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State Committee of Interpreters
Meeting Schedule

You will find listed below the schedule of upcoming Committee
meetings.

October 17, 2003
Location: Tan-Tar-A Resort

Lake Ozark
Time: 1:00 PM

December 2003
Location: Division of Professional Registration

Jefferson City
Time: 10:00 AM

The public is invited to attend the open session of the meetings.
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Know Your Board Members

Kimberly McEnulty
Member
Platt City, MO
Term Expires: 10/9/04
Comprehensive Level

John T. Adams
Member
St. Louis, MO
Term Expires: 10/9/03
Comprehensive Level  

Lisa Guillory
Hearing Public Member
Columbia, MO
Term Expires: 10/23/05

Sandy Drummond
Member
Hallsville, MO
Term Expires: 11/5/04
Comprehensive Level

Loretto Durham
Chairperson
St. Charles, MO
Term Expires: 10/30/03
Comprehensive Level

Carrie McCray
Member & Secretary
Mokane, MO
Term Expires: 10/9/05
Comprehensive Level
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There is currently one (1) vacant position on the State
Committee of Interpreters.  The position is a deaf pub-
lic member position.

Anyone interested or if you know of an interested indi-
vidual contact Marilyn Taylor Williams, Director,
Division of Professional Registration, P.O. Box 1335,
Jefferson City, MO 65102.

Message From the
Division Director

It is no secret that the State is in a
financial crisis.  Governor Holden
has worked diligently to see that
essential state services are funded
for children and our most vulnera-
ble citizens.    The good news,
however, is that the Governor's
budget included a pay increase of
$600 for all state workers making
$40,000 or less.  This increase will
be effective July 1.  In addition, the Division of
Professional Registration is fortunate to be funded
through professional licensing fees that are deposited
into dedicated funds.  The Division, therefore, does not
have to rely on general revenue funds for its operation.
Our budget was approved as submitted in House Bill 7.  

House Bill 600, which was signed into law with an
emergency clause making this legislation effective July
1, 2003, affects all licensees within the Division of
Professional Registration.  Effective July 1, 2003, all per-
sons and business entities applying for or renewing a
professional license with the Division of Professional
Registration are required to have paid all Missouri
income taxes, and also are required to have filed all nec-
essary state income tax returns for the preceding three
years. If licensees have failed to pay their taxes or have
failed to file their tax returns, their licenses will be sub-
ject to immediate revocation within 90 days of being
notified by the Missouri Department of Revenue of any
delinquency or failure to file.  This requirement was
enacted in House Bill 600 of the 92nd General
Assembly (2003), and was signed into law on July 1st by
the Governor.  My Administrative Staff and the
Division's Management Information System staff are
working with the Department of Revenue and the
Attorney General's Office to establish the necessary pro-
cedures for implementing this bill.  

Finally, my Administrative Staff along with the
Division's Management Information System staff have
been working toward making on-line renewal a reality.
We have just awarded the credit card contract and are
hoping to start pilot boards renewing on-line this fall.

Yours truly,

Marilyn Taylor Williams
Division Director

With passage of HB 1738, legislative changes regard-
ing the certifications that are recognized by the Board
of Certification for Interpreters went into effect on
August 28, 2002.  In addition to certification offered
by the Missouri Interpreter Certification System
(MICS), specific certifications offered by the Registry of
Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) and the National
Association for the Deaf (NAD) are now eligible for
licensure by the State Committee of Interpreters, with-
out conversion to MICS certification.  These certifica-
tions include RID:  CI/CT, CSC, CDI and NAD Levels
3, 4, and 5.  

The State Committee of Interpreters has determined
that the services provided by Deaf Interpreters do not
fit the definition of "interpreting" as defined by RSMo
209.285 (15).  Consequently, Deaf Interpreters are not
required to be certified and licensed in order to prac-
tice in the state of Missouri.  However, due to the pas-
sage of HB 1738, the RID certificate of Certified Deaf
Interpreter (CDI) is now recognized by the Board of
Certification for Interpreters and is eligible for licen-
sure, on a voluntary basis.

Sandy Drummond, Member
State Committee of Interpreters

Additional Certifications
Approved for Licensure
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Certification vs. Licensure
First and foremost, the practicing interpreter must be
both Certified and Licensed to provide interpreting
services and to be in compliance with the licensure law
within the state of Missouri.  The Licensure Law out-
lines the establishment of the Missouri State Committee
of Interpreters within the Division of Professional
Registration of the Department of Economic
Development.  The governor with the advice and con-
sent of the senate appoints members to the Missouri
State Committee of Interpreters.  The purpose of the
State Committee of Interpreters is to regulate and gov-
ern the practice of interpreting to protect the welfare of
the inhabitants of Missouri against the unlawful prac-
tice of interpreting.  The committee promulgated
administrative rules to implement and sustain a system
to govern the practice of interpreting and enforces
Ethical Rules of Conduct.  The administrative rules
became effective July 30, 1999.  Licenses must be
renewed yearly.  In addition, the committee handles
complaints regarding the practice of interpreting.

