BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

MARIO WALLACE,

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF
COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A
PROBATIONARY BARBER LICENSE TO
MARIO WALLACE

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (hereafter, the “Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a I’ROBA-'I”IONARY BARBER LICENSE, License No. 2012028455, to
Mario Wallace (hereafier, “Licensee™), pursuant to the provisions of §324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in
§324.038.2, RSMo, Licensee may submit a written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission
seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated license. Such written request
must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this
Order of the Board. The written request should be addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission,
P.O. Box iSS?, Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written

request for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the

right 10 seek review of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Licensee file a written

request for review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain_in force and effect

unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:



i

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant to §
329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering and
cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the licensed occupations and
enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. Licensee is a not licensed as a barber in the state of Missouri.

3. Licensee has been offering barbering services out of Cut Creator, located at 13135 New
Halls Ferry Road, Florissant, Missourt 63033 without an establishment license.

4. On or about August 24, 2011, Licensee applied to iake the Missouri barbering
examinations.

3. On or abowt October 13, 2011, the Board inspecied Cut Creator. The Board inspector
discovered the following licensure issues: Licensee was present and offering barbering services without a
barber operator or establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20 CSR 2085-10.060, and §
328.020, RSMo. On or about November 3, 2011, the Board sent a violation notice to Licensee at Cui
Creator.

6. On or about December 8, 2011, the Board inspected Cut Creator. The Board inspector
discovered the following licensure 1ssues; Licensee was present and offering barbering services without a
barber operator or establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20 CSR 2085-10.060, and §
328.020, RSMo.

7. On or about February 2, 2012, the Board inspected Cut Creator. The Board inspector
discovered the following licensure issues: Licensee was present and offering barbering services without a
barber operator or establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20 CSR 2085-10.060, and §

328.020, RSMo.

' All statutory references are to the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended, unless otherwise
indicated. :
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8. On or about February 28, 2012, the Board inspected Cut Creator. The Board inspector
discovered the following licensure issues: Licensee was present and offering barbering services without a
barber operator or establishment license in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20 CSR 2085-10.060, and §
328.020, RSMo.

I1.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

9. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 328.150.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes stated in
subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in writing of the reasons
for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of the applicant's right to file a complaint
with the administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

10. As a result of the violations identified in paragraphs 2 through 8 heréin, the Board has
cause to deny or refuse Licensee’s application for a barber license pursuant to § 328.150.2(6), RSMo,

which provide:

2. The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing commission
as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person who has failed to renew or
has surrendered the person's certificate of registration or authority, permit or license for any
one or any combination of the following causes:

(6) Violation of, or assisting or enabling any person to violate, any provision of
this chapter, or of any lawful rule or regulation adopted pursuant to this chapter;

il. § 328.020, RSMo states, in relevant part:
It shall be unlawful for any person to practice the occupation of a
barber in this state, unless he or she shall have first obtained a
license, as provided in this chapier.

12. Regulation 20 CSR-10.010 states. in relevani part:
(2) Remtal Space/Chair Licensing. Any person licensed by the

board who rents individual space or a booth/chair within a licensed
establishment for the purposes of practicing as a barber or
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cosmetologist shall be required to obtain a separate establishment
license for the rental space. Licensees that rent individual space or
a booth/chair within a licensed barber or cosmetology
establishment for the purposes of operating as a barber or
cosmetologist must possess a current establishment license as well
as an operator license. This seciion does not apply to licensees
operating as establishment employees.

13. Regulation 20 CSR-10.060 states, in relevant part:

(1) Pursuant to Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo, no barber or
cosmetology establishment owner, manager, or proprietor
shall permit any person who does not hold a current Missouri
barber or cosmetology license to practice as a barber or
cosimetologist in the establishment. No license or permit
tssued by the board shall be posted in a licensed establishment
unless the license or permit is current and active, and the
licensee or permit holder is an employee of the establishment
or holds a current and active renter establishment license

- issued by the board.

(2) License Posted. Every licensed barber and cosmetologist shali
post a current license issued by the board in front of the
barber's working chair or the cosmetologist’s work station
where it shall be readily seen by all patrons.

(3) Prohibited Practices Within An Establishment. In a licensed
establishment, only persons properly licensed by the board
shall be allowed to perform barbering, hairdressing,
manicuring, or esthetician services on any person within the
establishment. The provisions of this section shail apply even
if services are being provided for no compensation. For
purposes of this section, barbering, hairdressing, manicuring,
or esthetician services shall be defined as follows:

(A) “Barbering”—engaging in the capacity so as o shave the
beard or cut and dress the hair of any person;
14. As a result of the licensure violations set forth in paragraphs 2 through 7 herein, the
Board has cause to deny Licensee’s application for licensure pursuant to § 328.150.2(6), RSMo.
15. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion, issue a

license subject to probation, pursvant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:



Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,
including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for
reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative hearing
commission secking disciplinary action against a holder of license, the board, as an
alternative to refusing to 1ssue a license, may, at its discretion, issue to an applicant a
license subject to probation.

16.

The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Licensee’s application for a barber

license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure the protection of the public.

17.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

Based on the foregoing, Mario Wallace, is granted a barber license, which is hercby
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placed on PROBATION for a period of FIVE (5) YEARS from the effective date of this Order. During

the aforementioned probation, Licensee shall be entitled to operate as a barber subject o the following

terms and conditions:

1. SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS

A.

Licensee shall obtain an establishment license or obtain employment at a licensed barber
establishment and until doing so Licensee shall cease offering or performing barber services.

I GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

Al

During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall comply with ali provisions of Chapter 328,
RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws, rules and
regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes the state of
Missourt. all other states and territories of the United States, and the ordinances of their
political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall keep the Board informed of Licensee’s current
work and home telephone numbers. Licensee shall notify the Board in writing within ten
(10) days of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Licensee shall timely renew Licensee’s barber license
granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all other
Board requirements necessary 1o maintain said license in a current and active staie.

During the probationary period, Licensee shall accept and comply with unannounced visits
from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and conditions of this

Order.

During the probationary period, Licensee shall appear in person for interviews with the Board
or its designee upon request.
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F. Licensee shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January | and July 1 during
cach year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been compliance
with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be received by the
Board on or before January 1, 2013,

G. If, at any time during the probationary period, Licensee ceases to maintain Licensee‘s barber
license current or active under the provisions of Chapter 328, RSMo, or fails to keep the
Board advised of all current places of business and residence, the time of such absence,
unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken 1o satisfy
any part of the probationary period.

H. In the event the Board determines that Licensee has violated any term or condition of this
Order, the Board may, in its discretion, pursue any lawful remedies or procedures afTorded it
and is not bound by this Order in its determination of appropriate legal actions or remedies
concerning the allegations identified herein.

" I The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of this
Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek 10 amend this
Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the Board. No
order shall be entered by the Board pursvant to this paragraph without any required notice
and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as required by Missouri law,

J. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all repons, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded 10: Missouri State Board
of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102.

K. Any failure by Licensee to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

18. This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it concerning any
violation by Licensee of the terms and conditions of this Order, CAhaptcrs 328, 329 or 324, RSMo, or the
regulations promulgated thereunder.

19. The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as provided in

Chapters 328, 329. 610, and 324, RSMo.
SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 15th DAY OF August 2012,

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Cradi, 20000008

Emily R. Cdrroll, Executive Dircctor




