BEFORE THE MISSOURISTATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

in the Matter of the Application of

ASHLEY M. SMITH,

Applicant,

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO ASHLEY SMITH

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”)
hereby issues its ORDER granting .a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY
STUDENT LICENSE, License No. 2011035913 1o Ashley Smith, pursuant 1o the
provisions of § 324,038, RSMo. As set forthin § 324.038.2, RSMo, Smith may submit a
writien request 10 the Adminisirative Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review
of the Board’s decision to issue a probated student Jicense. Such written request must be
filed with the Administrative Flearing Commission within 30 days of delivery or mailing
of this Order of the Board. The writien request should be addressed 1o the Administrative
Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1537, Truman State Office Building, Room 640,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1337. I no written request for review is filed with the
Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review of

the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Smith file a written request for

review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and

effect unless andfor unti! such tme as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an

Order 10 the contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby siates:




FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Boﬁrd is an agency ‘of the state of Missouri created and eStablished
pursuant to § 329.013, R_Sx\'lof,for the purpose of licensing. all persons engaged in the
practice of barbering and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and
supervision of the licensed occupations and enforcement of the ierms and provisions of
Chapters 328 and 329, RSivo.

2. Ashley Smith (“Applicant™) is a natural person residing at Waomen's

Eastern Reception, Diagnostic and Cerrectional Center, 1101 East Highway 54, Vandalia,

issourt 63352, [ I

3. On or about June 1, 2004, Applicant pled guilty in the Audrain County
Cirenit Court, State of Missouri, case number 04U1-R00403-01, to one count of class C
felony of Burglary in the Sccond Degree and two counts of class C felony of
Theft/Stealing (Value of Property or Services Is $500 Or More But Less Than $25,000),
for which Applicant received a suspended imposilion of sentence, received 10 days shock
incarceration and was placed on five years supervised probation. Applicant’s probation
was later revoked and on or about Fcbruar}ﬁ?, 2006, Applicant was sentenced to seven
years incarceration i‘n the Missouri Department of Corrections, witl; a suspended
execution of sentence, 120 days sho_ck incarceration followed by five years supervised
probation.  Applicant’s probation was later again revoked and on or about March 21,

2011, Applicant was incarcerated toward completion of her semence in the Missour

Department of Correclions.

1Al statutory references are to the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended, unless
otherwise indicated.




4, On or about May 3, 2006, Applicant pled guilty in the Audrain County
Circuit Court, State of Missouri, case number Q6UI-CR00083, to one couni of class A
misdemeanor of Steating Motor Fuel for which Applicant was sentenced o 120 days
incarceration in jail with execution of the sentence suspended and Applicant placed on
{wo ycars probation,

5. On or about Mav 3, 2006, Applicant pled guilty in the Audrain County
Circuit Court, State of Missouri, case number 06UI-CR00086, to one count of the class A
misdemeanor of Thefi/Stealing (Value of Property or Services [s $500 Or More But Less
Than $25,000) for which Applicant was sentenced to 120 days incarceration in jail.

6. On or about May 3, 2006, Applicant pled guilty in the Audrain County
Circuit Courl, State of Missouri, case number 06UI-CR00341, 1o one count of class A
misdemeanor of Receiving Stolen Property — Less then $300 Tor which Applicant was |
sentenced to 120 days incarceration in jail; and in this same case Applicant pled guilty to
one counl of class C misdemeanor of As Owner, Oper Or Auth Another To Oper A Mir
Veh W/Oul Maintain Financial Responsibility for which Applicant was sentenced to 48
hours incarceration in jail.

7. On or about June 13, 2007, Applicant pled guilty in the Audrain County
Circuit Court, State of Missouri, case number 06UI-CRO1 114, 10 one count of class A
misdemeanor of Operated Motor Vehicle On Highway While Drivers License/Privilege
Revaked for which Applicant was sentenced to 90 days incm'ccra{i(‘)n in jail.

S On or about June 13, 2007, Applicant pled guilty in the Audrain County

Circuit Court, State of Missouri, case number 07UI-CR00290, 1o one count of class B




misdemeanor of Trespass — I*' Degree for which Applicant was sentenced to 90 days
incarceration in jail.

