BEFORE THE MISSOURI DENTAL BOARD

In the Matter of the Application of

SHAWN ANTHONY CHARLES TOLNAY, D.M.D.

N N N N N

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI DENTAL BOARD ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
DENTAL LICENSE TO SHAWN ANTHONY CHARLES TOLNAY, D.M.D.

The Missouri Dental Board (“Board”) hereby issues its ORDER granting the DENTAL
LICENSE of Shawn Anthony Charles Tolnay (hereafter “Tolnay”), License No. 2010028124
subject to FIVE (5) YEARS PROBATION under terms and conditions described below,
pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo. As set forth in 8 324.038.2, RSMo, Tolnay may
submit a written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and
review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated license. Such written request must be filed
with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order
of the Board. The written request should be addressed to the Administrative Hearing
Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO
65102-1557. If no written request for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing
Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be

considered waived. Should Tolnay file a written request for review of this Order, the terms and

conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect unless or until such time as the

Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the contrary.




Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Missouri Dental Board (“Board”) is an agency of the State of Missouri
created and established pursuant to § 332.021, RSMo 2000, for the purpose of executing and
enforcing the provisions of Chapter 332.

2. Shawn Anthony Charles Tolnay currently resides at 1522 Rosewood Terrace
Drive, Manchester, Missouri 63021.

3. Tolnay’s social security number is xxx-xx-0480.

4, On or about October 16, 2009, Tolnay applied for licensure as a dentist. On his
application, Tolnay answered yes to the following questions:

a. 3. Are you presently being investigated or is any disciplinary
action pending against any professional license, certification,
registration or permit you hold or have applied for? If yes, attach a
full explanation.

b. 8. Have you ever had any controlled substance registration issued
by the Drug Enforcement Agency, state bureau of narcotics, or any
other lawful authority concerned with controlled substances
denied, voluntarily surrendered, revoked, suspended, placed on
probation, censured, reprimanded, fined or otherwise subject to
any type of disciplinary action, or are such actions currently
pending? If yes, attach a full explanation.

5. At the time of application, Tolnay had an active license from the Montana Board
of Dentistry (Montana Board), with an expiration date of March 31, 2010, an expired license
from the Oregon Board of Dentistry (Oregon Board), and a license expired and revoked from the
New Mexico Board of Dental Health (New Mexico Board).

6. Tolnay attached a statement regarding his answers to questions 3 and 8 on the

application. Based on Tolnay’s application and statement, the Board conducted an investigation



related to Tolnay’s application. The Board’s investigation, including Tolnay’s statement
revealed:

a. The Oregon Board disciplined Tolnay’s license on March 3, 1996. The Oregon
Board reprimanded his license and ordered him to pay a civil penalty in the about
of $300. The Oregon Board disciplined Tolnay because he ordered controlled
substances for his personal consumption from his dental supply company. In his
response, Tolnay states he did have a prescription for the controlled substances
but “it was wrong and may have been a[n] early sign of my future addiction.”

b. Tolnay’s Class 3 (Deep Sedation) permit issued by the Oregon Board expired on
March 31, 2001.

c. Tolnay re-applied for a license to practice in Oregon. The Oregon Board denied
the application because Tolnay: 1) practiced dental hygiene without a license in
Oregon on December 3 and 4, 2001, 2) falsified his application in that he failed to
disclose that he had been disciplined by the New Mexico Board on March 22,
1999; 3) purchased controlled substances for his personal consumption, other than
by prescription from a licensed practitioner in conjunction with treatment between
March 27, 2001 and August 27, 2001; and 4) attempted to obtain a controlled
substance by misrepresentation when he telephonically obtained a prescription for
Vicodin from Anne Meyer, DDS for a non-existent tooth ache on December 11,
2001.

d. The New Mexico Board revoked Tolnay’s license on July 26, 2003. The New
Mexico Board had issued Tolnay’s license conditioned on him refraining from

self-prescribing or abusing drugs. Tolnay stipulated at a hearing before the New



Mexico Board that he violated the conditions of his license concerning drug abuse
in that he prescribed drugs outside the scope of dental practice and injudiciously
prescribed drugs.

