%:[dﬂ'~exﬁ$;ra1 &ing (PR 21+ Winsarbna 2315
437
i iTHC} 7.§?
iy drasannabineis (THC! T SCHEDULE IV
{3 Treaty by tiche ks seniding 23]
NARCCOTIC BASIC CLASSES
STHEDULE Dexiropoaoryphsne du
Difersxin tmg25ug atregine 504/¢u
{BRCOTIC BASIC CLASSES
HARGOTIC BASIC CLASSE o9E NONNARCOTIC BASIC CLASSES
Afokaorading 2010
Anitaridina 2020 Alprzolam
Cocaine 0341 Rarbital
CTodsine <50 Chicrat Hydrate
Deatreprapexypirens ibutk} 2Ty Chlcrdiazenouide
Dipnancxyiaie 70 Clorazepace
Siprerombine (ME3ET; 2055 Qiazepars:
Ethyi Ire %137 Uiedyipropion
Emrphine Hydrochlonde {M-223 Q353 FEmuraming
Giuethimide 2650 Florazepam
Hyorooodona W% ’Hal epam
riyeromorphone 2150 LOFAZeRam
Levs-3Ipnacetyi metnads: ILAANY PBAE Mazncel
Levorphanol ] Mebuzamate .
Mepergine 2250 phobariyzal ¥ izl
Methadone 2250
Merehine 2300 i
Dopdm, pondared 230 Midazotay
Daam, e o] Drazepam
Dwysedens [OF ] Paraidehyde
Osymorpharia gasz pemaline.
Popgy Straw 67 SrTAZOCE |
Poppy Straw ConcenTate 9470 :hel:uba!bm;
Thebans 5333 Fhentermns
Frazepam
HON-NARCOTKS BASIC CLASSER COTE CQuazepan:
Temazeazm
. . Trizzolzm
Arraharbita; 2125 -
Ampnetartine 1130 Zolpicem
Methamphetamng 1195
Metryloh -udute 1724
2270 SCHEDULE ¥
Fazt
363 CODE
"-'l*eny acem’ue &6t
Sectbaraia 215 Cocding Seagh Prepanatsn 1Z00m gl 103! & 100g) EReeh]

Notice to Registrants Making Payment by Check

Autheizateh o Sonvert Yowr Checr: iFyou send uy a :'n-*lc 1 WaME YOI :a G, your Shidek wif be convenad into aa sRotens fund mansfer. “Slkesronie fund wansfe” i3
0 2oy 0sad 1o refer 15 i prOsess n which we & i f ins 10 wansier funds front your as0LUnL to Sur bSoount, SENEr thap rpTessing your
check. By sending yeur ormpivted, sigpred chatk 10 us, you authittze LS 10 Sopy your shadk 04 15 use oo aconnt bfsimation from yout chack © make an sbecuom:s fung
wangier from your ssvcurt for she soma armzurt as thie check, i e slecrorie fund ransier 230001 be processed 47 taciinicd reasans, you SuthosZe Us 1 DIOCESS e sopy ol
your chesk
Msudivians Pundz. Tew tirmdy ransier Bom yeur accoln: Wi usuaky ocsur with T+ hours, wnvsh is fastes an s check is mormafy orocessed, Therefore, make sure
thete ari uifsent unds AVAEISKE it yaur ctgaking 200U WhEn YOU 5800 U YU oftatk, [f 16 HecToric Iunds 1ass%er DIANCT De LINDIeted Because oY INBUticant birds. we
My U 12 ek the TAASTET LD T D Tres
TranTaction inlarpatzn Tos esTonic fund Tasder trom Jour actount will b9 on the sceaont stateniit! yol 6seivy Ton: youf financial instisuses. Rowever b bamsfermay
b2 i~ a ¢iffzrerd 21a04 00 YOUL atenmen: thae v Dlace whace your shacis o maky JppRaL For exsmple, 11053y apoear unter "ocher wihdrawals” 27 “othat raraastons® Yeu
Wil T FRORIVE YOUT TTigWl gk Bk front yisar AinanGial insietion. For sedwily reasons, wit will $e310y yoaur ¢rigleaisiveck, but e wii kesp a copy of tne cheek for recors-
Keering pUrpases.
Your Rights You 5houle Samlac you? Fnandal inshon immediatery #f you bateve thal b HCrore F00 Bansfer Fponad 27 your a0uhT $1aitert was Aol propadly
auhonzed ef 1s ise ncarsest, G LETLY s urder Secarcal jas catied the Eigstronis Fund Translar St for an upauthoszed or inccrreo: slediranic dund
transfar,

AL PNET - Paga &
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AP _
Fonn-363 APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION ’*”"“‘3'%3&’12;5 .«':f’:' {if?o‘;.
Under the Narcotic Addict Treatmant Act of 1974 Pravivu st ar obeoble
INSTRUCTIONS 1. W"f Mcwytﬁ: ;'ﬁ':‘, :ﬂ:ﬂpa Lop Yo e, REGISTRATION INEQRMATION :

J Seafou ) anl:l tmq;ﬂmmrl o Hammmmcnugu .
A, 131 Bl Fom 10 1o adrass provideatin Sockcn ¥ ok i ciidasdd enveips, [
3. tnchada thie comact piment amoart. FEE 15 HOVLBE FURLERLE. I PoE

6. 38 wout Bidvre any s ertart AC0-EE0-2E20 miar 0 susmding o ansdzatan § e R
T a8 T~ ADRLY Onling o awa Seadiversion Aeeni 9oy,

MRORIANT. Do NDT GEND THIS APFLISAT SN N0 APPLY SNLINE

Fee for | year is $130
FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE

SECTION 1 aprucant
DENTIICATION

BABNESS LT Faclllly Name U1 TRgsaton 1501 Iemness enlly of I e exompl

H

ABIEss Ling 1¢sireet MG’&S‘SI

LO3ress Line 2

IipCone

“DERT COLLECTION

RFORIMATIGN
Mﬂm'z‘mﬂ Fee aote BT LN DA ST eads D
Hrgrrewmants &)
SECTION 2 L NYE - Mesnlentnoe MR - COmpIungat f AEMCEnINee
BUBINEIS ATTAITY 1 yrp  mgeeiicsmorn NTF - Compouncer ; Detsalicazon
Tinech. e EAX SRty e o

| NTF - Mamenarse and Detoxtizaticn Lo NTR - Compunzar s MEATSHanc: and Celoxtsalien
SECTION 3 D ourewe s Darate il
DRUO LCHEDULES
PP — e 2 BOx i WGU MaQuie CITCIE LPYeS IS - tor purtnise or Tansfer I schellu:e It Worticile SUDINTeS.
SECTION 4 APE 3L SUrRTEY AEUOTIZE By e Foot At DRay Adeenisiralicn 160 tha Cusingss 3Ctity descrises in I apoication?
¥ FEPMIT VEL PEINDING 8O e R—— U
Atareatory 406 30507 : ; FD& Rimset

/2U CUTERYY SURORZEA 13 praserhs. SISiroute, diszence. 3% [ESRITCE. OF ONeTAIBE NENTE e COMTL e SLOElanees 1
SECTION S KPS G, S ] 3 g rAef e S O e St or ATEACEAE 11 WALE You FTE SpSraing 0F propase 1o SaiaeT
STATE IOENSEIY YES,  hava 5 Fomrge I
s Lipenne Nushs
| HCT REAUIRED Dy b clats

WE - Pugh 1
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SECTION 6

LIABIUTY

MAPORTANT.

All questions n
% secitenimust
ba oncwared.

EXFLANATICH OF
WES® ANGWERS

Wha daey
wmud NES o

Y& HO
1. Hasthe appliant v bests cotmitted of a crifie i connection wih conlrdlied sukelances urviar state o sahial tan? F I

2. r'i:aggbafgmu e SUTered (Ao caune o haga tederal ornirolid stetanns regisication ruakad, suspecsiol, sy

3. H36tha SpEikant s sUmstdeted (ior cauea) o havd a stales proteclon sl HCenve of Conli:iizg SUDEIANCe te)israto
[CE) wsﬂs Jendy Jonlked, TesuIcies, T plsz»d 0 prepalion® s any such action paoding? 3 "

(8] ﬂ'l! icar is & ﬁn%’%ﬂaﬂbil ;Ulhﬂ mana mnpe:m«:vn Wi glock b canad and raded by he

malshi, of pour hiss &Y R  SskROleC co ﬁgrmr bencomvicied of 3 iy n caamcuan win L
3 H218 of [0 Tads U3¢, o NAG B et SLERIAICE

S0 enﬁd. of gerrada onal Icensa o mlmled osance
'ﬁm«n tovekad eumed fran vy mm:hu o placid oh P nan!

