BEFORE THE MISSOQURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Inn the Matter of the Application of

Tom Dooley,
TOMMY DOOLEY, owner,

}\./\._/\.,./\._/\../\_/

___Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF
COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A
PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE TO
TOM DOOLEY, TOMMY DOOLEY, OWNER

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (hereafter, the “Board”)
hereby issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY
ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE, License No. 2012004572, to Tom Dooley, Tommy Dooley,

' As set forth in

owner (hereafter, “Licensee”), pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.
§324.038.2, RSMo, Licensee may submit a written request to the Administrative Hearing
Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated license.
Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days
of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be addressed to the
Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written request for review is filed with the Administrative

Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision

shall be considered waived. Should Licensee file a written request for review of this Order, the

terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time

as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the contrary.




Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:
L

FINDINGS OF FACT

L. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant

to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering

" and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the Ticensed oceupations”
and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. Licensee holds a cosmetology operator license issued by the Board, License no.
047977. Licensee’s operator license was not at all times current and active. Licensee’s operator
license is now current and active as of January 26, 2012,

3. On or about September 6, 2011, Licensee filed an Application for Establishment
Registration with the Board seeking licensure as a rental, commercial cosmetology establishment
under the name of Tom Dooley, Tommy Dooley, owner, to be located at 9200 Olive St Road,
Ste. 102, St. Louis, Missouri 63132. The Board received the initial application on September 6,
2011. The Board rejected the initial application because it was missing required documents.

4, On or about June 30, 2011, the Board inspected Tom Dooley. The Board
inspe.ctor discovered the following licensure issues: no establishment license for 9200 Olive St
Road, Ste. 102, St. Louis, Missouri 63132 in violation of 20 CSR 2085-10.010, 20 CSR 2085-
10.060 and section 329.030, RSMo. A violation notice was sent July 21, 2011.

5. On or about January 5, 2012, the Board sent a settlement agreement via certified

mail. Licensee did not return the settlement agreement.

! All statutory references are to the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended, unless otherwise
indicated.



CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6. The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
~ writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of the

applicant's right to file a complaint with the adminisirative hearing commission as_
provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

7. As a result of the violations identified in paragraphs 3 and 4 herein, the Board has

cause to deny or refuse Licensee’s application for a cosmetology establishment license pursuant
y Y

to § 329.140.2(6), RSMo, which provides:

2. The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate
of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person
who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(6) Violation of, or assisting or enabling any person to violate, any
provision of this chapter, or of any lawful rule or regulation adopted
pursuant to this chapter.

8. Regulation 20 CSR 2085-10.016

(1)(A) Except as provided herein, any person desiring to open a barber or
cosmetology establishment in Missouri, whether a beauty shop, nail salon, or
other cosmetology establishment, shall submit an application to the board at least
thirty (30) days prior to the anticipated opening of the establishment. The
establishment license application shall be submitted on a form provided by the
board, accompanied by the biennial establishment fee, and include the following
information:

1. The name and complete mailing address of the ownetr(s) or lessor(s) or

lessee(s). If the establishment is owned by a corporation, include the

name and complete mailing address of the corporate office;

2. The establishment’s name and complete physical address;



10.

I

3. A copy of the proposed/existing establishment’s floor plan, including
the approximate dimensions and square footage, specifically
identifying which portions of the establishment constitute the
establishment to be licensed;

4, The minimum equipment required by the board for the establishment to
be licensed; and

5. If applicable, copies of the fictitious name statement registered with the

secretary of state, bill of sale or sales receipt, contract or 16‘136 agreement,

and city businéss or occupational license.
Regulation 20 CSR 2085-10.060

(1) Pursuant to Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo, no barber or cosmetology
establishment owner, manager, or proprietor shall permit any person who does not
hold a current Missouri barber or cosmetology license to practice as a barber or
cosmetologist in the establishment. No license or permit issued by the board shall
be posted in a licensed establishment unless the license or permit is current and
active, and the licensee or permit holder is a cutrent and active renter
establishment license issued by the board.

Section 329.030, RSMo
It is unlawful for any person in this state to engage in the occupation of
cosmetology or to operate an establishment or school of cosmetology, unless such

person has first obtained a license as provided by this chapter.

As a result of the licensure violations set forth in paragraphs 3 and 4 herein, the

Board has cause to deny Licensee’s application for licensure pursuant to § 329.140.2(6), RSMo.

12.

As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,

issne a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo 2000, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,
including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for
reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of license, the
board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue
to an applicant a license subject to probation,




13.

The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Licensee’s application for a

cosmetology establishment license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to

ensure the protection of the public.

III.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

14, Based on the foregoing, Tom Dooley, Tommy Dool€y, ‘Gwier, is granted a

cosmetology establishment license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for a period of

THREE (3) YEARS from the effective date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation

disciplinary period, Licensee shall be entitled to operate as a cosmetology establishment subject

to the following terms and conditions:

A.

During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug
laws, rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State”
includes the state of Missourti, all other states and territories of the United States, and
the ordinances of their political subdivisions. :

During the disciplinary period, Licensee shall keep the Board informed of Licensee’s
cwrrent work and home telephone numbers. Licensee shall notify the Board in
writing within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Licensee shall timely renew Licensee’s cosmetology
operator and establishment licenses and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure
and comply with all other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a
current and active state.

During the probationary period, Licensee shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

During the probationary period, Licensee shall appear in person for interviews with
the Board or its designee upon request.

Licensee shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July |
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 2012.



G. If, at any time during the probationary period, Licensee ceases to maintain Licensee‘s
licenses current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep
the Board advised of all current places of business and residence, the time of such
absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed
or taken to satisfy any part of the probationary period.

H. In the event the Board determines that Licensee has violated any term or condition of
this Order, the Board may, in its discretion, pursue any lawful remedies or procedures
afforded it and is not bound by this Order in ifs detelmmatlon of applopuate legal

“actions ot reiniedies concerning the allégations tdentificd hierein,

1. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation
of this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to
amend this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion
of the Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph
without any required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as
required by Missouri law.,

J. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City,
Missouri 65102.

K. Any failure by Licensee to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

15.  This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Licensee of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapters 329 or
324, RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.

16.  The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as
provided in Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS :.9._\___ DAY OFM 2012.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

G Mpstd)

Emily R. QS’anoll, Executive Director




