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Dear Applicant: 
 
In response to your request for information regarding licensure in Missouri as an optometrist, please find the 
enclosed application for licensure and a copy of the Board’s current rules and statutes. 
 
All applicants for licensure as an optometrist in Missouri must be a graduate of an accredited school of 
optometry and pass all parts of the written examination, and the Clinical Skills and Patient Assessment and 
Management (PAM) examination administered by the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO).  If 
you have not taken and passed all parts of the NBEO, but have been actively practicing in another state for at 
least three (3) years, please review Section 336.090, RSMo and Board Regulation 20 CSR 2210-2.011 to 
determine if you meet the qualifications for licensure by endorsement. 
 
To obtain information regarding NBEO testing, contact the National Board Office directly.  The address of the 
National Board of Examiners is 200 South College Street, #1920 Charlotte, NC 28202.  The telephone number 
is (704) 332-9565 or toll free at (800) 969-EXAM.  You can also visit the National Board website at 
www.optometry.org.  The NBEO provides a Candidate Guide with information on the scope of the examination, 
the location, dates, and required fees.   
 
All applicants for licensure are also required to take the Missouri law examination.  This is an open book exam 
that must be completed within one year prior to licensure.  A minimum passing score of seventy-five percent 
(75%) or greater is required.  Applicants can take the law examination either through the Board office or 
through the NBEO.  The fee for taking the law examination through our office is $50.00.  If you wish to take the 
exam through the NBEO, please contact them directly for further information. 
 
All applicants for licensure in Missouri must be qualified for TPA certification.  The Pharmaceutical Education 
section of the enclosed application form must be sent to the educational institution where you obtained the 
education necessary to qualify for certification in Missouri.  The school must complete the Pharmaceutical 
Education section of the application form and return it directly to our office.  The education and examination 
requirements for certification to use pharmaceutical agents in Missouri are outlined under Board Rule 20 CSR 
2210-2.080. 
 
Requirements for Licensure by Examination 
 

1. Submit a completed Application for Optometry License and the $225.00 application fee 

mailto:optometry@pr.mo.gov
http://www.optometry.org/


2. Official optometric college transcript (An official transcript is one that is received directly from the 
issuing institution.  It must contain the appropriate seal, date, and signature.  Transcripts received 
not meeting these requirements are not official and will not be considered for completion of an 
application.) 

3. Official NBEO transcript(s) 
4. Successfully complete the Missouri law exam 
5. Submit proof of fingerprints (see additional information below) 

 
Although the Board does not have a specific application deadline, we anticipate the review process will be 
completed approximately thirty (30) days after receipt of the completed application for applicants applying for 
licensure by examination.   
 
Requirements for Licensure by Endorsement 
 
The following additional information must be provided by applicants for licensure by endorsement: 
 

1. Proof of successful completion of an optometry licensure examination substantially equivalent to the 
licensure examination required in Missouri; 

2. Proof of active clinical practice for at least three years in the five years immediately preceding the 
application; 

3. Proof that you are registered or certified in the state from which you are applying for endorsement 
to use pharmaceutical agents at the highest level granted in that state with the requirements 
established in that state for registration and/or certification being substantially equivalent to the 
requirements in Missouri;  

4. Certification from each state in which you are currently licensed or have been previously licensed 
verifying that you are/were in good standing, that you have never had your license disciplined in any 
manner and that you are not the subject of any pending complaints; AND 

5. Copy of the licensing statutes/regulations from the state from which you are applying for 
endorsement specific to the licensing requirements in effect at the time of your original licensure 
(For example, if you were licensed in Kansas in 1983, we need a copy of the Kansas 
statutes/regulations regarding licensure requirements in 1983). 

 
All applications for licensure by endorsement are reviewed by the members of the Missouri State Board of 
Optometry at regularly scheduled meetings, which are held approximately three (3) times per year in February, 
July and October. 
 
Fingerprints 
 
All applicants for licensure are required to submit two sets of fingerprints to facilitate a background check by 
the Missouri State Highway Patrol and the FBI, and pay the appropriate fingerprinting fee. 
 
