BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

DOMINIC ROSALES, -

N N N o N

Applicant.

ey

ORDER dF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO DOMINIC ROSALES

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board™) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
License No. 2011014378 to Dominic Rosales, pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038, RSMo.
As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Rosales may submit a writlen request to the Adniinistrative
Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated
student license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission
within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The writlen request should be
addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman Stale Office
Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. I no wrilten request for review is filed
with the Administrqtiw: Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review

of the Board's decision shall be considered waived. Should Rosales file a written request for

review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and efTecy

unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the

contrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board 'hereby states;




FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo Cum. Supp. 2009, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the
practice of barbering and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the
licensed occupations and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329,
RSMo (as amended).

| 2. On or about August 11, 2006 Rosales pled guilty in Pierce County Superior
Court, in the State of Washington, case number 06-1-01318-4, to Assault in the fourth degree for
which Rosales received one (1) year of probation and a fine of seven hundred dollars.

3. On or about February 23, 2011, Dominic Rosales applied for a Missouri
cosmetology student license.

| i,

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

4. The Board has authority to déhy or refuse a license application pursuant to
§329.140.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the adminisirative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo,

5. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Rosales™ application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complain! to be f{iled with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
- any person who has faitled to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes: . :




(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed ot
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving,
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed(.]

6. As a result of Rosales’ actions as set forth in paragraphs 2 through 5 above, the
Board has cause to deny or refuse Rosales’ application for a cosmetology siudent license
pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

7. - As an allernative 1o refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324,038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

8. The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Rosales’ application for a
cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public,

[I.
ORDER

Based on the foregoing, Dominic Rosales is granted a cosmetology student license,
which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which he is enrolled in
cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not 1o exceed five (5) years from the effective

date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation Dominic Rosales shall be entitled 1o

enroll a5 a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.
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TERMS AND CONDITIONS

During the aforementioned probation, Dominic Rosales, Applicant, shall be entitled to enroll

as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A.

m

H.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board repulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and terrtlories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions,

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely renew Applicant’s student license
granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all
other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current and aclive state.

During the prebationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visils from the Board's representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order,

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January | and July 1
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before July 1, 201 1.

. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address

from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s cosmetelogy student license
current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails 10 keep the Board
advised of all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive
status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken 10 satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing al any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunily for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.




I Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State.
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P. 0. Box 1335, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102.

J. Any failure by Applicant 1o comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it concerning any
violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329, RSMo, or the
regulations promulgated thereunder.

The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as provided in

Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS 25th DAY OF May, 2011.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Emily R, Cagoll, Executive Director
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~ DOMINIC ROSALES,

BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In tﬁe Matter of the Application of

e T L

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLQGY STUDENT LICENSE TO DOMINIC ROSALES

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board.”) hereby
issues its ORDER granting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
License No. (201 101A4378) to Dominic Rosales,. pursuant to the provisions; of §' 324.038, RSMo.
As set forth in § 324.038.2, RSMo, Rosales may submit a written request to the Administrative
Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated
student license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission
within 30 days of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Board. The written request should be
addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office
Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. If no written request for review is filed

with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review

of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Rosales file a written request for

review of this Order, the terms and conditions of this Order shall remain in force and_effect

unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the

contrary,

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:
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FINDINGS OF FACT

1 The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo Cum. Supp. 2009, for the purpose of licensing all persons engaged in the
practice of barbering and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the
licensed occupations and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329,
RSMo (as amended).

2. On or about March 19, 2006 Rosales pled guilty in Pierce County Superior Court,
in the State of Washington, case number 06-§-09397-7, to Assault in the fourth degree for which
Rosales received one (1) year of probation and a fine of seven hundred dollars;.-

3. On or about July 25, 2011, Dominic Rosales applied for a Missouri cosmetology
student license.

IL

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
4, The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to

§ 329.140.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

" The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo. '

5. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Rosales’ application for a cosmetology

student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes: ' '
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(2) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed|.]