On or about February 1, 2002, Tolnay entered into treatment at Serenity Lane
Treatment, a substance abuse treatment facility in Eugene, Oregon. Tolnay then
moved to Missouri where he voluntarily participated in the Missouri Well Being
Program until he received his Montana dental license in 2004.

On or about July 1, 2004, Tolnay entered into an aftercare agreement with the
Montana Professional Assistance Program (MPAP). Participation in MPAP was
required to maintain his DEA certification. Tolnay was required to attend
meetings, meet with physicians, limit his practice, notify MPAP of use of
substances, attend continuing education related to prescribing controlled drugs,
and drug and alcohol testing. Tolnay agreed to participate in MPAP for as long as
he held a Montana dental license. Tolnay entered into an amended aftercare
agreement with MPAP on December 15, 2008.

In December 2008, a former employee, who Tolnay had fired, filed a complaint
against Tolnay alleging numerous violations of Montana law. The Montana
Board investigated the complaint and found Tolnay was over-sedating patients.
On June 11, 2009, the Montana Board summarily suspended Tolnay’s sedation
permit for an indefinite period of time pending additional disciplinary hearings.
On or about December 8, 2009, the Montana Board entered a stipulation and final
order to resolve the matter. The stipulation and final order publicly censured

Tolnay for the sedation violation and Tolnay voluntarily surrendered his sedation



permit. Additionally, the Montana Board placed his dental license on probation
for one year, required Tolnay to participate in MPAP and attend continuing
education courses in the area of ethics.

h. On or about August 4, 2009, MPAP filed a complaint with the Montana Board
alleging violations of the aftercare agreements. Additionally, MPAP withdrew its
support of Tolnay as a result of missing treatment meetings and other deviations.
MPAP did state, in a letter to the Missouri Dental Board, that Tolnay had no
relapses of substance abuse and all drug screening had been negative. As a result
of MPAP’s complaint, the Montana Board summarily suspended Tolnay’s dental
license. On or about October 6, 2009, the Montana Board entered its stipulation
and final order. The stipulation publicly censured Tolnay’s dental license and
ordered him to enter into a new agreement with MPAP. On or about October 6,
2009, Tolnay entered into a new agreement with MPAP which is still valid today.

7. Tolnay appeared before the Board at its July 2010 meeting. He admitted to his
substance abuse problems and treatment history. He stated he had been sober for eight years
with no relapses. He stated he has an Alcoholics Anonymous sponsor and attends meetings. He
admitted to the discipline of his licenses described in paragraph 6 above. He admitted to the loss
of his sedation permit as a result of over-sedating a patient as described in paragraph 6 above.

1.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

8. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 332.321.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes



stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his or her
right to file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided

by chapter 621, RSMo.

9.

The Board has cause to deny or refuse Tolnay’s application for a dental license

pursuant to § 332.321.2 RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate
of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person
who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

10.

(1) Use of any controlled substance, as defined in chapter 195,
RSMo, or alcoholic beverage to an extent that such use impairs a
person’s ability to perform the work of any profession licensed or
regulated by this chapter;

(5) Incompetency, misconduct, gross negligence, fraud,
misrepresentation or dishonesty in the performance of, or relating
to one’s ability to perform, the functions or duties of any
profession licensed or regulated by this chapter;

(8) Disciplinary action against the holder of a license or other right
to practice any profession regulated by this chapter imposed by
another state, province, territory, federal agency or country upon
grounds for which discipline is authorized in this state[.]

