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MISSOURI DISTRIBUTOR INSTRUCTION SHEET 
 

DRUG DISTRIBUTOR LICENSE APPLICATION 
APPLICATION FEE $300.00  

 
PLEASE READ THIS CAREFULLY TO ENSURE THE APPLICATION IS PROPERLY COMPLETED. 

Please use these instructions and application checklist when completing the application.  If ANY of the items 
are incomplete or not provided, your application WILL NOT be processed until those items are 
completed/provided. 
 
BLOCK 1 TYPE OF APPLICATION – New or Change of Ownership - Please check “New” or “Change 

of Ownership”. If this is a change of ownership, please provide the previous license number in 
the space provided and the effective date of change.  

 
BLOCK 2 APPLICANT NAME - Name of the corporation, partnership, sole proprietor, LLC or LLP of the 

facility seeking licensure. 
 
BLOCK 3 APPLICANT ADDRESS - Address of the corporation, partnership, sole proprietor, LLC or LLP 

of the facility seeking licensure. 
 
BLOCK 4 DBA NAME OF DRUG DISTRIBUTOR AND TELEPHONE NUMBER -  “Doing business as” 

name of the actual facility that will be shipping product into the state of Missouri and its 
telephone number. 

 
BLOCK 5 DBA MAILING ADDRESS AND FAX NUMBER - Mailing address (if different than physical 

address) and fax number. 
 
BLOCK 6    DBA PHYSICAL ADDRESS - Physical address of the distribution facility named in Block 4.  

Pursuant to 20 CSR 2220-5.030(3)(O), no drug distributor license shall be issued to a location 
that is a residence or that shares an address and/or physical space with a business not related 
to the distribution of prescription drugs or drug-related devices, or not licensed and regulated by 
the state of Missouri. 

 
IN-STATE APPLICANTS NEED NOT COMPLETE BLOCK 7 
 
BLOCK 8 MANAGER-IN-CHARGE - Provide the name, license number (if applicable), date of birth, and 

social security number for the individual who is physically in charge of the distribution facility. 
Provide the MIC’s employment history, including company name, city/state, job title/position 
held, and dates of employment, for the past seven (7) years. 

 
BLOCK 9 TYPE OF PRODUCTS DISTRIBUTED - Check each box that applies to this distributor. 
 
BLOCK 10 OWNERSHIP TYPE - Indicate whether the applicant (owner of the distribution site) is a sole 

proprietor, partnership, corporation, LLC, or LLP, and the state of incorporation. 
 
BLOCK 11 IF SOLE PROPRIETOR - Effective July 1, 2003, all persons and business entities 

issued/renewing a license with the Division of Professional Registration are required to have 
paid all state income taxes, and also are required to have filed all necessary state income tax 
returns for the preceding three years. If you have failed to pay your taxes or have failed to file 
your tax returns, your license will be subject to suspension within 90 days of being notified by 
the Missouri Department of Revenue of any delinquency or failure to file. This requirement was 
enacted in House Bill 600 of the 92nd General Assembly (2003), and was signed into law by the 
Governor on July 1, 2003, Section 324.010, RSMo. 

 
BLOCK 12 OWNER/CORPORATE OFFICER DETAIL – Complete this section or attach a separate sheet 

listing the name, title, home address, telephone number, % ownership, and social security 
number for each corporate officer, owner or sole proprietor. 
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BLOCK 13 APPLICANT DISCIPLINE/CRIMINAL HISTORY - Answer all questions regarding action taken 
on the applicant or Manager-In-Charge.  If any question is answered “yes”, a notarized 
explanation must be attached and court documents attached. 

 Court Documents Examples:  (The court documents MUST BE CERTIFIED by the court.):  Certified official court 
document(s) relative to your criminal record, showing the date(s) and circumstance(s) surrounding your 
arrest(s)/conviction(s), sections of the law violated, and disposition of the case. This would normally consist of the 
Complaint or Indictment, the Judgment &Sentence, Docket Sheet or other documents showing disposition of case. 

 
BLOCK 14 NOTARIZATION - If the applicant is a corporation, this section MUST be signed by a corporate 

officer; If applicant is a proprietorship or partnership, this section MUST be signed by the 
owner or partner.  The signature must be notarized. 

 
BLOCK 15 AFFIDAVIT OF MANAGER-IN-CHARGE - This section MUST be signed by the Manager-in-

Charge (person physically in charge of daily operations of the facility) as indicated on page 1 of 
the application, and notarized.   

 
ATTACHMENTS TO ACCOMPANY THE APPLICATION -- CHECK OFF ITEMS AS COMPLETED 

 
1. ___  Completed, signed by owner and MIC, notarized application form. 