6. As a result of Rosales’ actions as set forth in paragraphs 2 through 5 above, the
Board has cause to deny or refuse Rosales’ application for a cosmetology student license
pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

7. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing 1o issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

8. The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Rosales’ application for a
cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public.

I
ORDER -

Based on the foregoing, Dominic Rosales is granted a cosmetology student license,
which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled in
cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not to exceed five () years from the effective

date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation Dominic Rosales shall be entitled to

enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions.




V.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

During the aforementioned probation, Dominic Rosales, Applicant, shall be entitled to enroll

as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A,

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall timely renew Applicant’s studetit license
granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all
other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current and active state.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shail appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January 1 and July |
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January 1, 2012.

. If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address

from the state of Missouri, or ceases to maintain Applicant’s cosmetology student license
current or active under the provisions of Chapler 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board
advised of all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive
status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken fo satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

. The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of

this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the

Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any

required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.




I. Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
matenals required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1335, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102,

J. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it concerning any
violation by Applicant of the terms and conditions of this Order, Chapter 329, RSMo, or the .
regulations promilgated thereunder, v

The Board will maintain this Order as an open, puf)lic record of the Board as provided in

Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo.

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS \°\ DAY OF %\\)\g}xb%\“ , 2011.

MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

G oeedN

Emily B=Carroll, Executive Director




BEFORE THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD
OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER EXAMINERS

In the Matter of the Application of

DOMINIC ROSALES,

T g e .

Applicant.

ORDER OF THE MISSOURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS ISSUING A PROBATIONARY
COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE TO DOMINIC ROSALES

The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (the “Board”) hereby
issues its ORDER gra'nting a PROBATIONARY COSMETOLOGY STUDENT LICENSE,
License No. (2011014378) to Dominic Rosales, pursuant to the provisions of § 324.038; RSMo.
As set forth in § 324.038'.2,7 RSMo, Rosales may submit a written request to the Administrative
Hearing Commission seeking a hearing and review of the Board’s decision to issue a probated
student license. Such written request must be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission
within 30 ;iays of delivery or mailing of this Order of the Bdard, The written request should be
addressed to the Administrative Hearing Commission, P.O. Box 1557, Truman State Office
Building, Room 640, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1557. 1If no written request for review is filed
with the Administrative Hearing Commission within the 30-day period, the right to seek review

of the Board’s decision shall be considered waived. Should Rosales file a written reguest for

review of this Order. the terms and conditions of this QOrder shall remain in force and effect

unless and/or until such time as the Administrative Hearing Commission issues an Order to the

conlrary.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board hereby states:




FINDINGS OF FACT

l. The Board is an agency of the state of Missouri created and established pursuant
to § 329.015, RSMo Cum. Supp. 2009, for the purpose of licénsing all persons engaged in the
practice of barbering and cosmetology in this state. The Board has control and supervision of the
licensed occupations and enforcement of the terms and provisions of Chapters 328 and 329,
RSMo (as amended).

2. On or about March 19, 2006 Rosales pléd guilty in Pierce County Superior Cburt,
in the State of Washington, case number 06-9-09397-7, to Assault in the »fourth degree for which
Rosale.s received one (1) year of probation and a fine of seven hundred dollars.

3 On or about J uly 25, 2011, Dominic Rosales applied for a Missouri cosmetology '
student license.

I1.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

4, The Board has authority to deny or refuse a license application pursuant to
§ 329.140.1, RSMo 2000, which provides:

The board may refuse to issue any certificate of registration or authority, permit or
license required pursuant to this chapter for one or any combination of causes
stated in subsection 2 of this section. The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his right to
file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by
chapter 621, RSMo.

5. The Board has cause to deny or refuse Rosales’ application for a cosmetology

‘ student license pursuant to § 329.140.2, RSMo, which provides:

The board may cause a complaint 10 be filed with the administrative hearing
commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any
certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or
any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered the person's certificate of
registration or authority, permit or license for any one or any combination of the
following causes:




(2) The person has been finally adjudicatgd and found guilty, or entered a
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws
of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to
the qualifications, functions or duties of any profession licensed or
regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which
is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving
moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed[.]