The Board of Certification of Interpreters (BCI) estab-
lished within the Missouri Commission for the Deaf
(MCD) of the Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education (DESE) governs the evaluation process and
handles complaints regarding the evaluation process.
The governor, with the advice and consent of the sen-
ate, appoints members to the board.  The purpose of
the Board of Certification of Interpreters is to protect the
citizens of the state through certification of interpreters
by evaluating their competence to practice.  In addi-
tion, the BCI regulates and requires continuing educa-
tion to maintain one’s certification.  The BCI strives to
maintain the quality of interpreting services and to
establish clear standards of professionalism in the inter-
preting profession.  After an interpreter has completed
the certification evaluation and has been granted a cer-
tification, the interpreter must then apply for a license
in order to work in the state of Missouri as an inter-
preter.

The Missouri State Committee of Interpreters protects
the public from inadequate or unlawful services provid-
ed by interpreters.  In addition to governing the practice
of interpreting, licensure enforces a code of ethical con-
duct promulgated in the administrative rules.  The
Board for Certification of Interpreters governs the certi-
fication process by determining an interpreter’s skill

level through the evaluation process.  The board also
requires an interpreter to maintain certification through
continuing education.  Although, the committees are
two separate entities governing two separate aspects of
interpreting the practicing interpreter must have and
maintain both a certification and a license to provide
interpreting services in the state of Missouri.

CERTIFICATION OF INTERPRETERS

LICENSURE OF INTERPRETERS

Article submitted by Kim McEnulty, Member

Department
of

Economic Development

Department
of

Elementary & Secondary
Education

Missouri
Commission

for the
Deaf (MCD)

Board for Certification
of Interpreters (BCI)

Governs evaluation process
Accepts complaints regarding evaluation process

Division
of

Professional Registration

State Committee of Interpreters
Governs the practice of Interpreting

Issues and renews licenses required to practice
Handles complaints regarding the practice of Interpreting
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Task Force for CDI’s
On March 24, 2003 a task force committee met to dis-
cuss the issue of certifying deaf interpreters (CDI's).
The task force consisted of representatives from the
Missouri Commission of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
(MCDHA), the Board of Certification of Interpreters
(BCI), the State Committee of Interpreters (SCI), the
Missouri Association of the Deaf, the Missouri School
for the Deaf, the Office of State Court Administrators
(OSCA), and a licensed interpreter.

Before discussing issues with regard to providing licen-
sure to CDI's, the task force acknowledged these chal-
lenges:  a)  the true number of applicants in Missouri is
unknown but probably less than 15;  b)  developing a
psychometrically valid test would be cost prohibitive
c)  situations may surface that will require changing
statute/rule etc;  d)  making recommendations that rep-
resented a compromise would not satisfy everyone, but
that the proposed recommendations were a reasonable
place to start; and  e)  future changes would reflect solu-
tions for future challenges

Task force members discussed such issues as the need
for CDI's, in what settings that need might occur, and
how often CDI's might be needed.  The qualifications
of CDI's were discussed in depth, ranging from the
minimum qualifications needed to the proposed ability
to provide services to all possible deaf consumers.  Of
considerable concern was the cost of obtaining certifi-
cation from the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf
(RID); therefore, conversions were discussed, as well as
the possible development of tests by the BCI.  It was
recognized that with regard to current laws and rules
for both OSCA and the BCI, statute changes may have
to be made.

The task force recommended several things to the BCI.
First, the title "certified deaf interpreter" should be
changed to "certified relay interpreter" (CRI) to include
those interpreters who meet qualifications and yet may
not be deaf such as Children of Deaf Adults (CODA).
Second, incorporate CRI's into the present skill level
standards outlined in rule.  Third, change rules to indi-
cate different avenues to obtain Missouri certification.
Two tracks were outlined and suggested to the BCI.

The first track involves someone who already holds

RID/CDI.  That individual would pay the same conver-
sion fee as usual to have the RID certification convert-
ed to the Missouri Interpreter Certification Septem
(MICS).  With the second track option, the individual
would be required to have a pre-interview to determine
initial candidacy, undergo training similar to the 16
hours required by RID CDI training, pass a written test,
then pass a performance test.  It was suggested that the
written test be developed by adapting (probably) a sam-
ple test that RID provides to its applicants for practice.
To reduce the factor of the examinee's English skill, the
written test may be given in sign by a native ASL sign-
er on videotape.  

It was recommended to the BCI that the 16 hours of
training required for the second track option  be
obtained through RID workshops.  Also RID trainers
could be brought to Missouri.  It is possible that the
Missouri School for the Deaf could provide subsidized
lodging and meeting space to help reduce cost to
potential applicants.  Finally, all applicants must sign
an affidavit to abide by the rules of ethical behavior as
stated in statute/rule.

The task force concluded their meeting with Dr. Roy
Miller planning to take the  recommendations to the
next BCI meeting scheduled for July 10, 2003.

Respectfully submitted,
Lisa Guillory, AUD

Division of Professional Registration State Committee of Interpreters



Page 6

Frequently Asked Questions
When does the license need to be
renewed?