Cataisy oF Inaidant: Lozalonis] 0 koL

Malurs of Inclasnt;

any ol ihe four Quecken:
abwie must proite
Aebrtemant loanplain
LUCH GNSNGTS
U this Tpace of amja«n
YN apciuon RSN e
SECTIONY " ehack B Dk ir ine 20piteant is a federal, stas, of kCalguisransntopatale] rarcolc tasimentprigan.
CERTIFGCATION B9 24345 £0 4B NINW GNAIAAN42 OF 110 GAEMPE ILERIANIN Bection 1.
OF EXEMPTION The uivietslghed harsty Catlihic that i a Datkan Is a frletal, $1alh of Kocal Quasrnns-opsmated natocic
Hom apRHLaIcH tee ekt prigrat, and k sxempt K om pa)mlm 1Fes appIcalkn foa ¥ ¥
o 5 ;
Fro s :&g&ﬂ Sigratrr of Comiing oMkl gthor than applicant) Date
sertying aidal
PHN OF 54 NI 300 1l O ontifng cMcld TN N, {requirad for vetization,
EC : oo check payablete Drug EnforcemsntAdmirsstration
SECTION 3 L Chedk  saapage ngal{'mum 'lr;at'm fcrmyton.
METHID OF
PRMENT - 4 MRS COHT W DAYIDSIE 0
Chazk ore hem f AN BXess . Dissar B ‘
Fgmos oy Crodh Card Nurnbet Expiration Dale U5 Dopaitrmant of Justice
ey st LU EMOMSHIVENL Adwitiiraion
PO Bax 28063
Washirglon DT 200368083
Sgn ¥ pasing vy
ared caril Signaturs of Card Hotder FEE 15 NON-REFUNDABLE
Printed Mame of Card Hobss
1
SECTION® Rty thal the teregang Infematicn Ammished on s spplication s s and cered.
APPUCANTS
SIGNATURE Signates of apgiicant Db
Shgn v e

PINLOF 159 DAY and 116 SO ARSI

WARNING: Jetion &ém-hﬁ] oﬂula 1. Unisd S1aias £ odo 2hites B3 ANy

6 Who knowingly er insrilondliy fumizhee iskze-to
Iragduiont ifoamation B skjactio Imprzsemend 1 rotmes

N 16UT Y502, 3 P of NOLMIsra thish £30:005 crtcm,

O FFUralin w8l s i3 u'iua a compmd

2 Indsccrinte MWMF”« % RedictnAct o 1205 no persanis Nnkes it il OME conired numitse, The
YRKS S conipd e for s oo lactionie 14 ﬁmm G lor Wk Wmh wmwﬁ 5 Ssofage &'.l Minutss pat v«?:nu ln.'neh;
théetims t:mnmll axisibg gakhaiing and mantaiing s dar rss8ac, an

3. The Gk € womants & of 1566 (FL m-lvl«rqnlm T, U RN o Tepayer mlr,h;mmoum‘or -2 ] Mnfg Numaron s Appicaicn.
“Thit b ks 11 dabi cotedon pr houkt your T

4, PRIVACY 45T | TICN

ALSTHCAITY: Saclicn JO2 ares 203 of the Credzhad SubzQACES At of 1970 {PL L1212 304 Ded] CORTUSNMREIC/IMENES At of 1903 {PL 104 13} for

laika fcom fas bech r«ﬂﬁdlﬁ‘l CFR AXAAN
ragind i

Teni¥yhg numbsr SVer 5ocial 5o aumbary
Se T et e

PLRPOSE: Infcrmadien e gurﬁmng?&upplmwmkmfmwaumnmkkdwﬂ
RCUTME WSES:  The 2 Fvataes Tgialraports. A% ) s Disttorirss ot
:ﬂ&n&%ﬂwnwvﬂwawnt? uwauwmaummmmw B
£ Slata 2t iocailaw erorcementandte 5  aRndes anbmu!awragn f"' PIANS
2. Forsons raghsrad undet ihe Contmlad St o:m t.M-sw)thMpumav:z; herﬂ;mraind-:mmam
EFFECT: FHIune fo CLMPEStS fomm WA PRI H0: yt’lc
NE'?I mz
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Form-353 APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION

Supplementary Instuctions ard Information
ADDITIONAL SECTION 1. APPL TIFICATION - Informetic ’ intad inthe bl ided 1o
INSTRUCTIONS AP (Cgalzrar %E;;ia ri“-:acrs ' ematicn must be typed or prinled in $vw blocks provided e help

Faa exampt appiicant shauld list the name and addrass of thie f2< exampt insituton,
Aﬁryﬁcﬂd&gst is reguired; @ post office box may be insluded after street addiess.

.B:g:-ﬁcam must ¢ntor o valid tax ientfication number (TN
bt colfection snfortpation Js mendatory pursuant io the Debt Coffection
Improvement Act of 1996,

SECTION 2. BUSINESS ACTIITY. Indioate cnly cna,

SECTION 3. DRUG SCHEDULES - Agg'licant shensid chedk all drug schedulss 1o be handied,
Hizwever, applicant must stit acriply with slate requiremints; fedesal raggatration
Soes R ovartuly state restrictions,

Chack the ordet form box oql%if you intind ba purchase of to transfer schedule Il oxalrollad
substances, Order forms willba mailed 1o the tegistened addrecs following issuanse cta
Cartificats of Ragistration,

SECTION 4. FOA PERMIT - Authorization by the Food & Drug Admirdsteation is mandatory for DEA Registratic
approval, Enter the status cffy%ur FoAaumoDﬁﬁm a‘n:i !133 Fnkmntﬁ-r. ’ Eralion

SECTIONS. STATE LICEMSEL S~ Fadetal registration by OEAIs basad the apglicant ‘s complianos wi
RN SRR i ¥ assd upon the applicent s ccmplianss with
izant shoutd oontad the lecal slate lisensd ety prior to Soraplsting thi fication,
ack 1h a: you ara currently aun:m'zet;i "m“ﬁf:g a:ﬂl%g;?éé éﬂr slata go!-ng:pngr:mcﬁagn
#late hicensing is pot required, indicate "Not required by this state”.
SECTION &, LIABILITY - Apghicant raust answer all four questions for the application & b acseptad for processing

if you answarad "Yes' o any quascion, revide an explanation in thir space provided.

If additiorval pace is required. you may attach a geparale shest of paper.

SECTIONT. CERTWICATE OF EXEMPTION « Exemipion from p:rmm of application fee is limitzd tofederal,
stata o local govermnment-operatsd narcilic e tmend program,

Tha icart's superior o & - oficer pust cerlify exempl status. The signaturs, authority tife,
and tat-alc?;l?Mne nuuh?bbsr of haggem 1 official ther anemg apphicant) mua? b providad, ¥

SECTION 2. METHQD OF PAYMENT - Indicate the desired methcd of t. Make shedk; L
*Crug Enforcemant Mnirisualﬁ%n(:. mﬁé’g‘rwﬂémm orwm drawn%n ﬁ:f-:rigr? gft:'nlﬁwill nct
be scospted.,

FEES ARE NOH-REFIUNDABLE.

SECTION 9. APPLICANT'S SIGNATUIRE - Must b t original signaturs (in irk) of the apglizant.

Notice to Registrants Making Paymont by Check

Aihonzaton w Convert Your Check: you send us o chack  maka your payment, your check will be convated into an
slectmonic fund vansier. "Electrenic fund wanstar” is e tonm used 10 refer to the process in which we eloctronically instruct
your tinancial institution to transfer funds from your account 1o our actount, rather than precsssing your check. By sending
yourcompletad, sighed chatk to us, ytu authorize us 4 copy your check and 1 use $w acscuntinformation ot your
check to make an electronic fund transfer from your account for tha same amount as the check. If the electronic fund
ransfer cannot be processed for technical reasons. you authonze us t process the copy of your check

fnsufficiant Funds: The electronic funds transter frem your ascourt will usually ocour with 24 hours, which is faster than a
check is nommally processed. Thersfote, make sure there are sufficiont funds available in your thecking accountivhen you
sand us your check, ¥ the elactronic fumds transter cannot be completed Eacause of insufficient funds, wo maytry o make
he transfer up 10 teo timas,

Transactien hiomaton: The slectronic fund transfer from your account #ill be on the account statsment you recaiwe from
your financial institution. Howewvir, tha transfer may be ina diffarent place on your statement than the place whens yeur
checks nomally appear. Forexample, t may appear upder “other withdrawals” of "other transactions.” You will not receiva
your original check back from your financial institution. For security reasons, we will destroy your criginal check, but we will
kesp o copy of the check tor racord-Keeping pUIpcses.

Your Rigtes; You should contact your financial institution immadiataly if you belisve that the slectronic fund transfer
reponad on youraccount statement was not propenty authorized of is othervise incorrect. Consumers have protactions
under Faderal law callad the Electronic Fund Transfer At for an unsuthorized or incorrect electronic fund transfer.

HEW JHET . Flge 3
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Form-363 APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION
Supplementary Instructions and Information
CONTACT 1. INTERNET: fnfermaticn can be found o cur wieb sitx at wew.deadiverdonusda.gov
INFORMATION  , 1¢1 eproNe: Haadquarters Call Genter: (800} 8324539
3, WRITTEN tHOURIES:; %g EMcrremenl Fodministration
Wed’ingh)n DS 20033-8083
4. OEA OFFICES: DEA Offices are fisted balow {800, 877, and 888 are tclifree nurabers),
ATLANTA DIVISION OFFICE DETRQIT DWISION OFFICE PHILADELPHU\ DIVISION OFFICE
ATTN: Ragistrabion ) 431 Howard Sirest Williar J. Groen Fadaral BuiMirg
75 SFM%&. gat, BW, Suite 800 Distroit, MI 48226 500 Arch Street. Room 10224
Atarta, (54 30303 Phitadelphia, PA 1508
Kentucky {800 230.9844
Genigia 1888) 869.9935 Mizhizan 4800! 230-5844 Delawara 1868; 3938211
Hoith Caroling 1838‘ 219-8589 Chia {8604 2305844 Pannsylvania (889 3038231
Sauth Carcline 18663 $33-6983
Tornnassea (BE88; 219.7808 EL PASD DIVISION OFFICE PHOENIX DIVISION OFFICE
Ei Pago Federal Justics Conter 3010 N. 2nd Strest, Suite 301
BOSTON DMS!DN OFFICE B0 Bewth Mesa Hills Drive, Suite 2000 Phoerts, AZ 85012
JEK Federal Buildi ng ElPaso, TX 70012
1% New Sudbary Strest, Room £400 ) ) Afizons 8007 7410462
Boston, MA 922030131 New Mexioo 191558325014 ) ]
) SAN DIEGC DIVISION OFFICE
Ceongslicul (6171 857-2200 HOUSTON DIVISION OFFICE 4550 \ewridge Avarua
Maing 1888, 2725174 1433 West Locp South, Suite §90 San Diego, Ch 921231637
KMassachuiatts ISW; 5572458 Heusten, TX 770274508
New Hampebine 18883 272-6174 ) Caolfornia [Southem  (800) 284-1182
Rhicde lstand (6173 857.2200 Taxas (S. & Central)  (80D) 7430595
Varmenl isss, 2725174 SAN FRANCISCO DIVISION OFFICE
LOS ANGELES DIVISION UFFICE 45 Golden Gate Avenua, 14th Floor
CARIBBEANH DIVISION OFFICE 285 East Temple Stree, 20th Floor PO, Box