The Missouri State Highway Patrol has contracted with a new company; 3M/Cogent, to provide digital 
fingerprints which are processed quickly resulting in a shorter turn around time.  All applicants choosing to be 
printed with 3M/Cogent must first register with the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) 
Fingerprint Portal @ www.machs.mo.gov. Upon registration with MACHS, you will be prompted for our 
unique 4 digit registration number which is 0002; you will not be able to schedule an appointment without 
providing this registration number.  If you use the digital service, please provide the Board a copy of the receipt 
you receive after being fingerprinted.  The receipt will be included in your application file to indicate the criminal 
background check is in process.  The cost for electronic fingerprinting is $45.05 and paid by the applicant to 
3M/Cogent.  Individuals without access to the internet may contact 3M/Cogent directly at 1-877-862-2425 to 
have a Fingerprint Services Representative conduct this registration on your behalf.  
 

http://www.machs.mo.gov/


If you choose to submit paper and ink fingerprints for processing, you must use the fingerprint cards provided 
by the Board office.  Please submit the $34.75 fingerprinting fee (made payable to the Missouri State Board of 
Optometry) and request that the fingerprint cards be mailed to you.  Once you receive those specific cards, you 
will need to be fingerprinted at your local law enforcement office and return the cards to the Board office.  Make 
sure you complete the required information on the fingerprinting cards.  The cards will be sent to the Missouri 
State Highway Patrol for both the state and federal background check.  At the present time, it is taking 
approximately 4-5 weeks to obtain the criminal history reports using the fingerprinting cards. 
 
For any further information regarding licensure in Missouri or for clarification of the information provided, 
please contact our office at (573) 751-0814 or send an email to optometry@pr.mo.gov. 
 
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR 
MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 
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APPLICATION FOR OPTOMETRY LICENSE 
FOR OFFICE USE 
ONLY                        

LICENSE NO. ISSUE DATE 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY IN BLACK INK 

This application is being submitted on the basis of licensure by: 
 Examination         Endorsement 
NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST, SUFFIX, FORMER/MAIDEN) SOCIAL SECURITY NO. 

(REQUIRED – SEE ATTACHED NOTICE) 

DATE OF BIRTH PLACE OF BIRTH 

RACE (THIS INFORMATION IS VOLUNTARY) GENDER (THIS INFORMATION IS VOLUNTARY) 
 
 Male             Female 

HOME TELEPHONE NO. 
 

(         ) 

PRACTICE TELEPHONE NO. 
 

(         ) 

FAX NO. 
 

(         ) 

HOME ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE) 

PRACTICE ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE) 

IDENTIFY PREFERRED MAILING ADDRESS (CHECK ONLY ONE BOX) 
 

 HOME       OR        PRACTICE 

E-MAIL ADDRESS 

Have you ever applied for licensure as an optometrist or taken the examination for licensure as an optometrist in any state or 
territory?     Yes       No 
If yes, complete the following.  (If you are no longer licensed in the state(s) listed or have current or past discipline, an 
explanation on a separate sheet of paper is required.) 

STATE OR TERRITORY 
WERE YOU LICENSED BY 

THIS STATE OR 
TERRITORY? 

DATE LICENSED ARE YOU STILL 
LICENSED? 

DO YOU HAVE ANY 
CURRENT OR PAST 

DISCIPLINE? 

     

     

     

     

OPTOMETRY COLLEGE 
NAME 

LOCATION 

DATES OF ATTENDANCE (FROM/TO) 

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 
3605 MISSOURI BOULEVARD 
P.O. BOX 1335 
JEFFERSON CITY MO  65102 
TELEPHONE: (573) 751-0814 

APPLICATION FEE: $225 (Due with application) 
LAW EXAM FEE:      $50 
(To be paid if exam is being taken via the mail) 



EXAM INFORMATION 
All applicants for licensure in Missouri must pass all parts of the written examination administered by the National Board of Examiners in Optometry 
(N.B.E.O.), including the Clinical Skills/VRICS examination or Clinical Skills/PAM examination.  Each applicant must also pass an examination on Missouri 
law within one year prior to licensure.  For certification to use pharmaceutical agents, applicants must pass the examination on the Treatment and 
Management of Ocular Disease (T.M.O.D.), which is administered by the N.B.E.O.  Please indicate below your examination status in these exam areas. 

 YES       NO 
Have you passed both parts of the N.B.E.O. written exam (Parts I and II)? 
 

      If No, are you scheduled to take the exams?     Yes     No 
      If Yes, when: ___________________________________________________________________ 

       

Have you passed Part III of the N.B.E.O. exam (Clinical Skills/VRICS or Clinical Skills/PAM)? 
 

      If No, are you scheduled to take the exam?     Yes     No 
      If Yes, when: ___________________________________________________________________ 

       

Have you passed the T.M.O.D. exam? 
 

      If No, are you scheduled to take the exam?     Yes     No 
      If Yes, when: ___________________________________________________________________ 

       

Have you taken and passed the Missouri Law Exam through the N.B.E.O.? 
 
