
STATE OF MISSOURI
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION
APPLICATION FOR EMBALMERʼS LICENSE

EDUCATION - PLEASE SUBMIT AN OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT FROM YOUR ACCREDITED MORTUARY SCIENCE COLLEGE, MUST BE
MAILED DIRECTLY TO THE BOARD OFFICE FROM THE COLLEGE(S).

FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

I HEREBY MAKE APPLICATION TO THE STATE BOARD OF
EMBALMERS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS, OF THE STATE OF
MISSOURI, FOR REGISTRATION UNDER THE LAWS OF THE STATE
OF MISSOURI, AS AN “EMBALMER”, AND SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING
STATEMENTS:

MO 375-0540 (2-10)  (2-15)

LICENSE NUMBER

FEE RECEIVED

CHECK NO

DATE LICENSED

DATE DEPOSITED

INITIALS

INSTRUCTIONS TO APPLICANT

GENERAL INFORMATION - ALL APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION

If you have a disability and require accommodations addressed by the American Disabilities Act, please notify this office a the
time of application to ensure that reasonable accommodations are made for your needs. Notification must be made in writing and
mailed to the Missouri State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, P.O. Box 423, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102. Notification
of special needs must be received at least thirty (30) days in advance of any scheduled examination date. The text telephone
number for the hearing impaired is (800) 735-2966.

HIGH SCHOOL NAME LOCATION (CITY AND STATE) GRADUATION DATE

COLLEGE(S) NAME

ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE)

DEGREE/CERTIFICATION EARNED GRADUATION/CERTIFICATION DATE

NAME (PRINT FULL NAME, INCLUDING MIDDLE NAME)

PREVIOUS NAMES (IF ANY) SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (REQUIRED)

PRESENT ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE TELEPHONE NUMBER
( )

DATE OF BIRTH                                                                                                          COUNTY/STATE OF RESIDENCE

PHOTO

Applicant must complete all applicable sections below. The proper fee, as set by the Board, shall
accompany each application. Check, money order, or bank draft shall be made payable to the
Missouri State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors. An applicant shall be exempt from
the requirement of successfully completion of the Missouri Law section if the applicant has
successfully completed the Missouri Law section for another license within twelve (12) months of
the date that the board receives the new application.
Please check the box indicating the type of licensure for which you are applying:

Embalmer Apprentice Fee:$213.00 ($200 Application Fee, $13.00 Highway Patrol 
Background Check Fee)
Embalmer Reciprocity Fee: $313.00 ($300 Application Fee, $13.00 Highway Patrol 
Background Check Fee)

STATE BOARD OF EMBALMERS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS
3605 MISSOURI BOULEVARD
P.O. BOX 423
JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102-0423
TELEPHONE (573) 751-0813
TTY (800) 735-2966

I have taken the national board examination of the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards and have
requested that my examination scores be forwarded to the State Board.
The Board must receive the certified score(s) from the Conference before your application is considered complete.

YES NO
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IMPORTANT: EXPLANATIONS REQUIRED IN RESPONSE TO THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS MUST BE ON A SEPARATE SHEET
AND SIGNED BY YOU BEFORE A NOTARY PUBLIC AND NOTARIZED.

MO 375-0540 (2-10) (2-15)

RECIPROCITY APPLICANTS - CHECK APPROPRIATE BOX

I hold a valid, unrevoked and unexpired license as an embalmer in the state of ______________________________________.
The state in which I hold a license as an embalmer has requirements for licensure substantially similar to those existing in

Missouri. I will initiate a letter to be transmitted directly from the examining board of the state or territory in which I hold licensure
as an embalmer. The letter shall include (1) a certified statement showing the grade rating upon which my license was granted,
(2) whether or not my license is in good standing with that board, (3) whether or not my license in that state has been suspended,
revoked or otherwise disciplined, and (4) whether or not there are complaints pending against me.

I hold a valid, unrevoked and unexpired license as an embalmer in the state of _____________________________________.
The state in which I hold a license as an embalmer has requirements for licensure less than Missouriʼs requirements for licensure.
I have had five consecutive years of active experience as an embalmer in the state in which I am licensed. I will initiate a letter
to be transmitted directly from the examining board of the state or territory in which I hold licensure as an embalmer. The letter
shall include (1) a certified statement showing the grade rating upon which my license was granted, (2) whether or not my license
is in good standing with that board, (3) whether or not my license in that state has been suspended, revoked or otherwise
disciplined, and (4) whether or not there are any complaints pending against me.