PO, Box 2167
San Juan, PR 009222167

Los Angales, CA 90012
Caﬁf«nmm S, Ceniral) i213, 6216960

3an Francison, CAS4102
Calfomia INCrtherny 188633043251

Pugnc Rioo (787 7751745 415.6822
WS, Wirgin kslands 1737] 77581 78-‘5 Hemﬂa . 8889 4159822 SEATTLE DIVISION OFFICE
Trust Temitcry 213} 89d-2216 400 Sectnd Avaruz, West
CHICAGCO DIVISION OFFICE Seatlls, WASSI1G
Klucgymski Fedural Buikfing MIAM| DVISION OFFICE
230'S. Deartorn Street, Suite 1200 8400 NLW, 53rd Strast Alaska l&%& 219-4251
Chicags, L S50 Miami, FI331&5 kisho 104251
Gregen S5, 311
Wincis 13125 363.1234 Flodda 12057 690.4880 inghon 888) 21941418
Indiana 312) 3631238
Minhatota "312; 35&918& NEWARK DIVISION OFFICE ST. LOUIS OVISION GFFICE
Drakcta BG Mulberry Sireat, 2nd Floor 317 South 18t Street
Wiscoosin |2i 353-1"36 Niweark, NJ 07102 St. Louis, MO 63103
DALLAS DWISION OFFICE Naw Jersey 888 3881971 bxwia {888) 8031179
10188 Tecshnotogy Blvd., East Kansas 1838) 803-1170
Daltas, TX '?S.&g‘ NEW ORLEANS DIVISION OFFICE Missouri faes, 8031179
2B38N. Causeway Bivd Nebraske 1838 3021179
Cldahoms 898} 336-4704 Lakeway I, Suite 1800 Seuth Dekcta 888] 503179
Texas (Metthern) r888g 336-4704 Mstairie. LA 70002
W&SHiﬂGTON. D.C. DIVISION OFFICE
DENVER DWISION QFFICE Alabarna 6805 5148051 Teotrorkd Plaz:
118 Iwvernzas Drive, East Arkansas 1588) 514-7302 800 K ‘Slreel. N W., Suile S00
Englewced, CO 80112 Louisiana 866) 514.7302 Washingien, TLC, 20801
Mississippi 18861 514-7302
Celerade @00) 326-6000 Diswict of Coturabia (877 S0M-747d
Mentana B00) 326-B000 NEW YORK DIVISION OFFICE Marytand {877) 330-8670
Utsh {801 326-8600 & Tenth Averus Vitginia BITIBOV-TUTS
Myeming (8‘]0 326-6400 Maw Yeek, HY 10011 st Virginla (e'm 3306670
Hew York {E77)893-8789
1212)337-1553
212) 3371594
HEW INGT - Fago 4
2006 Edition

Page 58




Drug Enforcement Administration
Practitioner’s Manual

Form-363a RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION APPROJED OME NO 1117.0018

Under the Narcotic Addict Treatment Act of 1974 Previoss edions are chsolete
INSTRUCTIONS 1. Te apoly 5y mail compiate this. application. Keep a sapy for your records. REGISTRATION INFORMATION -

g' g:zill;ll'e?d‘sjn::lﬁﬁ::h el P:ﬂ‘foqn'; :f” ..f; in t_{pewrnerhas changead. DEA#

3 Mtk s form i e SGURS3 provided in Seckan 7 or s znclorad Envelore. REGISTRATION EXPIRES

4, inciude the torrect payment amoun:. FEE 1S NON-REFUNDABLE

2. i you have amy questcns contact S0C-E8Z-3538 pnor b submiting your apolization.

7. Sava time - renew online at www.deadiversion.usdoj.gav.

IMPORTANT. DO NOT SEND THIS APPLICATION AND APFPLY GNEINE.

FEE 1S NON-REFUNDABLE

SECTION1  apPLicANY
IDENTIFIGATION

Business of Faciity Name (if registralion is for business enlity of is fee exempy)

Address Line 1 (street address)

Address Line 2

BEBT COLLECY DN
INFORMATION ¢

Sae note W3 on bottor of page 2.

L Dsblgidcﬁm :
IMETbVeMBts Act

SECTION 2 17 Schedule Schedule 1
DRUG SCHEDULES
Check all tha: apply % Check this box if you require official order forms - for or transfer of [l

SECTION 3 Are you currently authonzed by the Food and Druig Adnunistration for the business activity described in this application?

FEA PERMIT YES PENDING NO
Mantatary for approval B o

FDA Number

Are cufrently authorized o preseibe, distibute, g ni$e, Conduct esearch, of mewﬂse hamlﬁ e controfied substances in
SECTION 4 S o e Mo Lt T 1D o Tos I3 o oSO 1 raCh JoU 216 SDGrATIY 5F Srbpaas e e

STATE LICENSE(S} o YES, | have a ficense argé%se N
umier

* NOT REQUIRED by this state

RENEWS - Page 1
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SECTION & 1. Has the applicant ever been convicted of a crime in connestion with controlisd substances under state 9r R2deral law?

LIABILITY 2 432 trf‘oe arF”""a" syer sumendered ifor cause: orhad 3 federal controfied substanca regismation revoked, suspended,
'H'

Has the apulk:mt Gver surreiderad ifor cause) of Kiad a state professicnal licensa or cu,atm%led subsiance registrstion
ravoked, sugpanded, dehied, resiricted, of plated on probatics? 15 any such action pending?

MAPGRTANT;

All questions in
thes section musk
bé answered,

w

4. rt m- ap kcam 33 corpl)rallon loth than a corporahan vfhaw Sklchrfs crmed and bracted by the public), assaciaton.
sharmacy, has any officer, parne’ cx convicted Of a CTIme I Conhsckon wih

regsh:rzan revokcd swgé o’t{ aldem d, or ever had a sﬁglg:dessmml Sicen;g‘grg:l)nwgﬁrgé%l%t?i?g e
regisiration reycked, suspended] denled, reslnc'éd o placed on probation?

EXPLANATION OF

"YES” ANSWERS Dateis) of incident Locasenis; of incdent:

Appicsnts who have

arswesed “YES" 1 Nature of incident:

ary of the four questians
above must pravide

A statement to explain
suck answers

USE this SEadk or aTath
A SERRINE 7681 30C ,
e with aspliestion  RESUIL Gf incktent

SECTION & 3. Chieck tis bow if the appficant is a fedenal, State, of 1ocal govemman-opsrated rarcelic treatment program.
CERTIFICATION Be sure to gnter name and address of the exempt institution in Section 1

OF EXEMPTICN The undsrsignad herehy cestifes that icant framed heteon s a Tederal, state or locsl governmend-operated narcotic
frers appitaten fea trea!ma:l pr'%gram ‘3l 15 @xempt from p:?ﬁﬂﬁem of the appkcation fes. gov !

Provide th name 3n¢ Signature of certifying official {ocher than applicant; Das
e numer of she
sarifyng ofical
Prmt of bype name a0« title of cestfynig oficial Telaphane No. {saquir=¢ for verFoation:
SECTION 7 Mawe creck payalte w: Drug Enforcement Mmlms'tr:mun
< Check Re= page 3 of ivsx e ivp
METHOD OF o )
PAYWENT Adad i Torm eath payent t:
Cheek gna foem of Amencan Express Discove: -+ Master Gard ) :
SRUMRRS drty Cradit Card fumiber Expuration Dae 4.8, Department of Justice
g 3 I : ; Drug Exforcement Adminstiation
P.O. B0x 22082
‘Hasringion DT 20036-6083
Signature cf Card Hoider FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE
Printed Nane of Card Holder
SECTION 8 £ gertify that she foregoing miormanon famisted on this application & true and coamecr.
APPLICANT'S
SIGNATURE Signature of applicant Cane
Sign in ok

Prnt or type name and titlke of anpicant

WARNING: Secdon 362123452 of T 21, Urited Sutes Sode sumes *hat any person wao knowenghy of irentionally famusnes talse or
[ e g is subjest {0 mansonmast for not rare than I20r years. 3 ire of not more than $33.07D. o both.

‘I féc regstravon Wil be issved uniess & completed appicaton form has Seen rete: ved (21 GFR 1225.13%
2 in ascorcance with e Paparwark Redudion Ao 1965, ro 57300 I5 reqQUIRC 10 respond toa cail—=c:m1 of icforreatan urdess ¥ €ispiays 2 valkd CHE canmi ruy

vaig TNE sanvel number for this cofiezion & 11T+ G015, Putlic reaesting bustanfor kis eczotdon ol nformalion 5 #3UMatac 1D ave'age U onmaes per reagc
e b far Y IMETULIONS, Searering $XisinG o Sokrmes, ARG S0 CImakg P I EHORC, ¢ completinyg acd arcieny s coecticn of in

3. The Dbt Caliezton lmpmu TEAE Aet of 15 (L 1041234 requires hat you umnisk your Taxpayer icanliing Mamber srdior 2asal Security Mamagr on this ascizaton.
Ths sunpes is or gl 24 [ 2 $hCGH your fee biccms e oliacatie.

4 FRivalY "'Tl?‘-OR? ATOI-

AUTHIRITY Fectinn 332 and 202 ofthe Convptied Subs.nms/ka of WS PLF 12} and Debs Calfecuor Improvenents Actef 1924 IPL 104-134: {for
Axpayer Wendfyng rambar sndicr $6Cid; seUTLY number:.

PLRPOSE: To Sbaad nfoc-um’, regad e 3 rAgHET DJD“M wutsun: 20 the Sorbrelled Subsianses Act o 15T

ROUTINE USES: The Go At R produtes S2SIR] BRGNS 3t (egUtEd 1B SEIERLCA Ara Y, tutpties. Dissicsures of

ﬂ"un—war frooes Iy mystaen arz mads 10 e foliowing categnries of users btﬁ-u m.rp-sn e
A, T tederad e snriorement acd regulaiary agencies o¢ aw

5. Siwe a0 d tacal law 1 and ragy ¢ JGUnsh hr e en‘om*nw ang maan:rwy EADLBES,
L. Persans reg =d undes e T hed Aot {FL BT-512} foc ire purpase of verfyng the registraties of cusiemers.
EFFECT: 53, use o compiete for wil preciude precessing of the applicador.
REMNEWAL - Pzge 2
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Form-363a APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL
Supplementary Insiructions and irformation
ADDITIONAL SECTION 1. APPLICANT IDENTIFICATION - Entry of missing data o corrections GNLY must be fyped ted
INSTRUCTIONS in the blocks provided to helﬁ reducendaka SI¥ry %rmrs, Enzer changes;m praviausly g&ia‘gapnn “
regisiration irormation, such as name change’ address comrection,or new phong fumbers,

Fee exemp? applicant should kst the name and address of the fee exempt mstiuton.
Aphysical address is required; a post office box may be included afier the street address.

