BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of )

DAWN RENE WHITE, }
)

Applicant. )

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
STUDENT COSMETOLOGY LICENSE TO DAWN RENE WHITE

' The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (t_he “Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY STUDENT COSMETOLOGY LICENSE,
License No. 2015022837 to Dawn Rene White (“White” or “Applicant”), pursuant to the
provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, White may submit a
written request to the Administrative Heéring Commission seeking a héaring and review of the
Board’s decision to issuc a probated student cosmetology license. Such written request must be
filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this
Order of the Board. The written request. should be addressed to the Administrative Hearing
Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO
65102-1557. If no written request for review is filed with the Administrative .Hear'mg
Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be

considered waived. Should White file a writien request for review of this Order, the terms and

conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time as the

Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

1 All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.



L

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the pu@ose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. On or about May 11, 2015, White applied for a Missouri studen{ cosmetology
license to enroll at the Vandalia Institute of Cosmetology, 1101 E. HWY 54, Vandalia, Missouri.

3. On her application, White answered “yes” to the question “Have you been
adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution in this state or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4, With her May 11, 2015 application, White provided an explanation of her
criminal history. In her explanation, White stated that in August of 2008, she was charged with
Robbery in the 1% Degree/A;med Criminal Action as a result of assisting her husband rob a bank,
.by driving to and from the crime scene. She attributed her poor judgment fo a long-term drug
addiction. She noted that she was convicted of T_heft by Embezzlement in 1997 and has had
some bad check charges in 2007 and 2008. Wﬁite stated that she has been incarcerated for 6 %
years and had, at the‘ time of writing, just over two years to serve. She asserted that she has
every intention of staying clean upon her release and is committed to making a difference in her
life by obtaining her license.

5. A review of Whites’ criminal history reveals that:

a. On or about June 20, 2003, White pled guilty to the class A

misdemeaﬁor of Failure To Return Leased Or Rented Property




~ Value Less Than $500, in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County,
Missouii, case number 25R05021724M. The Court assessed
White a fine and costs.
b. Oh or about December 7, 2004, White pléd guilty to the class
A misdemeanor of Passing Bad Check — Less Théu $500, in the
Circuit Court of Pulaski County, Missouri, case number 25R0503 1079M.
The Court sentenced White to 9 months’ jail incarceration, suspended
execution of sentence, and placed White on 2 years’ supervised probation.
c. On or about May 1, 2009, White pled guilty to the class A felony of
Robbery — 1* Degree and the unclassified felony of Armed Criminal
Action, in the Circuit Court of Osage County, Missouri, case
nuﬁber 080S8-CR00186-01. The Court sentenced White to
10 years’ incarceration in the Department of Corrections on each count
to run concurrently.
II.-

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 326.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse White’s application for a cosmetology -

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:



The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which

_ is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed][.]

8. As a result of White’s convictions as detailed in paragraph 5 a through ¢ above,
the Board has cause to deny or refuse White’s application for a cosmetology student license
pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

9. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative

hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the .

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10.  The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of White’s application for a

cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure

the protection of the public.



[1I.
ORDER

11.  Based on the foregoing, Dawn Rene White is granted a cosmetology student

license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period' during which she is enrolled in

cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective

date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Dawn Rene White shall be entitled to

enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

IV.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12.  During the aforementioned probation, Dawn Rene White, shall be entitled to

enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order. '

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written repoits to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January 1, 2016.

If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license current or



active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or
unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period,

. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

13. This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it

concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,

RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

14, The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 15STH DAY OF JULY, 2015.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

@ﬁM K eened

Emily R. Carroll, Executive Director




