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Instructions  
Application for Business License 

 
The following is required to apply for a massage therapy business license 

 Application form 
 $50 application fee.  If a business is changing location, the fee is $25 
 Proof of general liability insurance 
  

AA  BBUUSSIINNEESSSS  CCAANNNNOOTT  PPRROOVVIIDDEE  MMAASSSSAAGGEE  TTHHEERRAAPPYY  UUNNTTIILL  TTHHEE  BBUUSSIINNEESSSS  LLIICCEENNSSEE  IISS  IISSSSUUEEDD..  
 
SECTION I – GENERAL INFORMATION 
1. The applicant must designate the business s one of the following -- 
New Massage Therapy Business –Location has never been licensed as a massage therapy business 
Change of Ownership –Location has a massage therapy business license, however, there is a new owner and/or 
manager. 
Change in Location- Location has massage therapy business license and is moving to a different address. Fee is 
$25 for a change in location. 
Reinstate License –Location had a massage therapy business license that expired. The location & 
owner/manager have not changed. 
 
SECTION II – BUSINESS INFORATION 
2. Name of Establishment – This name will be printed on the license. 
3. d/b/a – Doing Business As –Some businesses have a corporate name and a business name. This name will be 
printed on the license also. 
4. Business Type – The applicant must designate if the business is one of the following: 

A. Spa – While neither the law nor regulation defines the word spa, in general, a spa provides a variety of 
services such as massage therapy, facials and a variety of body treatments. 
B. Salon – While neither the law nor regulation defines the word “salon”, the term salon refers to beauty 
shop, beauty salon and relates to section 329.010(6) RSMo of the cosmetologists, hairdressers and 
manicurists statute. The law defines a cosmetology establishment as, “…that part of any building wherein or 
whereupon any of the classified occupations are practiced including any space rented within a licensed 
establishment by a person licensed under this chapter, for the purpose of rendering cosmetology services.” 
This business will have a license from the Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners also. 
C. Home Based – This type of massage therapy business is located in a residence or licensee’s home.  

 
5. General Liability Insurance 
20 CSR 2197-5.010(1) (H) 20 CSR 219-.3.010(4) (A) of the massage therapy regulations require general liability 
insurance for the massage therapy business. The applicant must check one of the boxes in this section and either 
provide a copy of the general liability insurance policy or the policy name and number. General liability insurance is 
issued to a business to protect the business against liability claims arising out of the, operation, products, services 
etc. provided by that business. It is not the same as professional liability insurance required for a massage 
therapist.  
 
6 – 11. Business Location Information 
 
12. Social Security Number 
Please enter the social security number of the individual responsible for the massage therapy business. This 
social security number must be the same as the social security number used for the background check. 
 
13. Missouri State Tax Identification Number 
Effective January 1, 2009 state agencies must require a statement of “no tax due” from the Missouri Department of 
Revenue before issuing or renewing any state license required for conducting any business where goods are sold 
at retail. This requirement was enacted in Senate Bill 30 of the 94th General Assembly (2007), and was signed into 
law by the Governor on June 13, 2007. Please provide the Missouri Sales Tax Identification number to facilitate 
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verification of compliance with the Missouri Department of Revenue online or a copy of the “no tax due” letter from 
the Missouri Department of Revenue. 
 
 NOTE REGARDING SOCIAL SECURITY AND SALES TAX IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS:  Pursuant to § 

620.127, RSMo, disclosure of your social security number (SSN) is mandatory.  The board will not publicly 
disclose your SSN without your consent, unless such disclosure is permitted by federal or state law.  
However, state law allows the board to disclose your SSN in connection with any civil, criminal, 
administrative or arbitral proceeding, in an investigation in anticipation of litigation, pursuant to a court order, 
and in the performance of a statutory or constitutional duty or power.  The board can also disclose your SSN 
to another government agency (federal, state or local) and to a private person or entity acting on behalf of, or 
in cooperation with, a state entity.  State law requires the board to provide your SSN to child support and tax 
compliance officials. Unless authorized by law, the SSN and State tax ID number is confidential and will not 
be shared with any the public or outside entity.   

 
SECTION III – CORPORATE INFORMATION 
Items 14 through 18 must be completed if the business is incorporated or a limited liability corporation. 
  
SECTION IV – BACKGROUND INFORMATION 
19 through 22 - Any question with a “yes” answer requires a written explanation included with the application for 
licensure. 
 
23 and 24 are to be completed if the business is changing its name (23) or ownership (24). 
 
SECTION V – AFFIDAVIT 
25. Print the name of the individual responsible for the massage therapy business. This item must correspond to 
the social security number in item 12. 
 