An interpreter’s license will expire
January 31 of each  calendar year.  A
renewal notice is sent to the licensee
approximately 60 days in advance of
the expiration date.

It is very important to keep the state
committee informed of an interpreter’s mailing address
because the renewal will be sent to the address main-
tained within the licensee’s file.  Even if a licensee does
not receive a renewal notice, the licensee is responsi-
ble for renewing a license.

What is the cost to renew a license?

The renewal fee is $90.00.

What continuing education is required to maintain a
license?

Continuing education, also known as permit/certifica-
tion maintenance (PCM), is regulated by the Missouri
Commission of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing and is
associated with maintaining a current certification.
Questions regarding PCM should be directed to the
commission office at 573/526-5205.

What type of documentation will the interpreter
receive to verify licensure?

When an application is approved for licensure, the

interpreter will receive written notification along with a
small license suitable for framing and a wallet card.

What if an interpreter changes an address or has a
name change?

Maintaining accurate information is important.  If an
interpreter has an address change, either call the state
committee office, send a brief note listing the changes
in address, telephone number, etc. or fax the informa-
tion to 573/526-3489.  If an interpreter has a name
change, it must be submitted in writing with a copy of
the documentation (i.e. marriage license, court order)
authorizing the name change.

Can an interpreter make copies of the law and rules
booklet or form?

Yes.

How can an interpreter obtain a duplicate license?

If an interpreter misplaces a license or if the license is
destroyed a duplicate can be issued.  The interpreter
must submit the request either by mail, e-mail or fax to
the state committee office.

Mail:   P.O. Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102
E-mail: interp@mail.state.mo.us
Fax:     (573) 526-3489
Web:   www.ecodev.state.mo.us/pr/inter

July 1 - FY98    FY99    FY00    FY01    FY02    FY03
June 30 97-98    98-99    99-00     00-01    01-02    02-03

Complaints 4 7 19 6 8 2

Complaint Statistics

State Committee of Interpreters Department of Economic Development
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A new rule took effect on May 31st, 2003.  Well…not a new rule, but an old rule that has
a new look.  In the Ethical Rules of Conduct created by the State Committee of Interpreters
(SCI), Rule #18 of the General Principles (4 CSR 232-3.010 [18]) will change a little bit.
Currently, the rule requires a licensee to respond to any request for information from the
SCI or the Central Investigative Unit (CIU) (working in the name of the committee).  The
new rule states that a licensee must respond to the committee within 30 days.  If no
response is received in that time, then disciplinary action may be taken against that license.  

OK, a little background info.  If a consumer has a complaint against an interpreter (not licensed, not following the
Ethical Rules of Conduct, etc.), then the consumer completes and sends in a complaint form to the State Committee
of Interpreters.  Actually, the Central Investigative Unit (CIU...I know, more letters for the alphabet soup in our lives)
receives the complaint, logs it into the system for tracking, and begins the process of review.  Then, CIU sends a
letter to the interpreter named in the complaint and asks for a response.  That letter is sent "Return Receipt
Requested," so both CIU and SCI will know when the letter was received.  The date the interpreter receives the let-
ter will start the clock ticking on the 30 day requirement.  Once CIU receives the interpreter's response (within 30
days, of course) all the information is passed along to SCI for review and discussion at their next meeting.

"Whoa!  Wait a sec!  Who is a member of this CIU?"  Well, let me tell you.  The CIU works for the Division of
Professional Registration (SCI's boss) and investigates complaints for all licensed professions.  No, they are not inter-
preters.  No, they are not Deaf.  They are men and women who wanted this job.  But, SCI has given them detailed
instructions for handling complaints against interpreters.  If there is any doubt or iffy-ness with the complaint, they
stop their work and hand everything over to SCI.  SCI then reviews the complaint and decides what to do next:
either ask for a response or ask the complainant for more information.  Better?

And now, back to our story.  The response comes in, and CIU sends all the info to SCI.  During an SCI closed ses-
sion meeting, the members discuss the complaint and the response, and then decide on what action to take.  

The reason for this change is a practical one.  SCI meets every other month.  If a complaint arrives the day after a
meeting, then 60 days will go by without a decision or conclusion regarding the complaint.  The committee wants
to try and keep the "waiting time" down to a minimum, and not have the process go on for several months.  The
interpreter and the complainant deserve to know the outcome in a timely fashion.  Knowing a complaint is out
there, looming over your work, can be a bit nerve-wracking.  The committee hopes that the new rule will allow
them to resolve the complaint quickly and help save interpreters from chewing their fingernails to the nub.  If you
have any questions or comments, feel free to bring them to the SCI Town Hall meeting in August (for Kansas City)
or October (for Lake of the Ozarks).

Article submitted by John T. Adams

New Rule re: Response Requirement



State Committee of Interpreters
3605 MISSOURI BOULEVARD
P. O. BOX 1335
JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

PRSTD STD
U.S. POSTAGE

PAID
Permit 237

Jefferson City, MO