Please contact all states you are currently or previously been licensed in for a verification of licensure to be sent to the board office.

USE THE ENCLOSED CERTIFICATE OF STATE ENDORSEMENT TO SEND DIRECTLY TO THE STATE BOARD GRANTING ORIGINAL
LICENSURE; WHEN FILLED OUT AND SIGNED, THIS CERTIFICATE MUST BE TRANSMITTED DIRECTLY TO THE EXECUTIVE
DIRECTOR OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD.

Section 333.071 RSMo indicate the business or profession of an individual licensed to practice embalming or funeral directing shall be
conducted and engaged in a funeral establishment

1. Have you ever applied for licensure as an embalmer in any other state or territory? (If NO please skip down to the 5th
question, Have you ever been finally adjudicated...)

WHERE? WHEN?If yes �

YES NO

If yes, were you ever licensed by that state or territory? If no, explain fully.

2. How was your license obtained?

Examination Apprenticeship Reciprocity Other (specify): __________________________________________

3. Is your license in that state or territory current? (i.e., not lapsed or inactive) If no, explain fully.

4. Has your license ever been disciplined by that state or territory? If yes, explain fully.

5. Have you ever been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution under the laws of any state or of the United States whether or not sentence was imposed (includes suspended
imposition of sentence (SIS)). If yes, explain fully.

6. Have you ever been arrested, charged with or found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere of a violation of
any federal, state or municipal, drug or alcohol laws or rules whether or not sentence was imposed (includes suspended
imposition of sentence (SIS)). If yes, explain fully.

7. Have you ever been addicted to or used in excess, alcohol or any prescription drugs or illegal chemical substances? If yes,
explain fully.

8. Have you ever been arrested, charged with, found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere by a court (including
a municipal court), pled guilty or nolo contendere to any traffic offense resulting from or related to the use of drugs or
alcohol, whether sentence was imposed, including a suspended imposition of sentence (SIS)? If yes, explain fully.

NAME OF FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT YOU WILL BE EMPLOYED AT IN THE STATE OF MISSOURI (IF KNOWN) MO. FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE NO.

FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT ADDRESS (IF KNOWN) CITY STATE ZIP CODE



MO 375-0540 (2-10) (2-15)

AFFIDAVIT OF APPRENTICESHIP

APPLICANTS WHO ARE NOT RESIDENTS OF MISSOURI MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION

FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT NAME FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE NO.

ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE) TELEPHONE NUMBER
( )

The apprentice embalmer will be serving his/her apprenticeship under the following Missouri licensed embalmer(s). Please print.
(IF THE APPRENTICE WILL BE SERVING UNDER MORE THAN FOUR (4) EMBALMERS PLEASE INCLUDE THEM ON A SEPARATE SHEET OF PAPER WITH THEIR NAME
AND LICENSE NUMBER(S))

EMBALMER NAME MO. EMB. LIC. NO. EMBALMER NAME MO. EMB. LIC. NO.

EMBALMER NAME MO. EMB. LIC. NO. EMBALMER NAME MO. EMB. LIC. NO.

I hereby state the above named individual will be an apprentice of stated funeral establishment. I further state that the named apprentice
will devote at least thirty (30) hours per week to his/her duties as an apprentice embalmer and that I am the funeral director in charge of
said funeral establishment and I am familiar with the Missouri requirements governing apprentice embalmers and I agree to comply with the
same.

EMBALMER APPRENTICE APPLICANTS MUST HAVE THIS SECTION COMPLETED BY THE FUNERAL DIRECTOR IN CHARGE OF
EACH ESTABLISHMENT WHERE THE APPRENTICE WILL BE SERVING (IF YOU WILL BE SERVING AT MORE THAN ONE (1) ESTABLISHMENT
PLEASE INCLUDE THE OTHER ESTABLISHMENTS ON A SEPARATE SHEET OF PAPER WITH THEIR ESTABLISHMENT NAME(S), FUNERAL DIRECTOR IN CHARGE
(FDIC(S)), LICENSE NUMBER(S), ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE) AND TELEPHONE NUMBER).