%pp%icant should ensure that the tax identifcation number (TiNLJ‘)on record s comect.
F% 6:gl!ect;on information is mandatory pursuant to the Debt Collection Improvement Act
of 1

SECTION 2. CRUG SCHEDULES - Applicant shoufd check all drug schedules to be handled. However,
applgc?inis must stit comply vith siate requirements; federal registration does not overrule state:
restriclions.

Check the order form box enly if you intend ta purchase of to transfer schedule |] controlied
substances. Grder forms will'be mailed 1o the registered address foliowing issuance of a Cenificate
of Regstration rengwal.

SECTION 3. FOXA PERMIT - Authoraation by the Food & Drug Admimstration 1s mandatory for DEA Registration
approval. Enter the status of your FGA authonzation and the FDA number.

SECTION 4. STATE LICENSE(S) - Federal registration by DEA is based upon the applicant 's compliance with
applcable state aqcf local faws.

Aﬁp%icam should contact the focal state licensing authordy pnor to completing <his application.

Check that you are currently authorized by the state and provide vour state ficense number. If state
hcensing s not required, mdicate "Not required by this state

SECTION 5. LIABILITY - Applicant must answer all four questions for the application to be accepted for processing

 you answered “Yes" to any question, provide an explanation in the space provided.
if additional space is required. you may attach a separate sheel of paper.

SECTION 6. CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION - Exemption from pa?'mem of application fee is limited to federal.
state o local government-operated narcotic treatment program.

The applicant's superior or agency officer must certify exempt status. The signature, authority title,
and éepfgphcne nurﬁber of the cert?;ymg official (otherthan Ehg applicant} must be provided. Y

SECTION 7. METHOD GF PAYMENT - Indicate the desired method of payment. Make checks payable tg
*Drug Enforcement Adnsnistration”.  Third-parly checks or checks drawn on foreign banks wilt not
be accepted.

FEES ARE NON-REFUMNGABLE.

SECTION 8. APPLICANTS SIGNATURE - Must be the anginal signature (in ink} of the applicant,

Notice to Registrants Making Payment by Check

Authonzation to Convert Your Check: if you sénd us a check to make your payment, your check wili be converted into an
electronic fund fransfer. "Electronic fund transfer” is the term used to refer to the process in which we electronically instruct
your financial institution to transfer funds from your account to our account, rather than processing your check. By sending
your completed, signed check to us, you authorize us to copy your check and to use the account information from your
check to make an electronic fund transfer from your account for the same amount as the check. If the etectronic fund
transfer cannot be processed for technical reasons, you authorize us to process the copy of your check.

insufficient Funds: The efectronic funds transfer from your account will usually occur with 24 haurs, which is faster than a
check is normably processed. Therefore, make sure there are sufficient funds ava¥able in your checking account when you
send us your check. [f the electronic funds transfer cannot be completed because of insufficient funds, we may try to make
the transfer up to two times.

Transaction Informaiion. The electronic fund transfer from your accouni will be on the account siatement you receive from
your financal institution. However, the transfer may be in a differemt place on your statement than the place where your
checks normally appear. For example, it may appear undzr "other withdravals® or "other ransactions.” You will not receive
your anginal check back from your financial imstitution, For security reasons, we will destroy your original check, but we will
keep a copy of the check for record-keeping purposes.

Your Rights: You should contact your finarcial institution immediately if you befieve that the electronic fund transfer
reported on your account statement was not properly authorized or is otherwise incorrect. Consumers have protections
urder Federal law calizd the Eleczronic Fund Transfer Act for an unauthorized or incorrect electrome fund fransfer.

RENEWAL INST - Page 2
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Form-363a APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL
Supplementary Ensiructions and Information
CONTACT 1. INTERNET: Information can be found on our web site at www ceadiversion.usde) gov
INFORMATION 2. TELEPHGNE: Feadquariers Call Center: {800} 882-9535
3. WRITTEN INQUIRIES: Drug Enforcemem Adminsstration
PO Box 26083
Washington OC 20038-8083
4. DEA OFFICES: DEA Offices are listed below (500, 877, and 888 are toll-free numbers).
ATLANTA DIVISION OFFICE DETROIT DIVISION OFFICE PHILADELPHIA DIVISION OFFICE

ATTN: Registration
75 Spnng Street, SW. Suite 80C
Atlanta, GA 30303

Georgia {838) 862-9935
North Carafina {B2A) 219-8689
South Carabina {BB6) 533-6583
Tennessee {B8B8) 215-7848

BOSTON DIVISION OFFICE

JFK Federal Building

15 New Sudbury Street, Room E4D0
Baston, WA G2203-0131

Connecticuz {B17) b57-2200
ftamne {838} 272-5174
I£assachusests }E‘I 7) 557-2468
New Hampshire {888} 272-5174
Rhode island {6817} 557-226D
Vermont {888) 272-5174

CARIBBEAN DIVISION OFFICE
P.C. Box 2167
SanJuan, PR 00922-2167

Puarte Rico {787 T75-1766
U.S. Virgin isiands {767 775-1756

CHICAGO DIVISION OFFICE
Kiuczynskt Federa! Building

230 S, Dearbarn Street. Suite 1200
Chicago, IL 80404

lifinois {312) 353-1234
Indiana (3123 353-1236
[ innescea {312) 353-9166
Notth Dakata (312) 353-91E6
Wisconsin {312) 353-1238

DALLAS DIVISION OFFICE
10163 Technology Bivd., East
Dailas. TX 752

Okiahoma (588)336-4704
Texas {Northern)  (888) 3356-4704

DENVER DWISION QFFICE
115 inverness Drive, East
Englewwoed, CC 8C112

Colorado 1500y 325-6900
hontana (800) 325-€30C
Uiah (800) 326-6400
Yyoming (80C) 325-6900

431 Howard Street
Detreit, Mi 45228

Kentucky (800 239-6544
Michigan {800} 230-6544
Ohio {800) 230-6A44

EL PASQ DIVISION OFFICE

El Paso Federal Justice Center

500 South Mesa Hils Drive, Suite 2000
El Paso. TX 79512

New Mexco (916) B32-8014
HOUSTON HVISION OFFICE

1433 Viest Loop South, Suite 500
Houston, TX 77027-9208

Texas (5. & Central}  {800) 743-0555
LOS ANGELES DIVISION OFFICE
255 East Temple Strest, 20th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 9CC12

Califomia {5. Centrai} {213) E21-6950

Hawaii (828) 415-9822
Nevada {883) 415-5822
Trust Termitory {213} 892-2215

MMIANI DIVISION OFFICE
2400 N.W. 53rd Street
Miami, FL 33166

Florida (305) 5504880

NEWARK DIVISION OFFICE
80 Muiberry Street, 2nd Floor
Mewark, NJ 07102

New Jersey {868) 356-1071

NEW ORLEANS DIVISION OFFICE
3838 N. Causeway Blvd

Lakeway iil, Suile 1200

Metairie, LA 70002

Alabama {885 514-8051
Arkansas {3863 5147302
Lourssana sssa) £14-7302
Mississippt (885) 514-7202
NEW YORK DIVISION OFFICE

59 Tenth Avenue

New York, NY 100111

hew York (877 883-5788

(212) 337-1593
(212} 337-1594

RENEWAL 'NET - Page ¢

William J. Green Federa! Building
500 Arch Street. Room 10224
Philadelphia, PA 19108

Delaveare (650) 363-523
Pannsylvaniz (588) 393-8231

PHOEN!IX DiVISION OFFICE
3010 N. 2nd Street. Suite 301
Phoeni. AZ 85012

Arizona {800) 7£1-0902

SAN DIEGO DIVISION OFFICE
4560 Viewridge Avenue
San Diego, CA 92123-1637

Califomia (Southern  (800) 284-1152

SAN FRANCISCO DIVISION OFFICE
450 Golden Gate Avenue, 14th Floor
P.O. Box 36035

San Francisce. CA 94102

Catifomia (Notthemn)  (888) 304-3351
SEATTLE DIVISION QFFICE

490 Second Avenue, West
Seattle, WA 58114

Alaska }885 214-4261
Idaho 588) 219-4261
Oregon (8583 219-42€1
Washington (888) 219-141&
ST, LOUIS DIVISION OFFICE

317 Scuth 16th Street

St Louis, MO 83103

lowa gBBB} 803-1179
Kansas 888 8021179
fissoun ?sssi 031179
Nebraska gBBB, 503-1179
Sowth Dakota 1682, 602-1179

WASHINGTON, D.C. DIVISION QFFICE
Techworld Plaza

500 K Street. N W, Suite 500
Washington, D.C. 20001

District of Columbia  (877) BD4-7974
Naryiand (6771 3306670
Virginig {8771 601-7574
West Virginia {877) 330-5670

2006 Edition
Page 62




G
&

el

Missouri Department of Natural Resources

Management of Infectious Waste by Small
Quantity Generators

Solid Waste Management Program Technical Bulietin 6/2006

This document provides information concerning the management of infectious waste by
those generating small quantities of this waste in Missouri. The document provides general
information only. Specific questions should be addressed to the local Missouri Department of
Natural Resources Regional Office or to the Solid Waste Management Program at (573)

751-5401.

