MEMORANDUM

TO: OT/OTA Applicant
FROM: MISSOURI BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY
RE: Application for Licensure as an Occupational Therapist OR

Occupational Therapy Assistant

o An Application for Licensure as an Occupational Therapist or Occupational Therapy
Assistant. The application must be completed in legible print using black ink or may be
typed onto the form. Be sure to mark the appropriate box indicating the type of licensure
which you are seeking and submit the appropriate fee (OT=$30, OTA=$10). Make check
or money order payable to the Missouri Board of Occupational Therapy.

o Missouri Rules and Statutes (OT Practice Act) - Rules and regulations governing the
practice of occupational therapy. Thoroughly familiarize yourself with the statutes and
board regulations which can be found under http://pr.mo.gov/octherapy - RULES AND
STATUTES. These provisions govern the issuance and renewal of licenses (Renewal of
licenses are June 30" of the odd years) as well as the discipline of licensees who are
found to be in violation of the Practice Act or board regulation.

o Fingerprinting is required if applying for licensure after July 1, 2012. You may find the
instructions on the website which includes a 4 digit code.

o AN NBCOT Request for Verification of Certification- You will need to print and
complete a Verification of Certification form from the NBCOT website (www.nbcot.org)
under Services-Verification of Certification-Letter form. Please remit to NBCOT directly
with the appropriate fee. (To expedite: Complete this form including your credit card information
and fax to NBCOT. You will need to have NBCOT (the certifying entity) provide official
documentation of initial certification to the board office.)

o A Verification of Licensure form must be completed (can be copied) and sent to other
state(s) in which you are currently or previously licensed. The *“Verification of
Licensure” form should be sent for completion to the state(s), territory, province, or
country regulatory entity and instructed to return directly to the Board office. (If you do not
have licensure in another state, please disregard this form.)

o Missouri Occupational Therapist Jurisprudence Exam is to be returned with your
application. All applicants are required to pass the Jurisprudence Examination with a score
no lower than 80%. The completed examination should be returned directly to the Board
office with the completed application. This is an open book examination. This exam is taken
from the Rules and Statutes mentioned above. This exam can be printed from the website of
http://pr.mo.gov under APPLICATIONS. The RULES AND STATUTES are on this site.

Please allow the staff and/or the Board approximately one week to review your completed application file.
Applicants who are approved for licensure will receive one (1) license. It is necessary for you to keep the Board
apprised of your current mailing address so you may be reached with current correspondence and renewal
application. See our website to enter the change under Address Change form.

Please be advised that you must provide your social security number pursuant to state law. Your social security number
may be used for the following purposes: a) to identify you in record keeping and information exchanges with state agencies
(Missouri and other states), federal agencies and other data sources; b) to make criminal history checks and to verify all
information provided in the application; and c) to the Division of Child Support Enforcement of the Department of Social
Services. Discovery of false information in the application or discovery of relevant criminal history may result in denial of
your application. If you are a citizen of a foreign country applying for licensure in Missouri, you shall submit your VISA or
passport identification number in lieu of the Social Security number.
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