      If No, you will be required to take the exam through the Missouri Board and will be notified when you are  
      eligible to do so.  (Please Note: There is a $50.00 fee required before you are eligible to take the exam.) 

       

CERTIFICATE OF OPTOMETRIST IN ACTUAL PRACTICE 
This section must be completed and signed by a licensed optometrist.  (This section only applies to those applicants who are applying on the basis of 
licensure by endorsement.) 
 

This certifies that I, _________________________________________________________, have known the applicant to have been 

engaged in active clinical practice for the past three years. 

SIGNATURE DATE LICENSE NO. 

ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE) 

TELPHONE NO. 
 

(         ) 

STATE OF PRACTICE 

CERTIFICATE OF MORAL CHARACTER 
This section must be completed and signed by a licensed optometrist.  The applicant must also provide the Board with two additional references.  Space is 
provided to include names, addresses and telephone numbers.  Do not indicate the name of a relative for any of these reference requirements.  Additionally, 
only one reference can be that of a faculty member from your optometry school. 
 

This certifies that I, _________________________________________________________, have been personally acquainted with the 

applicant for _______ years and that I believe the applicant to be of good moral character.  I hereby recommend the applicant to the 

Missouri State Board of Optometry to be licensed to practice optometry. 

SIGNATURE DATE LICENSE NO. 

ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE) 

TELEPHONE NO. 
 

(         ) 

STATE OF PRACTICE 

ADDITIONAL REFERENCES 
1. NAME TELEPHONE NO. 

 

(         ) 

ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIPCODE) 

2. NAME TELEPHONE NO. 
 

(         ) 

ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE) 



IMPORTANT: Explanations required in response to the following questions must be on a separate sheet and signed by you  
                       before a notary public. 
 
 
1.  Have you ever been charged with or convicted (including a nolo contendere plea or guilty plea) of a misdemeanor 
and/or felony in any state or in federal court (other than minor traffic or parking violations) whether or not sentence was 
imposed or suspended?  If yes, explain fully. 
 
2.  Have you ever been pardoned from a felony conviction?  If yes, explain fully. 
 
3.  Have you ever had a record expunged from a felony conviction?  If yes, explain fully. 
 
4.  Have you ever been charged with or convicted (including a nolo contendere plea or guilty plea) of a violation of any 
federal or state drug law(s) or rule(s) whether or not sentence was imposed or suspended?  If yes, explain fully. 
 
5.  Have you ever been court martialed or discharged other than honorably from the armed services?  If yes, explain 
fully. 
 
6.  Do you currently have any disease or condition that interferes with your ability to competently and safely perform the 
essential functions of your profession, including any disease or condition generally regarded as chronic by the medical 
community, i.e. (1) mental or emotional disease or condition; (2) alcohol or other substance abuse; and/or (3) physical 
disease or condition, that may presently interfere with your ability to competently and safely perform the essential 
functions involved in practice as an optometrist?  If yes, explain fully. 
 
7.  Are you now or have you in the last 5 years been addicted to or used in excess, alcohol or any prescription drugs or 
illegal chemical substances?  If yes, explain fully. 
 
8.  Are you now being treated or have you in the last 5 years been treated through a drug or alcohol rehabilitation 
program?  If yes, explain fully. 
 
9.  Have you ever been convicted, adjudged guilty by a court, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere to any traffic offense 
resulting from or related to the use of drugs or alcohol?  If yes, explain fully. 
 
10.  Have you ever had a judgment rendered against you based upon fraud, misrepresentation, or deception related to 
your practice as an optometrist?  If yes, explain fully. 
 
11.  Have you ever been a defendant in a legal action involving professional liability (malpractice) or had a professional 
liability claim paid in your behalf or paid such a claim yourself?  If yes, explain fully. 
 
12.  Have you ever had a suspended imposition of sentence (SIS) for any offense?  If yes, explain fully. 

YES          NO 
 

 
         

 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         
 
 
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT 
I, the below named applicant, being duly sworn, hereby affirm under penalties of perjury that I am the applicant referred to in the proceeding application for 
licensure as an optometrist in the state of Missouri, and that all statements and enclosures are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge, information 
and belief. 
 
I submit for consideration this application as required by the Missouri law governing the practice of optometry and subject to the rules and regulations of the 
Missouri State Board of Optometry.  I subscribe and agree to abide by all applicable laws and rules regarding the practice of optometry.  I hereby certify that 
I have familiarized myself with Chapter 336, RSMo, known as the Optometry Practice Act and applicable rules promulgated by the Missouri State Board of 
Optometry. 
 
