
SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT BETWEEN MISSOURI DENTAL BOARD 
AND GARY W. HARRIS, D.D.S. 

Comes now Gary W. Harris, D.D.S. ("Licensee") and the Missouri Dental Board ("Board") 

and enter into this settlement agreement for the purpose of resolving .the question of whether 

Licensee's license to practice dentistry will be subject to discipline. 

Pursuant to the terms of $ 536.060, RSMo 2000, the parties hereto waive the right to a 

hearing by the Administrative Hearing Commission of the State of Missouri ("AHC") regarding 

cause to discipline the Licensee's license, and, additionally, the right to a disciplinary hearing before 

the Board under $ 621.1 10, RSMo 2000. 

Licensee acknowledges that he understands the various rights and privileges afforded him by 

law, including the right to a hearing of the charges against him, the right to appear and be represented 

by legal counsel; the right to have all charges against him proven upon the record by competent and 

substantial evidence; the right to cross-examine any witnesses appearing at the hearing against him; 

the right to present evidence on his own behalf at the hearing; the right to a decision upon the record 

by a fair and impartial administrative hearing commissioner concerning the charges pending against 

him and, subsequently, the right to a disciplinary hearing before the Board at which time he may 

present evidence in mitigation of discipline; and the right to recover attorney's fees incurred in 

defending this action against his license. Being aware of these rights provided him by operation of 

law, Licensee knowingly and voluntarily waives each and every one of these rights and fieely enters 

into this settlement agreement and agrees to abide by the terms of this document, as they pertain to 

him. 



Licensee acknowledges that he has received a copy of the investigative report and other 

documents relied upon by the Board in determining there was cause to discipline his license, along 

with citations to law andfor regulations the Board believes was violated. 

For the purpose of settling this dispute, Licensee stipulates that the factual allegations 

contained in this settlement agreement are true and stipulates with the Board that Licensee's license, 

numbered 0 14 1 64, is subject to disciplinary action by the Board in accordance with the provisions of 

Chapter 621 and Chapter 332, RSMo. 

JOINT STIPULATION OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1. The Missouri Dental Board ("Board") is an agency of the State of Missouri created 

and established pursuant to $332.02 1, RSMo 2000, for the purpose of executing and enforcing the 

provisions of Chapter 332. 

2. Gary W. Harris ("Licensee") is licensed by the Board as a dentist, License 

No. 0141 64. Licensee's Missouri license was at all times relevant herein, and is now, current and 

active. 

3. At all times relevant herein, Licensee practices dentistry at 1806 W. 1 lth Street, 

Sedalia, Missouri ('the office"). 

4. On or about June 8,2006, Licensee was impaired while on duty at the office. Patient 

K.M. telephoned the Sedalia Police Department requesting assistance out of the office after being 

locked in after hours. K.M. had presented at Licensee's office for an appointment earlier in the day 

and was taken back to an examination room where she was briefly greeted by Licensee. Licensee 

never returned. After assisting K.M. out of the office, Licensee was located by Sedalia Police in the 

basement of the office, intoxicated. 



5. From April 2006 and continuing through June 19,2006, Licensee consumed 8 to 12 

ounces of vodka per day. 

6. Licensee's conduct as referenced herein constitutes the use of an alcoholic beverage 

to an extent that such use impaired his ability to perform the work of a dentist in violation of $ 

332.321.2(1), RSMo. 

7. Licensee's conduct in reporting to work impaired by alcohol constitutes misconduct 

and incompetency in the performance of his functions and duties as a dentist in violation of $ 

332.321.2(5), RSMo. 

8. At the time of the events alleged herein, Licensee had formed a relationship of 

professional trust and confidence with K.M. in that she relied upon the professional expertise of 

Licensee to ensure that when Licensee reported for work, he was fit to practice and not under the 

influence of alcohol or other drugs of abuse that would impair his ability to perform the work of a 

dentist. 

9. Licensee's conduct as alleged herein violated K.M.'s professional trust and 

confidence. 

