
                                      
                        STATE OF MISSOURI                                                                                                                      Missouri Board of Therapeutic 
                        Division of Professional Registration                                                                                                 3605 Missouri Boulevard   

                 Box 1335  Jefferson City MO  65102-1335 
                          Telephone 573/522-6277 Fax 573/751-0735 

 APPLICATION FOR PROVISIONAL LICENSE AS A MASSSAGE THERAPIST              Email massagether@pr.mo.gov 
Please read this form and instructions before completing.   This form must be typed or printed legibly in black ink. 
Provide complete information (Incomplete information will delay review of the application). 
Enclose the application fee made payable to the Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage.  Payment must be made in the form of a check or money order. The 
fingerprint fee is for a criminal background check by the Missouri State Highway Patrol and FBI. Digital fingerprinting is used for background reports. 
 Go to the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) at www.machs.mo.gov to make an online appointment via MACHs The automated 

registration system walks an applicant through the steps to make an appointment.  If an applicant does not have internet access, s/he can call 877/862-
2425 and a representative will make the online appointment. 

 Pursuant to § 620.127, RSMo, disclosure of your social security number (SSN) is mandatory.  The board will not publicly disclose your SSN without your 
consent, unless such disclosure is permitted by federal or state law.  However, state law allows the board to disclose your SSN in connection with any 
civil, criminal, administrative or arbitral proceeding, in an investigation in anticipation of litigation, pursuant to a court order, and in the performance of a 
statutory or constitutional duty or power.  The board can also disclose your SSN to another government agency (federal, state or local) and to a private 
person or entity acting on behalf of, or in cooperation with, a state entity.  State law requires the board to provide your SSN to child support and tax 
compliance officials. 

 ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE. The application fee is $75. Provisional renewal fee is $50 (see instructions). 
          You must check one of the following 
_____I am applying for a provisional license      ______I am applying for an extension of provisional license #___________________ 
         You must check one of the following 
_____Fingerprints submitted to Identix                _____Fingerprint cards enclosed 

SECTION I – APPLICANT INFORMATION 
NAME (Last, First, Middle, Suffix) 
 

 MO LICENSE NUMBER  (If applicable) 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (Required) 
 

DATE OF BIRTH (Month/Day/Year) TELEPHONE NUMBER 

RACE/ETHNIC GROUP (Voluntary) GENDER (Voluntary) 

RESIDENCE ADDRESS 
 

CITY                                                   STATE ZIP 

Email Address (Voluntary)  TELEPHONE NUMBER 

PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE (Enclose a copy of required documentation pursuant to 4 CSR 197-2.010 or enter insurance company name and 
policy number below.) 
Insurance Company____________________________________________     Policy Number__________________________________ 
 

SECTION II – APPLICANT BACKGROUND   
APPLICANT MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS MARKING THE APPLICABLE BOX.  IF A BOX IS CHECKED “YES” THE APPLICANT MUST 
SUPPLY A DETAILED, WRITTEN EXPLANATION ON A SEPARATE SHEET OF PAPER REGARDING THE RESPONSE WITH THE APPLICATION. 

  1.  Have you ever been issued a professional license, certification, registration, or permit by any state, United States territory, 
commonwealth, or   District of Columbia?  If yes, below please list from where, license/certificate number, status of license, and status.      
State___________________    License number____________________________     Status_________________________________ 

YES 

 

NO 

 

  2.  Have you ever been denied a professional license, certification, registration, or permit by any state, country, United States territory, 
commonwealth or the District of Columbia? ?  If “yes”, explain on a separate sheet of paper.   

  

  3.  Have you ever had any professional license, certificate, registration, or permit revoked, suspended, placed on probation, or otherwise 
subject to any type of disciplinary action, restriction, or voluntarily surrendered under threat of investigation or disciplinary action?  If “yes”, 
explain on a separate sheet of paper.   

  

  4.  Are you presently being investigated or is any disciplinary action pending against any professional license, certification, registration or 
permit you hold?  If yes, explain on a separate sheet of paper.   

  

  5.  Have you ever been arrested, charged, subject to prosecution, indicted, found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in 
a criminal prosecution under the laws of any state or of the United States whether or not sentence was imposed? Applicants must answer 
“yes” even if a suspended imposition of sentence or suspended execution of sentence was received/ordered.  

A.  If “yes”, are you currently on probation?  


 
 


 
 

  6.  Are you now or have you in the last five years been addicted to any drug or chemical substance including alcohol?   
  7. Have you ever been arrested, charged, convicted, subject to prosecution for, indicted, found guilty by a court, pled guilty or pled nolo 
contendere to any traffic offense resulting from the use of drugs or alcohol?  Applicants must answer “yes” and provide a written 
explanation even if a suspended imposition of sentence or suspended execution of sentence was received/ordered.  
        A. If “yes”, are you currently on probation? 