APPRENTICE APPLICANTS: If for any reason you change employment, an updated application must be completed and signed prior to
serving as an apprentice embalmer at any funeral establishment other than the establishment(s) identified in this application. Please
remember your apprenticeship must be 12 consecutive months.

PLEASE CONTACT THE BOARD OFFICE FOR APPROPRIATE FORMS

STATE OF COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS) NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSED SEAL OR BLACK INK RUBBER STAMP

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS DATE

NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE MY COMMISSION EXPIRES

NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED)

MUST BE SIGNED IN THE
PRESENCE OF NOTARY

SIGNATURE OF FUNERAL DIRECTOR IN CHARGE OF FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT DATE
�
PRINT NAME
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AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION - ALL APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION

I, the above named applicant, being first duly sworn upon my oath, state as follows:
That I have personally completed the foregoing application truthfully and completely, without omission;
That all the information and answers contained in the foregoing application and any attachments thereto are true and correct to my best
knowledge and belief;
That I have personally reviewed the information contained herein and hereby submit this application for consideration to the State Board of
Embalmers and Funeral Directors for licensure as an Embalmer pursuant to the laws and regulations of the State of Missouri and the State
Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors and;
That I made this affidavit knowingly, and understand that any false statements or material omission herein subjects me to criminal penalties
for making a false affidavit under Section 575.050, RSMo (as amended).

Pursuant to Section 324.010 RSMo:
CHECK THIS BOX ONLY IF IN ALL OF THE LAST THREE (3) YEARS: YOU WERE NOT A MISSOURI RESIDENT,
YOU DID NOT HAVE ANY MISSOURI INCOME, AND YOU ARE NOT SUBJECT TO ANY TYPE OF MISSOURI
INCOME TAX.

False statements are subject to criminal penalties and/or license discipline.
If you have any questions regarding taxes contact the Department of Revenue at 573-751-7200

Social Security Number Disclosure Notice
You must provide your social security number pursuant to state and federal law.

If you fail or refuse to provide your social security number, we will consider your initial application incomplete and return it to you.
Continued failure or refusal to provide your social security number is grounds for denial of your application.
Pursuant to state and federal laws, licensing authorities must assembly your social security number with other relevant information (name,
address,etc.) and transmit the date to the Division of Child Support Enforcement of the Department of Social Services to be used in a database for
the following purposes:

(1) locating individuals who are under an obligation to pay child support or provide child custody or visitation rights, against whom such an oblig-
ation is sought or to whom such an obligation is owed;

(2) identifying whether an individual who owes overdue child support or who has failed to comply with a subpoena relating to paternity or child
support proceedings holds or has applied for a professional or occupational license (under certain circumstances, a person who owes over-
due support or fails to comply with a subpoena relating to the above-stated proceedings may be subject to an order of a court, after notice
and opportunity or hearing in that court, suspending, withholding or restricting the personʼs license).

In addition to these uses, the licensing authorities will continue their practice of using social security numbers for the following purposes:
(1) for internal identification purposes (e.g., some licensing authorities use your social security number as your license number);
(2) to conduct criminal record checks (discovery of relevant criminal history may result in denial of your application, conditioned licensure or the

filing of a disciplinary action against you);
(3) to verify information provided by you in your application (discovery of false information in your application may result in denial of your appli-

cation, conditioned licensure or the filing of a disciplinary action against you);
(4) to verify licensure with another stateʼs licensing authority for reciprocity licensure;
(5) for identification purposes in national disciplinary databases (the discovery of a disciplined license against you in another state may result

in denial of your application, conditioned licensure or the filing of a disciplinary action against you);
(6) for test identification purposes.

Effective July 1, 2003, all persons and business entities renewing a license with the Division of Professional Registration are required to have paid all state
income taxes, and also are required to have filed all necessary state income tax returns for th preceding three years. If you have failed to pay your taxes
or have failed to file your tax returns your license will be subject to immediate suspension within 90 days of being notified by the missouri Department of
Revenue of any delinquency or failure to file. The requirement is found in Section 324.010, RSMo 2000, as amended.
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STATE OF COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS) NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSED SEAL OR BLACK INK RUBBER STAMP

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS DATE

NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE MY COMMISSION EXPIRES

NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED)

MUST BE SIGNED IN THE
PRESENCE OF NOTARY

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE
�
PRINT NAME