Infectious waste in Missouri is regulated as a non-hazardous solid waste under the Missouri
Solid Waste Management Law. Missouri law charges the local Missouri Department of
Natural Resources and the Missouri Department of Health (MDOH) with the responsibility for
regulation of infectious waste management. The MDOH is responsible for regulating the on-
site management of infectious waste by Missouri hospitals and for defining wastes which are
considered infectious when produced by small quantity generators. The local Department of
Natural Resources is responsible for regulating all other aspects of infectious waste manage-
ment, including permit requirements, transportation, packaging, etc.

It is important that anyone generating infectious waste be aware of the requirements for
infectious waste management. Included in the requirements are the following major points:

1 All infectious waste must be treated before disposal in Missouri, except waste generated
at an individual residence.

2 All sharps (needles, scalpels, broken glassware, etc.) must be packaged in a rigid, leak-
proof and puncture-resistant container prior to transport and all treated and untreated
sharps must be similarly packaged before disposal.

3 Al treated waste must be certified as having been treated prior to disposal in a landfill in
Missouri. The certification must be provided to both the hauler and the landfill.

4 The only requirement for infectious waste generated at an individual residence is that
sharps be packaged in rigid, leakproof and puncture-resistant containers prior to disposal
with regular household waste. Other requirements discussed in this bulletin (such as
treatment, transport and certification) do not apply to infectious waste generated at an
individual residence.

DEFINITIONS

Infectious waste is defined as “waste capable of producing an infectious disease because it
contains pathogens of sufficient virulence and quantity so that exposure to the waste by a
susceptible human host could result in an infectious disease.” All infectious waste must be

PUB000188
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treated before disposal in Missouri except when the waste is generated at an individual resi-
dence. Infectious waste generated at an individual residence must be properly packaged as
described previously in this bulletin.

A small quantity generator (SQG) of infectious waste is defined as a generator of 100 kilograms
(approximately 220 pounds) or less of infectious waste per month.

The Missouri Solid Waste Management Law required the MDCOH to specify infectious waste that
must be rendered innocuous regardless of quantity. The MDOH specified that small quantity
generator infectious waste includes the following categories:

A Sharps — Discarded sharps including hypodermic needles, syringes and scalpel blades. This
definition includes broken glass or other sharp items that have come in contact with material
defined as infectious;

B Cultures and stocks of infectious agents — this category includes all cultures and stocks of
infectious organisms as well as culture dishes and devices used to transfer, inoculate and mix

cultures; and

C Other wastes — Those wastes as designated by the medical authority responsible for the care
of the patient (physician, podiatrist, dentist, veterinarian), which may be capable of producing
an infectious disease.

Discarded sharps must always be handled as infectious waste and must always be properly
packaged before transport and/or disposal. Cultures and stocks of infectious agents must also
be handled as infectious waste unless generated by an individual residence. it is the responsibil-
ity of the health care professional, however, to determine whether any other items should be
considered infectious waste when produced by a small quantity generator.

ON-SITE TREATMENT

Anyone generating infectious waste may choose to treat that waste on site to render it innocu-
ous. Such on-site treatment of infectious waste does not require a permit or approval from the
Department of Natural Resources, except that on-site incineration will require a permit from the
department's Air Pollution Control Program or from a local air poliution control agency. Some
treatment methods may result in the discharge of liquids and may be regulated by the
department’s Water Pollution Control Program or the local sanitary sewer district. Hospitals
choosing to treat infectious waste on site must comply with the requirements of the MDOH.
Methods for on-site treatment include incineration, steam sterilization (autoclave) and chemical

treatment.

For chemical treatment of sharps, the MDOH recommends the use of one part common house-
hold chlorine bleach mixed with nine parts water. This solution should be poured into the con-
tainer of sharps and allowed to remain for approximately 30 minutes. The solution must then be
carefully poured off so that free liquid does not remain in the container. The solution may be
disposed of in the sanitary sewer system. The sharps container must then be sealed prior to

disposal.
OFF-SITE TREATMENT

Infectious Waste transported off the premises of the generator must be taken to a permitted
infectious waste processing facility (for example, a transfer station, incinerator or steam steriliz-
ing facility permitted to accept infectious waste), or to a hospital approved by both the Depart-
ment of Natural Resources and the MDOH to accept the waste or out of Missouri.



In order for a hospital to be approved to accept infectious waste from SQG's, the hospital must
submit a request for approval to both Department of Natural Resources and MDOH. Require-
ments for such requests are specified in 10 CSR 80-7.010 and 19 CSR 30-20.020. Hospitals
may contact the Solid Waste Management Program and the MDOH-Bureau of Hospital Licens-
ing for information about the approval process.

However, for the purposes of disposal, infectious waste generated by ambulance services in the
process of caring for and delivering a patient to a hospital will be considered to be generated by
the hospital to which the patient is delivered. Therefore, hospitals receiving such waste from
ambulance services will not be required to obtain MDNR or MDOH approval for the acceptance
of infectious waste from off-site.

Packaging of Untreated Infectious Waste:

Untreated infectious waste and all discarded sharps must be packaged in rigid, leakproof and
puncture-resistant containers prior to transport or disposal. Prior to transport, all infectious waste
must be placed in rigid or semi-rigid, leakproof containers clearly marked with the universal
biohazard symbol, must be labeled with the words “Infectious Waste” or “Biohazard Waste” and
must be sealed. There is no requirement for color of the container. Neither plastic bags nor glass
containers may be used as primary containers for transportation of the waste; if these types of
containers are used, they must be placed within a container which fits the description of rigid or
semi-rigid and leakproof. If glass is present, the primary container must protect the glass from
breakage. Reusable containers must be constructed of either heavy wall plastic or non-
corrosible metal and must be cleaned and sanitized before reuse.

Transportation of Untreated Infectious Waste:

If a SQG chooses to utilize an off-site processing facility for management of its infectious waste,
three options for transportation exist. The generator may transport the properly packaged waste
using its own employees and vehicles, provided the vehicles are closed and secure. If the SQG
chooses not to transport its own waste, the waste must be transported by an infectious waste
transporter licensed in Missouri for the transportation of infectious waste. In addition, untreated
sharps may be transported for the treatment by the United States Postal Service, as long as the
Postal Service requirements (39CFR111) are followed.

If the waste is transported off the premises of the generator, it must be taken to a permitted
infectious waste processing facility, a hospital approved by both the Department of Natural
Resources and MDOH to accept such waste, or out of the state.

Tracking Documents for Untreated Infectious Waste:

If a SQG transports its own infectious waste to an approved hospital, the generator must provide
any records which may be required by the hospital receiving the waste. If the generator trans-
ports its own waste to a processing facility or if a licensed transporter is used, tracking docu-
ments must be prepared by the generator in accordance with 10 CSR 80-7.010. The transporter
or the receiving facility may provide the forms, although they are not required to do so.

DISPOSAL

Section 260.203.2., RSMo, prohibits the placement of untreated infectious waste in a solid waste
disposal area in Missouri, the only exception being infectious waste generated at an individual
residence. Any person wishing to dispose of treated infectious waste other than that generated
at an individual residence in Missouri, must certify to the hauler and to the landfill that the waste
has been rendered innocuous and may legally be placed in a landfill.



Packaging of Sharps for Disposal:

Prior to disposal, all sharps must be packaged in rigid, leakproof and puncture-resistant contain-
ers. This requirement applies to all sharps, including those which have been treated and those
which have not been in contact with infectious agents.

Suitable containers for such packaging include commercial sharps containers which are rigid,
leakproof and puncture-resistant, as well as any other type of container which meets these
requirements. Commonly found containers which may fulfill this purpose include metal contain-
ers which may be sealed (for example, coffee cans with the lid in place and sealed with heavy-
duty tape) and commercial sharps containers designed for this purpose. A container should not
be used for sharps which are to be treated if that container has a residue which may react
adversely during the treatment technique. All containers should be thoroughly rinsed before use.

Certification of Treated Water:

Treated infectious waste which is to be placed in a landfill in Missouri must be certified as having
been properly handled. The generator must supply this certification document to both the sani-
tary landfill and to the waste hauler.

Requirements for information to be included in the certification document are specified in 10
CSR 80-7.010. The certification document must include the following information, at a minimum:

* The name, mailing address, location (when different from mailing address), and phone num-
ber of the office or facility treating the waste;

» The printed name and signature of the person responsible for the treatment process;
= A brief description of the treated waste (e.g. sharps in metal containersy);
« A brief description of the method of treatment; and

+ A statement that the waste has been managed in accordance with the Missouri Solid Waste
Management Law and rules and may legally be placed in a landfill.

The certification must be revised when changes in the operation result in a change in the infor-
mation provided. Copies of the revised certification document must be provided to both the

waste hauler and the landfill.
OTHER REQUIREMENTS

In addition to these state requirements, counties or municipalities may have additional require-
ments for management of infectious waste. Generators should contact their county and city
health departments to learn of these requirements.

Original: May 1989
Revised: January 1996

For more information call or write:
Missouri Department of Natural Resources

Solid Waste Management Program

P.O. Box 176

Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176

1-800-361-4827 or (573) 751-5401 office

(573) 526-3902 fax

www.dnr.mo.gov/env/swmp Program Home Page
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Treated Infectious Waste

Treatment Facility Name

Location

Mailing Address

Telephone

Treatment Waste Description
___ Sharps in metal containers

___ Sharps in heavy gauge plastic containers
___ Inginerator ash
___ Laboratory wastes in autoclave bags

___ Other (please specify)

Treatment Method
____Steam sterilization

___Incineration
Chemical Sterilization

___ Other (please specify)

Certification
| certify that the aforesaid infectious waste has been managed in accordance with the Missouri
Solid Waste Management Law and respective rules; and that it may legally be placed in a sani-

tary landfill.
Treatment Facility Manager, Officer, or Agent (please print)

Signature Date

NOTICE: This form was designed by the Missouri State Medical Association, the Missouri Dental
Association, the Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons, the Missouri
Hospital Association, and the Missouri Veterinary Medical Association to comply with Section
260.203 RSMo. (Supp. 1988) of the Missouri Solid Waste Management Law. It may not be in
complete compliance with all local solid waste treatment requirements.
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SUBCHAPTER J—ACCREDITATION OF VETERINARIANS AND
SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF SUCH ACCREDITATION

PART 160—DEFINITION OF TERMS

AUTHORITY: 7 U.S.C. 8301-8317: 15 US.C.

