Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage

L STATE OF MISSOURI 3605 Missouri Boulevard

s' Division of Professional Registration PO Box 1335

Jefferson City MO 65102-1335

Telephone: 573/522-6277

Fax: 573/751-0735 Email: massagether@pr.mo.gov

THIS APPLICATION MUST BE TYPED OR PRINTED IN BLACK INK

INSTRUCTIONS — STUDENT LICENSE APPLICATION

e Please read this form before completing. This form must be typed or printed legibly in black ink. It must be sent
to the board by the massage therapy school, program, or board approved mentor.

e Enclose a $25.00 application fee made payable: “Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage” (Payment must be in
the form of a check or money order) ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE

o Affix a photograph of the student in the space provided to the right of this section. AFFIX PHOTOGRAPH

e A student license may be issued upon notification by the school, program, or board approved mentor that the 2% 2
student has demonstrated substantial progress and competency, as approved within the course of instruction,
with a grade “C” or better in basic hygiene, universal precautions, contraindications, basic massage theory, basic
massage hands-on practice, and review of the results of a criminal background check.

e Pursuant to § 620.127, RSMo, disclosure of the applicant’s social security number (SSN) is mandatory.
The board will not publicly disclose the student’s SSN without the student’s consent, unless such disclosure

is permitted by federal or state law. However, state law allows the board to disclose the student’s SSN in Photo must be within the
connection with any civil, criminal, administrative or arbitral proceeding, in an investigation in anticipation of last 2 years showing head and
litigation, pursuant to a court order, and in the performance of a statutory or constitutional duty or power. shoulders
The board can also disclose the student’s SSN to another government agency (federal, state or local) and
to a private person or entity acting on behalf of, or in cooperation with, a state entity. State law requires the
board to provide the student’s SSN to child support and tax compliance officials.
SECTION | — APPLICANT INFORMATION
STUDENT NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE, SUFFIX)
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (Required) DATE OF BIRTH (Month/Day/Year) HOME TELEPHONE NUMBER
RACE (Voluntary) GENDER (Voluntary)
HOME STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP
E-MAIL ADDRESS FAX NUMBER
LOCATION OF PRACTICE SITE PRACTICE SITE TELEPHONE NUMBER
PRACTICE SITE ADDRESS PRACTICE SITE CITY STATE ZIP

SECTION Il - APPLICANT BACKGROUND

APPLICANT MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS BY PLACING AN “X” OR CHECK MARK IN THE APPLICABLE BOX. IF ABOX IS
CHECKED “YES” THE APPLICANT MUST SUPPLY A DETAILED, WRITTEN EXPLANATION ON A SEPARATE SHEET OF PAPER REGARDING | YES NO
THE RESPONSE WITH THE APPLICATION.

1. Have you ever been issued a professional license, certification, registration, or permit by any state, United States territory, commonwealth, or 0 O
District of Columbia? If yes, below please list from where, license/certificate number, status of license, and status.

State, License number Status

2. Have you ever been denied a professional license, certification, registration, or permit by any state, country, United States territory, O

commonwealth or the District of Columbia?

3. Have you ever had any professional license, certificate, registration, or permit revoked, suspended, placed on probation, or otherwise subject to 0

any type of disciplinary action, restriction, or voluntarily surrendered under threat of investigation or disciplinary action? If “yes”, explain on a
separate sheet of paper.

4. Are you presently being investigated or is any disciplinary action pending against any professional license, certification, registration or permit you O O
hold? If “yes”, explain on a separate sheet of paper.

5. Have you ever been arrested, charged, subject to prosecution, indicted, found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal 0 O
prosecution under the laws of any state or of the United States whether or not sentence was imposed? Applicants must answer “yes” even if a

suspended imposition of sentence or suspended execution of sentence was received/ordered.

A. If “yes”, are you currently on probation? ] O
6. Are you now or have you in the last five years been addicted to any drug or chemical substance including alcohol? 0 O
7. Have you ever been arrested, charged, convicted, subject to prosecution for, indicted, found guilty by a court, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere 0 O

to any traffic offense resulting from the use of drugs or alcohol? Applicants must answer “yes” and provide a written explanation even if a
suspended imposition of sentence or suspended execution of sentence was received/ordered.
A. If “yes”, are you currently on probation? O O