Enclosed is the application fee which is nonrefundable.  I understand that the Board may require further information or evidence that it deems reasonable 
and proper. 
 
Furthermore, I voluntarily consent to a thorough investigation of my present and past employment and other activities for the purpose of verifying my 
qualifications. 

MUST BE SIGNED IN THE 
PRESENCE OF A NOTARY 

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 
 

 
NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER SEAL OR 
BLACK INK RUBBER STAMP SEAL 

STATE COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS) 

 SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS  

 
                     DAY OF                             YEAR USE RUBBER STAMP IN CLEAR AREA BELOW. 

 NOTARY PUBLIC 
SIGNATURE 

MY COMMISSION 
EXPIRES 

 

 NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED)  



PHARMACEUTICAL EDUCATION
IMPORTANT:  This portion of your application must be completed by the institution from which you obtained your 
education.  Please attach a recent photo of yourself to the bottom of this form and mail it to your educational institution for 
completion.

I hereby certify that ___________________________________________________________ successfully completed at 
least one hundred (100) hours of approved, supervised, clinical training in the examination, diagnosis and treatment of 
conditions of the human eye and adnexa in a program supervised by a board-certified ophthalmologist.  These hours were 
taught by an institution having facilities for both the didactic and clinical instruction in pharmacology, which is approved by the 
Board and which is accredited by a regional or professional accrediting organization which is recognized by the Council on 
Post Secondary Accreditation or the United States Department of Education or its successors.

                             (COLLEGE SEAL)

NAME OF EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION DATES OF ATTENDANCE (FROM/TO)

SIGNATURE OF DEAN, SECRETARY OR REGISTRAR DATE

OPTOMETRIC EDUCATION
NAME AND LOCATION OF OPTOMETRY COLLEGE

I hereby certify that ________________________________________ received from ________________________________ 

on the ______ day of ___________________________, Year ___________ a diploma conferring on _____ the degree of 

Doctor of Optometry.

I FURTHER CERTIFY THAT THE PHOTOGRAPH ATTACHED IS A TRUE LIKENESS OF 
THE SAID APPLICANT.

PLEASE ATTACH A
RECENT PHOTO HERE

SIGNATURE OF DEAN, SECRETARY OR REGISTRAR

DATE



MO 375-0678 (8-08)

STATE OF MISSOURI
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER DISCLOSURE NOTICE

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY
3605 MISSOURI BOULEVARD
P.O. BOX 1335
JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102-1335
TELEPHONE (573) 751-0814

PLEASE COMPLETE THIS FORM BY FILLING IN THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION AND RETURN WITH YOUR RENEWAL/APPLICATION.

SIGNATURE

NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

You must provide your social security number pursuant to state and federal law.

Pursuant to these laws, licensing authorities must assemble your social security number with other relevant information (name, address, etc.)
and transmit the data to the Division of Child Support Enforcement of the Department of Social Services to be used in a database for the
following purposes:

(1) locating individuals who are under an obligation to pay child support or provide child custody or visitation rights, against whom such
an obligation is sought or to whom such an obligation is owed;

(2) identifying whether an individual who owes overdue child support or who has failed to comply with a subpoena relating to paternity
or child support proceedings holds a professional or occupational license (under certain circumstances, a person who owes
overdue support or fails to comply with a subpoena relating to the above-stated proceedings may be subject to an order of a court,
after notice and opportunity for hearing in that court, suspending, withholding or restricting the person’s license).

In addition to these uses, the licensing authorities will continue their practice of using social security numbers for the following purposes:

(1) for internal identification purposes (e.g., some licensing authorities use your social security number as your license number);

(2) to conduct criminal record checks (discovery of relevant criminal history may result in denial of your application, conditioned
licensure or the filing of a disciplinary action against you);

(3) to verify information provided by you in your application (discovery of false information in your application may result in denial of
your application, conditioned licensure or the filing of a disciplinary action against you);

(4) to verify licensure with another state’s licensing authority for reciprocity licensure;

(5) for identification purposes in national disciplinary databases (the discovery of a disciplined license in another state may result in
denial of your application, conditioned licensure or the filing of a disciplinary action against you);

(6) for test identification purposes.

If you fail or refuse to provide your social security number, we will consider your application or renewal incomplete and return it to
you. Continued failure or refusal to provide it is grounds for denial of your application and could result in disciplinary action against
your certificate and/or permit to practice.