2. ___  A check/money order in the amount of $300.00, made payable to Missouri Board of Pharmacy. 

3. ___ The completed, signed BUSINESS ENTITY STATE TAX COMPLIANCE FORM.  Effective January 1, 2009,  
Missouri state law requires that any business licensed by the state that engages in retail sales must provide a no 
tax due letter from the Department of Revenue to be licensed.  A BUSINESS ENTITY STATE TAX 
COMPLIANCE FORM is available on the Board’s website at www.pr.mo.gov/pharmacists.asp. 

 
4. ___  The completed CORPORATE OFFICERS LIST. Form included with downloadable application. 

5. ___ The completed CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE AFFIDAVIT (site specific). Form included with downloadable     
application must be completed if your facility distributes controlled substances. 

 
6. ___  Criminal history background checks.  Each owner with a ten percent (10%) or more interest in a drug distributor 

entity (applying to non-publicly traded companies only) AND the person designated in Block 8 of the application 
as manager-in-charge must telephone 3M Cogent at 877-862-2425 or visit www.machs.mo.gov to schedule an 
appointment to be fingerprinted; provide Cogent “Registration Number:  0003” to insure the results are reported 
to the Missouri Board of Pharmacy.  At the time the individuals are fingerprinted, they will be required to show a 
valid photo ID, their picture will be taken for verification purposes, and they will be given a receipt substantiating 
proof that they were fingerprinted. Each person being fingerprinted will pay a fee directly to Cogent for this 
service, and a receipt will be issued to them.  These receipts must be submitted with this application.  A receipt 
cannot be used from a previous application, it must be dated no more than six months prior to submission of the 
application, and the name on the receipt must be the same as on the application.  Click here for more information 
about the Missouri fingerprint process.   

NOTICE -- If the manager-in-charge of the facility as named on the application is a registered pharmacist licensed in the 
State of Missouri, include that information on this application and items 5 & 6 of this checklist do not apply. 
 
7. ___   Attach the receipts issued from 3M Cogent at the time fingerprints were taken substantiating proof of 

fingerprinting.  This application cannot be processed without submission of these receipts. 
   ____ Cogent receipt for each owner 

____ Cogent receipt for Manager-in-Charge     
 
Once your application has been received and accepted, you will be notified to contact the Pharmacy 
Board inspector assigned to your county to schedule an initial inspection.  A license will not be issued 
until all acceptable documentation is received, an initial inspection of the facility has been completed, 
and the application has been successfully reviewed by the Board.  
 

NOTICE 
YOU MAY NOT LEGALLY OPEN FOR BUSINESS UNTIL YOUR LICENSE HAS BEEN ISSUED. 

LICENSES EXPIRE ON OCTOBER 31 OF ODD NUMBERED YEARS.  RENEWALS ARE MAILED ON OR 
ABOUT AUGUST 1st OF THE RENEWAL YEAR AS STATED. 

AN ADDITIONAL $25 RETURNED CHECK FEE WILL APPLY TO INSUFFICIENT FUNDS CHECKS. 
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2. APPLICANT NAME (SOLE PROPRIETOR, CORPORATION, PARTNERSHIP, LLC, LLP)

3. APPLICANT ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE)

4. D/B/A NAME - INDICATE NAME OF DISTRIBUTION FACILITY D/B/A TELEPHONE NUMBER

( )
5. D/B/A MAILING ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE) D/B/A FAX NUMBER

( )
6. D/B/A PHYSICAL ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE, COUNTY)

7. REGISTERED AGENT – NON-RESIDENT DISTRIBUTORS MUST DESIGNATE A REGISTERED AGENT LOCATED IN MISSOURI. THE MISSOURI SECRETARY OF STATE WILL AUTOMATICALLY BE
DESIGNATED AS ITS TRUE AND LAWFUL ATTORNEY FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS AS AUTHORIZED BY LAW IF NONE IS SPECIFICALLY LISTED HERE.

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

10. THE APPLICANT IS (CHECK ONE) IF A CORPORATION OR LLC, INDICATE STATE OF
INCORPORATION

SOLE PROPRIETOR PARTNERSHIP CORPORATION LLC LLP

LICENSE NUMBER

DATE TEMP. MAILED DATE TEMP. ISSUED APPROVED BY

DATE PERM. MAILED DATE PERM. ISSUED INSPECTOR

PLEASE COMPLETE ALL QUESTIONS

SEE INSTRUCTION SHEET FOR COMPLETION OF THIS FORM.