8. Do you have a medical condition which would in any way impair or limit your ability to perform the duties of a massage therapist with reasonable 0 O
skill and safety?
9. Have you ever been a party in a civil suit that was medically related? If yes, explain on a separate sheet of paper? n m
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10. Pursuant to section 324.010 RSMo, CHECK THIS BOX ONLY IF IN THE LAST 3 YEARS YOU WERE NOT A MISSOURI RESIDENT, YOU
DID NOT HAVE ANY MISSOURI INCOME, AND YOU ARE NOT SUBJECT TO MISSOURI INCOME TAX. False statements are subject to criminal ]
penalties and/or license discipline. Information relating to state income tax compliance should be directed to MO Dept of Revenue at 573/751-7200
or e-mail income@dor.mo.gov.

| certify that | am the person named in this application for a student license to practice massage therapy in coordination with my massage therapy
school/program or board approved mentor; | have personally read, reviewed and answered each of these questions and that all statements | have
made herein are true and that | am the original and lawful possessor of and person named in the various documents and credentials furnished to
the Board in connection with this application. | understand that | cannot provide massage therapy on the public without supervision by an
instructor of my massage therapy school/program or board certified mentor.

| declare that all statements or representations contained in or attached to this form are made under oath or affirmation and are true and correct
to my best knowledge under penalty of section 575.060 RSMo which specifies that anyone who makes a false statement in writing with intent to
mislead a public official in the performance of his official duties is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT/STUDENT DATE

SECTION Il - TO BE COMPLETED BY MASSAGE THERAPY SCHOOL/PROGRAM
OR CERTIFIED MENTOR

In completing this application the (check one) School/program Mentor hereby certifies that this
student is currently enrolled in a program in massage therapy and has demonstrated substantial progress
and competency, as approved within the course of instruction, with a grade “C” or better in basic hygiene,
universal precautions, contraindications, basic massage theory, and basic massage hands-on practice.

SCHOOL OR MENTOR NAME MENTOR LICENSE NUMBER
SCHOOL OR MENTOR STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP
SCHOOL OR MENTOR E-MAIL ADDRESS SCHOOL OR MENTOR TELEPHONE NUMBER |SCHOOL OR MENTOR FAX NUMBER
SIGNATURE OF SCHOOL OFFICAL OR BOARD CERTIFIED MENTOR DATE
IF AVAILABLE
PLEASE AFFIX
NAME PRINTED TITLE SCHOOL SEAL
NOTE: IF THE SCHOOL OR PROGRAM HAS NO SEAL
MUST BE SIGNED IN PRESENCE |SIGNATURE OF SCHOOL REPRESENTATIVE DATE
OF NOTARY
NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER OR |STATE OF MISSOURI COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS)
BLACK INK RUBBER STAMP
SEAL
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEOFORE ME, THIS
Date of Year USE RUBBER STAMP IN CLEAR AREA BELOW
NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE [MY COMMISION
EXPIRES

NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED)

MO 419-2554 (03-15)
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Instructions Application for Student License

SECTION | — APPLICANT DATA

This information must be completed by the student. If the student will be practicing at the
school/program clinic, entering the school/program name in the Location of Practice Site is required
and the remaining subsections can be left blank. A mentorship must include information regarding the
address and telephone number for the practice site.

SECTION Il = APPLICANT BACKGROUND

This information must be completed by the student. A “yes” response to any of the questions requires
a written explanation. All responses must be printed or typed on a separate sheet of paper and
include a clear, concise explanation, Incomplete or poorly written responses will result in the
application being returned to the student for more information and delay the review process.

Question 10 addresses compliance with Missouri state income taxes and must be completed by the
student. Finally, the application form must be signed and dated by the student.

SECTION Il — EDUCATION INFORMATION

This section must be completed by a representative of the massage therapy school/program or
mentor. The form must be notarized if the school/program has no seal or if the education is provided
by a mentor.

BACKGROUND CHECK
An applicant for licensure must submit to a criminal background check pursuant to section 324.267
RSMo of the licensure law that states, “Any applicant for a license to operate a massage business or
a license to practice massage therapy shall authorize the board to conduct a criminal background
check...The cost of such background check shall be paid by the applicant.” If an applicant submitted
a criminal background check while provisionally licensed and the results are less than one year old, a
second criminal background check is not required.

Section 43.543 RSMo of Missouri law authorizes state agencies to conduct a background check with
the Missouri State Highway Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Missouri’s vendor for digital fingerprinting is Cogent with fingerprint sites located throughout Missouri.
Cogent will accept debit or credit cards or on-site payment by check, money order, or cash. If cash is
to be paid, an applicant must have the exact amount as the vendor may not have change available.

v' With the new registration system, all applicants will log into the Missouri Automated Criminal
History Site (MACHS) at www.machs.mo.gov. An appointment to be fingerprinted must be
made online via MACHSs. The automated registration system walks an applicant through the
steps to make an appointment. If an applicant does not have internet access, s/he can call
877/862-2425 and a representative will make the online appointment.

v" An applicant must have the four digit registration number. This registration number is 5407 for
individuals applying for student, provisional, full, or business licensure in massage therapy.
The registration number ties all agency identifying information together to insure the
background check response is returned to the correct agency.



http://www.machs.mo.gov/

v' Once the registration process is complete, an applicant will receive a Transaction Control
Number (TCN) that is used to track the appointment. Applicants need to take the transaction
control number document to the fingerprinting site along with a current photograph.

v Applicants must have a recent photograph to present to the vendor prior to being fingerprinted.