10. Licensee's conduct as referenced herein constitutes a violation of $332.321.2(20), 

RSMo. 

1 1. Cause exists for the Board to take disciplinary action against Licensee's license under 

$ 332.321.2(1), ( 9 ,  (13), and (20) RSMo, which states in pertinent part: 

2. The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the 
administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 
621, RSMo, against any holder of any permit or license 
required by this chapter or any person who has failed to renew 
or has surrendered his or her permit or license for any one or 
any combination of the following causes: 



(1) Use of any controlled substance, as defined 
in chapter 195, RSMo, or alcoholic beverage to an extent 
that such use impairs a person's ability to perform the work 
of any profession licensed or regulated by this chapter; 

(5) Incompetency, misconduct, gross negligence, 
fraud, misrepresentation or dishonesty in the performance of 
the functions or duties of any profession licensed or regulated 
by this chapter; 

- .  . . 

(1 3) Violation of any professional trust or 
confidence; 

(20) Being unable to practice as a dentist, specialist 
or hygienist with reasonable skill and safety to patients by 
reasons of professional incompetency, or because of illness, 
drunkenness, excessive use of drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or 
as a result of any mental or physical condition. 

Based upon the foregoing, the parties mutually agree and stipulate that the following shall 

constitute the disciplinary order entered by the Board in this matter under the authority of 

62 1.045.3, RSMo 2000: 

1. Licensee's dental license numbered 0 14 164 is immediately placed on PROBATION 

for a period of five (5) years ("disciplinary period"). During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall 

be entitled to engage in the practice of dentistry under Chapter 332, RSMo, provided he adheres to 

all of the terms of this Settlement Agreement. The terms of the probation shall be: 



I. EMPLOYMENT RESTRICTIONS 

A. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall not own or operate a solo or private 
dental practice. Licensee shall only practice dentistry as an employee and shall 
not be involved in the billing, bookkeeping, or management of a dental practice. 
This provision does not prohibit Licensee from providing contract dental services. 

II. REQUIREMENTS REGARDING CONTINUING EDUCATION 

A. Licensee shall take the continuing education course in ethics sponsored by the 
University of Missouri-Kansas City or its equivalent. This continuing education shall 
be in addition to the continuing education required by law for licensure renewal by 
the Board. This course must be taken within the first twelve (12) months of 
Licensee's disciplinary period. Licensee shall provide the Board with proof of 
attendance from the sponsor of the program no later than thirty (30) days after 
attending the course. Failure to obtain the required additional continuing education 
hours andlor submit the required documentation to the Board will result in a violation 
of the tenns of discipline. 

B. Licensee shall take and pass the Board's designated jurisprudence examination 
within six (6) months of the start of the disciplinary period. Licensee shall contact 
the Board office to request a current law packet and permission to sit for the 
jurisprudence examination no less than thirty (30) days prior to the date Licensee 
desires to take the examination. Licensee shall submit the required r e - e x a t i o n  
fee to the Board prior to taking the examination. Failure to take .and pass the 
examination during the first six (6) months of the disciplinary period shall constitute 
a violation of this Agreement. 

11. REQUIREMENTS REGARDING THE MISSOLTRI DENTAL WELL-BEING 
COMMITTEE 

A. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall participate in the Missouri Dental 
Well-being Committee ("Committee"). Within fifteen (1 5) days of the effective date 
of this agreement, Licensee shall cause the Committee to send written notification to 
the Missouri Dental Board, P.O. Box 1367, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102, 
c o n f i i g  that Licensee has joined the program. Licensee shall also direct the 
Committee to forward an evaluation report to the Board detailing the treating 
professional's findings, specification of DSM N diagnosisles, prognosis, and 
treatment recommendations within 15 days of entering this agreement. Licensee 
shall follow all recommendations for treatment or aftercare made by the treating 
professional andlor Committee. 