ORI - AGENCY #MO920120Z

APPLICATION FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE

NAME COMPANY

STREET ADDRESS CITY/STATE/ZIP

8. MANAGER-IN-CHARGE. APPLICANT WILL PLACE THE FOLLOWING INDIVIDUAL AS MANAGER-IN-CHARGE OF THE DISTRIBUTION SITE.

MANAGER-IN-CHARGE EMPLOYMENT HISTORY – PROVIDE INFORMATION FOR PAST SEVEN (7) YEARS.

FULL NAME MO PH LIC # DATE OF BIRTH SSN

1. CHECK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING

NEW APPLICATION CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP FOR A CURRENTLY LICENSED FACILITY LIC. NO. _______________
EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGE _____________________________

STATE OF MISSOURI
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION

DRUG DISTRIBUTOR LICENSE APPLICATION

MAILING ADDRESS:
MISSOURI  BOARD OF PHARMACY
P.O. BOX 625
JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102
(573) 751-0091

DELIVERY ADDRESS:
3605 MISSOURI BOULEVARD
JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65109

9. TYPE OF PRODUCTS DISTRIBUTED

HUMAN VETERINARY CONTROLLED LEGEND MEDICAL LEGEND DRUG- 
PRESCRIPTION DRUGS PRESCRIPTION DRUGS SUBSTANCES GAS RELATED MEDICAL

IF YOU CHECK THE CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE BOX, YOU MUST ATTACH COPIES OF YOUR STATE & FEDERAL CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE LICENSES. DEVICES

COMPANY NAME CITY/STATE JOB TITLE/POSITION HELD DATES

NOTE: If sole proprietor, complete question 11

Pursuant to Section 324.010 RSMo:

CHECK THIS BOX ONLY IF IN ALL OF THE LAST 3 YEARS:YOU WERE NOT A MISSOURI RESIDENT,YOU DID NOT
HAVE ANY MISSOURI INCOME, AND YOU ARE NOT SUBJECT TO ANY TYPE OF MISSOURI INCOME TAX.

False statements are subject to criminal penalties and/or license discipline.
If you have any questions regarding taxes contact the Department of Revenue at 573-751-7200

or e-mail income@dor.mo.gov.

11.
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13. CHARGES, CONVICTIONS, DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS, AND STATUS (ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED)

Suspended Imposition of Sentence (SIS) Information: An attorney may advise you that you do not have to report SIS information on any
future application. However, the Board has authority under section 338.185, RSMo, to access those records, via the use of fingerprints. This
type of action MUST BE REPORTED ON THIS APPLICATION.

NOTE TO APPLICANT: The following questions must be answered truthfully and completely by you without any omissions. Your failure to
answer truthfully may subject you to penalties under the law for providing a false affidavit, or to the denial of your drug distributor application.
If you are in doubt on a question, mark the answer “yes” and explain on a separate sheet.

To the best of your knowledge, have any of the applicant(s), owners, partners, officers, and/or manager-in-charge
associated with this application ever:

A. been denied, refused, convicted, fined, disciplined or had a drug distributor license disciplined for violation of
pharmacy, liquor or drug laws, or are presently charged in any such violations in Missouri or any other state?

B. are now charged in any criminal prosecution (felony or misdemeanor), or ever been adjudicated guilty or
entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere (felony or misdemeanor), in any criminal prosecution in Missouri,
in any other state, or in a United States court:

(a) for any offense relating to drugs, narcotics, controlled substances or alcohol, whether or not sentence
was imposed?

(b) for any offense involving the practice of pharmacy, or relating to acts committed within a pharmacy or
drug distributor setting or incident to pharmacy practice, whether or not sentence was imposed?

(c) for any offense involving fraud, dishonesty, or an act of violence (for example, Medicaid fraud, theft of
money or drugs, or robbery), whether or not sentence was imposed?

(d) for any offense involving moral turpitude whether or not sentence was imposed? If you are unsure, mark “yes.”

C. had an application for a drug distributor, pharmacy, pharmacist, pharmacy intern, pharmacy technician, or
other healthcare, or controlled substance registration, license, permit, or certificate denied or refused in
this state, or any other state or country?

D. had disciplinary action taken against you, a pharmacy or drug distributor facility you owned, or a pharmacy
or drug distributor facility where you were employed, by a pharmacy board or authority, or other healthcare
licensing board or authority, or controlled substance authority, in this state or any other state or country?

E. violated the drug laws or rules and regulations of this state, or any other state or country, or the United States?

F. in the last five (5) years, been adjudged insane or incompetent by a court in this, or any other state or country?

G. in the last ten (10) years:

(a) used, or are you now using any drugs, controlled substances or alcoholic beverages to an extent that
such use impaired or may impair your ability to perform the work of a manager-in-charge?

