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BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR HEARING INSTRUMENT

SPECIALISTS
PR S0 3605 MISSOURI BOULEVARD, P.O. BOX 1335
v% STATE OF MISSOURI JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102

ol \ DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION

A & LICENSE NO. DATE ISSUED
[ \« APPLICATION FOR LICENSE

1. Please review the Board of Examiners for Hearing Instrument Specialists Practice Act and Rules regarding the requirements for licensure in Missouri and
refer to page 4 of this application for documentation required.

This application must be typed or printed in black ink and all sections must be completed. ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.
If additional information is needed, please attach a separate sheet.

All applications must be received at least 30 days prior to the administration of the examination(s).

o > 0D

Applicants must submit the application for licensure, the application fee and Practical Examination fee to the Board of Examiners for Hearing Instrument
Specialists and the written examination (International Licensing Examination) fee directly to the International Hearing Society.

CATEGORIES FOR LICENSURE (PLEASE SELECT THE CLASSIFICATION FOR WHICH YOU ARE APPLYING)

1. An applicant may obtain a license provided the applicant:

(1) Is at least eighteen years of age; and ATTACH
PHOTO
(2) Is of good moral character; and HERE
(3) Sucessfully passes a qualifing examination as described under sections 346.010 to 346.250; and
(4) (@) [] Holds an associate’s degree or higher, from a state or regionally accredited institution 1.5" X 2"
of higher education, in hearing instrument sciences; or HEAD & SHOULDERS
ONLY

(b) [] Holds an associate’s level degree or higher, from a state or regionally accredited
institution of higher education and submits proof of completion of the International
Hearing Society’s Distance Learning for Professionals in Hearing Health Sciences
Course; or

(c) [] Holds a master’s or doctoral degree in audiology from a state or regionally accredited institution; or
L]

Holds a current, unsuspended, unrevoked license from another jurisdiction if the standards for licensing in such other
jurisdiction, as determined by the board, are substantially equivalent to or exceed those required in paragraph (a) or (b) of
subdivision (4) of this subsection; or

(e) [] Holds a current, unsuspended, unrevoked license from another jurisdiction, has been actively practicing as a licensed hearing
aid fitter or dispenser in another jurisdiction for no less than forty-eight of the last seventy-two months, and submits proof of
completion of advance certification from either the International Hearing Society or the National Board for Certification in
Hearing Instrument Sciences.

2. [] APPLICATION FEE - $250.00 (The application fee must be submitted when an applicant initially applies to take the written examination.)
[ ] PRACTICAL EXAMINATION FEE - $150.00

GENERAL INFORMATION

3. NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, MAIDEN NAME)

4. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 5. DATE OF BIRTH 6. EMAIL ADDRESS
7. HOME ADDRESS (STREET/BOX NO., CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE) 8. HOME TELEPHONE NO.
9. BUSINESS NAME 10. BUSINESS TELEPHONE NO.

11. BUSINESS ADDRESS (STREET/BOX NO., CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE)
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12. EDUCATION

INSTITUTION, COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY FROM WHICH YOU ATTENDED DEGREE(S) RECEIVED DATE(S) OBTAINED

b.

13. CREDENTIALS

a. Have you previously applied for a hearing instrument license in Missouri? [ Yes LI No
If licensed, give:  Number: Expiration Date:

b. Have you previously applied for a temporary permit in Missouri? [ Yes LI No
If yes: When: Number: Supervisor’s Name:

c. Have you obtained advance certification from either the International Hearing Society or the National
Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences? (Please include proof of board certification) [ Yes LI No

14. List all state(s) in which you now hold or have ever held a license to practice as a Hearing Instrument Specialist or Audiologist. The
licensing authority in each state where you have ever been licensed must submit a verification of licensure.

