
Further Information 

As a licensee, it is your responsibility to 
adhere to the state law and rules and 

regulations that govern the profession of 
social work. There is a link to these on our 

website, pr.mo.gov. The committee 
recommends that you review these and 

contact this office with any questions you 
may have. 

Division of Professional Registration 
3605 Missouri Boulevard 

Jefferson City, Missouri 65109 
Phone: 573-751-0885 

Fax: 573-526-3489 
Email: lcsw@pr.mo.gov 

Website: pr.mo.gov/socialworkers.asp 
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Registering Supervision 

     The practice of social work by the 
supervisee shall be performed under the 
supervisor’s control, oversight, guidance, and 
full professional responsibility at the setting(s) 
approved by the committee. 

     Supervised social work experience shall be 
registered for approval by the committee prior 
to the beginning of supervision. This will 
ensure that the supervision is acceptable to 
the committee prior to applying for licensure. 

     Whenever a supervisee changes a 
supervisor or adds a supervisor or new setting, 
a Change of Status form, provided by the 
committee, shall be submitted to the 
committee by the supervisee. It must be 
submitted in writing within fourteen (14) days. 

     The committee shall notify both the 
supervisee and registered supervisor, in 
writing, of the committee’s approval or refusal 
of the registration of supervision. A 
Registration of Supervision form will not be 
reviewed until all required items are received. 

 

Face-to-Face Supervision 
Requirements 

     Acceptable supervision must include a 
minimum of two hours every two weeks of  
face-to-face supervision. This may consist of 
one hour per week or can be consolidated for 
up to four hours per four week period.  

     Electronic supervision is acceptable if the 
ethical standards for confidentiality are 
maintained and communication is both 
visually and verbally interactive between the 
supervisor and supervisee. 

     Fifty percent of supervision may be group 
supervision. Group supervision may consist of 
at least three, and no more than six  
supervisees. 

Termination of Supervision 

     If supervision is terminated by either 
party, the supervisor is responsible for 
notifying the committee. Supervisors are to 
submit either an Attestation form or the 
Supervision Termination form within 14 days 
of when supervision is terminated. 

Supervision Requirements 

     The minimum acceptable supervised  
experience shall be 3,000 hours of 
supervised experience obtained in no less 
than twenty-four (24) and no more than forty
-eight (48) consecutive calendar months.  

 

Application for Licensure 

     The following documents must be on file 
with the committee for an application to be 
considered complete and officially filed: 

 Completed Application for Licensure 
form 

 Official transcript(s) directly from the 
college/university 

 Completed Attestation of Supervision 
form 

 Verification of a passing score on the 
ASWB  clinical exam sent directly from 
the ASWB 

 Proof of submission of fingerprints for a 
Missouri State Highway Patrol and 
Federal Bureau of Investigation 
background check. 

 

ALL APPLICANTS MUST REMAIN 
UNDER SUPERVISION UNTIL THE 

LICENSE IS RECEIVED. 

Acceptable Supervisors 

     Acceptable supervisors for clinical licensure 
shall:  

 Have a master’s degree from a college or 
university program of social work accredited 
by the CSWE 

 Be licensed in Missouri as an LCSW and 
have five years of post-licensure experience 

 Complete a sixteen hour continuing 
education course in supervision in 
accordance with the rules of continuing 
education 

 For ongoing currency, supervisors must 
complete at least three hours of face-to-face 
continuing education in supervision each 
renewal cycle. 

 

Progress Reports 

     The supervisor shall provide annual reports 
of progress to the committee. These reports will 
be due on the anniversary date of the initial 
approval for the 12th, 24th, and 36th months of 
supervision. 

 

Notes 

     The committee recommends that notes and 
documentation be kept of supervision that 
occurs and the issues discussed. This should 
include the date, time of day, length of session, 
agency name/location, supervisee and 
supervisor names, and content of the 
supervision session. The content should include 
coded client information, directives if any, and 
action plans for the client. The supervisor shall 
co-sign the clinical records of the supervisee. 

 

Supervisors should be knowledgeable 
of all rules regarding supervision. 