1828; 7 CFR 2.22, 2.80, and 371.4.

§160,1 Definitions,

For the purposes of this subchapter
the following words, phrases, names
and terms shall be construed, respec-
tively, to mean:

Accredited veterinarian! A veteri-
narian approved by the Administrator
in accordance with the provisions of
part 161 of this subchapter to perform
functions specified in subchapters B, C.
and D of this chapter.

Administrator. The Administrator of
the Animal and Plant Health Inspec-
tion Service or any individual author-
ized to act for the Administrator.

Animal, animals. All animals except
humans, including but not limited to
cattle, sheep, goats, other ruminants,
swine, horses, asses, mules, zebras,
birds, and poultry.

Animal and Plant Health Inspection
Service, The Animal and Plant Health
Inspection Service, United States De-
partment of Agriculture,

APHIS. The Animal and Plant Health
Inspection Service.

Approved digital signature. Digital sig-
natures approved by the Administrator
for electronic transmission, for exam-
ple, via a computer. To be approved, a
digital signature must be able to verify
the identity of the accredited veteri-
narian signing the document and indi-
cate if the integrity of the data in the
signed document was compromised.

Examine, examination. Physical study
of an individual animal that enables an
accredited veterinarian to determine if
any abnormality in physical condition

L The provisions of subchapters B, C, and D
of this chapter authorize Federal and State
veterinarians and accredited veterinarians
to perform specified functions. Full-time
Federal (including military) and State em-
ployed veterinarians are authorized to per-
form such functions, pursuant to delegation
of authority by the Administrator or cooper-
ative agreements without specific accredita-
tion under the provisions of this subchapter.

or bodily function is suggestive of clin-
ical signs of cornmunicable disease.

Inspect, inspection. Visual study of
the physical appearance, physical con-
dition, and behavior of animals (singly
or in groups) that enables an accred-
ited veterinarian to determine whether
any abnormality in physical condition
or bodily function is evident.

Issue. The distribution. including
electronic transmission, of an official
animal health document that has been
signed.

Official certificate, form, record, report,
tag, band, or other identification. Means
any certificate, form, record, report,
tag, band, or other identification, pre-
scribed by statute or by regulations
issued by the Administrator, for use by
an accredited veterinarian performing
official functions wunder this sub-
chapter.

Regular health maintenance program.
An arrangement between an accredited
veterinarian and a livestock producer
whereby the veterinarian inspects
every animal on the premises of the
producer at least once every 30 days.

Sign, (Signed). For an accredited vet-
erinarian to put his or her signature in
his or her own hand, or by means of an
approved digital signature, on a certifi-
cate, form, record, or report. No certifi-
cate, form, record, or report is signed
if:

(1) Someone other than the accred-
ited veterinarian has signed it on be-
half of or in the name of the accredited
veterinarian, regardless of the author-
ity granted them by the accredited vet-
erinarian; or

(2) If any mechanical device, other
than an approved digital signature, has
been used to affix the signature.

State. Any State, the District of Co-
lumbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, the North-
ern Mariana Islands, the Virgin Islands
of the United States, and any other
territory or possession of the United
States.

State Animal Health Official. The
State animal health official who is re-
sponsible for the livestock and poultry
disease control and eradication pro-
grams of a State.
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Pt. 161

Veterinarian-in-Charge. The veteri-
nary official of APHIS who is assigned
by the Administrator to supervise and
perform the official work of APHIS in
a State or group of States.

[57 FR 54912, Nov. 23, 1992, as amended at 59
FR 40797, Aug. 10, 1994; 60 FR 39842, Aug. 4,
1995; 62 FR 25445, May 9, 1997]

PART 161—REQUIREMENTS AND
STANDARDS FOR ACCREDITED
VETERINARIANS AND SUSPEN-
SION OR REVOCATION OF SUCH
ACCREDITATION

Sec.

161.1 Statement of purpose; performance of
accredited duties in different States.

161.2 Requirements and application proce-
dures for accreditation.

161.3 Standards for accredited veterinarian
duties.

161.4 Suspension or revocation of veterinary
accreditation; criminal and civil pen-
alties.

AUTHORITY: 7 U.S.C. 8301-8317;
1828; 7 CFR 2.22, 2.80, and 371.4.

SOURCE: 57 FR 54912, Nov. 23, 1992, unless
otherwise noted.

15 U.S.C.

§161.1 Statement of pu.rsose; perform-
ance of accredited duties in dif-
ferent States.

() This subchapter concerns a pro-
gram administered by APHIS to ac-
credit veterinarians and thereby au-
thorize them to perform, on behalf of
APHIS, certain activities specified in
this chapter. This program is intended
to ensure that an adequate number of
qualified veterinarians are available in
the United States to perform such ac-
tivities.

{(b) If an accredited veterinarian
wishes to perform accredited duties in
a State other than the State for which
the veterinarian has completed an ori-
entation in accordance with
§161.2(a)(4), the accredited veterinarian
shall so informn the Veterinarian-in-
Charge of the new State. The Veteri-
narian-in-Charge of the new State may
require the accredited veterinarian to
complete, prior to performing any ac-
credited duties in the new State, an
orientation in animal health proce-
dures and issues relevant to the new
State. The Veterinarian-in-Charge
shall review the content of each such

9 CFR Ch. 1 (1-1-05 Edilion)

orientation and shall approve its use
after determining that it includes ade-
quate information about animal health
agencies, regulatory requirements, ad-
ministrative procedures, and animal
disease problems in the new State, to
prepare an accredited veterinarian
from another State to perform accred-
ited duties in the new State. The Vet-
erinarian-in-Charge shall also give the
State Animal Health Official of the
new State an opportunity to review the
contents of the orientation, and invite
him or her to participate in developing
orientation materials and conducting
the orientation.

{c) An accredited veterinarian may
not perform accredited duties in a
State in which the accredited veteri-
narian is not licensed or legally able to
practice veterinary medicine.

§161.2 Requirements and application
procedures for accreditation.

(a) [Initial accreditation. A veteri-
narian may apply for accreditation by
completing an application for accredi-
tation on Form 1-36A, “*Application for
Veterinary Accreditation,” including
certification that the applicant is able
to perform the tasks listed in para-
graph (d) of this section, and submit-
ting it to the Veterinarian-in-Charge in
the State where he or she wishes to
perform accredited duties.

(1) Completed Forms 1-36A received
by a Veterinarian-in-Charge shall be
reviewed by the State Animal Health
Official for the State in which the vet-
erinarian wishes to perform accredited
duties. Within 14 days after receiving
an application, a State Animal Health
Official shall either endorse the appli-
cation or send a written statement to
the Administrator explaining why it
was not endorsed; but if the State Ani-
mal Health Official fails to take one of
these actions within 14 days, the Vet-
erinarian-in-Charge shall proceed to re-
view -the application. The Adminis-
trator will review the application and
the written statement, if any, and de-
termine whether the applicant meets
the requirements for accreditation con-
tained in this part.

(2) The Administrator is hereby au-
thorized to accredit a veterinarian
when he or she determines that:
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(i) The veterinarian is a graduate
with a Doctorate of Veterinary Medi-
cine or an equivalent degree (any de-
gree that qualifies the holder to be li-
censed by a State to practice veteri-
nary medicine) from a college of veteri-
nary medicine;

(ii) The veterinarian is licensed or le-
gally able to practice veterinary medi-
cine in the State in which the veteri-
narian wishes to perform accredited
duties. APHIS will confirm licensing
status of the applicant by contacting
the State board of veterinary medical
examiners or any similar State organi-
zation that maintains records of veteri-
narians licensed in a State; and,

(iii) The veterinarian has completed
an orientation program approved by
the Veterinarian-in-Charge for the
State in which the veterinarian wishes
to practice, and upon completion of the
orientation, has signed a written state-
ment listing the date and place of ori-
entation, the subjects covered in the
orientation, and any written materials
provided to the veterinarian at the ori-
entation. The Veterinarian-in-Charge
shall also give the State Animal Health
Official an opportunity to review the
contents of the orientation, and invite
him or her to participate in developing
orientation materials and conducting
the orientation. The orientation pro-
gram shall include the following top-
ics:

(A) Federal animal health laws, regu-
lations, and rules;

(B) Interstate movement require-
ments for animals;

(C) Import and export requirements
for animals;

(D) USDA animal disease eradication
and control programs;

(E) Laboratory support in confirming
disease diagnoses;

(F) Ethical/Professional responsibil-
ities of an accredited veterinarian; and,

(G) Animal health procedures, issues,
and information resources relevant to
the State in which the veterinarian
wishes to perform accredited duties.

(b) Reaccreditation. A veterinarian
whose accreditation has been revoked
may apply for reaccreditation when the
revocation has been in effect for not
less than two years by completing an
application for reaccreditation on
Form 1-36A, "Application for Veteri-

§161.2

nary Accreditation’’, and submitting it
to the Veterinarian-in-Charge of the
State or area where he or she wishes to
perform accredited work.

(1) Completed Forms 1-36A received
by a Veterinarian-in-Charge shall be
reviewed by the State Animal Health
Official for the State in which the vet-
erinarian wishes to perform accredited
duties. Within 14 days after receiving
an application, a State Animal Health
Official shall either endorse the appli-
cation or send a written statement to
the Administrator explaining why it
was not endorsed; but if the State Ani-
mal Health Official fails to take one of
these actions within 14 days, the Vet-
erinarian-in-Charge shall proceed to re-
view the application. The Adminis-
trator will review the application and
the written statement, if any, and de-
termine whether the applicant meets
the requirements for reaccreditation
contained in this part.