STATE LICENSE NUMBER ISSUE DATE CURRENT STATUS

[lacTivE [JINACTIVE [ OTHER

[lacTivE [JINACTIVE [ OTHER

[lacTivE [JINACTIVE [ OTHER

[lacTivE [JINACTIVE [ OTHER

[lacTivE [JINACTIVE [ OTHER

15. List all previous places of employment for the past 5 years to include present and previous employer name, address and dates employed,
both in and out of the hearing instrument field (list present or last position first)

EMPLOYER NAME ADDRESS DATES EMPLOYED

16. INFORMATION CONCERNING YOUR SUPERVISION

a. NAME OF SUPERVISOR (PLEASE PRINT)

b. DATE SUPERVISOR WAS ISSUED CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY LICENSE NUMBER
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17. THE APPLICANT MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS. IF ANY OF THE QUESTIONS ARE ANSWERED “YES” THE

APPLICANT MUST PROVIDE AN EXPLANATION IN A SEPARATE NOTARIZED STATEMENT.

1. A. Have you ever applied for licensure as a hearing instrument specialist or taken the examination

for licensure as a hearing instrument specialist in any other state? ... .................... 1 YES CINO
If yes, WHERE WHEN
B. If yes, were you ever licensed by that state? (If no, explainfully). .. ...................... L] YES LI NO
C. How was your license obtained (i.e., exam, reciprocity, other)
D. Is your license in that state current? (i.e., not lapsed or inactive) (If no, explain fully) ........ L] YEs LINo
E. Has your license ever been disciplined by that state? (If yes, explain fully and submit certified
copies of court dOCUMENTS). . . . ... ot L] YEs LINo

2. Have you ever been denied a professional license, certification, registration, or permit? ......... L] YES LINO

3. Have you ever had any professional license, certification, registration, or permit revoked,
suspended, placed on probation, or otherwise subject to any type of disciplinary action? ........ RS RN

4. Are you presently being investigated or is any disciplinary action pending against any professional
license, certification, registration or permityou hold? . . ....... ... ... .. . . . . L] YES LI NO

5. Have you ever been convicted, adjudged guilty by a court, pleaded guilty or pleaded nolo contendere
to any crime (excluding traffic violations)? If yes, explain fully and submit certified copies of court
documents (i.e. Docket Sheet, Information or Indictment and Final Disposition). ............... L] YES LINO

6. Have you ever been convicted, adjudged guilty by a court, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere to any
traffic offense resulting from or related to the use of drugs or alcohol, whether or not sentence was
imposed? If yes, explain fully and submit certified copies of court documents (i.e. Docket Sheet,
Information or Indictment and Final Disposition). .. ........ ... .. .. . . i L] YES LINO

7. Do you currently, or did you within the past five years, use any prescription drug, illegal chemical
substance, or alcohol, to the point where your ability to competently practice as a hearing instrument
specialist would be affected? If yes, explain fully and submit certified copies of court documents (i.e.
Docket Sheet, Information or Indictment and Final Disposition). L] YES LINO

8. Are you now being treated, or have you been treated within the past five years, through a drug or
alcohol rehabilitation program? Submit verification of chemical or alcohol dependency treatment. If
yes, attach a full explanation and provide discharge summary or other official documentation that
shows your diagnosis, prognosis and treatmentplan... . .......... ... . . i i L] YES LI No

9. Have you ever had a judgment rendered against you based upon fraud, misrepresentation,
deception or malpractice related to your practice as a hearing instrument specialist or against any
other license in the state of Missouri? If yes, explain fully and submit certified copies of court
documents (i.e. Docket Sheet, Information or Indictment and Final Disposition) . .. ............. L] YES LINO

Pursuant to Section 324.010 RSMo:
CHECK THIS BOX ONLY IF IN ALL OF THE LAST 3 YEARS: YOU WERE NOT A MISSOURI RESIDENT, YOU DID NOT HAVE ANY
MISSOURI INCOME, AND YOU ARE NOT SUBJECT TO ANY TYPE OF MISSOURI INCOME TAX.

False statements are subject to criminal penalties and/or license discipline.
If you have any questions regarding taxes contact the Department of Revenue at 573-751-7200 or e-mail income@dor.mo.gov.

