SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT BETWEEN MISSOURI DENTAL BOARD
AND GREGORY A. PUCEL, D.D.S.

Come now Gregory A. Pucel, D.D.S. (“Licensee”) and the Missouri Dental Board (“Board”) and enter
into this setflement agreement for the purpose of resolving the question of whether Licensee’s license as a
dentist will be subject to discipline.

Pursuant to the terms of § 536.080, RSMo 2000, the parties hereta waive the right to a hearing by the
Administrative Hearing Commission of the State of Missouri ("AHC") regarding cause fo discipline the
Licensee's license, and, additionally, the right to a disciplinary hearing before the Board under § 621.110, RSMo
2000.

Licensee acknowledges that he understands the various rights and privileges afforded him by law,
including the right to a hearing of the charges against him; the right to appear and be represented by legal
counsel; the right to have all charges against him proven upon the record by competent and substantial
evidence; the right to cross-examine any withesses appearing at the hearing against him; the right to present
evidence on his own behalf at the hearing; the right to a decision upon the record by a fair and impartial
administrative hearing commissioner concerning the charges pending against him and, subsequently, the right
to a disciplinary hearing before the Board at which time he may present evidence in mitigation of discipline; and
the right to recover attorney's fees incurred in defending this action against his license. Being aware of these
rights provided him by operation of law, Licensee knowingly and voluntarily waives each and every one of these
rights and freely enters into this settfement agreement and agrees to abide by the terms of this document, as
thay pertain to him.

Lice‘nsee acknowledges that he has received a copy of the investigative report and other decuments
relied upon by the Board in determining there was cause to discipline his license, along with citations to law
and/or regulations the Board believes were violated.

For the purpose of settling this dispute, Licensee stipulates that the factual allegations contained in this
settlement agreement are true and stipulates with the Board that Licensee’s license, numbered 013772 is
subject to disciplinary action by the Board in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 621, Cum. Supp. 2010

and Chapter 332, RSMo.




Joint Stipulation of Fact and Conciusions of Law

1. The Missouri Dental Board (“Board”) is an agency of the State of Missouri created and
established pursuant to § 332,021, RSMo 2000, for the purpose of executing and enforcing the provisions of
Chapter 332!

2. Licensee Gregory A. Pucel, D.D.S. is licensed by the Board as a dentist, License No. 013772,
Licensee's Missouri license was at all times relevant herein, and is now, current and active.

3. On December 4, 2008, the Board received a complaint about Licensee from J.V., a former
patient of Licensee. J.V. alleged that Licensee had charged her $2,200.00 for a non-removable “splint” to treat
her migraine'headaches‘ J.V. alleged in her complaint that the splint caused her to have more migraines. Sﬁe
also alleged that she had the splint removed. She stated she requested an itemized invoice from Licensee with
regard to the $2,200 and that Licensee only sent letters that “avoided the issue.” As a result of the complaint,
the Board initiated an investigation. As part of the investigation, the Board requested a response from Licensee
and patient record for J.V.

4. As part of the Board's investigation, the Board reviewed J.V.'s record and Licensee’s response.
The Board then referred the complaint to its investigators for further investigation. As part of the that
investigation, the Board requested additional records including billing records and records for other patients for
whom he billed for Comprehensive Ortho Adult for an Orthopedic splint. The Board also sought information
about how many of Licensee’s patients had the Orthopedic Splint Therapy in 2007, 2008 and 2008.

5, On March 28, 2010, Board Investigator Joseph Sears réquested any records regarding
orthodontic treatment by Licensee from Anthem Biue Cross & Blue Shield, Delta Dental of Missouri and United
Health Care. Only Delta Dental had any records, Delta Dental provided the billing records.

8. On June 1, 2010, Investigator Sears travelled to Licensee’s practice in Chesterfield, Missouri to
retrieve patient records for patients who had received treatment and been billed as Comprehensive Ortho Adult.
Licensee was on vacation when [nvestigator Sears arrived but Dr. , the only cther dentist Eﬁ the
practice assisted Investigator Sears in obtaining approximately six patient charts, including J.V.'s chart. J.V.’s
chart stated that Licensee “began orthopedic splint” on October 13, 2008 which Licensee billed as
“comprehensive ortho adult.” Delta Dental denied the claim.
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7. Upon review of J.V.'s chart, portions of the patient chart were incomprehensible to the Board.
The treatment notes did not contain sufficient information as to diagnosis or treatment planning and contained
diagrams without a sufficient legend to expiain them.

