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APPLICATION FOR EMBALMERS AND/OR FUNERAL DIRECTOR LICENSE BY RECIPROCITY 
 
 
Licensure by reciprocity may be given only for like license(s).  An embalmer licensed in another state may obtain 
an embalmer license by reciprocity but not a funeral director license unless that person is licensed as a funeral 
director in another state.  A funeral director licensed in another state may obtain a funeral director license by 
reciprocity, but not an embalmer license unless that person is licensed as an embalmer in another state. 
 
Individuals applying for an embalmer and/or funeral director license(s) by reciprocity must submit the completed 
Application for Embalmers License and/or Application for Funeral Director’s License marked with the application 
type of reciprocity. 
 
Applicants will also be required to submit the following: 

 Official transcripts from mortuary science program, if applicable; 

 National Board Funeral Service Arts examination scores from The International Conference of Funeral 
Service Examining Boards’ (the Conference)  

 National Board Funeral Service Sciences examination scores from the Conference, if applying for an 
embalmer license 

 Verification from all states currently or previously licensed.   The Certificate of State Endorsement form must 
be returned to the board office directly from the state that completes the verification.   (The form is available 
on the board’s website at www.pr.mo.gov/embalmers-forms.asp) 

 A fee of $313.00 for the Funeral Director Reciprocity application and the $313.00 fee for the Embalmer 
Reciprocity application made payable to the Missouri State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors.  
(Please note that if an applicant is applying for both the funeral director license by reciprocity and the 
embalmer license by reciprocity at the same time they need only submit a total fee of $613.00 as the board 
office will run one background check for both applications.) 

 For applicants with less than five consecutive years of active practice as a licensed funeral director or 
embalmer in another state, a copy of the statutes and regulations outlining the requirements required for 
licensure. 

 
If an applicant did not take national boards but attended a mortuary program, applicant should submit a letter 
stating why they did not take the national boards. 
 
Applicants will be required to successfully complete the examinations with a passing score of seventy-five (75) or 
better.    
 
The state board office will notify the applicant of eligibility to take the required examination.   
 
Information relating to specifics of the examination process can be found at The International Conference of 
Funeral Service Examining Boards’ (the Conference) website at http://www.theconferenceonline.org/ or  
(479) 442-7076 or 1885 Shelby Lane, Fayetteville, AR  72704. 

 
The State of Missouri examination fee is paid through the Conference as listed below: 

Missouri Law  (LRR)                               $140.00 
 

Applicants shall have twenty-four (24) months to successfully complete the requirements for licensure or the 
application will be cancelled and the applicant will be required to follow the same procedure as any new 
applicant by submitting a new application and paying all applicable fees. 
 
Applicants should keep the board office informed of any changes in email and mailing address to ensure that 
correspondence will reach them promptly.   Changes can be submitted to the board office by mail or by email 
to embalm@pr.mo.gov. 
 
If applicants have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the board office at embalm@pr.mo.gov or 
(573) 751-0813. 
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