(b) been, or are now, addicted to any drugs, controlled substances or alcoholic beverages?

H. If you answered “yes” to any part of questions A-G, please give all details, including city and state where occurred,
and fully explain “yes” answer on a separate sheet. Attach copies of all applicable court documents.

338.185 RSMo, “After August 28, 1990, notwithstanding any other provisions of law, the board of pharmacy shall have access to records involving
an applicant for a license or permit or renewal of a license or permit as provided within this chapter, where the applicant has been adjudicated
and found guilty or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere in a prosecution under the laws of any state or of the United States for any offense
reasonably related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of any profession licensed or regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential
element of which is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence or for any offense involving moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed.”

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

12. Below or on a separate page, list the information requested below for the sole proprietor, all partners of the partnership, all
corporation/LLC officers and individuals owning more than 10% of the entity.

NAME TITLE HOME ADDRESS TELEPHONE %
OWNED

SOCIAL SECURITY
NUMBER
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MUST BE SIGNED IN
PRESENCE OF NOTARY

SIGNATURE OF MANAGER-IN-CHARGE PRINT NAME

4

I, do solemnly swear or affirm that I serve as the manager-in-charge of the business described in the foregoing application, that I understand

and meet the manager-in-charge requirements set forth in 20 CSR 2220-5.030(2), that my employment history provided on this application

is true and correct, and that I understand the license will be issued with my name appearing thereon as manager-in-charge. All this I affirm

under penalties of perjury.

MUST BE SIGNED IN
PRESENCE OF NOTARY

14. THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED BY A CORPORATE OFFICER, PARTNER, OR INDIVIDUAL OWNER

15. TO BE COMPLETED BY THE MANAGER-IN-CHARGE

Applicant promises and swears that if a license is issued, such business shall maintain a manager-in-charge and such business will be
conducted and operated in full compliance with the pharmacy laws and regulations, professional ethics and all other laws of Missouri as long
as continued under such license.

I do solemnly swear or affirm that I am the aforementioned applicant and that the statements and representations made in the foregoing
application are true and correct. All this I affirm under penalties of perjury.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT PRINT NAME

4
NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER SEAL OR STATE OF COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS)
BLACK INK RUBBER STAMP

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS

DAY OF                                  YEAR USE RUBBER STAMP IN CLEAR AREA BELOW.
NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE MY COMMISSION

EXPIRES

NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED)

NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER OR STATE COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS)
BLACK INK RUBBER STAMP SEAL

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS

DAY OF YEAR USE RUBBER STAMP IN CLEAR AREA BELOW.
NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE MY COMMISSION

EXPIRES

NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED)



 
CORPORATE OFFICER LIST 

 
 

You must supply a list of the company’s corporate officers’ names, home addresses, dates of 
birth, and social security numbers.  You must at least provide this information for the President, 
Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer. 
 
You may use this sheet to provide this information or you may provide a separate listing. 
 

INFORMATION PROVIDED WILL NOT BE DISCLOSED TO THE PUBLIC. 
 

 
President:    Name:                                                                                  
              Home Address: ___________________________________      
                      ___________________________________ 
 
      Date of Birth:            ___/___/___ 
      Soc. Sec. Number:  ____-___-____ 
 
Vice President:    Name:                                                                                  
              Home Address: ___________________________________      
                      ___________________________________ 
 
      Date of Birth:            ___/___/___ 
      Soc. Sec. Number:  ____-___-____ 
 
 
Secretary:    Name:                                                                                  
              Home Address: ___________________________________      
                      ___________________________________ 
 
      Date of Birth:            ___/___/___ 
      Soc. Sec. Number:  ____-___-____ 
 
 
Treasurer:    Name:                                                                                  
              Home Address: ___________________________________      
                      ___________________________________ 
 
      Date of Birth:            ___/___/___ 
      Soc. Sec. Number:  ____-___-____ 



STATE OF MISSOURI 
 
 

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE AFFIDAVIT 
 

THIS AFFIDAVIT MUST BE SIGNED BY A CORPORATE OFFICER IN THE 
PRESENCE OF A NOTARY 

 
 
 

This affidavit is to certify that there have been no controlled substance violations 
brought against this facility by the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) or any 
state agency. 
 
