BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMILTOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

" DENISE MARIE WARD,

R N .

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO DENISE MARIE WARD

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby -
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
License No. 2015044683 to Denise Marie Ward (“Ward” or “Applicant™), pursuant to the
provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in § 324.038.2; RSMo, Ward may submit a written
request to the Administrative Hearing Commission sceking a hearing and review of the Board’s
decision to issue a probated student license. Such written request must be filed with the
Ad_minjstrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the
Board. The written request should be addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission,
P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If
no written request for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-
day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should

Ward file a written request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall

remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing

Commission issues an Order to the contrary.

~ Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

! All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.




L

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in ﬂu’s state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2, On or about October 14, 2015, Ward applied for a Missouri cosmetology student
license to enroll at Beyond the Basic School of Cosmetology, 1031 School View Drive, Suite A,
B and ,C’ Marshfield, Missouri.

3. On her application, Ward answered “yes” fo the question “Have you been
adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution in this state, or any or of the United States, whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4, In conjunction’ with her October 14, 2015 application, Ward provided an
explanation of her criminal history. Ward stated that in 2008 she was convicted of 2 counts of
endangering the welfare of a child. She recalled that she left her two children in the car while
she went into Wal-Mart to buy milk. She stated that when she returned to her vehicle the police
had been called. She noted that she completed parenting classes and community service and was
placed on probation. Ward_stated that is 2011, she 1‘eceived a felony conviction for the
possession of a controlled substance with intent to sell after selling the controlled substance to an
uﬁdercovcr police officer. She recalled that she pled guilty and was placed on probation for a
period of 5 years. She stated that she has completed a drug and alcohol rehabilitation program
and relocated her family to another city to get away “from the bad environment and people [she]

was around.”




5. Areview of Ward’s Missouri criminal history reveals that:

a.  On or about, August 3, 2009, Ward pled guilty to the class A misdemeanor of
Endangering The Welfare Of A Child, 2" Degree, in the Circuit Court of Phelps County,
Missouri, case number 09PH-CR00312. The Court suspended imposition of sentence and placed
Ward on 2 years’ probation.

b.  On or about, May 11, 2012, Ward pled guilty to the class B felony of -
Dist/Del/Manf/Produce Or Attempt To Or Possess W/Intent To Dist/Del/Manf/Produce A
Controlled Substance, in the Circuit Court of Phelps County, Missouri, case number 11PH-
CRO1385. The Court sentenced Ward to 10 years’ incarceration in the Missouri Department of

Corrections, execution of sentence was suspended and Ward was placed on 5 years® supervised

probation.
IL.
CONCLUSIONS OF I.LAW
6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursnant to

§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint. with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Ward’s application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329, 14012, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of




registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed].]

8. As a result of Ward’s guilty pleas as detailed in paragraph 5 a — b above, the
Board has cause to deny or refuse Ward’s application for a cosmetology student license pursuant
to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

9. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a lcense subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10.  The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Ward’s application for a
cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public.

1L
ORDER
11. Based on the foregoing, Denise Marie Ward is granted a cosmetology student

license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolied in

cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the effective




-date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Denise Marie Ward shall be entitled to
enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.
V.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12, During the aforementioned probation, Denise Marie Ward, shall be entitled to
enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

B. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home, telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information,

C. During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor comphance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

D. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

E. Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 2016.

F. H, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license current or
active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or
unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of ther
probationary period.

(. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board, No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any




required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.

H. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

I. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order. f'

13. This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,
RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

14, The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.
SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 29th DAY OF December 2015.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

(C;‘(\IM i Geenad

Emily R. Carroll, Executive Director