At the fingerprinting appointment, applicants will be fingerprinted and have their photos taken. A
receipt containing the TCN is provided after printing is completed. A copy of this receipt is to be sent
to the board office to verify the background check is in process. The results of the fingerprinting will
be sent directly to the agency office.

PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT UNTIL THE RESULTS OF THE BACKGROUND CHECK IS
RECEIVED AND REVIEWED BY THE BOARD, A LICENSE WILL NOT BE ISSUED.



AGENCY REQUIREMENTS FOR NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANTS

Authorized governmental and non-governmental agencies/officials that conduct a national fingerprint-
based criminal history record check on an applicant for a noncriminal justice purpose (such as a job or
license, immigration or naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption) are obligated to ensure
the applicant is provided certain notice and other information and that the results of the check are
handied in a manner that protects the applicant's privacy.

e Officials must provide to the applicant written notice’ that his/her fingerprints will be used to
check the criminal history records of the FBI.

e Officials using the FBI criminal history record {if one exists) to make a determination of the
applicant's suitability for the job, license, or other benefit must provide the applicant the
opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information in the record.

¢ Officials must advise the applicant that procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or
updating of an FBI criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations
(CFR), Section 16.34.

e Officials should not deny the job, license, or other benefit based on informaticn in the criminal
history record until the applicant has been afforded a reasonable time to correct or complete
the record or has declined to do so.

o Officials must use the criminal history record solely for the purpose requested and cannot
disseminate the record outside the receiving department, related agency, or other authorized
entity.’

The FBI has no objection to officials providing a copy of the applicant's FBI criminal history record to the
applicant for review and possible challenge when the record was obtained based on positive fingerprint
identification. If agency policy permits, this courtesy will save the applicant the time and additional FBI
fee to obtain his/her record directly from the FBI by following the procedures found at 28 CFR 16.30
through 16.34. It wili also allow the officials to make a more timely determination of the applicant's
suitability.

Each agency should establish and document the process/procedures it utilizes for how/when it gives the
applicant notice, what constitutes "a reasonable time" for the applicant to correct or complete the
record, and any applicant appeal process that is afforded the applicant. Such documentation will assist
State and/or FB! auditors during periedic compliance reviews on use of criminal history records for
noncriminal justice purposes.

i you need additional information or assistance, contact the CJIS Audit Unit, Missouri State Highway
Patrot CJIS Division, at (573) 526-6153 extensions 2630, 2625 or 2655.

! Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification.
?see 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.5.C. 534(b); 42 U.5.C. 14616, Article IV(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d), 50.12(b) and
906.2{d).




NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANT'S PRIVACY RIGHTS

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for a
noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for a job or license, an immigration or naturalization
matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have certain rights which are discussed below.

You must be provided written notification® that your fingerprints will be used to check the
criminal history record of the FBI.

If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your sujtability for
the job, license, or other benefit must provide you the opportunity to complete or challenge the
accuracy of the information in the record.

The officials must advise you that the procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating
of your criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR),
Section 16.24,

If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time to
correct or complete the record {or decline to do so) before the officials deny you the job,
license, or other benefit based on information in the criminal history record.?

You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record check will
use it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of federal statute,
regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the National Crime
Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.®

If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal
histary record for review and possible challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to
provide you a copy of the record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting
fingerprints and a fee to the FBI. Information regarding this process may be obtained at

http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks.

If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI criminal histery record, you should
send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information to the FBI. Alternatively,
you may send your challenge directly to the FBI. The FBI will then forward your challenge to the agency
that contributed the questioned information and request the agency to verify or correct the challenged
entry. Upon receipt of an official communication from that agency, the FBI will make any necessary
changes/corrections to your record in accordance with the information supplied by that agency. {See 28
CFR 16.30 through 16.34.)

' Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification.
? See 28 CFR 50.12(b).
*see s U.5.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b}); 42 U.5.C. 14616, Article {c); 28 CFR 20.21{c}, 20.33(d) and 906.2(d).
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