As a result of Tolnay’s substance abuse history, as described in paragraphs 6 and

7 above, as well as disciplinary action against his licenses and permits as described in paragraphs

6 and 7 above, the Board has cause to deny or refuse Tolnay’s application for a dental license

pursuant to § 332.321.1, RSMo, and 8§ 332.321.2 (1), (5) and (8), RSMo.

11.

As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,

issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038.1, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,
including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for
reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the
board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue
to an applicant a license subject to probation.



12.  The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Tolnay’s application for a dental
license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure the protection of the
public.

1.
ORDER

Based on the foregoing, Shawn Anthony Charles Tolnay is granted a dental license,
which is hereby placed on PROBATION for a period of five (5) years from the effective date of
this Order, subject to the terms and conditions set forth below.

V.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

During the aforementioned probation, Tolnay shall be entitled to present himself and

serve as a licensed dentist subject to the following terms and conditions:

I.  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

A. Licensee shall meet with the Board or its representatives at such times and places as
required by the Board after notification of a required meeting.

B.  Licensee shall submit reports to the Missouri Dental Board, P.O. Box 1367, Jefferson
City, Missouri 65102, stating truthfully whether he has complied with all the terms
and conditions of this Order by no later than January 1 and July 1 during each year of
the disciplinary period.

C. Licensee shall keep the Board apprised of his current home and work addresses and
telephone numbers. Licensee shall inform the Board within ten days of any change of
home or work address and home or work telephone number.

D. Licensee shall comply with all provisions of the Dental Practice Act, Chapter 332,
RSMo; all applicable federal and state drug laws, rules, and regulations; and all
federal and state criminal laws. “State” here includes the state of Missouri and all
other states and territories of the United States.



During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall timely renew his license and timely pay
all fees required for licensing and comply with all other board requirements necessary
to maintain Licensee’s license in a current and active state.

If at any time during the disciplinary period, Licensee removes himself from the state
of Missouri, ceases to be currently licensed under provisions of Chapter 332, or fails
to advise the Board of her current place of business and residence, the time of her
absence, unlicensed status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken as
any part of the time of discipline so imposed in accordance with § 332.321.6, RSMo.

During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor her compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

If Licensee fails to comply with the terms of this order, in any respect, the Board may
impose such additional or other discipline that it deems appropriate, (including
imposition of the revocation).

This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it concerning
any other violation of Chapter 332, RSMo, by Licensee not specifically mentioned in
this document.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

A.

Licensee shall not make application to the Board for, or hold, any sedation permits
pursuant to § 332.362, RSMo and any rules or regulations validly promulgated
pursuant thereto.

During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall participate in the Missouri Dental Well-
being Committee ("Committee™). Within fifteen (15) days of the effective date of this
agreement, Licensee shall cause the Committee to send written notification to the
Missouri Dental Board, P.O. Box 1367, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102, confirming
that Licensee has joined the program. Licensee shall follow all recommendations of
the Committee or the Committee Administrator with regards to counseling,
evaluations, any treatment deemed necessary by an evaluation, and any follow-up
care. Failure to fully participate in the Well-Being Committee shall constitute a
violation of this Agreement.

During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall, at Licensee's expense, submit to drug
screens as required by the Board. Licensee shall, upon demand and without delay,
provide a biological sample to the Board's designated representative, including
allowing the Board's designated representative to obtain witnessed biological fluid
samples and shall cooperate fully and completely with the Board's designated
representative in providing such samples. The presence of any controlled substance,



alcohol, or any drug whatsoever in a drug screen for which Licensee does not hold a
valid prescription shall constitute a violation of this Agreement.

D. Licensee shall not engage in the solo practice of dentistry.

E. Licensee shall not make application with the Missouri Department of Health and
Senior Services, Board of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs (BNDD) registration.

F. Licensee shall not allow his license to lapse.

This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it concerning any
violation by Respondent of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 332, RSMo (as
amended), or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS _10th DAY OF AUGUST, 2010.

MISSOURI DENTAL BOARD

Brlan Barnett, Executive Director





