
INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPLICATION  
FOR LICENSURE – PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR AGENCY 

 
Please read these instructions carefully.  Failure to complete the application properly and in its 
entirety could result in the delay of processing the application as well as the review and approval of 
the application for licensure. 
 
 

Application  
 
 
 
Business Physical Address – You must provide a physical address for your private investigation business.  
This is not posted on the website or given to the public unless your physical address and mailing address are 
the same. 
 
Business Mailing Address – This is considered your official primary “contact at” address with the Missouri 
Board of Private Investigator and Private Fire Investigator Examiners and is the address that will be available 
to the public via Professional Registration’s downloadable listing on the website or by someone contacting the 
office by telephone.  Please note that all correspondence, renewal applications, newsletters etc from this office 
will be sent to this address. 
 
The application needs to be signed in the presence of a notary and then notarized. 
 
 
 

Additional Information  
 
 
APPLICATION FEE 
Please submit the $400.00 application fee.  The application fee can be a personal check, money order or 
cashier’s check made payable to the Board of Private Investigator and Private Fire Investigator Examiners.   
We apologize for the inconvenience but we cannot accept credit cards for payment of the application fee. 
 
APPLICATION FOLLOW-UP: 
Once your application has been received and all documentation has been processed you will receive a follow 
up letter informing you if items are still needed or when your application will be reviewed by the board.   
 
Please note the following: 
 

• You must designate a Private Investigator-In-Charge and provide the requested information on 
the application. 

• Provide proof of registration of a fictitious name with the secretary of state. 
• Provide proof of worker’s compensation insurance in the form of a Certificate of Insurance 

issued by an insurance company licensed to do business in the state Missouri, OR written 
statement explaining how applicant’s business is not subject to the Worker’s Compensation 
law.   
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Private Investigator Agency Application Checklist 
 

This is a worksheet for your use to assist you in the application process.  
You do not need to send this to our office. 

 
 
 
□ Application that has been typed or neatly handwritten in BLACK ink (completed and notarized) 
 
□ Application Fee 
 
□ Proof of registration of a fictitious name with the secretary of state. 
 
□ Proof of liability insurance. Copy of Certificate of Insurance in the amount of $250,000 by an 

insurance company licensed to do business in Missouri. Copy of Certificate of Insurance 
issued by an agent is not acceptable. The certificate needs to come from the carrier. 

 
□ Proof of Workers Compensation (if applicable) in the form of a Certificate of Insurance by an 

insurance company licensed to do business in Missouri; or written statement explaining how 
the applicant’s business is not subject to the Worker’s Compensation law.  Copy of Certificate 
of Insurance by an agent is not acceptable. The certificate needs to come from the carrier. If 
you are not required to have Worker’s Compensation, please provide a brief statement. 

 
 
Once the application, fee and documentation have been received and reviewed in our office, we 
will communicate with you in writing.  Please be patient with our process. 
 



STATE OF MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR EXAMINERS

division of professional registration license no approval date

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE - MUST BE TYPED OR
PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR AGENCY

fee amount deposit date
PRINTED LEGIBLY

INSTRUCTIONS
return to:• provide complete information. incomplete information will delay the processing and

review of your application. board of private investigator examiners
po box 1335• sign and notarize the application. Jefferson city mo 65102-1335

• (573) 522-7744enclose the appropriate fee(s). all fees are nonrefundable and must be made payable to tty (800) 735-2966the board of private investigator examiners. e-mail: pi@pr.mo.gov
SECTION 1 - AGENCY INFORMATION

if this agency has previously held a missouri license stop. contact the board office for instructions.

agency name e-mail address (please print clearly)

business physical office address (street, city, state, zip code)

business mailing address (street/po box, city, state, zip code) this is considered your official address.

SECTION 2 - PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR-IN-CHARGE INFORMATION
name of licensed private investigator-in-charge

missouri pi license number date of birth social security number

telephone number (office) fax number telephone number (cell phone)

i, the below named applicant, being duly sworn, hereby affirm under penalties of perjury that i am the applicant referred to in the preceding
application for a license as a private investigator agency in the state of missouri, and that all statements and enclosures are true and accurate
to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.
i submit for consideration this application for licensure as required by missouri law governing the practice of private investigating and subject
to the rules and regulations of the missouri board of private investigator examiners. i subscribe and agree to abide by all applicable laws and
rules related to a private investigator agency (to include the code of professional ethics). i hereby certify that i have familiarized myself with
sections 324.1100-324.1148 rsmo, known as the (private investigator act) and applicable rules promulgated by the missouri board of private
investigator examiners.
i understand the application fee is not refundable and that the board may require further information or evidence that it deems reasonable
and proper in approving this application for licensure as a private investigator agency.

applicant signatureMUST BE SIGNED
IN PRESENCE OF NOTARY 4

notary public embosser or state county (or city of st. louis)
black ink rubber stamp seal

subscribed and sworn before me, this
day of                                                                  year USE RUBBER STAMP IN CLEAR AREA BELOW.

notary public signature my commission
expires

notary public name (typed or printed)

mo 375-0771 (5-12)
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