 
 

 
 

***NOTARY SECTION*** 
 
 
 

 
 

STATE OF ____________________    COUNTY OF ___________________________ 
 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS ___ DAY OF ___________, ____ 
 
 

COMMISSIONED IN:                                                           MY COMMISSION EXPIRES:   
 
___________________________                                       ______________________ 
State and County                                                                                                  Date 
 
 

__________________                            _______________ 
Notary Signature                                                                                                    Date 
 
 

__________________                            _______________ 
Signature of Corporate Officer                                                                             Date 
 
 
 

SEAL 
 





INSPECTION MEMO 
 
FOLLOWING IS A LIST OF THE MOST COMMON DEFICIENCIES FOUND 

ON THE INITIAL INSPECTION AND SUBSEQUENT ROUTINE 
INSPECTIONS OF IN-STATE DRUG DISTRIBUTORS. 

PLEASE PAY SPECIAL ATTENTION TO EACH ITEM ON THIS LIST AND 
CHECK FOR ACCURACY IN YOUR FACILITY.   

 
Drug distributor laws and regulations may be found at 

http://pr.mo.gov/pharmacists-rules-statutes.asp 
 

FACILITY: 
1. Insufficient outside lighting. 
2. Lack of thermometer in refrigerator. 
3. No alarm system on facility. 
4. No separate area for distressed/outdated products. 
5. No separate area for flammable products. 
6. Veterinary products not stored separately from human products. 
7. All products not kept off floor or on pallets. 
8. No daily temperature and humidity recordings for the facility. 
9. No daily temperature recordings for refrigerator and freezer if used for drug storage. 
10. Insufficient security measures: doors/locks, no physical barrier to prevent access (drop ceiling). 
 
RECORDS: 
1. No written current list of personnel who are authorized to be in facility. 
2. Non-existence or incompletely written policy and procedures, including required topics of: 

a. Drug disposition and control 
b. Drug security 
c. Drug storage 
d. Monitoring/Reporting losses or thefts 
e. Inventory inaccuracies 
f. Stock rotation 
g. Drug recalls 
h. National/Regional emergencies and crisis management 
i. Disposition and recordkeeping requirements for outdated drugs 
j. Reporting counterfeit or suspected counterfeit drugs 
k. Reporting drug losses 
l. Investigating counterfeit drugs 
m. Reporting criminal activities 

3. No written job description of Manager-in-Charge, any other supervisors of distribution and 
control. 

 
MISCELLANEOUS: 
1. Purchasing from UNLICENSED VENDORS. 

Please be aware 20 CSR 2220-5.020 requires you to receive legend drugs and  
drug-related devices from Missouri-licensed distributors or pharmacies. 

2. Distributing to customer not appropriately licensed to receive legend drugs. 

http://pr.mo.gov/pharmacists-rules-statutes.asp


 
Missouri Division of Professional Registration 

MISSOURI BOARD OF PHARMACY 
 

BUSINESS ENTITY STATE TAX  
COMPLIANCE FORM  

Missouri state law requires that businesses engaged in the retail sale of goods must 
possess a no tax due letter from the Department of Revenue at the time of licensing. 
Section 114.083.4 RSMo. (Cum Supp 2008) states: 
 
            In addition to the provisions of subsection 2 of this section, beginning 

January 1, 2009, the possession of a statement from the department of 
revenue stating no tax is due under sections 143.191 to 143.265, 
RSMo, or sections 144.010 to 144.510 shall also be a prerequisite to 
the issuance or renewal of any city or county occupation license or any 
state license required for conducting any business where goods are 
sold at retail. The statement of no tax due shall be dated no longer than 
ninety days before the date of submission for application or renewal of the 
city or county license. 

 
 
You may obtain a tax clearance letter by visiting http://dor.mo.gov/tax/business/sales/notaxdue/index.htm, 
e-mailing mailto:taxclearance@dor.mo.gov, or calling the Department of Revenue at (573) 751-9268. 
 

Compliance Statement 
PLEASE SELECT ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: 
     □  This business engages in the sale of goods at retail and has filed and paid all of its 

sales tax obligations.  Please provide a copy of your Missouri No Tax Due 
compliance letter or provide your 8-digit Missouri state tax ID number below.           
Missouri state tax number _______________________ 

 
     □  This business does not engage in the sale of goods at retail (other than 

prescriptions). 
 
 
WARNING:  Statements made on this form are subject to audit.  A false statement 
on this form subjects the license to discipline.  Any person who makes a false 
statement on this form, and the business for which the false statement is made, are 
subject to criminal penalties for misleading a public servant. § 575.060 RSMo. 
 
 
Name of Entity:___________________________________________________________ 
 
Signature:  ____________________________ Title: _____________________________ 
                                                                                     (Owner, President, Partner) 
Print Name: ___________________________ Date: _____________________________ 
 
 

http://dor.mo.gov/tax/business/sales/notaxdue/index.htm
mailto:taxclearance@dor.mo.gov
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