
2016-10 
Page 1 of 2 

 

APPLICATION FOR APPRENTICE FUNERAL DIRECTOR 
 
 
Individuals applying for a funeral director license by apprenticeship must submit the completed Application for 
Funeral Director's License marked with the application type of apprentice, proof of a high school diploma or 
equivalent, proof of being at least eighteen (18) years of age, evidence of being a person of good moral 
character, and the fee of $213 ($200.00 application fee and $13.00 Highway Patrol background check fee).  
 
Once the required information is received and finalized, the applicant will be issued an apprentice registration 
to work as an apprentice funeral director with an Affidavit of Practical Work form for each eligible Missouri 
licensed funeral director listed as a supervisor for each licensed funeral establishment listed on the application.  
The designated card on the Affidavit of Practical Work form or a copy of such shall be displayed in a 
conspicuous location accessible to the public at each establishment where the apprentice is working. 
 
The apprentice funeral director must serve at least fifteen (15) hours per week for at least twelve (12) 
consecutive months under the direct supervision of a Missouri licensed funeral director(s) and must arrange 
and conduct at least ten (10) funeral services. The information for each funeral service will need to be listed 
on the Affidavit of Practical Work form(s) of the licensed funeral director that directly supervised the funeral 
service.   
 
If during the apprenticeship, the apprentice should change or add places of employment or funeral directors as 
supervisors, the apprentice will need to submit an Update Application for Registration as Funeral Director 
Apprentice.  That form can be found on the board’s website at http://pr.mo.gov/embalmers-forms.asp.  
 
The funeral director apprentice registration authorizes the apprentice to engage in the practice of funeral 
directing only during the period of apprenticeship.  Once the apprenticeship is successfully completed the 
funeral director apprentice registration shall become null and void.   Any Missouri licensed funeral 
director who allows a former apprentice who has completed his/her apprenticeship to engage in the practice of 
funeral directing before the applicant is fully licensed may be subject to discipline for misconduct. 
 
Once an applicant has completed the apprenticeship, they should submit affidavits to the state board office 
signed and notarized, reflecting at least twelve (12) consecutive months and at least ten (10) funeral services. 
 
The state board office will notify the applicant of eligibility to take the required examinations.  The board 
encourages applicants to take the examinations as soon as possible after the completion of the apprenticeship. 
  
Information relating to specifics of the examination process can be found at The International Conference of 
Funeral Service Examining Boards’ (the Conference) website at http://www.theconferenceonline.org/ or at 
(479) 442-7076 or 1885 Shelby Lane, Fayetteville, AR  72704.   
 
Applicants will be required to successfully complete the Missouri Law (LRR) examination with a passing score 
of seventy-five (75) or better.  Applicants will be required to submit proof of successful completion of the 
National Board Funeral Service Arts examination with a score of seventy-five (75)  or better.  For applicants 
that have not completed the National Board Funeral Service Arts examination, successful completion of the 
Missouri Funeral Service Arts examination with a passing score of seventy-five (75) or better may be 
submitted. 
 
The State of Missouri examination(s) fees are paid through the Conference as listed below: 

Missouri Funeral Service Arts   $200.00   
Missouri Law  (LRR)                           $140.00   

 
The Conference has developed a study guide for the Missouri Funeral Service Arts which candidates may 
purchase to use in preparing for the examination.  This information can be found at the Conference’s website 
at http://www.theconferenceonline.org/ or by contacting their office.  
 

http://pr.mo.gov/embalmers-forms.asp
http://www.theconferenceonline.org/
http://www.theconferenceonline.org/


2016-10 
Page 2 of 2 

 

Applicants shall have twenty-four (24) months to successfully complete the requirements for licensure or the 
application will be cancelled and the applicant will be required to follow the same procedure as any new 
applicant by submitting a new application and paying all applicable fees. 
 
Applicants should keep the board office informed of any changes in email and mailing address to ensure that 
correspondence will reach them promptly.   Changes can be submitted to the board office by mail or by email 
to embalm@pr.mo.gov. 
 
If applicants have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the board office at embalm@pr.mo.gov or 
(573) 751-0813. 
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