BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

TERRIE TUNIS,

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSQURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO TERRIE TUNIS

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board™)
hereby issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY
STUDENT LICENSE, License No. 2012007299 to Terrie Tunis, pursuant to the
provisions of § 324.038, RSMo. As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Tunis may submit a
written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review
of the Board’s decision to issue a probated student license. Such written request must be
filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing
of this Order of the Board. The written request should be addressed to the Administrative
Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written request for review is filed with the
Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of

the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Tunis file a written request for

review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and

effect unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an

Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:



FINDINGS OF FACT

l. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established
pursuant to § 329.015, RSMo,' for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the
practice of barbering and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and
supervision of the licensed occupations and enforcement of the terms and provisions of
Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. Terrie Tunis (“Applicant”) is a natural person residing at Chillicothe

Correciional Center, 3151 Litton Road, Chillicothe, Missouri 64601. _

3. On or about March 15, 2004, Applicant pled guilty in the Barry County
Circuit Court, State of Missouri, case number 39R020301163, to one count of class C
felony of Possession of Controlled Substance Except 35 Grams or Less of Marijuana, for
which Applicant received a Suspended Execution of Sentence with five (3) years
probation. Probation was revoked and she was sentenced to 120 days shock with the
Missouri Department of Corrections. Probation was continued and then revoked and
Tunis was sentenced to five (5) years in the Missouri Depariment of Corrections.

4. On or about September 19, 2005, Applicant pled guilty in the Barry
County Circuit Count, State of Missouri, case number 39R020500331, to one count of
class C felony of Possesston of Controlled Substance Except 35 Grams or Less of
Marijuana for which Applicant received a Suspended Execution of Sentence with five (5)

years probation. Probation was revoked and she was sentenced to 120 days shock with

' All statuiory references are to the Revised Statuies of Missouri, as amended, unless
otherwise indicated.



the Missouri Department of Corrections. Probation was continued and then revoked and
Tunis was se;nenced to five (5) years in the Missouri Department of Corrections.

5. On or about December 11, 2009, Applicant pled guilty in Newton County
Circuit Court, State of Missouri, case number 08NW-CR01038-01, to one count of class
C felony of Forgery for which Applicant received five (5) years in the Missouri
Department of Corrections to run concurrent with case number 39R020301163 and
39R020500331.

6. On or about February 23, 2011, Applicant pled guilty in State of Missouri,
case number 10AU-CRO0807-01, to one count Violence To An Employee Of Department
Of Corrections or To An Inmate By An Inmate for which the Applicant received five (3)
yvears in the Missouri Department of Corrections.

7. On or about January 12, 2012, Applicant filed a Student Enrollment

Application with the Board seeking a cosmetology student license.

IL.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

8. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority,
permit or license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any
combination of causes stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board
shall notify the applicant in writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall
advise the applicant of his right to file a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

9. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Applicant’s application for a

cosmetology student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

(V%)



The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative
hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any
holder of any certificate of registration or authority, permit or license
required by this chapter or any person who has failed to renew or has
surrendered the person's certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or
entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal
prosecution under the laws of any state or of the United States, for
any offense reasonably related to the qualifications, functions or
duties of any profession licensed or regulated under this chapter,
for any offense an essential element of which is fraud, dishonesty
or an act of violence, or for any offense involving moral turpitude,
whether or not sentence 1s imposed[.]

10.  As a result of Applicant’s actions as set forth in paragraphs 3 through 6
above, the Board has cause to deny or refuse Applicant’s application for a cosmetology
student license pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

1. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its
discretion, issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038.1, RSMo, which
provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional

registration, including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse

to issue a license for reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a

complaint  with the administrative hearing commission seeking

disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the board, as an
alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue to an
applicant a license subject to probation.

12.  The Board issues this Order in heu of demial of Applicant’s application for

a cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary 10

ensure the protection of the public.



[I1.
ORDER

Based on the foregoing, Terrie Tunis is granted a cosmetology student license,

which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled in

cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the

effective date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Terrie Tunis shall be

entitled to enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

IV.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

During the aforementioned probation, Terrie Tunis, Applicant, shall be entitled to

enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following ierms and conditions:

Al

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of
Chapter 329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and
state drug laws, rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal
laws. “State” includes the siate of Missouri, all other states and territories of the
United States, and the ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of
Applicant’s current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the
Board in writing within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely renew Applicant’s student
license granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and
comply with all other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a
current and aclive state.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with
unannounced visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with
the terms and conditions of this Order.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews
with the Board or its designee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and
July | during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there



has been compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such
report shall be received by the Board on or before July 1, 2012.

G. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s
address from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s cosmetology
student license current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or
fails to keep the Board advised of all current places of residence, the time of such
absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be
deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the probationary period.

H. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a
violation of this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred,
may seck to amend this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action
at the discretion of the Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant 1o
this paragraph without any required notice and opportunity for a hearing before
the Board as provided by Chapter 536, RSMo.

I.  Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reporis, documentation, notices, or
other materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to:
Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062,
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102.

J. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth
herein constitutes a violation of this Order.

This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter
329, RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as
provided in Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS I DAY OF March, 2012.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Gt R Qoeoiy

Emily R Cé"roll, Executive Director