B. Licensee shall execute a medical release or other appropriate release that shall remain 
in effect for the entire disciplinary period authorizing the Board to obtain records of 
Licensee's treatment for chemical dependency. Licensee shall not take any action to 
cancel this release. Licensee shall take any and all steps necessary to continue the 
release in effect and shall provide a new release when requested. 

C. Licensee shall cause a letter of ongoing treatment evaluation from the treating 
professional to be submitted to the Board by January 1 and July 1 during each year of 
the disciplinary period beginning the effective date of this disciplinary agreement. ' 

(1) The letter shall include an evaluation of Licensee's 
current progress and status related to the treatment 
recommendations/plan and Licensee's current 
prognosis and treatment recommendations/plan. 

(2) The letter shall be sent by the treating professional 
andlor the Committee addressed to: Missouri Dental 
Board, P.O. Box 1367, Jefferson City, Missouri 
65 102. 

D. If the treatment of Licensee is successfully completed at any time during the 
disciplinary period, Licensee shall cause the treating professional andlor the 
Committee to submit a letter of final evaluation/summary that includes a statement 
that Licensee has successfully completed treatment and indicates whether Licensee 
should continue in a 12-step program. If continuance in a 12-step program is 
recommended, Licensee shall comply with terms of documentation as outlined in 
paragraph E below. 

E If attendance is recommended, Licensee shall submit evidence of weekly (or 
recommended) attendance at Alcoholics Anonymous, Narcotics Anonymous, or other 
support group meetings to the Board by January 1 and July 1 during each year of the 
disciplinary period beginning the effective date of this disciplinary agreement. The 
documentation shall include the date, time and place of the meeting and shall bear a 
signature or abbreviated signature of another person verifying attendance. 

F. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall abstain completely from the personal 
use or possession of any controlled substance or other drug for which a prescription is 
required unless that use of the drug has been prescribed by a person licensed to 
prescribe such drug and with whom Licensee has a bona-fide relationship as a 
patient. Licensee shall forward to the Board written documentation of any such 
prescription within ten (10) days of issuance of the prescription specifyiag the 



medication prescribed, dosage prescribed, and the condition for which the substance 
was prescribed. Upon request, Licensee shall execute a medical release authorizing 
the Board to access all records pertaining to Licensee's condition, treatment and 
prescription maintained by the health care professional that prescribed the controlled 
substance. 

G. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall abstain completely fiom the use or 
consumption of alcohol. The presence of any alcohol whatsoever in a biological fluid 
sample shall constitute a violation of Licensee's discipline. 

H. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall, at Licensee's expense, submit to drug 
screens as required by the Board. Licensee shall, upon demand and without delay, 
provide a biological sample to the B o d s  designated representative, including 
allowing the Board's designated representative to obtain witnessed biological fluid 
samples and shall cooperate fully and completely with the Board's designated 
representative in providing such samples. The presence of any controlled substance, 
alcohol, or any drug whatsoever in a drug screen for which Licensee does not hold a 
valid prescription shall constitute a violation of this Agreement. 

In. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

A. Licensee shall meet with the Board or its representatives at such times and places as 
required by the Board after notification of a required meeting. 

B. Licensee shall submit reports to the Missouri Dental Board, P.O. Box 1367, Jefferson 
City, Missouri 65 102, stating truthfidly whether he has complied with all the terms 
and conditions of this Settlement Agreement by no later than January 1 and July 1 
during each year of the disciplinary period. 

C. Licensee shall keep the Board apprised of his current home and work addresses and 
telephone numbers. Licensee shall inform the Board within ten days of any change 
of home or work address and home or work telephone number. 

D. Licensee shall comply with all provisions of the Dental Practice Act, Chapter 332, 
RSMo; all applicable federal and state drug laws, rules, and regulations; and all 
federal and state criminal laws. "State" here includes the state of Missouri and all 
other states and territories of the United States. 

E. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall timely renew his license and timely pay 
all fees required for licensing and comply with all other board requirements necessary 
to maintain Licensee's license in a current and active state. 



