BEFORE THE MISSOURL STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

SYLVESTER SHANE SMITH,

Applicant.
ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO SYLVESTER SHANE SMITH

The Missouri State Board of é'(')Slnetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board™) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY CLASS CH - HAIRDRESSER STUDENT
LICENSE, License No. 2015029179 to Sylvester Shane Smith (“Smith” or “Applicant™),
pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.! As set forth in § 324.038.2, -RS].\/IO, Smith may
submit a written request to the Administrative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and
review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated student license. Such written request must be
filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission wiﬂ}in 30 days of delivery or mailing of this
@rder of the Board. The written request should be addressed to the Administrative Hearing
Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO
65102-1557. If no written request for review is filed with the Administrative Hearing
CoMissi011 within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of the Board’s decision shall be

considered waived. Should Smith file a written request for review of this Order, the terms and

conditions of this Order shall remain in force and effect unless and/or until such time as the

Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:

1 All statutory references are to Missouri Revised Statutes 2000, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.



L

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the practice of barbering
and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control ana supervision of the licensed occupations
and enforcemeént of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329, RSMo.

2. On or about May 28, 2015, Smitii applied for a Missouri Class CH - hairdresser
student license to enroll at St. Joseph Beauty University of Hair & Nail Design, 2207 N. Belt
Hwy, Suite C & D, St. Joseph, Missouri.

3. On his application Smith answered “yes” to the question “In the last ten (10) years
have you been adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a
criminal prosecution under the laws of this state or any other state or of the United States,
whether or not sentence was imposed?”

4. With his May 28, 2015 application, Smith provided an explanation of his criminal
history. In his explanation, Smith stated he was “wrongfully accused” of domestic violence in
February of 2009 when his girlfriend falsified a police report. Smith assertéd, and his girlfriend
corroborated in a separate statement, that she, the girlfiiend, recanted the allegation. Smith noted
that the state pursued the matter and he was sentenced to 84 days of jail incarceration.

5. A review of Smith’s Missouri criminal history revealed that on or about August
26, 2009, Smith pled guilty to the class A misdeﬁ;eanor charge of Domestic Assaulf — 3
Degree- 1 stfpnd Oﬁ‘é}?se, in the Circuit Court of Buchanan County, Missouri, case nmumber 09BU-

CR00684. The Court sentenced Smith to 84 days’ jail incarceration.



IL

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

6.  The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in.
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

7. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Smith’s application for a Class CH -

hairdresser student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew ot has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:

(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws

of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed[. ]

8. As a resultof Smith’s pleas of guilty as detajled in paragraph.5 above, the Board
has cause to deny or refuse Smith’s application for a Cléss CH - hairdresser student license
pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

9. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,

issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:




Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to.issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative

hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

10. - The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Smith’s application for a Class
CH - hairdresser student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to
ensure the Aprotection of the public.

I
ORDER

11.  Based on the foregoing, Sylvester Shane Smith is granted a Class CH - hairdresser
* student license, which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which he is
enrolled in barber school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five (5) years from the
effective date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation, Sylvester Shane Smith shall
be entitled to enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.

IV.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

12.  During the aforementioned probation, Sylvester Shane Smith, shall be entitled to
enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and alt applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

B. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.



C. During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to meonitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order. '

D. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

E. Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January 1, 2016.

F. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s student license current or
active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board advised of
all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive status, ot
wknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the

probationary period.

G. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo. .

H. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other

" materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State

Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102,

. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

13.  This Order does not bind the Board or 1'e§trict the remedies available to it
concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329,
RSMO, or the regulaﬁons promulgated thereunder.

14.  The Board will majntain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610 and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 1st DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2015.



MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

&\M . Gees

Emily R. Carroll, Executive Director