(2) The Administrator is hereby au-
thorized to reaccredit a veterinarian
when he or she determines that:

(i) The veterinarian is licensed or le-
gally able to practice veterinary medi-
cine in the State in which the veteri-
narian wishes to perform accredited
duties;

(ii) The veterinarian has completed a
reaccreditation orientation program
approved by the Veterinarian-in-
Charge for the State in which the vet-
erinarian wishes to practice, and upon
completion of the orientation, has
signed a written statement listing the
date and place of orientation, the sub-
jects covered in the orientation, and
any written materials provided to the
veterinarian at the orientation. The
Veterinarian-in-Charge shall also give
the State Animal Health Official an op-
portunity to review the contents of the
reaccreditation orientation, and invite
him or her to participate in developing
orientation materials and conducting
the orientation. The orientation pro-
gram shall include topics addressing
the subject areas which led to loss of
accreditation for the applicant, and
subject areas which have changed since
the applicant lost accreditation; and,

(iii) The professional integrity and
reputation of the applicant support a
conclusion that the applicant will
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faithfully fulfill the duties of an ac-
credited veterinarian in the future. In
making this conclusion, the Adminis-
trator shall review all available infor-
mation about the applicant, including
recommendations of the State Animal
Health Official, and shall consider:

(A) Criminal conviction records ad-
versely reflecting on the honesty or in-
tegrity of the applicant with regard to
the performance or nonperformance of
veterinary medical duties;

(B) Official records of the applicant’s
actions participating in Federal, State,
or local veterinary programs;

(C) Judicial determinations in civil
litigation adversely reflecting on the
integrity of the applicant; and

(D) Any other evidence reflecting on
the professional integrity and reputa-
tion of the applicant.

(c) Reinstatement after suspension. A
veterinarian whose accreditation has
been suspended for less than 6 months
(other than a summary suspension that
is changed to a revocation as a result
of an adjudicatory proceeding) will be
automatically reinstated as an accred-
ited veterinarian upon completion of
the suspension. A veterinarian whose
accreditation has been suspended for 6§
months or more must complete a re-
accreditation orientation program in
accordance with paragraph (b)(2)(ii) of
this section before accreditation will
be reinstated.

(d) Tasks which applicants for accred-
ited status must be able to perform, Appli-
cants for accredited status must be
able to:

() Perform physical examinations of
individual animals, and visually in-
spect herds or flocks, to determine
whether the animals are free from any
clinical signs suggestive of commu-
nicable disease;

(2) Recognize the common breeds of
livestock so as to be able to record
breed information on official docu-
ments;

(3) Recognize brucellosis tattoos and
calfhood vaccination tags, and deter-
mine the state of origin of eartags, to
properly identify animals in interstate
commerce;

(4) Estimate the age of livestock
using a dental formula;

(9) Apply an eartag, tattoo, backtag,
and legband;

9 CFR Ch. | (1-1-05 Edition)

(6) Certify the disease status of a
poultry flock with regard to disease
caused by Salmonella  enteritidis,
chlamydiosis and exotic Newcastle dis-
ease, by evaluating records of the
flock’s participation in and testing by
Federal and State poultry health pro-
grams;

(7) Properly complete certificates for
domestic and international movement
of animals;

(8) Apply and remove official seals;

(9) Perform a necropsy on livestock;

(10) Recognize clinical signs and le-
sions of exotic animal diseases;

(11) Plan a disease control strategy
for a livestock unit;

(12) Vaccinate for brucellosis and fill
out the vaccination certificate;

(13) Draw and ship blood for testing;

(14) Perform a caudal fold test for tu-
berculosis;

(15) Develop appropriate cleaning and
disinfection plans to control commu-
nicable livestock disease spread; and

(16) Explain basic principles for con-
trol of diseases for which APHIS or
APHIS-State cooperative programs
exist, such as brucellosis, pseudorabies,
and tuberculosis.

(Approved by the Office of Management and
Budget under control number 0579-0032)

[57 FR 54912, Nov. 23, 1992, as amended at 61
FR 56891, Nov. 5, 1996]

§161.3 Standards for accredited vet-
erinarian duties.

An accredited veterinarian shall per-
form the functions of an accredited
veterinarian only in a State in which
the accredited veterinarian is licensed
or legally able to practice veterinary
medicine. An accredited veterinarian
shall perform the functions of an ac-
credited veterinarian and carry out all
responsibilities under applicable Fed-
eral programs and cooperative pro-
grams subject to direction provided by
the Veterinarian-in-Charge and in ac-
cordance with any regulations and in-
structions issued to the accredited vet-
erinarian by the Veterinarian-in-
Charge, and shall observe the following
specific standards:

{(a) An accredited veterinarian shall
not issue a certificate, form, record or
report which reflects the results of any

894



Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, USDA

inspection, test, vaccination or treat-
ment performed by him or her with re-
spect to any animal, other than those
in regular health maintenance pro-
grams, unless he or she has personally
inspected that animal within 10 days
prior to issuance. Inspections under
this paragraph must be conducted in a
location that allows the accredited vet-
erinarian sufficient space to observe
the animal in such a manner as to de-
tect abnormalities related to areas
such as, but not limited teo, loco-
motion, body excretion, respiration,
and skin conditions. An accredited vet-
erinarian shall examine such an animal
showing abnormalities, in order to de-
termine whether or not there is clin-
ical evidence compatible with the pres-
ence or absence of a communicable dis-
ease.

(1) Following the first two inspec-
tions of a herd or flock as part of a reg-
ular health maintenance program, an
accredited veterinarian shall not issue
a certificate, form, record or report
which reflects the results of any in-
spection, test, vaccination or treat-
ment performed by him or her with re-
spect to any animal in that program,
unless he or she has personally in-
spected that animal within 10 days
prior to issuance.

(2) Following the third and subse-
quent inspections of a herd or flock in
a regular health maintenance program,
an accredited veterinarian shall not
issue a certificate, form, record or re-
port which reflects the results of any
inspection, test, vaccination or treat-
ment performed by him or her with re-
spect to any animal in that program,
unless he or she has personally in-
spected that animal within 30 days
prior to issuance.

(b) An accredited veterinarian shall
not issue, or allow to be used, any cer-
tificate, form, record or report, until,
and unless, it has been accurately and
fully completed, clearly identifying the
animals to which it applies, and show-
ing the dates and results of any inspec-
tion, test. vaccination, or treatment
the accredited veterinarian has con-
ducted, except as provided in paragraph
{c) of this section, and the dates of
issuance and expiration of the docu-
ment. Certificates, forms, records, and
reports shall be valid for 30 days fol-

§161.3

lowing the date of inspection of the
animal identified on the document, ex-
cept that origin health certificates
may be valid for a longer period of
time as provided in §91.3(a) of this
chapter. The accredited veterinarian
must distribute copies of certificates,
forms, records. and reports according
to instructions issued to him or her by
the Veterinarian-in-Charge.

(c) An accredited veterinarian shall
not issue any certificate, form, record,
or report which reflects the results of
any inspection, test, vaccination, or
treatment performed by another ac-
credited veterinarian, unless:

(1) The signing accredited veteri-
narian has exercised reasonable care,
that is, a standard of care that a rea-
sonably prudent person would use
under the circumstances in the course
of performing professional duties, to
determine that the certificate, form, or
report is accurate;

(2) The certificate, form, or report in-
dicates that the inspection, test, vac-
cination, or treatment was performed
by the other accredited veterinarian;
identifies the other accredited veteri-
narian by name; and includes the date
and the place where such inspection,
test, or vaccination was performed;
and,

(3) For a certificate, form, or report
indicating results of a laboratory test,
the signing accredited veterinarian
shall keep a copy of the certificate,
form, or report and shall attach to it
either a copy of the test results issued
by the laboratory, or a written record
(including date and participants’
names) of a conversation between the
signing accredited veterinarian and the
laboratory confirming the test results.

(d) An accredited veterinarian shall
perform official tests, inspections,
treatments, and vaccinations and shall
submit specimens to designated labora-
tories in accordance with Federal and
State regulations and instructions
issued to the accredited veterinarian
by the Veterinarian-in-Charge.

(e) An accredited veterinarian shall
identify or be physically present to su-
pervise the identification of reactor
animals by tagging or such other meth-
od as may be prescribed in instructions
issued to him or her by the Veteri-
narian-in-Charge or by a State Animal
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Health Official through the Veteri-
narian-in-Charge.

(f) An accredited veterinarian shall
immediately report to the Veteri-
narian-in-Charge and the State Animal
Health Official all diagnosed or sus-
pected cases of a communicable animal
disease for which a APHIS has a con-
trol or eradication program in 9 CFR
chapter I, and all diagnosed or sus-
pected cases of any animal disease not
known to exist in the United States as
provided by §71.3(b) of this chapter.

{ While performing accredited
work, an accredited veterinarian shall
take such measures of sanitation as are
necessary to prevent the spread of com-
municable diseases of animals by the
accredited veterinarian.

(h) An accredited veterinarian shall
keep himself or herself currently in-
formed on Federal and State regula-
tions that are provided to him or her
by the Veterinarian-in-Charge, or by a
State official through the Veteri-
narian-in-Charge, governing the move-
ment of animals, and on procedures ap-
plicable to disease control and eradi-
cation programs, including emergency
programs.

(i) An accredited veterinarian shall
not use or dispense in any manner, any
pharmaceutical, chemical. vaccine or
serum, or other biological product au-
thorized for use under any Federal reg-
ulation or cooperative disease eradi-
cation program, in contravention of ap-
plicable Federal or State statutes, reg-
ulations, and policies.

(j) An accredited veterinarian shall
be responsible for the security and
proper use of all official certificates,
forms, records, and reports; tags,
bands, or other identification devices;
and approved digital signature capa-
bilities used in his or her work as an
accredited veterinarian and shall take
reasonable care to prevent the misuse
thereof. An accredited veterinarian
shall immediately report to the Veteri-
narian-in-Charge the loss, theft, or de-
liberate or accidental misuse of any
such certificate, form, record, or re-
port; tag, band, or other identification
device; or approved digital signature
capability.

(k) An accredited veterinarian may
issue an origin health certificate for
export use pursuant to part 91 of this

9 CFR Ch. | (1-1-05 Edition})

chapter without including test results
from a laboratory, if the Veterinarian-
in-Charge has determined that such ac-
tion is necessary to save time in order
to meet an exportation schedule and
agrees to add the test results to the
certificate at a later time. In such
cases, the accredited veterinarian shall
state on a removable attachment to
the certificate that such test results
are to be added by the Veterinarian-in-
Charge.