F. 'If at any time during the disciplinary period, Licensee removes himself from the state 
of Missouri, ceases to be currently licensed under the provisions of Chapter 332, or 
fails to advise the Board of his current place of business and residence, the time of his 
absence, unlicensed status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken as 
any part of the time of discipline so imposed in accordance with 8 332.321.9, RSMo. 

G. During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall accept and comply with unannounced 
visits from the Board's representatives to monitor his compliance with the terms and 
conditions of this Settlement Agreement. 

H. If Licensee fails to comply with the terms of this Settlement Agreement, in any 
respect, the Board may impose such additional or other discipline that it deems 
appropriate, including revocation. 

I. This Settlement Agreement does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available 
to it concerning any other violation of Chapter 332, RSMo, by Licensee not 
specifically mentioned in this document. 

IV. ADDITIONAL REQUJREMENTS 

A. Licensee shall not allow his license to lapse. 

B. The terms of discipline apply even if Licensee places his license on inactive status. 

C. Licensee shall notifl, within 15 days of the effective date of this Settlement 
Agreement, all hospitals, nursing homes, out-patient centers, surgical centers, clinics, 
and all other facilities where Licensee practices or has privileges of Licensee's 
disciplinary status. Notification shall be in writing and Licensee shall, 
contemporaneously with the giving of such notice, submit a copy of the notice to the 
Board for verification by the Board or its designated representative. 

2. The parties to this Agreement understand that the Missouri Dental Board will , 

maintain this Agreement as an open record of the Board as provided in Chapters 332, 610,620, 

RSMo. 

3. The terms of this settlement agreement are contractual, legally enforceable, and 

binding, not merely recital. Except as otherwise provided herein, neither this settlement agreement 



nor any of its provisions may be changed, waived, discharged, or terminated, except by an instrument 

in writing signed by the party against whom the enforcement of the change, waiver, discharge, or 

termination is sought. 

4. Licensee, together with his heirs and assigns, and his attorneys, do hereby waive, 

release, acquit and forever discharge the Board, its respective members and any of its employees, 

agents, or attorneys, including any former Board members, employees, agents, and attorneys, of, or 

fiom, any liability, claim, actions, causes of action, fees, costs and expenses, and compensation, 

including, but not limited to, any claims for attorney's fees and expenses, including any claims 

pursuant to $536.087, RSMo, or any claim arising under 42 U.S.C. $ 1983, which may be based 

upon, arise out of, or relate to any of the matters raised in this case, its settlement, or fiom the 

negotiation or execution of this settlement agreement. The parties acknowledge that this paragraph 

is severable fiom the remaining portions of this settlement agreement in that it survives in perpetuity 

even in the event that any court of law deems this settlement agreement or any portion thereof to be 

void or unenforceable. 

5. Licensee understands that he may, either at the time the Settlement Agreement is 

signed by all parties, or within fifteen (15) days thereafter, submit the Agreement to the 

Administrative Hearing Commission for determination that the facts agreed to by the parties 

constitute grounds for disciplining Licensee's license. If Licensee desires the Administrative 

Hearing Commission to review this Agreement, Licensee may submit his request to: 

Administrative Hearing Commission, Truman State Office Building Room 640,301 W. High 

Street, P. 0. Box 1557, Jefferson City, Missouri 65101. 



6.  If Licensee requests review, this Settlement Agreement shall become effective on the 

date the Administrative Hearing Commission issues its order finding that the Settlement Agreement 

sets forth cause for disciplining Licensee's license. If Licensee does not request review by the 

Administrative Hearing Commission, the Settlement Agreement goes into effect fifteen (1 5) days 

after the document is signed by the Executive Director of the Board. 

r 

A-AA 
GARY $!. HARRIS, D.D.S. SHARLENE RTMILLER 

Executive Director 
Missouri Dental Roard 

T ,oi@ SCHOI JTEN 

Missouri Bar No. 52290 
7970 S. Tomlin Hill Road 
Columbia, MO 65201 
Telephone: 573-875-7 169 
Fax: 573-875-5603 
llschouten@,yahoo.com 
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