26. BACKGROUND CHECK 
An applicant for a business license must submit to a criminal background check pursuant to section 324.267 RSMo 
of the licensure law that states, “Any applicant for a license to operate a massage business or a license to practice 
massage therapy shall authorize the board to conduct a criminal background check…The cost of such background 
check shall be paid by the applicant.” If an applicant submitted a criminal background check at that same as 
submitting the application for a student, provisional, or permanent massage the background check for the business 
license is not required. 
 
Section 43.543 RSMo of Missouri law authorizes state agencies to conduct a background check with the Missouri 
State Highway Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  
 
Cogent is responsible for conducting the digital fingerprinting with sites throughout Missouri  and will 
accept debit or credit cards or on-site payment by check, money order, or cash. If cash is to be paid, an applicant 
must have the exact amount as the vendor may not have change available.  
 
 All applicants must log into the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) at www.machs.mo.gov.  

to make an appointment to be fingerprinted. The automated registration system walks an applicant through 
the steps to make an appointment.  If an applicant does not have internet access, s/he can call 877/862-
2425 and a representative will make the online appointment.  

 
 An applicant must have the four digit registration number for background check results to be sent 

to the board. This registration number is 5407 for individuals applying for student, 
provisional, full, or business licensure in massage therapy.  The registration number ties all 
agency identifying information together to insure the background check response is sent to the 
correct agency.  

 



Application for Business License Instructions 
Updated 1/4/2016 

Page 3 

 Once the registration process is complete, an applicant will receive a Transaction Control Number (TCN) 
that is used to track the appointment. Applicants need to take the transaction control number document to 
the fingerprinting site along with a current photograph. 

 
 Applicants must have a recent photograph to present to the vendor prior to being fingerprinted.  

 
At the fingerprinting appointment, applicants will be fingerprinted and have their photos taken. A receipt containing 
the TCN is provided after printing is completed. A copy of this receipt is to be sent to the board office to verify the 
background check is in process. The results of the fingerprinting will be sent directly to the agency office. 
 
PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT UNTIL THE RESULTS OF THE BACKGROUND CHECK AND INSPECTION ARE 
RECEIVED AND REVIEWED BY THE BOARD, A LICENSE WILL NOT BE ISSUED. 
 
INSPECTIONS 
The Board often receives questions from licensees and businesses regarding the inspection. Please be advised, 
the inspector may call in advance to schedule an inspection. If s/he visits the business and there is no one 
available to accompany the inspector, a business card or note will be left for the business owner/manager to 
contact the inspector.  Inspectors are assigned regions within the state to conduct these inspections. Therefore, 
due to the inspector’s schedule s/he may not be able to complete an inspection shortly after a missed attempt, as 
there are other inspections assigned for a given day. Please be patient and the inspector will attempt to return to 
the business as soon as possible. 
 
REMEMBER:  AA  BBUUSSIINNEESSSS  CCAANNNNOOTT  PPRROOVVIIDDEE  MMAASSSSAAGGEE  TTHHEERRAAPPYY  UUNNTTIILL  TTHHEE  BBUUSSIINNEESSSS  LLIICCEENNSSEE  IISS  
IISSSSUUEEDD  
 



Important Notice Concerning Your Fingerprint-based 
Background Check 

As an applicant who is the subject of a state and/or national fingerprint-based criminal history 
record check for a noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for a job or license, an 
immigration or naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you must understand that 
by mailing your fingerprints to the Missouri State Highway Patrol or to Cogent, the Missouri 
Fingerprint Services vendor, you hereby agree to the following: 

o Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history record files of the 
Missouri State Highway Patrol (MSHP) and/or the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation (FBI). 

o Any criminal history information returned as a result of this search will be made 
available to requestors pursuant to Chapter 43 RSMo. 

o All information, including your fingerprints, photograph, and any demographic 
data collected during the course of your fingerprint-based record check may be 
stored in MSHP and/or FBI files. Such data will be subject to comparisons against 
other submissions received by the MSHP and/or the FBI and to further 
disseminations by the MSHP or the FBI as may be authorized under the Federal 
Privacy Act (5USC 552a(b)) or Missouri Revised Statutes. 

o Any future updates made to your arrest record may also be shared with the agency 
requesting this fingerprint-based background check if the requesting agency is a 
subscriber to the state and/or federal Rap Back program. 

Questions about this notice may be directed to the Missouri State Highway Patrol Criminal 
Justice Information Services Division at 573-526-6153 or machs@mshp.dps.mo.gov 

 

 