__________________________
Senate Bill 361, 89th General Assembly, First General Session (1997); Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-193.



CONTINUING EDUCATION FACT SHEET 

Beginning with the license renewal period of November 1, 2008 – October 31, 2010, 
licensees will be required to obtain 32 hours of Board approved continuing education 
(C.E.) every two years in order to renew their Optometry license.  The C.E. reporting 
period will be concurrent with the license renewal period.  The first C.E. reporting period 
will be November 1, 2008 – October 31, 2010.  The next C.E. reporting period will be 
November 1, 2010 – October 31, 2012.  By paying a C.E. penalty fee of $150, a 
licensee may apply C.E. earned between November 1st – December 31st of the last year 
of the reporting period to the reporting period ending that year.  For example, a licensee 
wishing to renew an optometry license on October 31, 2010 could apply C.E. earned in 
December 2010 towards the 32 hours of C.E. required to renew licensure on October 
31, 2010.  A licensee can not apply the same C.E. to more than one reporting period. 

Licensees who earn Board approved C.E during the time period of September 1, 2008 – 
October 31, 2008 may apply that C.E. to the reporting period beginning November 1, 
2008.  Alternatively, a licensee may apply C.E. earned during the time period of 
September 1, 2008 – October 31, 2008 to the reporting period ending August 31, 2008 
if the licensee pays the C.E. penalty fee.

All continuing education for license renewal must be from a Board approved continuing 
education course.  Licensees must maintain records of their completed continuing 
education for the two previous C.E. reporting periods in addition to the current reporting 
period.  The Board will conduct a random audit of licensees to ensure compliance with 
the C.E. requirement for renewal.  If a licensee is selected for an audit, the licensee will 
be required to provide documentation of their C.E. in a timely manner. 

Licensees who are enrolled in a postgraduate residency program accredited by the 
Council on Optometric Education will receive a maximum of sixteen hours of continuing 
education credit that can be applied to only one renewal period.

Licensees who do not obtain the required C.E. or who do not provide documentation in 
a timely manner when audited may be subject to disciplinary action.



BNDD Fact Sheet 
 
According to Missouri State Board of Optometry rule 20 CSR 2210-2.030(1), “Every licensed optometrist 
shall notify the board of any change of mailing address within thirty (30) days.” 
 
In order to conduct controlled substance activities in Missouri, an optometrist must possess a registration 
from both the Missouri Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs (BNDD) and the U.S. Drug 
Enforcement Administration (DEA). 
 
If you possess a Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs (BNDD) registration issued by the Missouri 
Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS), you are also mandated to take the necessary steps to 
ensure continued registration as well.  DHSS regulation 19 CSR 30-1.023 states in part, “The registration 
of any person shall terminate if and when the person changes business location.  The registration shall 
not terminate for thirty (30) days from the effective date of the change if the person applies for a new 
registration or modification within the thirty (30) day period.”  
 
A BNDD registration is valid for the specific address to which the registration was issued.  A BNDD 
registration is issued for a practitioners primary practice location.  Additional BNDD registrations are not 
needed for branch offices or other locations other than the optometrist’s primary practice location.  If an 
optometrist changes his or her primary practice address for which they have a BNDD registration, BNDD 
must be notified prior to or within 30 days of the effective date of the address change.  If an optometrist 
changes his or her primary practice location and does not notify the BNDD within the allotted time, the 
BNDD registration automatically terminates.  Any controlled substance activities that an optometrist 
conducts after the registration terminates would be without controlled substance authority and in violation 
of state drug laws. 
 
If an optometrist is going to prescribe a controlled substance, the optometrist must document the 
prescription in the patient’s file.  If an optometrist prescribes a controlled substance for a patient, he or 
she needs to make sure to document the date of the prescription, the drug name, drug strength, and 
quantity of the drug prescribed. 
  
Remember that violations of state or federal drug laws may subject your Missouri optometry license to 
discipline even if no disciplinary action is taken by the BNDD or DEA.  More information regarding state 
drug laws may be found at the BNDD website, www.dhss.mo.gov/BNDD.  Information about federal drug 
laws may be found at the DEA website, www.deadiversion.usdog.gov.   
 
If you have any questions regarding the regulation of controlled substances, please feel free to contact 
the State Board office or the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs at the number below. 
 

Missouri State Board of Optometry     (573) 751-0814 
 

Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs     (573) 751-6321 
 

 
I have read and understand the information stated above. 
 
 
 
_____________________________________                           ______________ 
Practitioner’s Signature                                   Date 