18. AFFIDAVIT (ALL APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE)

I do hereby affirm that all statements made in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief and understand
that any deliberate falsification of information herein may constitute grounds for my disqualification. | further affirm that | have read,
understand and agree to abide by the provisions of Chapter 346.010-346.250 RSMo. Further, | hereby voluntarily consent to a thorough
investigation of my present and past employment and other activities for the purpose of verifying my qualifications for licensing.

SIGNATURE OF SUPERVISOR
MUST BE SIGNED IN PRESENCE OF NOTARY )

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT
MUST BE SIGNED IN PRESENCE OF NOTARY )

NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER OR STATE OF COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS)
BLACK INK RUBBER STAMP SEAL

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS
DAY OF YEAR

NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE MY COMMISSION USE RUBBER STAMP IN CLEAR AREA BELOW.
EXPIRES

NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED)
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DOCUMENTS YOU MUST FURNISH WITH YOUR APPLICATION

All documentation should be completed and forwarded to the Board of Examiners for Hearing Instrument Specialists,
3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O. Box 1335, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102. If you have questions, you may reach the
board office at 573/751-0240, 1/800-735-2966 (TEXT) and 1/800-735-2466 (VOICE). All applications are considered
on an individual basis. You may be requested to submit information or documents in addition to the requirements
mentioned herein. You may also be requested to appear before the board. Additionally, once you are issued a full
Missouri license, you will be required by law to pay the biennial renewal fee on or before the renewal date.

No application can be considered by the board until the entire file is complete. Therefore, you should not make any
firm commitment to begin working until you have received notification of licensure in writing from this office.
Proof that a hearing instrument specialist has practiced in Missouri before becoming licensed is grounds for denial of
licensure. Additionally, no application will be processed without a fee. You will be notified in writing one (1) time if your
application is deficient in any way. You should allow a minimum of thirty (30) days for the processing of your
application.

SPECIAL ACCOMMODATION: If you have a documented disability covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act,
you must notify this office for information concerning modifications for licensure examination candidates and to ensure
that reasonable accommodations are made for your needs. Notification must be in writing and mailed to the Board of
Examiners for Hearing Instrument Specialists, P.O. Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102. Notification of special
accommodations must be received by the board at least thirty (30) calendar days in advance of the examination date.

1. Completed application and fees. Checks should be made payable to the Board of Examiners for Hearing
Instrument Specialists. Any person wishing to be licensed by examination, must submit an application with the
application fee as well as the examination fee. This applies to every person applying for licensure by examination,
even if a temporary permit was previously issued. 20 CSR 2165-1.020(2) states, “All fees are nonrefundable.”

2. An original photograph must be attached to the application.
3. Proof of Acceptable Educational Credentials —

a) Official transcript must be sent by the educational institution which demonstrates successful completion of an
associate’s degree or higher in hearing instrument sciences; or

b) Official transcript must be sent by the educational institution which demonstrates successful completion of an
associate’s degree or higher and submits proof of completion of the International Hearing Society’s Distance
Learning for Professionals in Hearing Health Sciences Course; or

c) Official transcript must be sent by the education institution which demonstrates successful completion of a
master’s or doctoral degree in audiology; or

d) Documentation of licensure from another jurisdiction which includes a copy of the statute and rules. The
documentation shall contain information concerning the standards for licensing in such other jurisdiction, as
determined by the board, are substantially equivalent to or exceed those required in Section 346.055.1.(3)(a)
or (b).

e) Documentation of active practice as a licensed hearing aid fitter or dispenser in another jurisdiction for no less
than forty-eight (48) of the last seventy-two (72) months, and submits proof of completion of advance
certification from either the International Hearing Society or the National Board for Certification in Hearing
Instrument Sciences.

4. Verifications must be submitted by each state where you have ever been licensed.

5. An attestation of supervision form must be submitted upon completion of any registered supervised experience.
Hearing instrument specialist in training shall accrue no less than one hundred (100) hours of supervision from a
licensed hearing instrument specialist registered as a supervisor prior to becoming eligible for licensure by
examination.

6. Proof of completion of three (3) hours of training shall be completed every six (6) months and shall be attached to
the attestation form completed by the registered supervisor.
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