 


 

  8.  Do you have a medical condition which would in any way impair or limit your ability to perform the duties of a massage therapist with 
reasonable skill and safety?    

  

  9.  Have you ever been a party in a civil suit that is medically related?  If yes, explain on a separate sheet of paper?   
10. Pursuant to 324.010 RSMo CHECK THIS BOX ONLY IF IN THE LAST 3 YEARS YOU WERE NOT A MISSOURI RESIDENT, YOU 
DID NOT HAVE ANY MISSOURI INCOME, AND YOU ARE NOT SUBJECT TO MISSOURI INCOME TAX. False statements are subject 
to criminal penalties and/or license discipline. Information relating to state income tax compliance should be directed to MO Dept of 
Revenue at 573/751-7200 or e-mail income@dor.mo.gov 

 
 
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SECTION III -  STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 
I certify that I am the person named in this application for a provisional license to practice massage; I have personally read, reviewed, and answered 
each of these questions and that all statements I have made herein are true and that I am the original and lawful possessor of and person named in 
the various documents and credentials furnished to the Board in connection with this application.  I declare that all statements or representations 
contained in or attached to this form are made under oath or affirmation and are true and correct to my best knowledge under penalty of section 
575.060 RSMo which specifies that anyone who makes a false statement in writing with intent to mislead a public official in the performance of his 
official duties is guilty of a class B misdemeanor. I subscribe and agree to abide by all applicable laws and regulations regarding the practice of 
massage therapy I herby certify that I have familiarized myself with the massage therapy law and applicable regulations promulgated by the Missouri 
board of Therapeutic Massage.  I understand the application and fingerprint fee is not refundable and that the Board may require further information or 
evidence that it deems reasonable and proper in approving this application for licensure. 

APPLICANT SIGNATURE 
 
 

DATE 

NOTE:  SCHOOL, PROGRAM, OR BOARD APPROVED MENTOR MUST COMPLETE SECTIONS IV - VII 
SECTION IV – VERIFICATION OF EXAMINATION & CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK 

If applicant has submitted application for examination please check here         
If this section is not checked, applicant must supply documentation of being scheduled for a national examination. 
If applicant has submitted fingerprints via Cogent, please check here                       

   

SECTION V – EDUCATION VERIFICATION 
There are two options for verifying completion of the program and program content. 
OPTION 1 -   AN OFFICAL TRANSCRIPT FROM THE MASSAGE THERAPY SCHOOL, PROGRAM, OR MENTORSHIP CAN BE SUBSTITUTED IN PLACE 
OF COMPLETING items 1-6.  ONLY AN OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT FROM THE SCHOOL, PROGRAM, OR MENTORSHIP WILL BE ACCEPTED. 
OPTION 2   - ITEMS 1-6 (below) MUST BE COMPLETED BY A PROGRAM/ SCHOOL DIRECTOR OR A BOARD APPROVED MENTOR VERIFYING 
COURSE WORK IN MASSAGE THERAPY 

1. NAME OF SCHOOL / MENTOR 2. MO CBHE SCHOOL NUMBER OR MENTOR 
LICENSE # (If a Missouri program or mentor)  

3. SCHOOL ADDRESS / CITY / STATE / ZIP CODE 
  

4. SCHOOL TELEPHONE NUMBER 

5. BEGIN  DATE 5a. COMPLETION DATE 5b. HOURS COMPLETED 

MONTH DAY YEAR MONTH DAY YEAR  

      

6. FOR THIS APPLICANT LIST BELOW TOTAL PROGRAM HOURS IN EACH OF THE SUBJECT AREAS 
(Official transcript can be attached in place listing information below)                                                                             HOURS 
MASSAGE THEORY & PRACTICE   (Must have at least 300 program  hours)  

ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY (Must have at least 100 program hours)  

BUSINESS PRACTICE/ PROFESSIONAL ETHICS/MASSAGE LAW  (Must have at least 50 program hours)  

ANCILLARY THERAPIES (50 program hours or additional hours in theory & practice, A & P, or business)  

CPR & FIRST AID (If not part of program, applicant must document completion of CPR and first aid course)  

                                                                                                                                                                         TOTAL PROGRAM HOURS  

SECTION VI – SCHOOL, PROGRAM, OR BOARD APPROVED MENTOR CERTIFICATION 
Signature of School/Program Official or Mentor                                                     Print Name of School/Program Official or/Mentor 

School Seal or Stamp 
 
 

Date Title of School Official 
 

Do not write in this space. For office use only. 

SECTION VII       NOTE:  IF THE SCHOOL, PROGRAM HAS NO SEAL 
SIGNATURE OF SCHOOL REPRESENTATIVE 
 

DATE 

STATE OF MISSOURI 
 
 

COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEOFORE ME, THIS 
 Day of     Year 

USE RUBBER STAMP or SEAL IN AREA BELOW 

NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE 
 
 
 

MY COMMISION 
EXPIRES 
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