6. As a result of Rosales’ actions as set forth in paragraphs 2 through 5 above, the
Board has cause to deny or refuse Rosales’ applicatibn for a cosmetology student license
pursuant to § 329.140.1, RSMo, and § 329.140.2(2), RSMo.

7. As an alternative to refusing to issue a license, the Board may, at its discretion,
issue a license subject to probation, pursuant to § 324.038, RSMo, which provides:

Whenever a board within or assigned to the division of professional registration,

including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue a license for

reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative
hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the

board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue

to an applicant a license subject to probation.

8. The Board issues this Order in lieu of denial of Rosales’ application for a
cosmetology student license. The Board has determined that this Order is necessary to ensure
the protection of the public.

I,
ORDER

Based on the foregoing, Dominic Rosales is granted a cosmetology student license,
which is hereby placed on PROBATION for the period during which she is enrolled in
cosmetology school and receiving training hours, not 10 exceed five (§) years from the effective

date of this Order. During the aforementioned probation Dominic Rosales shall be entitled to

enroll as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions,

f ol 652
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TERMS AND CONDITIONS

During the aforementioned probation, Dominic Rosales, Applicant, shail be entitled to enroll

as a cosmetology student subject to the following terms and conditions:

A.

H.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall comply with all provisions of Chapter
329, RSMo, all applicable board regulations, all applicable federal and state drug laws,
rules and regulations and all applicable federal and state criminal laws. “State” includes
the state of Missouri, all other states and territories of the United States, and the
ordinances of their political subdivisions.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall keep the Board informed of Applicant’s
current work and home telephone numbers. Applicant shall notify the Board in writing
within ten days (10) of any change in this information.

During the probationary periad, Applicant shall timely renew Applicant’s student license
granted hereby and shall timely pay all fees required for licensure and comply with all
other Board requirements necessary to maintain said license in a current and active state.

During the probationary period, Applicant shall accept and comply with unannounced
visits from the Board’s representatives to monitor compliance with the terms and
conditions of this Order.

During the disciplinary period, Applicant shall appear in person for interviews with the
Board or its designee upon request.

Applicant shall submit written reports to the Board on or before January | and July |
during each year of the probationary period stating truthfully whether there has been
compliance with all terms and conditions of this Order. The first such report shall be
received by the Board on or before January 1, 2012.

If, at any time during the probationary period, Applicant changes Applicant’s address
from the state of Missouri, or ceases Lo maintain Applicant’s cosmetology student license
current or active under the provisions of Chapter 329, RSMo, or fails to keep the Board
advised of all current places of residence, the time of such absence, unlicensed or inactive
status, or unknown whereabouts shall not be deemed or taken to satisfy any part of the
probationary period.

The Board retains jurisdiction to hold a hearing at any time to determine if a violation of
this Order has occurred and, if a violation of this Order has occurred, may seek to amend
this Order or impose further disciplinary or appropriate action at the discretion of the
Board. No order shall be entered by the Board pursuant to this paragraph without any
required notice and opportunity for a hearing before the Board as provided by Chapter
536, RSMo.




I Unless otherwise specified by the Board, all reports, documentation, notices, or other
materials required to be submitted to the Board shall be forwarded to: Missouri State
Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, P.O. Box 1335, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102, )

J. Any failure by Applicant to comply with any condition of discipline set forth herein
constitutes a violation of this Order.

This Order does not bind the Board or restrict the remedies available to it concerning any
violation by Applicant of the terms and condi!ioﬁs 61“ ihis Order, Chapter 329, RSMo, or the
regulations promulgated thereunder.

The Board will maintain this Order as an open, public record of the Board as provided in

Chapters 329, 610, and 324, RSMo,

SO ORDERED, EFFECTIVE THIS %\ DAY OF i Qg%ﬁ* , 2011,

MISSOQURI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
AND BARBER EXAMINERS

Cloadiy ROypofl Y

Emily R. Chrroll, Executive Director