[57 FR 54912, Nov. 23, 1992; 58 FR 8820, Feb. 17,
1993; 60 FR 39842, Aug. 4, 1995; 60 FR 55443,
Nov. 1, 1995; 62 FR 25445, May 9, 1997; 67 FR
11561, Mar. 15, 2002)

§161.4 Suspension or revocation of
veterinary accreditation; criminal
and civil penalties.

(a) The Administrator is authorized
to suspend for a given period of time,
or to revoke, the accreditation of a vet-
erinarian when he or she determines
that the accredited veterinarian has
not complied with the “Standards for
Accredited Veterinarian Duties’’ as set
forth in §161.3 of this part, or, in lieu
thereof, to issue a written notice of
warning to the accredited veterinarian
when the Administrator determines a
notice of warning will be adequate to
attain compliance with the Standards.

(b) Accreditation shall be automati-
cally terminated when an accredited
veterinarian is not licensed or legally
able to practice veterinary medicine in
at least one State.

(¢) Accreditation shall be automati-
cally revoked when an accredited vet-
erinarian is convicted of a crime in ei-
ther State or Federal court, if such
conviction is based on the performance
or nonperformance of any act required
of the veterinarian in his or her capac-
ity as an accredited veterinarian.

{d) Any accredited veterinarian who
knowingly issues or signs a false, in-
correct, or mislabeled animal health or
inspection certificate, blood sample, of-
ficial brucellosis vaccination certifi-
cate, or official tuberculin test certifi-
cate in accordance with this chapter,
shall be subject to such civil penalties
and such criminal liabilities as are pro-
vided by 7 U.S.C. 8313, 18 U.S.C. 1001, or
other applicable Federal statutes. Such
action may be in addition to, or in lieu
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of, suspension or revocation of accred-
ited veterinarian status in accordance
with this section.

{57 FR 54912, Nov. 23, 1992, as amended at 68
FR 6346, Feb. 7, 2003)

PART 162—RULES OF PRACTICE
GOVERNING REVOCATION OR
SUSPENSION OF VETERINARIANS'
ACCREDITATION

Subpart A—General

Sec.
162.1 Scope and applicability of rules of
practice.

Subpart B—Supplemental Rules of Practice

162,10 Summary suspension of accreditation
of veterinarians.

162.11 Notification.

162.12 Informal conference.

162.13 Formal complaint.
AUTHORITY: 7 U.5.C. 8301-8317;

1828; 7 CFR 2.22, 2.80, and 371.4.
SQURCE: 37 FR 54915, Nov. 23, 1992, unless

otherwise noted.

Subpart A—General

§162.1 Scope and applicability of rules
of practice.

The Uniform Rules of Practice for
the Department of Agriculture promul-
gated in subpart H of part 1, subtitle A,
title 7, Code of Federal Regulations,
are the Rules of Practice applicable to
adjudicatory, administrative  pro-
ceedings for the revocation or suspen-
sion of accreditation of veterinarians (9
CFR parts 160 and 161). In addition, the
Supplemental Rules of Practice set
forth in subpart B of this part shall be
applicable to such proceedings.

15 US.C.

Subpart B—Supplemental Rules of
Practice

§162.10 Summary suspension of ac-
creditation of veterinarians.

In any situation where the Adminis-
trator has reason to believe that any
veterinarian accredited under the pro-
visions of 9 CFR parts 160 and 161 of
this subchapter has not complied with
the ““Standards for Accredited Veteri-
narian Duties” set forth in §161.3 of
this subchapter, and deems such action

§162.12

necessary in order to prevent the intro-
duction into the United States or the
spread from one State to another of a
contagious, infectious, or commu-
nicable disease of animals, or to insure
that animals intended or offered for ex-
port to foreign countries are free from
disease, the Administrator may sus-
pend the accreditation of such veteri-
narian pending final determination in
the proceeding, effective upon oral or
written notification, whichever is ear-
lier. In the event of oral notification, a
written confirmation thereof shall be
given to such veterinarian pursuant to
§1.147(b) of the Uniform Rules of Prac-
tice (7 CFR 1.147(b)) as promptly as cir-
cumstances permit. Such suspension
shall have no relevance with respect to
the final determination in the pro-
ceeding.

$162.11 Notification.

The Veterinarian-in-Charge shall no-
tify an accredited veterinarian when
there is reason to believe that the ac-
credited veterinarian has not complied
with the “Standards for Accredited
Veterinarian Duties” as contained in
§161.3 of this subchapter. The notifica-
tion shall be in writing, with a copy to
the State Animal Health Official, and
shall include a statement of the basis
for the belief that the accredited vet-
erinarian has failed to comply with the
Standards and shall notify the accred-
ited veterinarian if the Veterinarian-
in-Charge has arranged to hold an in-
formal conference to discuss the mat-
ter.

§162.12 Informal conference.

(a) The Veterinarian-in-Charge, in
consultation with the State Animal
Health Official and the accredited vet-
erinarian, shall designate the time and
place for the holding of an informal
conference to review the matter, unless
the Veterinarian-in-Charge determines
that an informal conference is inappro-
priate. An informal conference is inap-
propriate only if the Veterinarian-in-
Charge decides to dismiss the case
based on available facts, or if civil or
criminal charges based on the actions
or inactions believed to be in violation
of the “*Standards for Accredited Vet-
erinarian Duties” contained in §161.3 of
this subchapter are pending against the
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accredited veterinarian. An informal
conference shall include the Veteri-
narian-in-Charge or his or her rep-
resentative, the accredited veteri-
narian, and any other persons the Vet-
erinarian-in-Charge requests to attend
due to their involvement in or knowl-
edge of the possible violation. The
State Animal Health Official will be in-
vited to attend each informal con-
ference held regarding activities in his
or her State.

(b) Prior to, during, or at the conclu-
sion of the informal conference, the
Veterinarian-in-Charge may issue a
written warning to the accredited vet-
erinarian without further procedure
after determining that a warning with
appropriate instructions will be ade-
quate - to attalh compliance with the
Standards.

(c) If prior to, during, or at the con-
clusion of, the informal conference, the
accredited veterinarian consents, in
writing, to the issuance of an order re-
voking or suspending his or her accred-
itation for a specified period of time, in
lieu of further procedure, the Veteri-
narian-in-Charge may issue such a con-
sent order without further procedure.

(d) If prior to, during, or after the in-
formal conference, but prior to the

9 CFR Ch. I (1-1-05 Edition)

issuance of a formal complaint, the ac-
credited veterinarian is found not to
have violated the regulations, the Vet-
erinarian-in-Charge will issue a letter
dismissing the case, and provide a copy
of the letter to the accredited veteri-
narian and to the State Animal Health
Official. Prior to, during, or after the
informal conference, the Veterinarian-
in-Charge may issue a letter identi-
fying actions of the accredited veteri-
narian that were minor violations of
the Standards, instructing the accred-
ited veterinarian in proper procedures,
and admonishing the accredited veteri-
narian to use greater care in per-
forming these procedures in the future.

[57 FR 54915, Nov. 23, 1992: 57 FR 60086, Dec.
18, 1992)

§162.13 Formal complaint.

If a consent order has not been
issued, or if, after an informal con-
ference, the Veterinarian-in-Charge
has not issued a letter of dismissal or
letter of warning to the accredited vet-
erinarian, a formal complaint may be
issued by the Administrator in accord-
ance with §1.135 of the Uniform Rules
of Practice (7 CFR 1.135).
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Missouri Department of Agriculture

Animal & Livestock Diseases

Reportable Communicable Diseases

The following are reportable diseases that must be reported to state (573) 751-3377 or federal
(573) 636-3116 officials within 24 hours of suspicion or diagnosis:

Aquaculture (Fish) -
Infectious salmon anemia
Spring viremia of carp

Avian (Poultry, chickens, turkeys & birds)
Avian infectious encephalomyelitis
Avian influenza (High pathogenic, H5, H7)
Infectious laryngotracheitis
Newcastle disease (VVND)

Bovine (Cattle & bison)
Anthrax

Bluetongue
Bovine babesiosis (Texas fever, piroplasmosis)

Bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE)
Brucellosis

Contagious bovine pleuropneumonia
Foot-and-mouth disease

Heartwater

Pseudorabies

Rift valley fever

Rinderpest (cattle plague)
Screwworm

Tuberculosis

Vesicular stomatitis

Canine (Dogs) - Feline (Cats)
Rabies

Caprine (Goat) - Ovine (Sheep)
Brucellosis caused by Brucella meletensis and B. ovis
Foot-and-mouth disease
Goat and sheep pox
Heartwater
Peste des petits ruminants (kata)
Rift Valley fever
Scrapie
Screwworm
Tuberculosis
Vesicular stomatitis

http://www.mda.mo.gov/Animals/comdisease.htm 4/30/2007
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Mandated Reportable Discases Page 2 of 2 Y ow

Equine (Horses)
African Horse sickness
Babesiosis (piroplasmosis)
Contagious equine metritis
Dourine (equine trypanosomiasis)
Eastern equine encephalomyelitis
Equine infectious anemia (EIA)
Equine piroplasmosis
Equine rhinopneumonitis
Equine viral arteritis
Glanders
Venezuelan equine encephalomyelitis
Vesicular Stomatitis
Western equine encephalomyelitis

All Species
Anthrax
Bruceliosis
Rabies
Tuberculosis
Vesicular stomatitis

Porcine (Swine, pigs & feral swine)
African swine fever
Brucellosis
Classical swine fever (Hog cholera)
Foot-and-mouth disease
Pseudorabies
Swine vesicular disease
Vesicular stomatitis

Cervidae (Elk & deer)
Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD)
Foot-and-mouth disease
Tuberculosis

Communicable Diseases : N
The following must be reported to the Missouri Department of Health at (573) 751-6113 within

24 hours of suspicion or diagnosis:

Rabies

For further information, contact the Division of Animal Health at (673) 751-3377, or e-mail us at
Animal.Health@mda.mo.gov.

hitp://www.mda.mo.gov/Animals/comdisease.htm 4/30/2007
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