8. As part of the Board's investigation, the Board requested documentation of completion of
Licensee’s continuing education (CE) hours for the last two reporting periods, 2006-2008 and 2008-2010. As
detailed above, the Board requested to meet with Licensee regarding J.V.’s complaint and his patient records.
Licensee appeared before the Board on October 21, 2010. At that meeting, the Board requested that licensee
provide his CE documentation for the last two reporting periods. Licensee agreed to provide the requested
documentation within a week. On or about Feﬁruary 20, 2012, Licensee provided proof of his required CE
documentation to the Board. Licensee's documentation supported completion of the required hours of CE,

9. Section 332.052, RSMo states, in relevant part:

1. Dentists shall maintain an adequate and complete patient record for
each patient and may maintain electronic records provide the record-
keeping format is capable of being printed for review by the board{.}

i0. Regulation 20 CSR 2110-2.240 states, in relevant part:

(2} in order to renew a license, each dentist shall submit satisfactory
evidence of completion of fifty (50} hours of continuing education during
the two (2)-year period immediately preceding the renewat period, and
each dental hygienist shall submit satisfactory evidence of completion of
thirty (30) hours of continuing education during the two (2)-year period
immediately preceding the renewal period, Any hours acquired beyond
the required number may be carried forward info the next time block not
to exceed twenty-five {25} hours for dentists and fifteen (15) hours for
dental hygienists. Of the fifty (60) hours required for dentists, not less
than forty (40) must be hours directly refated to the updating and
maintaining of knowledge and skills in the treatment, health, and safety
of the individual dental patient. Of the thirty (30) hours required for dental
hygienists, not less than twenty-five (25) must be hours directly related to
the updating and maintaining of knowledge and skills in the treatment,
health, and safety of the individual dental patient. One (1) hour of
continuing education shall be granted for every fifty to sixty (50-60)
minutes of contact {either academic or clinical) instruction.

{A) For the licensure renewal form due November 30, 2004, and
each subsequent renewal period after that, the licensee shall
report the number of hours obtained for the two (2)-year period
just completed and shall attest to those hours by signing the
form. Each licensee shall retain records documenting his/her
completion of the required hours of continuing education for a
minimum of six (6) years after the reporting period in which the
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continuing education was completed. The records shall
document the licensee's attendance at the continuing education
course including, but not limited to, retaining the litles of the
courses taken, dates, locations, receipts, course sponsors,
agendas, and number of hours earned. The board may conduct
an audit of licensees to verify compliance with the continuing
education requirement. Licensees shall assist the board in its
audit by providing timely and complete responses fo the board’s
inquiries(.]

11. Licensee’s conduct in providing services to J.V. which were not documented, such that it is not
clear what, if any services, were provided, as described in paragraphs 3 through 7 above constitutes misconduct
in the performance of, or relating to one’s ability to perform, the functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated by this chapter for which the Board has cause to discipline Licensee’s license.

12, Licensee's conduct in failing to maintain an adeguate and complete record for J.V,, as
described in paragraphs 3 through 7 above constitutes violation of a provision of this chapter or lawful rule or
regulation adopted pursuant to this chapter for which the Board has cause to discipline Licensee’s license.

13. Licensee's as described in paragraphs 3 through 7 above constitutes violation of a professional
trust or confidence for which the Board has cause to discipline Licensee’s license.

14. Cause exists for the Board to take disciplinary action against Licensee's license under
§ 332.321.2(5), {B) and (13), RSMo, which states in pertinent part:

2. The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the
administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo,
against any holder of any permit or license required by this chapter or any

person who has failed to renew or has surrendered his or her permit or
license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(5) Incompetency, misconduct, gross negligence, fraud,
misrepresentation or dishonesty in the performance of, or relating
to one's ability to perform, the functions or duties of any
profession licensed or regulated by this chapter;

{6) Violation of, assisting, or enabling any person to
violate, any provision of this chapter, or any lawful rule or
regulation adopted pursuant to this chapter;

(13}  Violation of any professional ftrust or
confidencel.]




Joint Agreed Disciplinary Order

Based upon the foregoing, the parties mutually agree and stipulate that the following shall constitute the

disciplinary order entered by the Board in this matter under the authority of § 621.045.3, RSMo 2000:

The terms of discipline shall include that the dental license be placed on PROBATION for a

period of three (3) years (“disciplinary period”). During Licensee’s probation, Licensee shall be entitled to

engage in the practice of dentistry under Chapter 332, RSMo, provided he adheres to all of the terms of his

Settlement Agreement.

L EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

A

Jurisprudence Examination. Licensee shall take and pass the Board's jurisprudence examination
within twelve {12) months of this Agreement becoming effective. Licensee shall contact the Board
office to request a current law packed and permission fo sit for the jurisprudence examination no
less than thirty (30) days prior to the date Licensee desires to take the examination. Licensee shall
submit the required re-examination fee to the Board prior fo taking the examination. Failure to take
and pass the examination during the first twelve (12) months of the disciplinary pericd shall
constitute a violation of this Agreement.

. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

A.

Licensee shall meet with the Board or its representatives at such times and places as required by
the Board after notification of a required meeting.

Licensee shall submit reports to the Missouri Dental Board, P.O. Box 1367, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102, stating truthfully whether he has complied with all the terms and conditicns of this Settlement
Agreement by no later than January 1 and July 1 during each year of the disciplinary period.

Licensee shall keep the Board apprised of his current home and work addresses and telephone
numbers. Licensee shall inform the Board within ten days of any change of home or work address
and home or work telephone number.

Licensee shall comply with all provisions of the Dental Practice Act, Chapter 332, RSMo; all
applicable federal and state drug laws, rules, and regulations; and all federal and state criminal
laws. “State” here includes the state of Missouri and all other states and territories of the United
States.

During the disciplinary period, Licensee shail timely renew his license and timely pay all fees
required for licensing and comply with all other board requirements necessary to maintain
Licensee's license in a current and active state.

If at any time during the disciplinary period, Licensee removes himself from the state of Missouri,
ceases to be currently licensed under provisions of Chapter 332, or fails to advise the Board of his
current place of business and residence, the time of his absence, unlicensed status, or unknown
whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken as any part of the time of discipline so imposed in
accordance with § 332.321.6, RSMo.



i,

G. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall accept and comply with unannounced visits from the
Board's representatives to monitor his compliance with the terms and conditions of this Settlement
Agreement.

H.  if Licensee fails to comply with the terms of this Settlement Agreement, in any respect, the Board
may impose such additional or other discipline that it deems appropriate, (including imposition of the
revecation).

This Settlement Agreement does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it

concerning any other violation of Chapter 332, RSMo, by Licensee not specifically mentioned in this

document.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

A.  Licensee shall not allow his license to lapse.

B.  Licensee shall notify, within 16 days of the effective date of this Settlement Agreement, all hospitals,
nursing homes, out-patient centers, surgical centers, clinics, and all other facilities where Licensee
practices or has privileges of Licensee’s disciplinary status. Notification shall be in writing and
Licensee shall, contemporaneously with the giving of such notice, submit a copy of the notice o the
Board for verification by the Board or its designated representative.

2.  The parties to this Agreement understand that the Missouri Dental Board will maintain this
Agreement as an open record of the Board as provided in Chapters 332, 610, 324, RSMo.

3.  The terms of this settlement agreement are contractual, legaily enforceable, and binding, not |
merely recital. Except as otherwise provided herein, neither this settlement agreement nor any of its |
provisions may be changed, waived, discharged, or terminated, except by an instrument in writing signed |
by the party against whom the enforcement of the change, waiver, discharge, or termination is sought.

4, Licensee, together with his heirs and assigns, and his attorneys, do hereby waive, release,
acquit and forever discharge the Board, its respective members and any of its employees, agents, or
attorneys, including any former Board members, employees, agents, and attorneys, of, or from, any |
liability, claim, actions, causes of action, fees, costs and expenses, and compensation, including but not
limited to, any claims for attorney's fees and expenses, including any claims pursuant to § 536.087,

RSMo, or any claim arising under 42 U.8.C. § 1983, which may be based upon, arise out of, or relate to

any of the matters raised in this case, its settlement, or from the negotiation or execution of this settlement

agreement. The parties acknowledge that this paragraph is severable from the remaining portions of this

seftlement agreement in that it survives in perpetuity even in the event that any court of law deems this

settlement agreement or any portion thereof to be void or unenforceable.
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5. If no contested case has been filed against Licensee, Licensee has the right, either at the
time the settlement agreement is signed by all parties or within fifteen days thereafter, to submit the
agreement to the Administrative Hearing Commission for determination that the facts agreed to by the
parties to the settlement agreement constitute grounds for denying or disciplining the license of the
licensee. |If Licensee desires the Administrative Hearing Commission to review this Agreement, Licensee
may submit this request to: Administrative Hearing Commission, Truman State Office Building,
Room 640, 301 W, High Street, P.O. Box 1557, Jefferson City, Missouri 65101,

6. If Licensee has requested review, Licensee and Board jointly request that the Administrative
Hearing Commission determine whether the facts set forth herein are grounds for disciplining Licensee's
license and issue findings of act and conclusions of law stating that the facts agreed to by the parties are
grounds for disciplining Licensee's license. Effective the date the Administrative Hearing Commission
determines that the agreement sets forth cause for disciplining Licensee's license, the agreed upon

discipline set forth herein shall go into effect.

LICENSEE BOARD
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Gregory A/ Pycgl, P.D.S. e Brian Barnett,
Executive Director
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