‘9. On or about June 25, 2007, Applicant pled guilty in the Audrain County
Circuit Court, State of Missouri, case number 06UI-CRO 1112-01, to the class D felony of
Possession Of Burglary Tools for which Applicant was senlenced 1o four years
incarceration in the Missouri Department of Corrections.  Upon serving 120 days,
Applicant’s sentence was suspended and Applicant was placed on supervised probation.
Applicant’s probation was later revoked and on or about March 21, 2011, Applicant was
again incarcerated under her prior sentence in the Missouri Department of Corrections.

10.  On or about March 7, 2011, Applicant plead guilty in the Audrain County
Circuit Court, State of Missouri, case number 10AU-CR00785-01, 1o the class B felony
of Dist/Del/Mant/Produce or Atempt 1o Pessess W/ntent wo Dist/Manf/Produce a
Controtled Substance for which Applicant was sentenced to seven years incarceration in
the Nissouri Department of Corrections.

I1.  Onorabout August 12, 2011, Applicant filed a Student Enrollment

Application with the Board secking a cosmetology student license.

11

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

12.  The Board has authority 1o deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSivlo 2000, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority,
permit or license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any
combination of causes stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board
shall notify the applicant in writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall .




advise the applicant of his right 1o file a complaint with the admintstrative
hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

13.  The Board has cause to deny or refuse Applicant’s application lor a -

cosmetology student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, shich provides:

2 * - . - . 4

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative
hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any
holder of any certificate of registration or authority, permit or license
required by this chapter or any person who has failed to renew or has
surrendered the person’s certificate of registration or authority, permit or
Heense for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(2).The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or
entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a ¢riminal
prosecution under the Taws of any state or of the United States, for
any offense reasonably related to the qualifications, functions or
duties of any prolession licensed or regulated under this chapter,
for any offense an essential element of which is fraud, dishonesty
or an act of violence, or for any offense involving moral wrpitude,
whether or not sentence is imposed|[.]

i4.  As a result of Applicant’s actions as set forth in paragraphs 3 through 10
above, the Board has cause 1o deny or refuse Applicant’s application for 2 cosmetology
student license pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

5.  As an aliernative 1o refusing 10 issue a license, the Bloard may, at its
discretion, issue a license subject o probalidn= pursuant to § 324.03.18, RSMo, which
provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of | professional

registration, including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse

lo issue a license for reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a

complaint with the administrative hearing . commission seeking
disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the board, as an




alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue o an
applicant a license subject to probation.

16.  The Board issues this Order in Heu of denial of Applicant’s application for

a cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary (o

cnsure the protection of the public.

il
ORDER
Based on the foregoitlg, Ashley Smith is granted a cosinetology student license,
which is hereby placed on PROBATTON for the period during which she is enrolled in.
cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not lo exceed five (5) years from the
effective date ot"tbis Order. During the aforementioned probalibn, Ashley Smith shall be

entitted 1o enrolf as a cosmetology stident subject to the following terms and conditions.

IV,

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

During the aforementioned probation, Ashley Smith, Applicant, shall be entitled to
enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the foliowing terms and conditions:

A. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions ol
Chapter 329, RSivlo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and
state drug laws, rules and regutations and all applicable federal and state criminal
laws. “State” includes the state of Missound, all other states and territories of the
United States, and the ordinances of their political subdivisions.

B. During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Beard informed of
Applicant’s current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the
Board in writing within ten days (10) of any change in this information..




F.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely rencw Applicant’s student
license granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and
comply with all other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a

current and active state.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with
unannounced visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with
the terms and conditions of this Order.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews
with the Board or its designee upon request,

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January | and
July 1 during cach year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there
has been compliance wilh all terms and conditions of this Order. The firsi such
report shall be received by the Board on or before Januvary 1, 2012

if, a1 any time during the probationary period, Applicam changes Applicant’s
address from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s cosmetology
student license current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or
fails to keep the Board advised of all current places of residence, the time of such
absence, unlicensed or inactive status, or unknown whercabouts shall not be
deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the probationary period.

4. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a

violation of this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred,
may seek 1o amend this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action
at the discretion of the Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to
this paragraph without any required notice and opportunity for a hearing before
the Board as provided by Chapter 536, RSMo.

Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or
other materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded tg:
Missouri Siate Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1062,
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102,

Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth
herein constitutes a violation of this Order.

This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available 1o it

concerning any violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter

329, RSMo, or the regulations promulgated thereunder.



The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as

provided in Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTWE'I*I-]ISB\L& DAY 01@\0}5&(‘ L2011,

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

| é&\}\\l&\&_@&@

' 2 = . .
Emily Carfoll, Exccutive Director






