
 
 
 
 
 
COMPUTERIZED EXAMINATIONS 
The Board has provided an overview of this process as listed below.   
  

1.       Contact our office when you are eligible and/or interested in taking the Missouri Arts and/or Law at 573/751-0813. 
2.       Upon approval, you will be issued a Certificate of Eligibility for the Missouri Arts and/or Law examination(s). Each exam 

will have their own eligibility certificate.  Upon receiving this certificate, you will need to sign, include payment (cashier’s 
check, money order or credit card payment) and mail or fax to the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining 
Boards (The Conference).   All applicants will be required to fulfill the requirements of a Missouri Highway Patrol 
background check.  The background check will be reviewed by the Board prior to issuance of a license.  

3.      Candidates’’ information is typically released to Pearson Vue within two (2) business days from receipt of application and 
payment to the Conference.  Candidates should allow two (2) business days before contacting Pearson Vue to schedule an 
exam. Candidates can schedule testings appointment by calling 1-800-709-0180 or by visiting 
www.pearsonvue.com/theconference.   

4.       Please become familiar with the Conference website: 
http://www.theconferenceonline.org/order-sbe-sg.shtml, and http://www.theconferenceonline.org/students-nbe.shtml 
category “Order Products and Services” and “For Students”.  This website will assist you in understanding the 
computerized examination process, ordering study guides, scheduling and test center locations.  The Missouri Law does 
not have a study guide.  Please review and study your Missouri law book and Senate Bill 1 available on our website or by 
contacting the Board. 

5.      When you take a computerized examination, you will know immediately if you have successfully completed the 
examination.  Once the board office receives the results of your examination(s), Missouri Highway Patrol background 
check has been completed and reviewed, as well as requirements for licensure have been met, your license(s) will be 
issued by the Board office.  

6.      If you do not successfully complete the examination, you will know immediately.  Once the Board office receives your 
results, the Board will send you another certificate of eligibility form.  There is a mandatory 30-day waiting period 
between all examinations.   

7.      Please note, even after reviewed and approved by the Board, it will take additional time for processing your application and 
scheduling of examinations.  The Board wants to ensure you are aware of the timeframes of processing, as we will have no 
ability to waive scheduling and payment guidelines, as set by the The Conference.   

8.      Missouri testing centers have been provided for your information.   Examinations are administered from 8:00 am to 5:30 
pm Monday through Saturday at Pearson Professional Centers WWW.pearsonvue.com/theconference.  This website will 
also provide a current listing of testing centers throughout Missouri and the United States.  The Conference website 
www.theconferenceonline.org/sbeappsaccess.shtml may also assist you in scheduling information.  

9.    The Missouri Arts examinations is $150, the Missouri Law examinations is $120.  NO fees for examinations are paid to 
our office, only to The Conference. 

10.    The Board will continue to conduct oral embalmer examinations at board meetings and the board office, upon eligibility 
and scheduling availability.  

11.    Please start your examination process as soon as possible, please do not wait until the last few months of your 
apprenticeship, as a particular date and/or site cannot be guaranteed. Examination sites are based upon availability. 

12.    Please contact our office at 573/751-0813 with any questions regarding the examination process.     
13.   SUPERVISORS, FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENTS AND SELLERS:  Encourage your apprentices and agents to start the 

examination process as soon as eligible. 
14.    APPRENTICES AND AGENTS:  Please start your examination process as soon as eligible and follow the application 

process and no waivers no exceptions can be granted. 
 
The Missouri Law Book and Senate Bill 1 (preneed funeral law) are both available on the Board’s website at 
http://pr.mo.gov/embalmers.asp. 
 
The International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards (The Conference):  

1885 Shelby Lane 
Fayetteville, AR 72704 

http://www.theconferenceonline.org 

Phone: 479.442.7076 • Fax: 479.442.7090 

 
 


